DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim 10 recites “One or more computer-readable media” storing instructions. However, the Specification does not expressly limit the “computer-readable media” to a non-transitory embodiment. Applicant disclose in [0060] of the Specification that “The computer-readable media 514 may include volatile media (such as random access memory (RAM)) and/or nonvolatile media (such as read only memory (ROM), Flash memory, optical disks, magnetic disks, and so forth). The computer-readable media 514 may include fixed media (e.g., GPU, NPU, RAM, ROM, a fixed hard drive, and so on) as well as removable media (e.g., Flash memory, a removable hard drive, an optical disc, and so forth). The computer-readable media 514 may be configured in a variety of other ways.” Thus, the definition of computer-readable media in view of applicant's specification is unclear. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, in light of the Specification, the recited “computer-readable media” is interpreted to include nonstatutory subject matter (e.g., signals, carrier waves, etc.). Claims 11-15 are rejected as the dependent claim of claim 10.
However, the Examiner respectfully submits a claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory" to the claim. Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. For additional information, please see the Patents’ Official Gazette notice published February 23, 2010 (1351 OG 212).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Snyder (US 20230373457 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Snyder teaches a method comprising:
determining, based at least in part on device data associated with a user equipment, a current condition associated with the user equipment; ([0030]: examine thermal measurements of one or more powered systems to determine conditions or states of components of the powered systems based on the thermal measurements and identify which of those components (or other components) are the cause or potential cause of abnormal operating states or conditions of the components. [0060]. [0150])
determining based at least in part on a change in the current condition compared to a prior condition that a change in operational mode to be implemented; ([0030]: based on the thermal measurements and identify which of those components (or other components) are the cause or potential cause of abnormal operating states or conditions (e.g., change) of the components. [0150]: With the periodic checking on the operating parameters of vehicles in the vehicle system, the controller may associate plural readings for a particular vehicle over time and distance. The controller may then, optionally, establish a baseline for each vehicle and then compare future readings against that baseline to determine if there are anomalies in its operation.)
responsive to determining the change in operational mode to be implemented, determining, based at least in part on the device data, an operational mode to apply to the user equipment; and ([0150]: That is, predictive determinations may allow for responsive actions. [0156]: use this artificial intelligence or machine learning to receive input (e.g., wayside device data), use a model that associates locations with different operating modes to select an operating mode or change in state/condition of the wayside device, and then provide an output (e.g., the change in operation of the wayside device and/or vehicle system using the model).)
causing the user equipment to operate according to the operational mode. ([0150]: These actions may include changing an operating mode of the vehicle, stopping the vehicle, routing the vehicle for maintenance rather than having it complete its mission, re-routing the vehicle to less populated areas, and the like.)
Regarding claim 2, Snyder teaches the method of claim 1.
Snyder teaches wherein determining the operational mode to apply to the user equipment further comprises: inputting the device data into one or more first machine learning models and receiving as an output of the one or more first machine learning models the operational mode, ([0048]-[0050]: The controller can use this artificial intelligence or machine learning to receive input (e.g., a thermal signature), select a model that associates components, conditions of components. [0153]-[0156]: use this artificial intelligence or machine learning to receive input (e.g., wayside device data), use a model that associates locations with different operating modes to select an operating mode or change in state/condition of the wayside device, and then provide an output (e.g., the change in operation of the wayside device and/or vehicle system using the model).)
the one or more first machine learning models trained to select operational modes from a set of available operational modes using device data of various type of user equipment operating over various periods of time. ([0050]. [0156]: The monitoring system may receive additional input of the change in operating mode that was selected that indicates whether the machine-selected operating mode provided a desirable outcome or not. Based on this additional input, the controller can change the model, such as by changing which operating mode would be selected when a similar or identical location or change in location is received the next time or iteration. The controller can then use the changed or updated model again to select an operating mode, receive feedback on the selected operating mode, change or update the model again, etc., in additional iterations to repeatedly improve or change the model using artificial intelligence or machine learning.)
Regarding claim 3, Snyder teaches the method of claim 1.
Snyder teaches wherein determining the operational mode to apply to the user equipment further comprises: inputting the device data into one or more first machine learning models and receiving as an output of the one or more first machine learning models the operational mode, the one or more first machine learning models trained to generate dynamic operational modes based at least in part on the device data using device data of various type of user equipment operating over various periods of time. ([0048]-[0050]: The controller can use this artificial intelligence or machine learning to receive input (e.g., a thermal signature), select a model that associates components, conditions of components. [0153]-[0156]: use this artificial intelligence or machine learning to receive input (e.g., wayside device data), use a model that associates locations with different operating modes to select an operating mode or change in state/condition of the wayside device, and then provide an output (e.g., the change in operation of the wayside device and/or vehicle system using the model). The controller can then use the changed or updated model again to select an operating mode, receive feedback on the selected operating mode, change or update the model again, etc., in additional iterations to repeatedly improve or change the model using artificial intelligence or machine learning.)
Regarding claim 4, Snyder teaches the method of claim 1.
Snyder teaches wherein the device data includes: network data associated with one or more conditions associated with a communications network communicatively coupled to the user equipment; sensor data generated by one or more sensors of the user equipment; conditions associated with a user of the user equipment or the user equipment; or application data associated with one or more applications operating on the user equipment. ([0060]: examine one or more inputs in addition to thermal measurements to identify or predict abnormal operating components. For example, the diagnostic controller may collect or obtain acoustic measurements (e.g., detected sounds), electric signals (e.g., eddy currents, changes in current or voltage, etc.), on-board operating parameters (e.g., speed, horsepower, voltage and current, speed sensor inputs, terrain, weather or ambient conditions, accelerations, input from wayside monitoring devices or systems, etc.), or the like. Different combinations of these inputs can be used in conjunction with the thermal signature to diagnose or predict a condition of one or more components.)
Same rationales apply to claim 16 (system) because it is substantially similar to the combination of claims 1 and 3 (method).
Regarding claim 17, Snyder teaches the system of claim 16.
Snyder teaches wherein determining the change in the current condition of the user equipment compared to the prior condition of the user equipment further comprises detecting a transition in a physical location of the user equipment. ([0006]: obtaining a thermal signature for one or more first components of a powered system, the thermal signature representing thermal measurements obtained at different locations of the powered system, and identifying an abnormal operating condition of the one or more first components of the powered system or one or more second components of the powered system based on the thermal signature. [0072]: he trip plans may designate operational settings (e.g., throttle settings, speeds, brake settings, etc.) at different locations, times, distances, etc. of a trip of the vehicle system.)
Regarding claim 20, Snyder teaches the system of claim 16.
Snyder teaches herein the device data includes: behavioral data or trends determined by the user equipment over time and associated with a user of the user equipment; hardware data associated with components of the user equipment; conditions associated with an environment surrounding the user equipment; or data associated with or received from a third-party device in proximity to the user equipment. ([0060]: examine one or more inputs in addition to thermal measurements to identify or predict abnormal operating components. For example, the diagnostic controller may collect or obtain acoustic measurements (e.g., detected sounds), electric signals (e.g., eddy currents, changes in current or voltage, etc.), on-board operating parameters (e.g., speed, horsepower, voltage and current, speed sensor inputs, terrain, weather or ambient conditions, accelerations, input from wayside monitoring devices or systems, etc.), or the like. Different combinations of these inputs can be used in conjunction with the thermal signature to diagnose or predict a condition of one or more components.)
Claim(s) 10-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elcock (US 20200205114 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Elcock teaches one or more computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first request from a first user equipment to participate in a joint operational mode, the first request including first device data associated with the first user equipment; ([0003]: automatically sensing when a wireless network router (such as a Wi-Fi router) is not providing adequate coverage for a wireless network client (such as a Wi-Fi client), and redirecting the affected client to a device that already exists in the consumer's home that can provide alternate Internet access. [0055]: seeks to utilize a nearby device that supports the Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (i.e. 802.11s) as an alternate path for Internet access when Wi-Fi router coverage is not adequate.)
receiving a second request from a second user equipment to participate in the joint operational mode, the second request including second device data associated with the second user equipment; (Fig. 6A and [0103]: after the Wi-Fi client device is registered, a Wi-Fi hotspot device is registered. [0059]-[0064]: The router, or gateway having router capabilities, may perform configuration tasks for the hotspot device. First, the router, or gateway having router capabilities, may communicate to the hotspot device and determine if the hotspot device has enabled its hotspot functionality. If the hotspot functionality of the hotspot device is not enabled, the router, or gateway having router capabilities, may communicate with the hotspot device to automatically enable the hotspot functionality.)
determining that the first user equipment would benefit from participating in the joint operational mode with the second user equipment and that the second user equipment would benefit from participating in the joint operational mode with the first user equipment; [0055]: seeks to utilize a nearby device that supports the Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (i.e. 802.11s) as an alternate path for Internet access when Wi-Fi router coverage is not adequate.)
determining, based at least in part on the first device data and the second device data, at least one setting or configuration for the first user equipment and ([0071]: transmit a redirection instruction to a Wi-Fi client device to instruct the Wi-Fi client device to redirect to a Wi-Fi hotspot device. [0075]: The redirection instruction includes login credentials, including for example an SSID and password, to login to a predetermined hotspot device and instructs Wi-Fi client device to on-board onto the predetermined hotspot device if Wi-Fi client device leaves Wi-Fi network or if the signal loss on channel between Wi-Fi client device and gateway drops below a predetermined threshold.)
at least one setting or configuration for the second user equipment to implement while participating in the joint operational mode; ([0059]-[0064]: configured to either select a specific hotspot device for Wi-Fi client redirection or to allow the router, or gateway having a router capability, to automatically determine which near-by device hotspot to use for redirection. The router, or gateway having router capabilities, may perform configuration tasks for the hotspot device. First, the router, or gateway having router capabilities, may communicate to the hotspot device and determine if the hotspot device has enabled its hotspot functionality. If the hotspot functionality of the hotspot device is not enabled, the router, or gateway having router capabilities, may communicate with the hotspot device to automatically enable the hotspot functionality.)
sending the at least one setting or configuration for the first user equipment to the first user equipment; and ([0075]: The redirection instruction includes login credentials, including for example an SSID and password, to login to a predetermined hotspot device and instructs Wi-Fi client device to on-board onto the predetermined hotspot device if Wi-Fi client device leaves Wi-Fi network or if the signal loss on channel between Wi-Fi client device and gateway drops below a predetermined threshold.)
sending the at least one setting or configuration for the second user equipment to the second user equipment. ([0059]-[0064]: The router, or gateway having router capabilities, may perform configuration tasks for the hotspot device. First, the router, or gateway having router capabilities, may communicate to the hotspot device and determine if the hotspot device has enabled its hotspot functionality. If the hotspot functionality of the hotspot device is not enabled, the router, or gateway having router capabilities, may communicate with the hotspot device to automatically enable the hotspot functionality.)
Regarding claim 11, Elcock teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 10.
Elcock teaches wherein the second request is received within a period of time of the first request. (Fig. 6A and [0103]: after the Wi-Fi client device is registered, a Wi-Fi hotspot device is registered.)
Regarding claim 13, Elcock teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 10.
Elcock teaches wherein sending the at least one setting or configuration for the first user equipment differs from the at least one setting or configuration for the second user equipment to the second user equipment. ([0075]: The redirection instruction includes login credentials, including for example an SSID and password, to login to a predetermined hotspot device and instructs Wi-Fi client device to on-board onto the predetermined hotspot device if Wi-Fi client device leaves Wi-Fi network or if the signal loss on channel between Wi-Fi client device and gateway drops below a predetermined threshold. [0059]-[0064]: The router, or gateway having router capabilities, may perform configuration tasks for the hotspot device. First, the router, or gateway having router capabilities, may communicate to the hotspot device and determine if the hotspot device has enabled its hotspot functionality. If the hotspot functionality of the hotspot device is not enabled, the router, or gateway having router capabilities, may communicate with the hotspot device to automatically enable the hotspot functionality.)
Regarding claim 14, Elcock teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 10.
Elcock teaches wherein the at least one setting or configuration for the first user equipment includes settings or configuration to communicate with a communication network and the at least one setting or configuration for the second user equipment includes disabling at least one communication interfaces of the second user equipment. ([0075]: The redirection instruction includes login credentials, including for example an SSID and password, to login to a predetermined hotspot device and instructs Wi-Fi client device to on-board onto the predetermined hotspot device. [0120]: either one of hotspot device 402 or hotspot device 510 may leave Wi-Fi network, and thus disconnect with gateway.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-9, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder (US 20230373457 A1) in view of Elcock (US 20200205114 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Snyder teaches the method of claim 1.
Snyder teaches wherein: the user equipment is a first user equipment; the device data is first device data. ([0030]: examine thermal measurements of one or more powered systems to determine conditions or states of components of the powered systems based on the thermal measurements and identify which of those components (or other components) are the cause or potential cause of abnormal operating states or conditions of the components. [0060]. [0150])
Snyder does not explicitly disclose wherein: the operational mode is a joint operational mode executed in conjunction with at least a second user equipment; and determining the joint operational mode to apply to the user equipment is based at least in part on second device data associated with the second user equipment and includes at least one operation to be performed by the first user equipment and at least one second operation to be performed by the second user equipment.
However, Elcock teaches wherein: the operational mode is a joint operational mode executed in conjunction with at least a second user equipment; and determining the joint operational mode to apply to the user equipment is based at least in part on second device data associated with the second user equipment and includes at least one operation to be performed by the first user equipment and at least one second operation to be performed by the second user equipment. ([0003]: automatically sensing when a wireless network router (such as a Wi-Fi router) is not providing adequate coverage for a wireless network client (such as a Wi-Fi client), and redirecting the affected client to a device that already exists in the consumer's home that can provide alternate Internet access. [0050]: Hotspot device (e.g., second device) may be any device or system that has hotspot functionality so as able to enable Wi-Fi client device to wirelessly communicate directly with Internet by any known method. [0055]: seeks to utilize a nearby device that supports the Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (i.e. 802.11s) as an alternate path for Internet access when Wi-Fi router coverage is not adequate. Mobile devices and other devices such as cars now support Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (i.e. 802.11s).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Snyder to include above limitation. One would have been motivated to do so because many wireless network consumers experience dead zones which are locations in their house where availability of a wireless network (such as Wi-Fi) inexplicably seems to disappear. It is desirable for a system and method automatically sensing when a wireless network router (such as a Wi-Fi router) is not providing adequate coverage for a wireless network client (such as a Wi-Fi client), and redirecting the affected client to a device that already exists in the consumer's home that can provide alternate Internet access. As taught by Elcock, [0002]-[0003].
Regarding claim 6, Snyder and Elcock teach the method of claim 5.
Elcock teaches wherein while the first user equipment and the second user equipment are operating under the joint operational mode, the first user equipment and the second user equipment are operating on a schedule to be in direct communication when indicated by the schedule. (Fig. 4. [0075]-[0076]: The redirection instruction includes login credentials, including for example an SSID and password, to login to a predetermined hotspot device and instructs Wi-Fi client device to on-board onto the predetermined hotspot device if Wi-Fi client device leaves Wi-Fi network or if the signal loss on channel between Wi-Fi client device and gateway drops below a predetermined threshold.)
Regarding claim 8, Snyder and Elcock teach the method of claim 5.
Elcock teaches wherein generating the joint operational mode further comprises: responsive to determining that the first user equipment is within a threshold physical distance or connectivity distance of the second user equipment, grouping the first user equipment and the second user equipment into a set of user equipment. ([0062]: Beacons are sensors that send out Bluetooth low energy (BLE) tracking tags. These sensors can be placed around a venue, such as a store, and a mobile device can pick up the BLE signal and determine that it is near. The intent is that a location technology exists on the consumer premises and will provide location details of the Wi-Fi client and hotspot devices within the consumer's home to the router, or gateway having router capabilities. [0065]: the gateway uses the Wi-Fi client bandwidth usage data, the location data of this device and the location data of near-by device hotspots to determine when to redirect a Wi-Fi client device if configured to find a nearby hotspot device.) It is well-known that a typical BLE range for indoor use is often 10-30 meters.
Regarding claim 9, Snyder and Elcock teach the method of claim 5.
Elcock teaches wherein the set of user equipment includes at least a third user equipment, the third user equipment within the threshold physical distance or connectivity distance of either the first user equipment or the second user equipment. ([0003]: automatically sensing when a wireless network router (such as a Wi-Fi router) (e.g., third user equipment) is not providing adequate coverage for a wireless network client (such as a Wi-Fi client), and redirecting the affected client to a device that already exists in the consumer's home that can provide alternate Internet access. [0075]-[0076]: The redirection instruction includes login credentials, including for example an SSID and password, to login to a predetermined hotspot device and instructs Wi-Fi client device to on-board onto the predetermined hotspot device if Wi-Fi client device leaves Wi-Fi network or if the signal loss on channel between Wi-Fi client device and gateway (e.g., third UE) drops below a predetermined threshold.)
Regarding claim 19, Snyder teaches the system of claim 16.
Snyder does not explicitly disclose wherein the operational mode is a joint operational mode that includes sharing operational tasks with at least one other third party device.
However, Elcock teaches wherein the operational mode is a joint operational mode that includes sharing operational tasks with at least one other third party device. ([0003]: automatically sensing when a wireless network router (such as a Wi-Fi router) is not providing adequate coverage for a wireless network client (such as a Wi-Fi client), and redirecting the affected client to a device that already exists in the consumer's home that can provide alternate Internet access. [0050]: Hotspot device (e.g., second device) may be any device or system that has hotspot functionality so as able to enable Wi-Fi client device to wirelessly communicate directly with Internet by any known method. [0055]: seeks to utilize a nearby device that supports the Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (i.e. 802.11s) as an alternate path for Internet access when Wi-Fi router coverage is not adequate. Mobile devices and other devices such as cars now support Wi-Fi hotspot functionality (i.e. 802.11s).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Snyder to include above limitation. One would have been motivated to do so because many wireless network consumers experience dead zones which are locations in their house where availability of a wireless network (such as Wi-Fi) inexplicably seems to disappear. It is desirable for a system and method automatically sensing when a wireless network router (such as a Wi-Fi router) is not providing adequate coverage for a wireless network client (such as a Wi-Fi client), and redirecting the affected client to a device that already exists in the consumer's home that can provide alternate Internet access. As taught by Elcock, [0002]-[0003].
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elcock (US 20200205114 A1) in view of Wang (US 20250039659 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Elcock teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 10.
Elcock does not explicitly teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving first authentication data associated with the first user equipment, the first authentication data to allow the second user equipment to establish direct communication with the first user equipment; and receiving second authentication data associated with the second user equipment, the second authentication data to allow the first user equipment to establish direct communication with the second user equipment.
However, Wang teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving first authentication data associated with the first user equipment, the first authentication data to allow the second user equipment to establish direct communication with the first user equipment; and receiving second authentication data associated with the second user equipment, the second authentication data to allow the first user equipment to establish direct communication with the second user equipment. ([0026]: after the mobile device activates the Bluetooth hotspot network, the mobile device scans for a Bluetooth identification signal transmitted from a nearby device and initiates a Bluetooth pairing operation accordingly.) It is well-known that Bluetooth pairing process involves authenticates devices by exchanging identity info and keys, using methods like PINs, numeric comparison (6-digit codes), or Out-Of-Band (OOB) data (NFC, QR codes) to prove physical access, establishing a shared secret "link key" for encrypted communication, ensuring only authorized devices connect securely.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elcock to include above limitation. One would have been motivated to do so because Bluetooth technology is commonly used to directly connect two mobile devices that are nearby.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder (US 20230373457 A1) in view of Wright (US 20250106600 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Snyder teaches the method of claim 1.
Snyder does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the change in the current condition of the user equipment compared to the prior condition of the user equipment further comprises detecting a transition from a terrestrial network to a satellite network.
However, Wright teaches wherein determining the change in the current condition of the user equipment compared to the prior condition of the user equipment further comprises detecting a transition from a terrestrial network to a satellite network. ([0056]: Satellite networks enable communication between widely dispersed locations or in areas where terrestrial infrastructure, such as cellular networks or wired connections, is limited or unavailable. Claim 3: the communication device has moved from the satellite network to the cellular network.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Snyder to include above limitation. One would have been motivated to do so because Satellite networks enable communication between widely dispersed locations or in areas where terrestrial infrastructure, such as cellular networks or wired connections, is limited or unavailable. As taught by Wright, [0056].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if applicant overcomes the 101 (CRM) rejection.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fail to explicitly disclose each and every limitation recited in claims 7 and 15.
Conclusion
/ZI YE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455