DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 26 July 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Ohashi et al. (US 2018/0236791 A1).
As related to independent claim 1, Ohashi et al. teaches an image recording apparatus (Ohashi et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 5 and Figure 3, shown below) comprising: a first accommodating part configured to accommodate a first medium (Ohashi et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 17 and Figure 3, Reference #5A, shown below); a second accommodating part configured to accommodate a second medium (Ohashi et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 17 and Figure 3, Reference #5B, shown below), the first accommodating part and the second accommodating part being arranged in an up-down direction (Ohashi et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 17 and Figure 3, Reference #5A & #5B, shown below); a conveyor configured to selectively convey the first medium and the second medium in a conveying direction; and a recording part [i.e. print head] configured to record an image on a medium conveyed by the conveyor (Ohashi et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 18 – Page 2, Paragraph 20 and Figure 3, Reference #19 & #8, shown below), wherein the conveyor has a plurality of roller pairs which are separated from each other in the conveying direction, the roller pairs include a first roller pair and a plurality of second roller pairs, the first roller pair being disposed upstream of the recording part in the conveying direction, without another roller pair being interposed between the recording part and the first roller pair in the conveying direction, and each of the second roller pairs being disposed upstream of the first roller pair in the conveying direction, without another roller pair being interposed between the first roller pair and each of the second roller pairs in the conveying direction (Ohashi et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 18 – Page 2, Paragraph 20 and Figure 3, Reference #8, #7, & #7a, shown below), the first medium is conveyed by the conveyor from the first accommodating part toward the recording part along a first conveyance path and the second medium is conveyed by the conveyor from the second accommodating part toward the recording part along a second conveyance path, and the first conveyance path and the second conveyance path join at a joining point disposed between the first roller pair and the second roller pairs in the conveying direction (Ohashi et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 18 – Page 2, Paragraph 20 and Figure 3, Reference #7 & #7a, shown below).
As related to dependent claim 2, Ohashi et al. continues to teach a controller configured to control the conveyor and the recording part, wherein the second roller pairs include a second roller pair disposed in the first conveyance path and a second roller pair disposed in the second conveyance path, after the controller has caused the conveyor to start conveyance of the second medium, the controller is configured to execute a standby process of stopping the conveyance of the second medium in a case where a downstream end in the conveying direction of the second medium is located, in the conveying direction, between the joining point and the second roller pair disposed in the second conveyance path, and while the controller is executing the standby process, the controller is configured to execute a recording process of causing the conveyor to convey the first medium and causing the recording part to record the image on the first medium (Ohashi et al. – Page 2, Paragraphs 23-27; Page 3, Paragraph 33 – Page 4, Paragraph 42; and Figure 3, Reference #7, #7a, #19, #5A, #5B, & #8, shown above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. (US 2018/0236791 A1).
Ohashi et al. teaches the image recording apparatus as indicated above but does not specifically teach a first and second sensor. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the use of a number of sensors is common when using a plurality of cassettes of recording medium of different shapes and or sizes as taught by Ohashi et al. in an effort to determine which type of recording medium is in use as well as the position of the cassettes (Ohashi et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 5 & 17) and the position of the medium relative to the cassette and the print head as used by the controller (Ohashi et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 17 – Page 2, Paragraph 25). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized Ohashi et al. as teaching a first sensor configured to transmit a first detection signal to the controller in a case where the first medium is accommodated in the first accommodating part; and a second sensor configured to transmit a second detection signal to the controller in a case where the second medium is accommodated in the second accommodating part (Ohashi et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 17 – Page 2, Paragraph 25), and after the controller has received the first detection signal and the second detection signal and before the controller receives a recording instruction, the controller is configured to: cause the conveyor to stop conveyance of the first medium, in a case where the controller causes the conveyor to start conveyance of the first medium and then a downstream end in the conveying direction of the first medium is located, in the conveying direction, between the joining point and the second roller pair disposed in the first conveyance path; and cause the conveyor to stop the conveyance of the second medium, in a case where the controller causes the conveyor to start the conveyance of the second medium and then the downstream end in the conveying direction of the second medium is located, in the conveying direction, between the joining point and the second roller pair disposed in the second conveyance path (Ohashi et al. – Page 2, Paragraphs 23-27; Page 3, Paragraph 33 – Page 4, Paragraph 42; and Figure 3, Reference #7, #7a, #19, #5A, #5B, & #8, shown above).
Claims 4-6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. (US 2018/0236791 A1) in view of ITO (JP-2008044211-A).
As related to dependent claim 4, Ohashi et al. does not specifically teach the first or second medium is wound in a roll state. However, ITO teaches an image recording apparatus comprising a first accommodating part configured to accommodate a first medium and a second accommodating part configured to accommodate a second medium (ITO - Paragraphs 1-3; 26-27; and Figure 2, shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image recording apparatus of Ohashi et al. to include the accommodating parts of ITO in an effort to provide an image forming apparatus which is able to select the length of the recording medium for large documents such as drawings (ITO – Paragraphs 2-3). The combination of Ohashi et al. and ITO therefore teaches the first medium is accommodated in the first accommodating part in state that the first medium is wound in a roll shape, and the second medium is accommodated in the second accommodating part in a state that the second medium is wound in a roll shape (ITO – Paragraphs 1-3; 26-27; and Figure 2, Reference #20, #30, #40, & #41, shown below).
As related to further dependent claim 5, the combination of Ohashi et al. and ITO remains as applied above and continues to teach a first cutting part configured to cut the first medium; and a second cutting part configured to cut the second medium, wherein the first cutting part is disposed upstream of the joining point in the conveying direction in the first conveyance path, and the second cutting part is disposed upstream of the joining point in the conveying direction in the second conveyance path (ITO – Paragraphs 14 & 36-42 and Figure 2, Reference #60, #40, #43 & #41, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 6, the combination of Ohashi et al. and ITO remains as applied above and continues to teach a controller configured to control the conveyor, the recording part, the first cutting part, and the second cutting part, wherein the controller is configured to execute: a recording process of causing the conveyor to convey the first medium and causing the recording part to record the image on the first medium (Ohashi et al. – Page 2, Paragraphs 23-27; Page 3, Paragraph 33 – Page 4, Paragraph 42; and Figure 3, Reference #7, #7a, #19, #5A, #5B, & #8, shown above and ITO – Paragraphs 36-47); and a cutting process of causing the first cutting part to cut the first medium, and after the controller has executed the recording process and the cutting process and then the controller has caused the conveyor to convey the first medium, in a case where a downstream end in the conveying direction of the first medium is located, in the conveying direction, between the joining point and the second roller pair disposed in the first conveyance path, the controller is configured to execute a standby process of causing the conveyor to stop conveyance of the first medium (ITO – Paragraphs 14, 36-47, 66-68, & 101-104 and Figure 2, shown above).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ohashi et al. (US 2018/0236791 A1) and ITO (JP-2008044211-A) and further in view of ICHIKATAI (JP-H04361944-A).
The combination of Ohashi et al. and ITO remain as applied above and continues to teach a casing configured to accommodate the conveyor and the recording part (Ohashi et al. – Figure 3, shown above and ITO – Figure 2, shown above); a first tray having the first accommodating part, the first tray being movable to a first attachment position at which the first tray is attached to the casing and to a first drawn position at which the first tray is drawn from the casing; a second tray having the second accommodating part, the second tray being movable to a second attachment position at which the second tray is attached to the casing and to a second drawn position at which the second tray is drawn from the casing (Ohashi et al. – Figure 3, Reference #5A & #5B, shown above and ITO – Figure 2, Reference #20 & #30, shown above); a first lock mechanism configured to lock the first tray at the first attachment position; a second lock mechanism configured to lock the second tray at the second attachment position [i.e. inherent characteristics of cassette mounting in an image recording apparatus]. Additionally, ICHIKATAI teaches an image recording apparatus having a first tray and a second tray which accommodate a first and second medium respectively (ICHIKATAI – Figure 4, Reference #2a & #2b, shown below) and specifically teaches locking mechanisms to lock the trays into their respective positions (ICHIKATAI – Paragraph 11 and Figure 4, shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image recording apparatus of the combination of Ohashi et al. and ITO to specify the locking mechanisms of ICHIKATAI in an effort to provide an image forming apparatus which is able to select the length of the recording medium for large documents such as drawings (ITO – Paragraphs 2-3) while ensuring the roll-like record sheet [i.e. medium] can be set and re-set without difficulty (ICHIKATAI – Paragraphs 3-4 & 11). The combination of Ohashi et al., ITO, and ICHIKATAI therefore teaches a controller configured to control the conveyor, the recording part, the first cutting part, the second cutting part, the first lock mechanism, and the second lock mechanism; a third sensor configured to transmit a third detection signal to the controller in a case where the first tray is moved from the first attachment position to the first drawn position; and a fourth sensor configured to transmit a fourth detection signal to the controller in a case where the second tray is moved from the second attachment position to the second drawn position, wherein in a case where the controller receives the third detection signal, the controller is configured to cause the first cutting part to cut the first medium and then to cause the first locking mechanism to release locking of the first tray to the first attachment position, in a case where the controller receives the fourth detection signal, the controller is configured to cause the second cutting part to cut the second medium and then to cause the second locking mechanism to release locking of the second tray to the second attachment position, and in a case where the controller receives both the third detection signal and the fourth detection signal, the controller is configured to cause the first cutting part to cut the first medium and to cause the second cutting part to cut the second medium, and then to cause the first locking mechanism to release the locking of the first tray to the first attachment position and to cause the second locking mechanism to release the locking of the second tray to the second attachment position.
(Ohashi et al. – Page 2, Paragraphs 23-27; Page 3, Paragraph 33 – Page 4, Paragraph 42; and Figure 3, Reference #7, #7a, #19, #5A, #5B, & #8, shown above and Paragraphs 14, 36-47, 66-68, 101-104, 115-116, & 120, and Figure 2, shown above and ICHIKATAI – Paragraphs 3-4, 11, & 16 and Figure 4, shown below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Otsuki et al. (US 5,797,068 A) teaches an image forming apparatus having multiple accommodating portions stacked up-down with roller pairs to convey the medium. Yasui et al. (US 6,801,749 B2) teaches an image forming apparatus having multiple accommodating parts a roller pair and a plurality of second roller pairs. Kawashima (US 2014/0241775 A1) teaches an image forming apparatus having multiple accommodating parts, a roller pair, and a plurality of second roller pairs. MARK et al. (US 2017/0087793 A1) teaches a machine with multiple rolls of medium that are conveyed through roller pairs and are joined in the system. ASADA et al. (US 2017/0157954 A1) teaches an image recording device having multiple accommodating parts, and a plurality of roller pairs. Araki et al. (US 2022/00907996 A1) teaches a printing apparatus having multiple accommodating parts which hold rolls of media and convey the media with roller pairs. MORISAWA (US 2023/0406013 A1) teaches an image forming apparatus having multiple accommodating parts, a roller pair, and a plurality of second roller pairs. YOSHII (US 2024/0166903 A1) teaches an image forming apparatus having multiple accommodating parts, a roller pair, and a plurality of second roller pairs.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular Figures & Reference Numbers, Columns, Paragraphs and Line Numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at (571) 272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853