Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2024 and was filed after the mailing date of the 07/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ford (US 2024/0365403 A1)
Regarding claim 1, A method for supporting wireless interworking of devices, comprising the steps of: (a) causing a packet containing trigger information to be transmitted in an advertising mode, in response to occurrence of an event for wireless interworking;
Ford [0050] The communication device 100 wishes to connect to the network 200 to send electronic information to the 3.sup.rd party server. It therefore starts transmitting Bluetooth Low Energy advertising packets. In this particular example, it starts alternately transmitting Type B advertising packets (steps 400B, 400B′) and Type A advertising packets (steps 400A, 400A′= packet containing trigger information).
Ford [0045] Although, in the above description, the gateway apparatus 105 transitions from the first mode (where Type A advertising packets are not detected) to the second mode (second mode= advertising mode) (where Type A advertising packets are detected) in response to detecting a Type B advertising packet with a particular first identifier (e.g. a particular UUID) ( detecting a Type B advertising packet = in response to occurrence of an event for wireless interworking) and/or a particular second identifier indicated by a previously received Type A advertising packet (e.g. a particular major and/or minor identifier), this is only an example.
and (b) causing a connection mode to be activated on the basis of a result of verifying the trigger information, and causing a packet containing information associated with the event to be transmitted in the connection mode.
Ford [0051]; One or more repetitions of the transmission of each Type A and Type B advertising packet may be made as the Type A and Type B advertising packets are alternately transmitted.
Ford [0055] Also in response to detecting the Type A advertising packet at step 402 (causing a connection mode) , the gateway apparatus 105 determines whether the communication device 100 is requesting a connection. This is determined based on the requesting portion of the Type A advertising packet . In this example, the requesting portion of the Type A advertising packet received at step 400A′ indicates the communication device is requesting a connection (verifying the trigger information). This is detected at step 415.
Ford [0056] At step 405, the gateway apparatus 105 establishes a Bluetooth Low Energy connection with the communication apparatus 100 (connection mode).
Ford [0057] On establishment of the Bluetooth Low Energy connection, the communication apparatus 100 transmits electronic information to the gateway apparatus 105 at step 407.
The electronic information can be any information generated or received by the communication apparatus 100 (a packet containing information associated with the event) . For example, the communication apparatus may comprise or be connected to one or more sensors (not shown) and the electronic information may indicate a measurement of the one or more sensors.
Ford [0058] The electronic information transmitted at step 407 and 408 comprises the device ID (electronic information can be any information generated or received by the communication apparatus 100 = device ID = a packet containing information associated with the event)
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein the packet containing the trigger information is an advertising packet or a scan response packet.
Ford [0050] The communication device 100 wishes to connect to the network 200 to send electronic information to the 3.sup.rd party server. It therefore starts transmitting Bluetooth Low Energy advertising packets. In this particular example, it starts alternately transmitting Type B advertising packets (steps 400B, 400B′) and Type A advertising packets (steps 400A, 400A′= packet containing trigger information).
Regarding claim 6, A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored there on a computer program for executing the method of claim 1.
Ford [0179]; In so far as embodiments of the disclosure have been described as being implemented, at least in part, by one or more software-controlled information processing apparatuses, it will be appreciated that a machine-readable medium (in particular, a non-transitory machine-readable medium) carrying such software, such as an optical disk, a magnetic disk, semiconductor memory or the like, is also considered to represent an embodiment of the present disclosure. In particular, the present disclosure should be understood to include a non-transitory storage medium comprising code components which cause a computer to perform any of the disclosed method(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ford in view of Perreault (US 2020/0358832 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ford teaches The method of claim 1, wherein in step (b), as explained above.
Ford does not teach a number of gateways to be operated is determined with reference to devices in which the connection mode is constantly maintained and devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained.
Perreault teaches a number of gateways to be operated is determined with reference to devices in which the connection mode is constantly maintained and devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained.
Perreault [0025] For example, the system can determine to add or remove relay devices (gatwways) for a communication session based on the number of network devices participating in the communication session (e.g., if the number of network devices connected to a relay device exceeds a threshold).
Perreault [0106] In cases where the relay 518 determines to leave the communication session, the conference ID publisher 524 updates the communication session data to indicate that the relay 518 is no longer involved in the communication session. For example, if the network device 102 connected to the relay 518 disconnects from the communication session, the conference ID publisher 524 updates the communication session data to remove the relay 518 from the communication session.
Perreault [0095]; As such, if the first network device 102a does become temporarily disconnected from one or more network devices in a multi-device communication session (temporary disconnected = devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained), the communication manager 504 can use the session device data 508 to reconnect to each network device. The communication manager 504 can also use the session device data 508 to verify the identity of a network device that was temporarily disconnected from a multi-device communication session with the first network device 102a.
Perreault [0038]; As illustrated in FIG. 1, the system 100 includes a network device 102 with an nth network device (collectively referred to as “network devices 102”).
In view of Perreault, Ford is modified such that the device has the advertisement mode management
unit and the connection mode management unit.
Ford and Perreault are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting data to another network via (gateway) relay device.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ford in the manner describe above to determine the number of gateway networks relative to the number of the devices that have connection to it to control the transmission of the data and improve the quality and reliability of the system (Perreault [0003]).
Regarding claim 4, Ford teaches The method of claim 3, wherein in step (b), as explained above. Ford does not teach the number of gateways to be operated is increased in response to a number of devices in which the connection mode is constantly maintained exceeding at least one threshold value.
Perreault teaches the number of gateways to be operated is increased in response to a number of devices in which the connection mode is constantly maintained exceeding at least one threshold value.
Perreault [0025] In addition to dynamically adding a relay device based on a network device joining a communication session, the system can, based on a number of factors, determine to add or remove relay devices for a communication session. For example, the system can determine to add or remove relay devices for a communication session based on the number of network devices participating in the communication session (e.g., if the number of network devices connected to a relay device exceeds a threshold).
Perreault [0079] Turning now to FIGS. 4A-4B, FIGS. 4A-4B illustrate an example of communication channels between multiple network devices and multiple relays located inside and outside a local area network, which is illustrated with a dotted line. FIGS. 4A-4B illustrate network devices 404a-404f, first relay 402a, second relay 402b, and network devices 404j-404l located within a local area network. In contrast, network devices 404g-404i and third relay 402c are located outside of the area network. In FIG. 4A, all the network devices except network devices 404j-404l are connected in a communication session.
Perreault [0085] As discussed above, the system can determine to add a new out-of-network relay based on a number of factors. Third relay 402c has also met or exceeded its device connection threshold. Based on these and other considerations, the system can determine to connect network devices 404j-404l to a new relay that is located outside of the area network.
In view of Perreault, Ford is modified such the number of gateways to be operated is increased in
response to a number of devices in which the connection mode is constantly maintained exceeding at
least one threshold value.
Ford and Perreault are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting data to another network via (gateway) relay device.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ford in the manner describe above to determine the number of gateway networks relative to the number of the devices that have connection to it to control the transmission of the data and improve the quality and reliability of the system (Perreault [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Ford teaches The method of claim 3, wherein in step (b), as explained above. For does not teach the number of gateways to be operated is determined on the basis of traffic caused by the devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained.
Perreault teaches the number of gateways to be operated is determined on the basis of traffic caused by the devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained.
Perreault [0025] For example, the system can determine to add or remove relay devices for a communication session based on the number of network devices participating in the communication session (e.g., if the number of network devices connected to a relay device exceeds a threshold).
Perreault [0106] In cases where the relay 518 determines to leave the communication session, the conference ID publisher 524 updates the communication session data to indicate that the relay 518 is no longer involved in the communication session. For example, if the network device 102 connected to the relay 518 disconnects from the communication session, the conference ID publisher 524 updates the communication session data to remove the relay 518 from the communication session.
Perreault [0095]; As such, if the first network device 102a does become temporarily disconnected from one or more network devices (one temporary disconnected from one or more devices= devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained) in a multi-device communication session (multi-device communication = basis of traffic), the communication manager 504 can use the session device data 508 to reconnect to each network device. The communication manager 504 can also use the session device data 508 to verify the identity of a network device that was temporarily disconnected from a multi-device communication session with the first network device 102a.
Perreault [0038]; As illustrated in FIG. 1, the system 100 includes a network device 102 with an nth network device (collectively referred to as “network devices 102”).
In view of Perreault, Ford is modified such the number of gateways to be operated is determined on the
basis of traffic caused by the devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained.
Ford and Perreault are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting data to another network via (gateway) relay device.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ford in the manner describe above to determine the number of gateway networks relative to the traffic and the number of connected device to it to control the transmission of the data and improve the quality and reliability of the system (Perreault [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, A system for supporting wireless interworking of devices, comprising: device configured to cause a packet containing trigger information to be transmitted in an advertising mode, a packet containing trigger information to be transmitted in an advertising mode, in response to occurrence of an event for wireless interworking;
Ford [0050] The communication device 100 wishes to connect to the network 200 to send electronic information to the 3.sup.rd party server. It therefore starts transmitting Bluetooth Low Energy advertising packets. In this particular example, it starts alternately transmitting Type B advertising packets (steps 400B, 400B′) and Type A advertising packets (steps 400A, 400A′).
Ford [0045] Although, in the above description, the gateway apparatus 105 transitions from the first mode (where Type A advertising packets are not detected) to the second mode (second mode= advertising mode) (where Type A advertising packets are detected) in response to detecting a Type B advertising packet with a particular first identifier (e.g. a particular UUID) ( detecting a Type B advertising packet = in response to occurrence of an event for wireless interworking) and/or a particular second identifier indicated by a previously received Type A advertising packet (e.g. a particular major and/or minor identifier), this is only an example.
and configured to cause a connection mode to be activated on the basis of a result of verifying the trigger information, and cause a packet containing information associated with the event to be transmitted in the connection mode.
Ford [0051]; One or more repetitions of the transmission of each Type A and Type B advertising packet may be made as the Type A and Type B advertising packets are alternately transmitted.
Ford [0055] Also in response to detecting the Type A advertising packet at step 402 (cause a connection mode), the gateway apparatus 105 determines whether the communication device 100 is requesting a connection. This is determined based on the requesting portion of the Type A advertising packet . In this example, the requesting portion of the Type A advertising packet received at step 400A′ indicates the communication device is requesting a connection (verifying the trigger information). This is detected at step 415.
Ford [0056] At step 405, the gateway apparatus 105 establishes a Bluetooth Low Energy connection with the communication apparatus 100 (connection mode).
Ford [0057] On establishment of the Bluetooth Low Energy connection, the communication apparatus 100 transmits electronic information to the gateway apparatus 105 at step 407.
The electronic information can be any information generated or received by the communication apparatus 100 (a packet containing information associated with the event) . For example, the communication apparatus may comprise or be connected to one or more sensors (not shown) and the electronic information may indicate a measurement of the one or more sensors.
Ford [0058] The electronic information transmitted at step 407 and 408 comprises the device ID (electronic information can be any information generated or received by the communication apparatus 100 = device ID = a packet containing information associated with the event)
Ford does not teach an advertising mode management unit; a connection mode management unit;
Perreault teaches an advertising mode management unit;
Perreault [0092] The communication manager 504 can also send media streams from relays 418. In particular, the communication manager 504 sends media streams to other network devices via relays.
a connection mode management unit;
Perreault [0092] The communication manager 504 can also send media streams from relays 418. In particular, the communication manager 504 sends media streams to other network devices via relays. For example, if the network device 102 is participating in a multi-device communication session, the communication manager 504 sends one media stream to an associated relay 518 in the communication session. The relay 518 then forwards one media stream to each of the one or more other relays 518 involved in the communication session. Each of the one or more other relays then multiply the received media streams and forwards one media stream to each of their associated receiving network devices (Connection mode management unit).
Perreault [0094] In one or more embodiments, the communication manager 504 monitors communication channels with the other network devices during a multi-device communication session. For example, the communication manager 504 can monitor the connection quality and status of peer-to-peer communication channels in a communication session and determine to switch from peer-to-peer communication channels to relay communication channels.
In view of Perreault, Ford is modified such that the device has the advertisement mode management
unit and the connection mode management unit.
Ford and Perreault are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting data to another network via (gateway) relay device.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ford in the manner describe above to implement the advertising management unit that works during the advertisement mode and the connection mode unit that works during the connection mode to control and monitor the transmission of data and to improve the quality and reliability of the system (Perreault [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, The system of claim 7, wherein the packet containing the trigger information is an advertising packet or a scan response packet.
Ford [0050] The communication device 100 wishes to connect to the network 200 to send electronic information to the 3.sup.rd party server. It therefore starts transmitting Bluetooth Low Energy advertising packets. In this particular example, it starts alternately transmitting Type B advertising packets (steps 400B, 400B′) and Type A advertising packets (steps 400A, 400A′= packet containing trigger information).
Regarding claim 9, The system of claim 7, wherein the connection mode management unit (Perreault, Fig. 5, Ref. 504) is configured to determine a number of gateways to be operated with reference to devices in which the connection mode is constantly maintained and devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained.
Perreault [0094] In one or more embodiments, the communication manager 504 monitors communication channels with the other network devices during a multi-device communication session. For example, the communication manager 504 can monitor the connection quality and status of peer-to-peer communication channels in a communication session and determine to switch from peer-to-peer communication channels to relay communication channels.
Perreault [0025] For example, the system can determine to add or remove relay devices (gateways) for a communication session based on the number of network devices participating in the communication session (e.g., if the number of network devices connected to a relay device exceeds a threshold).
Perreault [0106] In cases where the relay 518 determines to leave the communication session, the conference ID publisher 524 updates the communication session data to indicate that the relay 518 is no longer involved in the communication session. For example, if the network device 102 connected to the relay 518 disconnects from the communication session, the conference ID publisher 524 updates the communication session data to remove the relay 518 from the communication session.
Perreault [0095]; As such, if the first network device 102a does become temporarily disconnected from one or more network devices in a multi-device communication session (temporary disconnected = devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained), the communication manager 504 can use the session device data 508 to reconnect to each network device. The communication manager 504 can also use the session device data 508 to verify the identity of a network device that was temporarily disconnected from a multi-device communication session with the first network device 102a.
Perreault [0038]; As illustrated in FIG. 1, the system 100 includes a network device 102 with an nth network device (collectively referred to as “network devices 102”).
In view of Perreault, Ford is modified such that the device has the advertisement mode management
unit and the connection mode management unit.
Ford and Perreault are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting data to another network via (gateway) relay device.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ford in the manner describe above to determine the number of gateway networks relative to the number of the devices that have connection to it to control the transmission of data and improve the quality and reliability of the system (Perreault [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, The system of claim 9, wherein the connection mode management unit (Perreault, Fig. 5, Ref. 504 is configured to increase the number of gateways to be operated in response to a number of devices in which the connection mode is constantly maintained exceeding at least one threshold value.
Perreault [0025] In addition to dynamically adding a relay device based on a network device joining a communication session, the system can, based on a number of factors, determine to add or remove relay devices for a communication session. For example, the system can determine to add or remove relay devices for a communication session based on the number of network devices participating in the communication session (e.g., if the number of network devices connected to a relay device exceeds a threshold).
Perreault [0079] Turning now to FIGS. 4A-4B, FIGS. 4A-4B illustrate an example of communication channels between multiple network devices and multiple relays located inside and outside a local area network, which is illustrated with a dotted line. FIGS. 4A-4B illustrate network devices 404a-404f, first relay 402a, second relay 402b, and network devices 404j-404l located within a local area network. In contrast, network devices 404g-404i and third relay 402c are located outside of the area network. In FIG. 4A, all the network devices except network devices 404j-404l are connected in a communication session.
Perreault [0085] As discussed above, the system can determine to add a new out-of-network relay based on a number of factors. Third relay 402c has also met or exceeded its device connection threshold. Based on these and other considerations, the system can determine to connect network devices 404j-404l to a new relay that is located outside of the area network.
In view of Perreault, Ford is modified such the number of gateways to be operated is increased in
response to a number of devices in which the connection mode is constantly maintained exceeding at
least one threshold value.
Ford and Perreault are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting data to another network via (gateway) relay device.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ford in the manner describe above to determine the number of gateway networks relative to the number of the devices that have connection to it to improve the quality and reliability of the system (Perreault [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, The system of claim 9, wherein the connection mode management unit is configured to determine the number of gateways to be operated on the basis of traffic caused by the devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained.
Perreault [0025] For example, the system can determine to add or remove relay devices for a communication session based on the number of network devices participating in the communication session (e.g., if the number of network devices connected to a relay device exceeds a threshold).
[0106] In cases where the relay 518 determines to leave the communication session, the conference ID publisher 524 updates the communication session data to indicate that the relay 518 is no longer involved in the communication session. For example, if the network device 102 connected to the relay 518 disconnects from the communication session, the conference ID publisher 524 updates the communication session data to remove the relay 518 from the communication session.
[0095]; As such, if the first network device 102a does become temporarily disconnected from one or more network devices (one temporary disconnected from one or more devices= devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained) in a multi-device communication session (multi-device communication = basis of traffic), the communication manager 504 can use the session device data 508 to reconnect to each network device. The communication manager 504 can also use the session device data 508 to verify the identity of a network device that was temporarily disconnected from a multi-device communication session with the first network device 102a.
[0038]; As illustrated in FIG. 1, the system 100 includes a network device 102 with an nth network device (collectively referred to as “network devices 102”).
In view of Perreault, Ford is modified such the number of gateways to be operated is determined on the
basis of traffic caused by the devices in which the connection mode is intermittently maintained.
Ford and Perreault are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting data to another network via (gateway) relay device.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ford in the manner describe above to determine the number of gateway networks relative to the traffic and the number of connected device to it to control the transmission of data and improve the quality and reliability of the system (Perreault [0003]).
Conclusion
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478