DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“…a holding part configured to hold…” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitahara, US 20220080753 A1.
Regarding claim 1,
an image recording apparatus configured to record an image on a sheet (Paragraph 0002, "The present disclosure relates to a recording device"),
an insertion port into which a sheet unwound from a first roll disposed outside the image recording apparatus is inserted (Figure 13A, Item 30a),
a conveyer configured to convey the sheet inserted from the insertion port, along a first conveyance route in a conveyance direction (Figure 13A, Items D1 and 34),
a cutter configured to cut the sheet conveyed by the conveyer, the cutter being located downstream in the conveyance direction of the insertion port in the first conveyance route (Figure 13A, Item 27; Paragraph 0040, "The cutting unit 27 is located downstream from the support unit 25 and upstream from the discharge port 14"),
wherein the conveyer includes a holding part configured to hold the sheet cut by the cutter, the holding part being located between the insertion port and the cutter in the first conveyance route (Figure 13A, Item 35; Paragraph 0075, "a position where the upstream transport roller pair 35 holds the medium M between the rollers").
Regarding claim 8,
a feed tray configured to accommodate a plurality of the sheets stacked (Figure 3, Item 221; In addition, the recording device 11 includes an accommodating carrier 200 accommodating a cassette 221 that accommodates the cut-sheet medium M).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitahara, US 20220080753 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamaguchi et al., US 20220204299 A1 and Morris et al., US 4796066 A1.
Regarding claim 2,
Kitahara teaches:
a casing (Paragraph 0031, "As illustrated in FIG. 1, FIG. 2 and FIG. 3, the recording device 11 includes a cuboid housing 12 and a body frame 16 that supports portions of the recording device 11"),
a feed tray having an accommodating part configured to accommodate the sheet (Figure 3, Item 221; In addition, the recording device 11 includes an accommodating carrier 200 accommodating a cassette 221 that accommodates the cut-sheet medium M)
Kitahara does not disclose that the feed tray is configured to move in a front-rear direction with respect to the casing.
However, Yamaguchi et al. teaches a feed tray configured to move in a front-rear direction with respect to the casing (Figure 1). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kitahara to have the tray move in a front-rear direction so that the user may pull out and insert the tray, as taught by Yamaguchi (Paragraph 0116, “In the above-described first embodiment and second embodiment, the feeding tray can be inserted/pulled out in the front and rear direction with respect to the housing”).
Modified Kitahara further fails to disclose that the insertion port is located on one of a front surface of the casing and a front surface of the feed tray.
However, Morris et al. teaches a printer apparatus with an external paper roll an insertion port located on a front surface of the casing (Figure 1, Item 37). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kitahara to have the insertion port located at a front surface of the casing so that the roll may be replaced more easily, and so that larger rolls may be used, as taught by Morris et al. (Column 2, Lines 49- 53, “In FIG. 1 paper roll 13 is shown mounted external to printer housing 10 for ease of replacing the paper roll. External mounting is the preferred embodiment of the invention and permits larger diameter rolls to be used”).
Regarding claim 4,
Kitahara teaches:
the holding part includes a feed roller configured to feed the sheet accommodated in the accommodating part toward the cutter (Figure 13A, Items 35, 34, and 32),
the feed roller is configured to convey and hold the sheet inserted from the insertion port (Figure 13A, Items 35, 34, and 32).
Regarding claim 5,
Kitahara teaches:
a casing (Paragraph 0031, "As illustrated in FIG. 1, FIG. 2 and FIG. 3, the recording device 11 includes a cuboid housing 12 and a body frame 16 that supports portions of the recording device 11"),
the cutter is configured to selectively cut the sheet inserted from the insertion port and the sheet unwound from the second roll (Figure 1, Items 27 and M; Paragraph 0040, "The cutting unit 27 cuts the medium M at a cutting position across the width direction"; Kitahara the cutter is made to selectively cut the roll sheet inserted from the insertion port and the cut sheet supplied by the cassette. The functionality and operation of the cutter would not change between cutting a sheet and roll, thus the second roll can be substituted for the cut sheet, which is supplied as alternative to the first rolled medium).
Kitahara does not disclose a feed tray configured to accommodate a second roll around which a sheet is wound.
However, Yamaguchi et al. does teach a feed tray configured to accommodate a roll around which a sheet is wound (Figure 1, Item R). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a roll inside the feed tray, allowing the printer to have two different sources of roll paper, one supplied from outside the image recording apparatus and the other from the feed tray, Yamaguchi et al.
Regarding claim 7,
Kitahara does not teach a feed tray configured to accommodate a second roll around which a sheet shorter than a maximum length of the sheet of the first roll is wound.
However, Yamaguchi et al. does teach a feed tray configured to accommodate a roll around which a sheet is wound (Figure 1, Item R). It would be apparent that the roll stored within the feed tray would be smaller than the maximum length of a roll stored outside, as taught by Morris et al. (Column 2, Lines 49- 53, “In FIG. 1 paper roll 13 is shown mounted external to printer housing 10 for ease of replacing the paper roll. External mounting is the preferred embodiment of the invention and permits larger diameter rolls to be used”). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to accommodate a second roll around which a sheet shorter than a maximum length of the sheet of the first roll is wound, allowing the printer to have two different sources of roll paper, one supplied from outside the image recording apparatus and the other from the feed tray, as taught by Yamaguchi et al.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitahara, US 20220080753 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arakane et al., US 20150274456 A1.
Kitahara teaches:
a feed tray including an accommodating part configured to accommodate the sheet (Figure 3, Item 221),
a sensor configured to detect the sheet inserted from the insertion port (Paragraph 0063, "In addition, a transport position of the medium M is configured to be detectable by a position detection unit”),
a notifying part (Paragraph 0035, "Additionally, a speaker 15d is provided emitting sound to an exterior"),
a controller (Paragraph 0060, "Next, a configuration of the control unit 58 of the recording device 11 will be described"),
the conveyer is configured to convey the sheet accommodated in the accommodating part (Figure 3, Item 217),
Kitahara does not disclose that the controller is configured to cause the notifying part to notify a user of removal of the sheet accommodated in the accommodating part from the accommodating part in accordance with detection of the sheet by the sensor.
However, Arakane et al. teaches that the controller is configured to execute a removal notifying process when the sheet is removed from the first tray (Paragraph 0007, "Further, the controller is further configured to execute a removal notifying process to output a notification indicating removal of the sheet on the first tray"; Paragraph 0072, “Then, the controller 130 repeatedly executes the removal notification process (an example of the second notifying process) until the state of the registration sensor 120 is changed from the registration-active state to the registration non-active and the state of the tray sensor 125 is changed from the MP-active state to the MP-non-active state (S32: NO)”). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kitahara such that the controller causes the notifying part to notify the user when the sheet is removed from the accommodating part, in accordance with the detection of the sheet by the sensor, in order to notify the user when each sheet is used in the printing operation, as taught by Arakane et al.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitahara, US 20220080753 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamaguchi et al., US 20220204299 A1 and Hitoshi et al., JP 2005250273 A.
a casing (Paragraph 0031, "As illustrated in FIG. 1, FIG. 2 and FIG. 3, the recording device 11 includes a cuboid housing 12 and a body frame 16 that supports portions of the recording device 11"),
a feed tray having an accommodating part configured to accommodate the sheet (Figure 3, Item 221; In addition, the recording device 11 includes an accommodating carrier 200 accommodating a cassette 221 that accommodates the cut-sheet medium M)
Kitahara does not disclose that the feed tray is configured to move in a front-rear direction with respect to the casing.
However, Yamaguchi et al. teaches a feed tray configured to move in a front-rear direction with respect to the casing (Figure 1). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kitahara to have the tray move in a front-rear direction so that the user may pull out and insert the tray, as taught by Yamaguchi (Paragraph 0116, “In the above-described first embodiment and second embodiment, the feeding tray can be inserted/pulled out in the front and rear direction with respect to the housing”).
Modified Kitahara further fails to disclose that the insertion port is located on one of a front surface of the casing and a front surface of the feed tray.
However, Hitoshi et al. teaches a printer apparatus with an external paper roll an insertion port located on a rear surface of the casing (Figure 6, Item 31a). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kitahara to have that the insertion port is located at rear surface of the casing so that the roll may be replaced more easily, and so that larger rolls may be used, as taught by Morris et al. (Column 2, Lines 49- 53, “In FIG. 1 paper roll 13 is shown mounted external to printer housing 10 for ease of replacing the paper roll. External mounting is the preferred embodiment of the invention and permits larger diameter rolls to be used”).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitahara, US 20220080753 A1, Yamaguchi et al., US 20220204299 A1, and Hitoshi et al., JP 2005250273 A as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Inoue et al., US 20130057630 A1.
Kitahara et al. fails to disclose:
the feed tray is configured to accommodate a second roll around which a sheet is wound,
However, Yamaguchi et al. does teach a feed tray configured to accommodate a roll around which a sheet is wound (Figure 1, Item R). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a roll inside the feed tray, allowing the printer to have two different sources of roll paper, one supplied from outside the image recording apparatus and the other from the feed tray, as taught by Yamaguchi et al.
Modified Kitahara further fails to disclose:
the conveyer is configured so that the sheet unwound from the second roll is conveyed along a second conveyance route,
the image recording apparatus further comprises another cutter which is different from the cutter, the another cutter being disposed in the second conveyance route, and configured to cut the sheet unwound from the second roll.
However, Inoue et al. teaches two rolled mediums (Figure 1, Items 111 and 121) conveyed along two separate conveyance routes (Figure 1, 113 and 123), each having separate cutters (Figure 1, 116 and 126). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have that the second roll is conveyed along a second conveyance route and that the second conveyance route have a second cutter configured to cut the unwound sheet from the second roll so that when a component of conveyance route fails, the other can still be utilized, as taught by Inoue et al. (Paragraph 0058, Thus, the present embodiment achieves a technical effect in which, in the case where either one of the print head of the printers is out of order, images can be easily formed on the recording medium loaded on the printer whose print head is out of order”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to teach a feed tray having an accommodating part configured to move in a front-rear direction with respect to the casing, which further has an insertion port located on the front surface of the feed tray, into which a sheet unwound from a first roll disposed outside the image recording apparatus is inserted.
Conclusion
/RAMI A ALSHOROOGI/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853