DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herlin et al. (US 2019/0127107 A1; hereinafter Herlin) in view of Davidov et al. (US 2003/0029868 A1; hereinafter Davidov).
Regarding claims 1, 7-8, 10, and 14, Herlin discloses a paperboard packaging container and lid comprising a body (3) extending at least partially around an interior of the container, a closed bottom (4) engaged with the body; and a closed top (5) engaged with the body, the closed top comprising a lid comprising a lid panel (29). Examiner notes that the container body and the lid are formed from separate blanks. Herlin lacks a lid panel with an accessory retention opening.
Davidov teaches a lid comprising an a lid panel (14) at least partially defining an accessory retention opening (16) for at least partially receiving an accessory (18) associated with at least one article (see Figures 1 and 5-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Herlin’s lid to include an accessory retention opening for holding a serving utensil in order to conveniently allow one to consume contents of the container after opening the lid (Davidov; Par. 0018-0019).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Herlin, as modified above, discloses a paperboard container and lid wherein the lid further comprises a lid cover (Davidov; 24) spaced away from the lid panel such that a lid compartment is at least partially defined therebetween (Davidov; see Figures 5-6), the accessory retention opening provides access to the lid compartment such that the lid compartment is for at least partially receiving the accessory (Davidov; Par. 0023).
Regarding claim 3, Herlin, as modified above, discloses a paperboard container and lid wherein the lid is repositionable between a closed position (Herlin; Par. 0103-0104) at least partially overlying the body and an open position at least partially raised away from the body, the lid comprising a lid flange (Herlin; 18) extending upwardly from the lid panel to at least partially form a lid recess (Herlin; 15).
Regarding claim 4, Herlin, as modified above, discloses a paperboard container and lid wherein the lid flange is at least partially separable from and at least foldably connected to the body at a line of weakening (Herlin; 20’/20’’).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Herlin, as modified above, discloses a paperboard container and lid wherein the container further comprises at least one barrier member attached to the body in the interior of the container (Herlin; Par. 0113).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Herlin, as modified above, discloses a paperboard container and lid wherein the at least one barrier member comprises a central portion (Herlin; 29) at least partially separable from a marginal portion (Herlin; 35) for facilitating access to the interior of the container (Herlin; see Figures 1a-b).
Regarding claim 9, Herlin, as modified above, discloses a paperboard container and lid wherein the accessory comprises a cup at least partially positioned in the lid compartment and a handle extending away from the cup (i.e. spoon) such that the handle extends in generally parallel relation with the lid panel (Davidov; Par. 0008).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that the prior art reference, Herlin, is a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) references that is excepted under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) common ownership assignment provision.
-Examiner notes that Herlin qualifies as, and is used as, a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) reference due to the published date being more than a year before the filing of the instant application. The rejection is respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734