DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Europe on 7/28/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of EP 23188450 (published as EP 44497814 A1) as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 7/26/2024 is in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sensor of claims 7 and 21, drive unit of claim 3, and heating unit of claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0031], “0.01 to 100 µ” appears to be a typographical error and should read “0.01 to 100 µm”.
In [0032], “aginate” appears to be a typographical error and should read “alginate”.
In [0033] and [0042], “thermos-responsive” appears to be a typographical error and should read “thermo-responsive”.
In [0019] and [0049], “scrapping” appears to be a typographical error and should read “scraping”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 12, 16, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“aginate” in claim 9, line 5 appears to be a typographical error and should read “alginate”;
“mN*cm2” in claim 11, line 2 appears to be a typographical error and should read “mN/cm2” (which are appropriate units for flexural strength);
“thermos-responsive” in claim 12, lines 3 and 4 appears to be a typographical error and should read “thermo-responsive”;
“di-rection” in claim 12, line 8 appears to be a typographical error and should read “direction”;
“scrapping” in claim 16, lines 2-3 appears to be a typographical error and should read “scraping”;
“The device according to one of claims 18” in claim 21, line 1 appears to be a typographical error and should read “The device according to claim 18”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation – 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“stirring unit” in claim 19;
“heating unit” in claim 19;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because “use” claims that do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter fail to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101 (MPEP § 2173.05(q)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, the term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention (see [0027] and [0033] in the specification as-filed). Within the claim environment of claim 1, the phrase substantially completely in the wound up state would leave one of ordinary skill in the art unapprised to the metes and bounds of the claim (i.e., how wound up is substantially completely wound up?). Within the claim environment of claim 14, the phrase substantially congruent would leave one of ordinary skill in the art unapprised to the metes and bounds of the claim (i.e., how uniform do the spacers have to be to be substantially congruent?).
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “further shaft” renders the claim indefinite. As written, claim 8 depends solely from claim 1, which does not recite a shaft. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for a shaft. For examination on the merits, claim 8 will be interpreted as dependent from claim 2 which recites a shaft.
Claims 9 is rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of plasma-treated, corona-treated or alkali-treated or has a coating based on or formed from gelatin, poly-L-lysine, poly-D-lysine, poly-ornithines, collagen, fibronectin, laminin, elastin, entactin, vitronectin, osteopontin, matrigel, hydrogel, aginate gel, lactate gel and/or constituents of the basal membrane from Engelbreth-Holm-Swarm (EHS) mouse tumors is improper because the alternatives do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
The alternatives are not members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class. The limitations plasma-treated, corona-treated, and alkali-treated are drawn to different methods of treating plastic surfaces. The limitations a coating based on or formed from gelatin, poly-L-lysine, poly-D-lysine, poly-ornithines, collagen, fibronectin, laminin, elastin, entactin, vitronectin, osteopontin, matrigel, hydrogel, aginate gel, lactate gel and/or constituents of the basal membrane from Engelbreth-Holm-Swarm (EHS) mouse tumors are be drawn to biologically derived coatings. One group alters the characteristics of the film while the other relies on a physical coating, as described in the specification as-filed ([0030] and [0032]).
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “the spacers on the inner and/or the outer side of the plastic film extend from the first housing end or at a distance from the first housing end in the direction of or as far as the second housing end” renders the claim unclear. The phrasing is generally confusing and it is unclear what the limitation requires. For examination on the merits, the limitation of note will be interpreted as the spacers on the inner and/or the outer side of plastic film extends from the first housing end to the second housing end or extends from the first housing end toward the second housing end.
Regarding claim 19, the phrase “if necessary” renders the claim indefinite. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined because it is unclear what the claim requires because of the noted phrase.
Regarding claim 19 further, the claim limitation “heating unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function of heating (in the specification filed 7/26/2024, [0041] merely recites the claim language). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
I Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 22, it has been held that “use” claims are indefinite because they merely recite a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced (MPEP § 2173.05 (q)).
Dependent claims are rejected for the same reason(s) as the claim(s) from which they depend upon.
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of heating. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed functions because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-15, 18-23, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (WO 2019/147879 A2) (presented in IDS filed 7/26/2024 – US equivalent 2024/0034976 A1 cited herein).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a device for propagating cells (abstract, cell culture system) comprising:
a housing with a longitudinal orientation extending from a first housing end to a second housing end (Fig. 3, holder 33 – see figure below);
a plastic film present in the housing (Fig. 1, film 12; [0052], “Film 12 can be constructed from any suitably flexible material, such as a plastic”), wound up in a spiral shape around a winding axis oriented along or parallel to the longitudinal orientation (Fig. 3), with a first and a second film end and opposite side edges and with an inner and an opposite outer side ([0052], film has a length, width and inner/outer sides),
wherein on the inner side or on the outer side or on the inner and the outer side of the plastic film a multiplicity of spacers is present (Fig. 1, spacers 18), arranged and adapted to keep the inner side of the wound up plastic film spaced apart from the outer side in sections or substantially completely in the wound up state, such that a liquid medium can be transferred
along the longitudinal orientation ([0010]).
Park FIG. 3
Park Fig. 1
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising at least one inlet opening and at least one outlet opening (Fig. 3, inlet port 34 and outlet port 36).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising at least one feed line for a nutrient solution and at least one discharge line for the nutrient solution (Fig. 7 – see annotated figure below).
Park Fig. 7
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising at least one temperature, oxygen, pH, lactate, fructose, glucose and/or conductivity sensor ([0070]).
Regarding the limitation “and/or at least one sensor arranged and adapted for determining the flow rate of the nutrient solution in the feed line or adjacent to the feed line and/or at least one sensor arranged and adapted for determining the flow rate of the nutrient solution in the discharge line or adjacent to the discharge line", the limitation is phrased in the alternative. Because at least one of the limitations is rejected above, no further rejections are required at this time.
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the inner side or the outer side or the inner and the outer side of the plastic film has a coating formed from Matrigel ([0082]).
Regarding the limitations not addressed, the limitations are phrased in the alternative. Because at least one of the limitations is rejected above, no further rejections are required at this time.
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses the device according to claim 1.
The limitation “wherein the inner side or the outer side or the inner and the outer side of the plastic film have a surface roughness” is drawn to a property of the plastic film. It has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the device according to claim 1.
The limitation “wherein the plastic film has a flexural strength greater than or equal to 1000 mN/cm2 as determined in accordance with DIN 53362:2003-10” is drawn to a property of the plastic film. It has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein: the spacers on the inner and/or the outer side of the plastic film extend from the first housing end in the direction of the second housing end (Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding the limitations not addressed, the limitations are phrased in the alternative. Because at least one of the limitations are rejected above, no further rejections are required at this time.
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein: the spacers are present in the form of a plastic material on the inner side, the outer side or the inner and the outer side of the plastic film ([0053], “Spacers 18 can be constructed from any suitable material, such as a plastic”).
Regarding the limitations not addressed, the limitations are phrased in the alternative. Because at least one of the limitations is rejected above, no further rejections are required at this time.
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the spacers of adjacent wrapping layers are arranged substantially congruently (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein spacers adjacent to one another on the inner side or on the outer side are in each case of linear configuration, wherein this linear configuration extends along the longitudinal orientation (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising a collection container connected or connectable to the discharge line for receiving nutrient solution flowing out of the housing (Fig. 7, one or more reservoirs 42).
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses the device according to claim 18, wherein the collection container comprises a stirring unit (Fig. 7, stirrer shown).
The claimed stirring unit is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (see Claim Interpretation section above). The corresponding prior art element performs the function specified in the claim, is not precluded by any explicit definition provided in the specification for an equivalent, and is an equivalent of the means- (or step-) plus-function limitation. Examiner finds that the prior art element is equivalent to the limitations of note because of at least one of the following reasons:
The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification.
There are insubstantial differences between the prior art element and the corresponding element disclosed in the specification.
Therefore, the prior art stirrer is prima facie equivalent to the claimed stirring unit (MPEP § 2183).
The limitation “a heating unit" is phrased in the alternative. Because at least one of the limitations is rejected above, no further rejections are required at this time.
As to the claimed gassing unit, Park discloses a gassing unit in operative connection with the collection container (Fig. 7, gas sources 50).
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses the device according to claim 19, further comprising a connection to the feed line (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 21, Park discloses the device according to one of claims 18, further comprising a temperature, oxygen, carbon dioxide, pH, lactate, glucose, fructose and/or conductivity sensor, as set forth above.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed device according to claim 1 and does not differentiate the claimed structure from the prior art structure because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). Park’s device would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art structure is substantially identical to the claimed structure absent clear evidence to the contrary and absent a showing of unexpected results (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
Regarding claim 23, Park discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the spacers are present on the inner or the outer side of the plastic film, as set forth above.
Regarding claim 26, Park discloses the device according to claim 10.
The limitation “wherein the surface roughness has an average surface roughness Sa in the range from 0.01 to 100 μm determined in accordance with DIN EN ISO 25178 (2010-2020)” is drawn to a property of the plastic film. It has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
Regarding claim 27, Park discloses the device according to claim 13.
The limitation air cushion is phrased in the alternative. Because at least one of the limitations in claim 13, e.g., the spacers are present in the form of a plastic material on the inner side, the outer side or the inner and the outer side of the plastic film, is rejected above, no further rejections are required at this time.
Regarding claim 28, Park discloses the device according to claim 13.
The limitation “wherein the spacers are formed as film embossing” is drawn to the process of forming the spacers. It has been held that the patentability of product-by-process claims is based on the product itself (MPEP § 2113 I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 8, 24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Liu et al. (WO 2023/080894 A1) (hereinafter referred to as Liu, presented in IDS filed 7/26/2024 – US equivalent 2023/0272318 A1 cited herein).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the device according to claim 1.
Park does not disclose or teach a shaft oriented along or parallel to the longitudinal orientation, wherein the plastic film is present on the shaft wound up in a spiral shape.
However, Liu in the analogous art of coiled cell culturing substrates teaches it is known in the art to use a spool, i.e., a shaft, oriented along a longitudinal orientation of a substrate, i.e., a film, wherein the substrate is present on the shaft wound up in a spiral shape (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s device to further comprise a shaft in the manner claimed because Liu teaches each element not taught by Park. It has been held that it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143 I A). In this case, the combination of Park and Liu teaches each element claimed and each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art combination teaches the device according to claim 2.
Liu of the prior art combination teaches a drive unit for the shaft ([0055], automated winding system for rotatably engaging the spool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s device to further comprise a drive unit in the manner claimed because Liu teaches each element not taught by Park. It has been held that it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143 I A). In this case, the combination of Park and Liu teaches each element claimed and each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art combination the device according to claim 21.
Liu discloses a further shaft (Fig. 8B, spool 812).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Park to further comprise a further shaft because Liu teaches the further shaft not taught by Liu used for the same purpose. It has been held that it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143 I A). In this case, the combination of Park and Liu teaches each element claimed and each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
Regarding the limitation wherein the further shaft is present outside the housing, the prior art combination described above would meet this limitation.
The limitation “adapted and arranged for unwinding and winding up the plastic film emerging from the opening gap” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed further shaft and does not differentiate the claimed structure from the prior art structure because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The prior art further shaft would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because it can unwind or wind the plastic film by rotating one direction or the other (Liu: [0102]-[0103] and Fig. 8B, spool 812 can rotate).
Regarding claim 24, the prior art combination teaches the device according to claim 2, wherein the shaft is rotatable (Liu: [0055]).
Regarding claim 28, Park discloses the device according to claim 13.
If Applicant intends the claim to further define the structure of the spacers, Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the spacers are formed as film embossing.
However, Liu teaches it is known in the art to form spacers as film embossing ([0058], “surface spacing structures (e.g., embosses)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Park’s spacers as an embossing because Liu teaches that such a technique is known in the art. It has been held that it is prima facie obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (MPEP § 2143 I C).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Chan (EP 1122591 A1) (see PTO-892).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the device according to claim 1.
Park does not disclose or teach wherein the housing has an opening gap with a first and an opposite second opening edge for the passage of the plastic film.
However, Chan discloses an analogous device comprising a housing, a plastic film, and an opening gap; wherein a housing has an opening gap with a first and an opposite second opening edge for the passage of plastic film (Fig. 3 – see annotated figure below).
Chan Fig. 3
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s housing to further comprise an opening gap as claimed because it would allow the removal of the film, as taught by Chan. It has been held that known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2143 I F). In this case, Park teaches that cultured cells can be removed by removing the rolled scaffold, i.e., the plastic film (Park: [0071]), which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to design the housing in the manner shown above to easily remove the plastic film.
Claims 16 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Chan as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (US Patent 7,951,555 B2) (hereinafter referred to as Taylor, see PTO-892).
Regarding claim 16, the prior art combination teaches the device according to claim 4.
The prior art combination does not disclose or teach wherein the first opening edge or second opening edge is equipped with a scraping edge for propagated cells.
However, Taylor in the analogous art membrane bioreactors teaches it is known in the art to use a scraper, i.e., a scraping edge, for removing solid matter from membranes (col. 29, lines 6-7; Fig. 3, scrapers 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art combination first opening edge or second opening edge such that it is equipped with a scraping edge for the purpose of harvesting biomass from the membrane. It has been held that it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143 I A). In this case, the prior art combination discussed above teaches each element claimed and each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The limitation “for propagated cells” is directed towards the material or article worked upon by the claimed apparatus and does not limit the claim which it depends upon (MPEP § 2115).
The limitation “wherein the first opening edge or the second opening edge of the opening gap is formed as a scraping edge” is phrased in the alternative. Because at least one of the limitations is rejected above, no further rejections are required at this time.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art combination teaches the device according to claim 4, wherein the opening edge extends along the longitudinal orientation (Chan: Fig. 3).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Park (WO 2020/061387 A1) (hereinafter referred to as Park-2, presented in IDS filed 7/26/2024 – US equivalent 2021/0348103 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses the device according to claims 6.
Park does not disclose or teach wherein at least one sterile filter is provided or integrated in the feed or discharge lines.
However, Park-2 in the analogous art of rolled substrate bioreactors teaches it is known in the art to use a filter to preserve sterility, i.e., a sterile filter ([0064]), provided on a feed or discharge line (Fig. 5, filters 216). Park-2 teaches that the filters are used for gas exchange, i.e., transfer of gases ([0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to further comprise at least one sterile filter provided or integrated in the feed or discharge line to preserve sterility. It has been held that it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143 I A). In this case, the combination of Park and Park-2 teaches each element claimed and each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The limitation “wherein at least one sterile connector is provided or integrated in the feed or discharge lines for the transfer of liquid or gaseous substances” is phrased in the alternative. Because at least one of the limitations is rejected above, no further rejections are required at this time.
Conclusion
/A.J.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799
1 Note: this claim contains limitations or language that has been interpreted according to Examiner’s understanding, see 35 U.S.C. 112(b) section above.