DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant’s filing dated July 26th, 2024.
Priority
This application has a PRO of 63/516,212 filed on July 28th, 2023.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on July 26th, 2024. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s amendment of claims 3-4, 7-10, 12-13 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al (Epilepsy & Behavior Reports, (2022), 20100567); in view of NCT03350035 (https://cdn.clinicaltrials.gov/large-docs/35/NCT03350035/Prot_002.pdf).
Regarding claims 1-8 and 10-12, Singh teaches a method of treating Super-Refractory Status Epilepticus (herein referred to as SRSE) in pediatric patients by administering intravenous ganaxolone (herein referred to as GNX) as an initial intravenous bolus followed by continuous intravenous infusion before a transition to enteric maintenance GNX. Singh expressly reports that the subjects were receiving intravenous anesthetic therapy and that administration of GNX safely permitted the intravenous anesthetics to be weaned.
In Patient 1, GNX was administered by intravenous bolus followed by continuous intravenous infusion over four days followed by a taper on day 5 and transition to oral enteric maintenance GNX at the maximal adult dose of 1800 mg/day divided into three doses, with pentobarbital discontinued on day 1 of GNX treatment; by day 3 of GNX treatment, clinical and electrographic seizures stopped (page 2, left column, third paragraph; page 3, Figure 1a). In Patient 2, GNX was administered via intravenous bolus followed by continuous intravenous infusion over 4.5 days, followed by a taper on day 5 and transition to oral enteric maintenance GNX at a dose of 63 mg/kg/day divided into three doses; midazolam was discontinued on day 2 and ketamine was discontinued on day 8 of IV GNX protocol; seizures stopped by day 8 (page 3, left column, first paragraph; page 3, right column, first paragraph; page 4, Figure 1b).
Singh does not expressly teach the instantly claimed weight-based dosing regimens, continuous infusion rates, or tapering in successive four-hour increments.
NCT03350035 protocol teaches dosing for GNX administered via intravenous bolus and continuous intravenous treatment regimen. NCT03350035 expressly discloses that patients weighing ≥40kg receive a 30mg bolus dose over ~3 minutes with a continuous intravenous infusion rate of 80mg/hour for 2 hours, followed by a rate of 40mg/hour for 10 hours, followed by a rate of 20mg/hour until the drug is tapered (page 54, first and second bullet points; page 55, Table 2); whereas patients weighing ≤40kg receive a 0.43mg/kg bolus dose over ~3 minutes with a continuous intravenous infusion rate of 1.14mg/kg/hour for 2 hours, followed by a rate of 0.57mg/kg/hour for 10 hours, followed by a rate of 0.29mg/kg/hour until the drug is tapered (page 55, first and second bullet points; page 56, Table 3). NCT03350035 further teaches that when intravenous GNX is tapered, the dose is reduced by 33.3% every 4 hours; stopping when dosage reaches 5.93-13.35 mg/hour for patients weighing ≥40kg and 0.08-0.19 mg/kg/hour for patients weighing ≤40kg (page 54, third bullet point; page 55, Table 2; page 56, Table 3). NCT03350035 states that subject GNX dosing can be optimized and infusion parameters adjusted to maximize safety and efficacy (page 57, Dose Optimization).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the amounts of GNX taught by NCT03350035 and Singh as a starting point for optimizing the amount and treatment regimen of amantadine GNX utilized to treat SRSE, since Singh teaches GNX is useful for treating SRSE and because dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP § 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Taken together, all of this would result in the method of instant claims 1-8 and 10-12 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-10, 15-18, 20, 22 and 24-31 of copending Application No. 19/044,894 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘894 application are drawn to a method of treating Status Epilepticus (herein referred to as SE) with GNX via the same administration routes, and SE is an epileptic disorder that encompasses subtypes including the instantly claimed disorder treated SRSE. Moreover, the dosage and regimen are very similar; and which are obvious to optimize because dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP § 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-21 of copending Application No. 18/625,718 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘718 application are drawn to a method of treating Established Status Epilepticus (herein referred to as ESE) with GNX via the same administration routes; ESE is a subtype of SE, and SE is an epileptic disorder that encompasses subtypes including the instantly claimed disorder treated SRSE. Moreover, the dosage and regimen are very similar; and which are obvious to optimize because dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP § 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 9-10 and 14-25 of copending Application No. 18/321,374 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘374 application are drawn to a method of treating SRSE with GNX via the same administration routes with a very similar dosage and regimen; of which are obvious to optimize because dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP § 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented (no patent number has yet been issued), although the Examiner notes a Notice of Allowance was sent on June 10th, 2026 in the reference ‘374 application.
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
/C.L.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691