Status of the Application
Claims 1-16 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 10/28/24 has been acknowledged and considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue”. These factors include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The determination that “undue experimentation” would have been needed to make and use the claimed invention is not a single, simple factual determination. Rather, it is a conclusion reached by weighing all the above noted factual considerations. In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404.
As per claim 16, the claim requires inter alia a dispensing device wherein a “[…] dispensing opening produces a maximum spray cone of 70o in a second position of the valve element”. This is interpreted as the claim requiring that the dispensing device cannot produce a spray having a cone larger than 70 degrees –without regard for inter alia a magnitude for the pressure of the contents being supplied to the dispensing opening. It is unclear how one of ordinary skill in the art to could make the claimed dispensing device such that the dispensing device cannot produce a spray having a cone larger than 70 degrees under any magnitude of supply pressure, as required by the claim.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 16, the limitation “a second position” appears to be a double inclusion not supported by the specification. A correction may include “[[a]]the second position”.
As per claim 12, the limitation “the hemispherical closing surface” lacks antecedent basis in the claims.
Claims 13-14 depend from claim 12 and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to:
under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “stop” of claims 9 and 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3) because the planes upon which each sectional view is taken, is not indicated on the view from which the section is cut.
under 37 CFR 1.84(l) because the depicted structure in figures 1 and 3 is unclear in at least the areas indicated below. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9381530 Moretti (referred to herein as Moretti1).
As per claim 1, Moretti1 discloses a dispensing device for dispensing a fluid, comprising:
a head base piece (30) having a dispensing opening (15);
a liner (11) arranged inside of the head base piece (Fig. 3-4);
a valve element (16) movably arranged inside of the liner (Fig. 3-4),
wherein the valve element is arranged to be movable from a first position (Fig. 3) into a second position (Fig. 4) via a stroke relative to the liner,
wherein the valve element closes off the dispensing opening in the first position (Fig. 3) and clears the dispensing opening in the second position (Fig. 4), and
wherein the valve element and the liner, which seal against one another in the first position and in the second position (Fig. 3-4), form a nozzle chamber (see Figure D, below) and a valve chamber (see Figure D, below), and
a channel (22, 34) connects the valve chamber and the nozzle chamber to one another (Fig. 3-4).
Figure D: US 9381530, Fig. 4 – annotated
As per claim 9, Moretti1 further discloses a stop (see Figure D, above) that limits the movement of the valve element via the stroke from the first position into the second position (Fig. 3-4).
Claims 1-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5558258 Giovanni et al.
As per claim 1, Giovanni discloses a dispensing device for dispensing a fluid, comprising:
a head base piece (6) having a dispensing opening (7);
a liner (8) arranged inside of the head base piece (Fig. 1-3);
a valve element (13) movably arranged inside of the liner (Fig. 1-3),
wherein the valve element is arranged to be movable from a first position (Fig. 1) into a second position (Fig. 3) via a stroke relative to the liner,
wherein the valve element closes off the dispensing opening in the first position (Fig. 1) and clears the dispensing opening in the second position (Fig. 3), and
wherein the valve element and the liner, which seal against one another in the first position and in the second position (Fig. 1 & 3), form a nozzle chamber (see Figure A, below) and a valve chamber (4 and see Figure A, below), and
a channel (12) connects the valve chamber and the nozzle chamber to one another.
Figure A: US 5558258, Fig. 3 – annotated
As per claim 2, Giovanni further discloses the channel is a vortex channel that is embodied, at least in regions, in a shape of a helix (9).
As per claim 3, Giovanni further discloses the channel is embodied, at least in regions, inside of the liner (Col. 3, Ln. 24-27).
As per claim 4, Giovanni further discloses the valve element closes off a channel opening into the nozzle chamber when the valve element is located in the first position (see Figure B, below).
Figure B: US 5558258, Fig. 1 – annotated
As per claim 5, Giovanni further discloses the nozzle chamber has a smaller volume than the valve chamber in the first position and in the second position (Fig. 1 and 3).
As per claim 6, Giovanni further discloses the channel is configured to introduce a fluid tangentially into the nozzle chamber (Col. 3, Ln. 24-27; Fig. 3).
As per claim 7, Giovanni further discloses a head spring (15) that presses the valve element against the dispensing opening in the first position (Fig. 1; Col. 5, Ln. 11-15).
As per claim 8, Giovanni further discloses the valve element additionally comprises a sealing lip (14) arranged to seal the valve chamber against the head spring (Col. 3, Ln. 30-34; Fig. 1-3).
As per claim 9, Giovanni further discloses a stop that limits the movement of the valve element via the stroke from the first position into the second position
As per claim 15, Giovanni further discloses liner comprises a breach (see Figure C, below) which is configured such that a fluid can flow through the breach into the liner (Fig. 3).
Figure B: US 5558258, Fig. 3 – annotated
As per claim 16, and as the examiner can understand the claim, Giovanni further discloses the dispensing opening producing a spray in a second position of the valve element (Col. 4, Ln. 10-16). Giovanni does not disclose the dispensing opening producing a maximum spray cone of 70 degrees in the second position of the valve element. the claimed invention except for the particular functionality claimed. However, it has been held that: a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations; a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art; and, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP §2114(II). In addition, functional claim language that is not limited to a specific structure covers all devices that are capable of performing the recited function. Therefore, if the prior art discloses a device that can inherently perform the claimed function, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 may be appropriate. See MPEP §2114(IV). Furthermore, when the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP §2112.01(I). Giovanni discloses the claimed structure and is capable of being used to produce a spray cone less than 70 degrees in a second position of the valve element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9381530 Moretti (referred to herein as Moretti1) in view of US 10226784 to Moretti (referred to herein as Moretti2).
As per claim 10, Moretti1 further discloses a housing comprising the stop (Fig. 4). Moretti1 does not disclose the liner comprising the stop. Moretti2 teaches a dispensing device (Fig. 6) comprising a liner (30b) arranged inside of a head piece (32) and the liner comprising a stop that limits the movement of the valve element from a first position into the second position (Col. 2, Ln. 50-60). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Moretti1 according to the aforementioned teachings from Moretti2 since it has been generally held that where the structural limitations of a claim have been disclosed, the mere rearrangement of parts is considered to be routine to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5558258 Giovanni et al in view of US 4182496 to Burke.
As per claim 11, Giovanni further discloses the valve element comprising a closing surface which bears against the dispensing opening in the first position (Fig. 1). Giovanni does not disclose the closing surface being hemispherical. Burke teaches a dispensing device comprising a valve element (18) having a hemispherical closing surface (19; Fig. 2-3) which bears against a dispensing opening in a first position (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the closing surface of Giovanni to be hemispherical, like taught by Burke, for reasons including to reduce material usage and save expense.
As per claim 12, Giovanni further discloses the dispensing opening interacting with a closing surface of the valve element (Fig. 1). Giovanni does not disclose the dispensing opening being a cone and the closing surface being hemispherical. Burke teaches a dispensing device comprising a valve element (18) having a hemispherical closing surface (19; Fig. 2-3) which bears against a cone dispensing opening (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Giovanni according to the aforementioned teachings from Burke from reasons including to reduce material costs (because of less material usage).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5558258 Giovanni et al in view of US 4182496 to Burke in view of US 6722585 to Stradella.
As per claim 13, Giovanni further discloses a surface forming an outer contour of the head piece (Fig. 1-3). Giovanni does not disclose the surface being “radial”. Stradella teaches a dispensing device comprising a radial surface forming an outer contour of a head piece (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Giovanni-Burke combination according to the aforementioned teachings from Stradella for reasons including to reduce material costs (because of less material usage).
As per claim 14, Giovanni further discloses the dispensing opening comprises a passage (7) that connects the cone and the surface forming the outer contour of the head piece (Fig. 1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in FORM PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If any attempt to reach the examiner by telephone is unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Paul Durand, can be reached at (571) 272-4459.
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patent Data Portal (PDP). Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the (PDP) system. For more information about the PDP system, see https://opsg-portal.uspto.gov/OPSGPortal/. Should you have questions on access to the PDP system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/R.A.G/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 April 3, 2026