DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/21/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 8/12/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “the cooling system 12”. Reference characters should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. For examination purpose the number 12 has been removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a cooling system” in claim 1 and “other mechanical mechanism” in claims 9 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “a cooling system for charging the portable cooler”. The term “system” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which the cooling system charges the portable cooler. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of charging the portable cooler. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim.
Regarding claims 9 and 11, claim 9 recites “the plug member is held in the second position by … other mechanical mechanism” and claim 11 recites “the cooling system includes … other mechanical mechanism for engaging a shell of the cooler . The term “mechanism” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which the plug is held or the shell is engaged. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of holding the plug or engaging the shell. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a cooling system” in claim 1 and “other mechanical mechanism” in claims 9 and 11 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which the cooling system charges the portable cooler or capable of holding the plug or engaging the shell.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 3-6, 8, 10, 12 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stacey et al (US 20110082437).
Regarding claim 1, Stacey teaches a hybrid cooler arrangement (fig. 2c, 100 and 200) comprising: a portable cooler (100) having an insulated chamber (110, insulated, paragraph 0048); and a cooling system (200) for charging the portable cooler (active cooling within 100, paragraph 0046), wherein the portable cooler is removably attachable to the cooling system (storage device removed from cooling device, paragraph 0012), wherein a first wall (113) of the portable cooler has an opening (312a/b) and the hybrid cooler arrangement further includes a plug member (352/357) movable from a first position sealing the opening (close, paragraph 0065) and a second position (the evaporator ports 860A/B push the primary doors 352/357 open, paragraph 0065) allowing the cooling system to interface with the portable cooler to deliver a source of cooling air to the insulated chamber of the portable cooler (paragraph 0065), wherein the cooling system includes a male extension sized (860a/b) and configured to be received in the opening (paragraph 0065) and operative to move the plug member from the first position to the second position (open/close, paragraph 0065), to enable a bi-directional flow of air through the opening to and from the cooling system (air flow, fig. 9)
Regarding claim 3, Stacey teaches the first wall of the portable cooler is a side wall (annotate fig. below).
Regarding claim 4, Stacey teaches the opening is rectangular (fig. 3 and 6a illustrate rectangular opening).
Regarding claim 5, Stacey teaches the plug member is moveable from the first position to the second position inwardly into the cooling compartment (the evaporator ports 860A/B push the primary doors 352/357 open, paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 6, Stacey teaches the plug member is a tapered plug member (one of ordinary skill would recognize 352/357 are capable of being tapered as along the opening can be opened and closed, paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 8, Stacey teaches the male extension is tapered (shape of 860a/b) to allow for circulation of cooling air from the cooling system, to the cooling compartment of the cooler, and back to the cooling system (paragraph 0065, fig. 9).
Further, it is understood, claim 8 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…si tapered...” and “for circulation”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 9, Stacey teaches the plug member is held in the second position by other mechanical mechanism (380).
Regarding claim 10, Stacey teaches a nose portion (out portion of 860a/b) of the cooling system includes a seal (106, it is well known in the art of refrigeration to provide gaskets to seal areas) preventing leakage of air between the cooler and the cooling system when the cooler is coupled to the cooling system.
Regarding claim 11, Stacey teaches wherein the cooling system includes other mechanical mechanism (300) for engaging a shell (shell of 100) of the cooler to functionally hold the cooler relative to the cooling system (paragraph 0060, fig. 9).
Further, it is understood, claim 11 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…for engaging a shell of the cooler to functionally hold the cooler relative to the cooling system”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 12, Stacey teaches the cooling system includes a tapered guide member (860a/b) for engaging a correspondingly shaped recess (300) in the cooler to pre-position the cooler relative to the cooling system during docking (fig. 9).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763