DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement has been made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 USC 119 (a-d). However, no certified copy has been filed to the date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 07/26/2024 and 07/26/2024 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received 07/26/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 11, 12-15, 25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101195931 to Choi (machine translation to Choi).
Regarding claim 1, 2, 9, 10, 12-15, 25 and 30, Choi discloses an electrolyte for a lithium secondary battery ( electrochemical device ,re claim 25) for use in an electronic device (re claim 30, para 2), comprising a fluorinated cyclic carbonate (fluoroethylene carbonate FEC, re claim 15) and a multi-nitrile compound having an ether bond (1,2,3-tris (2-cyanoethoxy) propane (3-CEP, re claims 12, 13, 14), wherein based on the total weight of the electrolyte, the weight percentage (Cf) of the fluorinated cyclic carbonate is greater than the weight percentage (Cn) of the multi-nitrile compound having an ether bond (para 75). Additionally, Choi discloses the electrolyte composition comprising 3 part by weight of FEC and 1 part by weight of 3-CEP in 1M solution of LiPF6 in of ethylene carbonate: propylene carbonate: diethyl carbonate = 3: 2: 5 (weight ratio), i.e. the ratio of Cf/Cn =3 (re claim 10, it is noted that a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range. See MPEP 2131.03) and content Cn is in the range 0.1 wt.% ≤Cn < 5 wt.%. (Table 1). As appeared to examiner it reads on claimed intervals 0.1 wt.% ≤Cf≤ 10 wt.% and 0.1 wt.% ≤Cr < 5 wt.%. (re claims 2, 9).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses 1,2,3-tris (2-cyanoethoxy) propane
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Regarding claims 18 and 19, modified Choi discloses wherein the electrolyte further comprises at least one of a cyclic carbonate having a carbon-carbon double bond ( Choi, VC, Claim 9, re claim 19), and a compound having a sulfur-oxygen double bond (Choi, para 59).
Claim 3-8, 20, 21, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101195931 to Choi (machine translation to Choi) in view of US 2017/0324116 to Onashi (Onashi).
Regarding claims 3-8, Choi discloses the invention as discussed above including content Cn is in the range 0.1 wt.% ≤Cn < 5 wt.%. (Table 1).
Ohashi teaches an electrochemical device (secondary battery) comprising electrolyte solution, wherein the electrolyte solution contains multi-nitrile compounds including (3,3’-ethelenedioxy)dipropionotrile (a multi-nitrile compound having an ether bond para 69,70), fluorinated cyclic carbonates such as monofluoroethylene carbonate, 4,4-difluoroethylene carbonate, and 4,5-difluoroethylene (para 66). Additionally , Ohashi that a content of the multi-nitrile compounds in the range from 0.01 % by mass to 6% by mass (para 72) and fluorinated cyclic carbonates in the range from 0.01 % by mass to 15 % by mass (para 67). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the content of the fluorinated cyclic carbonates and multi-nitrile compounds of Choi based on the ranges in order to obtain sufficient improving the high temperature storage characteristics and the cycle characteristic, but also suppressing undesirable gas generation (para 66, 72).In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. Choi does not expressly disclose wherein the electrolyte satisfies at least one of the following conditions: (1) the electrolyte comprises vinylene carbonate, wherein based on the total weight of the electrolyte, a weight percentage of the vinylene carbonate is less than 1wt%; (2) the electrolyte comprises vinyl ethylene carbonate, wherein based on the total weight of the electrolyte, a weight percentage of the vinyl ethylene carbonate is less than 0.5wt%; (3) the electrolyte comprises 1,3-propanesultone, wherein based on the total weight of the electrolyte, a weight percentage of the 1,3-propanesultone is less than 3wt%; (4) the electrolyte comprises 1,2-ethylene sulfate, wherein based on the total weight of the electrolyte, a weight percentage of the 1,2-ethylene sulfate is less than 0.5wt%; (5) the electrolyte comprises succinonitrile, wherein based on the total weight of the electrolyte, a weight percentage of the succinonitrile is less than 2wt%; or (6) the electrolyte comprises adiponitrile, wherein based on the total weight of the electrolyte, a weight percentage of the adiponitrile is less than 2wt%.
Onashi teaches adiponitrile (para 71,245) and content of dinitriles in the range 0.1% by mass or more and 4% or less. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content of dinitrile compound based on range disclosed by Onashi in order to of improving high-temperature storage characteristics and the cycle characteristic but also suppressing the undesirable increase in resistance (para 71).
Regarding claim 21, Onashi teaches vinylene carbonate and the content of such cyclic carbonates in the range in the range from 0.1% mass to 10% mas (Onashi, para 59,60). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content of the vinylene carbonate based on range disclosed by Onashi in order to the cycle characteristic but also suppressing of gas generation (para 60).
Regarding claims 28 and 29, Choi discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 25 and incorporated therein. Choi also disclose preparation of electrodes by applying slurry on corresponding current collectors (para 77, 78). Choi does not expressly disclose the coating is at least one selected from the group consisting of: a single-sided coating formed by coating a slurry only on one surface of the current collector; and a double-sided coating formed by coating a slurry on two opposing surfaces of the current collector, where the electrode including the single-sided coating has an electrode compaction density D1, the electrode including the double-sided coating has an electrode compaction density D2, and where when the electrode is a cathode, D2 meets the formula: about 3.5 g/cm3 < D2 < about 4.3 g/cm3; or when the electrode is an anode, D2 meets the formula: about 1.2 g/cm3 < D2 < about 1.8 g/cm3.
Onashi teaches an electrochemical device (secondary battery) comprising electrolyte solution, wherein the electrolyte solution contains the electrolyte ([0002]) comprising a dinitrile compound, a trinitrile compound(para 70, 71) propyl propionate (para 134), cyclic carbonate comprising a carbon-carbon unsaturated bond and a cyclic carbonate comprising a fluorine atom (claim 6), compound having S=O double bond (para 73) and fluoro-ether (para 136), i.e. the electrolytic solution substantially similar to the electrolytic solution of Choi. In addition, Onashi teaches that the battery electrodes comprising single coated current collectors wherein the current collectors single coated with active material containing slurry having compaction density 4.2 g/cm3 for cathode (para 217) and 1.3 g/cm3 for anode (para 181, re claim 17). It is noted that a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range. See MPEP 2131.03. Onashi also teaches when the compaction density kept in the range from 1.9 g/cm3 to 1.2 g/cm3. It would allow to avoid destruction of particles of the negative electrode active material, increase in the initial irreversible capacity or to the deterioration of charge and discharge characteristics and increasing battery resistance (para 181). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrotechnical device of modified Choi with the electrodes having compaction density and anode having density about 1.3 g/cm3 , as taught by Onashi, because such modification would allow to avoid destruction of particles of the negative electrode active material, increase in the initial irreversible capacity or to the deterioration of charge and discharge characteristics and increasing battery resistance (para 181).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101195931 to Choi in view of US 2017/0324116 to Onashi as applied to claim 1 and further view of in view of CN103633371 to Shi (Shi machine translation).
Regarding claim 16, modified Choi (discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. Modified Choi does not expressly disclose wherein the electrolyte further comprises a fluoroether.
Shi teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte for a lithium ion battery comprising an organic solvent and fluoroether as a wetting additive of formula R1-O-R2 (claim 1) wherein R1 is a fluorine-containing alkyl group having 3 to 6 carbon atoms, R2 is a fluorine-containing alkyl group having 2 to 6 carbon atoms. Shi also teaches that such wetting additive is used along with FEC, cyclic and linear carbonates. Shi also teaches that the wetting additive fluoroether compound has significantly improved the normal temperature cycle performance and high temperature storage performance compared to the electrolyte without the wetting additive (p.11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte of modified Choi with the fluoroether wetting additive of Shi, because such modification would significantly improve the normal temperature cycle performance and high temperature storage performance.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101195931 to Choi in view of US 2017/0324116 to Onashi as applied to claim 1 and further view of CN104332653 to Fu (Fu, machine translation).
Regarding claim 9, modified Choi discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. Modified Choi does not expressly disclose a cyclic phosphonic anhydride represented by General Formula (6).
Fu teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte for a lithium ion battery (claim 1, p.2) comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent and at least one phosphonic acid cyclic anhydride compound represented by Formula (I), wherein R 1, R 2, and R 3 are independently selected from a group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a group having 6 to 26 carbon atoms, and containing at least one benzene ring (reads on claimed General Formula In addition, Fu teaches that the electrolyte solution comprises FEC, linear and chain carbonates. Furthermore, Fu teaches that adding of compound of formula (I) a stable solid electrolyte interface film (SEI film) is formed on the anode surface of the lithium-ion battery with a high ion conductivity. The movement of lithium ions becomes smooth, thereby achieving excellent low-temperature charge and discharge performance and rate performance (p. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte of modified Choi with the phosphonic acid cyclic anhydride of Fu, because such modification would achieve excellent low-temperature charge and discharge performance and rate performance.
Claims 22, 23 and 24, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101195931 to Choi view of US 2017/0324116 to Onashi as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US 20170288268 to Kim (Kim).
Regarding claims 22 - 24, modified Choi discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. Modified Cho discloses propyl propionate as “other solvent (Onashi, para 134) but does not expressly disclose wherein it present in a content of about 1 wt.%-about 60 wt.% based on the total weight of the electrolyte.
Kim teaches an electrolyte for lithium secondary battery, the electrolyte containing multinitrile additives and alkyl carboxylates. Therefore, a use alkyl carboxylates with multinitrile compounds in the battery electrolytes is well known. Specifically, Kim teaches electrolytes solutions wherein a content of propyl propionate is 40 volume %, which is within claimed weight range (Table1). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte for electrochemical device of modified Choi with the propyl carbonate in the range 1 wt.%-about 60 wt.% or 10 wt.%-about 50 wt.% (re claim 23,24) as taught by Kim , because such modification in order to thermal durability of a battery, for example, improving electrochemical characteristics and thermal safety of a solvent, using an additive to delay ignition of the battery, decreasing thickness change of the battery.
Claims 27 and 28, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101195931 to Choi view of US 2017/0324116 to Onashi as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US 20170288268 to Kim (Kim).
Regarding claims 26 and 27, modified Choi discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 25 and incorporated therein. Modified Cho discloses propyl propionate as “other solvent (Onashi, para 134) but does not expressly disclose wherein it present in a content of about 1 wt.%-about 60 wt.% based on the total weight of the electrolyte.
Kim teaches an electrolyte for lithium secondary battery, the electrolyte containing multinitrile additives and alkyl carboxylates. Therefore, a use alkyl carboxylates with multinitrile compounds in the battery electrolytes is well known. Specifically, Kim teaches electrolytes solutions wherein a content of propyl propionate is 40 volume %, which is within claimed weight range (Table1). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte for electrochemical device of modified Choi with the propyl carbonate in the range 1 wt.%-about 60 wt.% or 10 wt.%-about 50 wt.% (re claim 27) as taught by Kim , because such modification in order to thermal durability of a battery, for example, improving electrochemical characteristics and thermal safety of a solvent, using an additive to delay ignition of the battery, decreasing thickness change of the battery.
Conclusion
/Alexander Usyatinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751