DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 and 2 in the reply filed on 10 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 September 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 26 July 2024 and 6 February 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0322582, hereinafter Rüter.
Regarding claim 1, Rüter teaches a battery pack (1) (paragraph [0044] and figure 1). The battery pack (1) comprises a battery cell (70) and a housing (61, “case”) (paragraph [0052] and figure 2).
The housing (61, “case”) has a terminal-connection plate (100) at its bottom (paragraph [0061] and figure 8a) – therefore the terminal-connection plate (100) is a “bottom plate”.
The battery cell (70) is joined to the terminal-connection plate (100, “bottom plate”) with an adhesive (90) (paragraph [0061] and figure 8a).
The terminal-connection plate (100, “bottom plate”) has contact plates (105 and 106) that are bent into position at a hinge (paragraph [0057] and figure 6a). The hinge (“deformable portion”) is in a portion of the terminal-connection plate (100, “bottom plate”) other than the region where the adhesive is applied (figures 6a and 8a).
The terminal-connection plate (100, “bottom plate”) also has a clip (120), which is an elastic deformable portion located on connecting bridge (107) of the terminal-connection plate (100, “bottom plate”) (paragraph [0060] and figures 6d and 6e). Connecting bridge (107) is also a region where the adhesive is not applied.
Regarding claim 2, Rüter teaches that the adhesive (90) is thermally conductive (paragraph [0061]).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0339364, hereinafter Rieblinger.
Regarding claim 1, Rieblinger teaches an energy storage device (10, “battery pack”) comprising a plurality of battery cells (12). The energy storage device (10, “battery pack”) comprises a common battery housing (“case”) (paragraphs [0020, 0033]).
The common battery housing (“case”) has a base (14, “bottom plate”) (paragraphs [0020, 0033] and figure 1).
The battery cells (12) are joined to the base (14, “bottom plate”) with an adhesive (32) (paragraphs [0009, 0034] and figure 1).
The base (14, “bottom plate”) includes predetermined breaking points (52, “deformable portions”) (paragraphs [0016, 0036]). The predetermined breaking points (52, “deformable portions”) are in a portion of the base (14, “bottom plate”) other than the region where the adhesive (32) is applied (figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Rieblinger teaches that the adhesive (32) is thermally conductive (paragraph [0009]).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0243928, hereinafter Schmidt.
Regarding claim 1, Schmidt teaches a battery arrangement (30, “battery pack”) comprising a plurality of battery modules (32) (paragraph [0046] and figure 7). Each battery module (32) comprises a plurality of battery cells (paragraph [0057]). The battery arrangement (30, “battery pack”) comprises a frame (38, “case”) (paragraphs [0047, 0048] and figure 7).
The frame (38, “case”) is enclosed from below by a separating element (44, “bottom plate”) (paragraphs [0050, 0051] and figure 5).
The battery cells are joined to the separating element (44, “bottom plate”) with an adhesive (35) (paragraph [0057] and figure 8).
The separating element (44, “bottom plate”) includes an elastically flexible transition region (44b, “deformable portion”) (paragraph [0048] and figure 3). The elastically flexible transition region (44b, “deformable portion”) is in a portion of the separating element (44, “bottom plate”) other than the region where the adhesive (35) is applied (figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Schmidt teaches that the adhesive (35) is thermally conductive (paragraph [0047]).
Conclusion
/LILIA NEDIALKOVA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724