Claims 1, 10, and 13 are amended. Claims 3-4, 8, and 15-16 are cancelled. Currently claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-14, and 17-25 are under review.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues on page 8 of the remarks that the reference Choi statically elongates the vertical blank period to a fixed length and merely executes a pre-programmed delay before stepping up the common voltage. The Applicant argues at the top of page 9 of the remarks that Choi’s blanking interval is fixed and known in advance and therefore Choi cannot teach “timing a vertical blanking interval having a variable duration”.
The Office disagrees. The instant specification is silent as to how a vertical blanking interval has a variable duration in a current frame. Paragraph 39 of the instant specification indicates “a compensation value used to compensate for the brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame is determined in real time during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame” and paragraph 49 indicates “the vertical blanking interval Vblank in the current frame may alternatively be timed in any other appropriate manner”, none of which indicates that the vertical blanking interval has a variable duration in a current frame. Figure 3 of the instant application shows that the vertical blanking interval has a variable duration among frames, not in a current frame.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “timing module” in claim 13, “first value determining module” in claim 13, and “second value determining module” in claim 14.
Paragraph 86 indicates “The modules and/or units included in the apparatus may be implemented in various manners, including software, hardware, firmware, or any combination thereof… example types of hardware logic components that may be used include a field programmable gate array (FPGA), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), an application-specific standard part (ASSP), a system on chip (SoC), a complex programmable logic device (CPLD), and the like”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 13 and their dependents (claims 2, 5-7, 9-12, 14, 17-25) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim limitations require “timing a vertical blanking interval having a variable duration in a current frame on the display panel”. Paragraph 39 of the instant specification indicates “a compensation value used to compensate for the brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame is determined in real time during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame” and paragraph 49 indicates “the vertical blanking interval Vblank in the current frame may alternatively be timed in any other appropriate manner”, none of which indicates that the vertical blanking interval has a variable duration in a current frame. Figure 3 of the instant application shows that the vertical blanking interval has a variable duration among frames, not in a current frame. Therefore the claim limitations “timing a vertical blanking interval having a variable duration in a current frame on the display panel” are not described in the figures or the specification and for the purposes of examination will be interpreted as “a vertical blanking interval having a variable duration among frames in the display panel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0038621 A1) hereinafter referred to as Choi.
With respect to Claim 1, Choi discloses a method (fig. 31; ¶358) for compensating for brightness of a display panel (¶375-376), wherein the method comprises: timing a vertical blanking having a variable duration interval in a current frame on the display panel (¶359, “in order to implement the second frequency, a length of a vertical blank period may be increased as compared with the case where the display panel is driven at the first frequency”; ¶360); and determining in real time, in response to that a timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a first threshold time (¶363; ¶364, “after the vertical blank period starts, the common voltage VSL is changed to the second voltage that is higher than the first voltage. Thereafter, the common voltage VSL has the third voltage that is higher than the second voltage after a predetermined time elapses in the vertical blank period” – the first threshold of time is after the vertical blank period has starts and the determination is made in real time since the common voltage is adjusted in the same period it is applied), a first analog value corresponding to the first threshold time and used to perform first analog compensation on brightness of the display panel by adjusting a common voltage signal during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (¶364, the first analog voltage = VSL second voltage and corresponds to the first threshold time since it is after the vertical blanking period has started).
With respect to Claim 11, claim 1 is incorporated, Choi discloses wherein the timing the vertical blanking interval comprises: timing a display control signal used for the display panel (¶36, right after the vertical blank period starts).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated, Choi discloses wherein the display control signal comprises at least one of the following: a horizontal synchronization (HSYNC) signal, a vertical synchronization (VSYNC) signal, or a data enable (DE) signal (¶185).
With respect to Claim 13, Choi discloses an electronic apparatus (fig. 1; ¶5; ¶179; ¶184), wherein the electronic apparatus comprises: a timing module (fig. 1, item 600), configured to time a vertical blanking interval having a variable duration in a current frame on a display panel (¶180-181; ¶185; ¶359, “in order to implement the second frequency, a length of a vertical blank period may be increased as compared with the case where the display panel is driven at the first frequency”; ¶360); and a first value determining module (fig. 1, item 600 comprises a first value determining module since item 600 generates control signals for driving the data driver; fig. 31; ¶185; ¶358), configured to determine in real time, in response to that a timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a first threshold time (¶363; ¶364, “after the vertical blank period starts, the common voltage VSL is changed to the second voltage that is higher than the first voltage. Thereafter, the common voltage VSL has the third voltage that is higher than the second voltage after a predetermined time elapses in the vertical blank period” – the first threshold of time is after the vertical blank period has starts and the determination is made in real time since the common voltage is adjusted in the same period it is applied), a first analog value corresponding to the first threshold time and used to perform first analog compensation on brightness of the display panel by adjusting a common voltage signal during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (¶364, the first analog voltage = VSL second voltage and corresponds to the first threshold time since it is after the vertical blanking period has started).
With respect to Claim 17, claim 13 is incorporated, Choi discloses an electronic device (¶5; ¶178; ¶180, a display device is an electronic device), wherein the electronic device comprises: the electronic apparatus according to claim 13 (a display device is an apparatus), and a drive circuit (fig. 1, items 400 and 500), configured to: receive the first value, and apply a drive signal to the display panel based on the first value (¶205; ¶208; ¶220; ¶464).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Liao (Pub. No.: US 2023/0335076 A1).
With respect to Claim 18, claim 17 is incorporated, Choi does not explicitly teach wherein the drive signal comprises at least one of the following: an array common (ACOM) voltage signal or a shared common (SVCM) voltage signal.
Liao teaches an electronic apparatus (fig. 1, item LCD panel; ¶77, “LCD TV”), wherein the electronic apparatus comprises: a timing module (fig. 1, item 100: timing controller; ¶25), configured to time a vertical blanking interval on a display panel (fig. 2; ¶28); and a first value determining module (fig. 1, item 110; ¶37-38), configured to determine, a first analog value used to perform first analog compensation on brightness of the display panel by adjusting a common voltage signal during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (¶38, “When the refresh rate is lower than the fixed refresh rate F1, the timing controller 100 increases the first common voltage Acom outputted by the power module 200 according to the corresponding control instructions. When the refresh rate is lower, the first common voltage Acom is greater”); wherein the drive signal comprises at least one of the following: an array common (ACOM) voltage signal (¶25; ¶29; ¶31, “a first common voltage Acom to the first common electrode layer”; ¶35).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic apparatus of Choi, wherein the drive signal comprises at least one of the following: an array common (ACOM) voltage signal, as taught by Liao so as to improve or eliminate the issues of the luminance difference in different refresh rates or flickers (¶35).
With respect to Claim 25, claim 1 is incorporated, Choi does not explicitly teach wherein the common voltage signal comprises at least one of an array common (ACOM) voltage signal or a shared common (SVCM) voltage signal, wherein the ACOM voltage signal is connected to lower plates of all subpixel storage capacitors on an array side, wherein the SVCM voltage signal is connected to a lower plate of a shared capacitor in a sub-region of a subpixel, and wherein the adjusting the common voltage signal compensates for current leakage of the subpixel storage capacitors during the vertical blanking interval.
Liao teaches an electronic apparatus (fig. 1, item LCD panel; ¶77, “LCD TV”), wherein the electronic apparatus comprises: a timing module (fig. 1, item 100: timing controller; ¶25), configured to time a vertical blanking interval on a display panel (fig. 2; ¶28); and a first value determining module (fig. 1, item 110; ¶37-38), configured to determine, a first analog value used to perform first analog compensation on brightness of the display panel by adjusting a common voltage signal during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (¶38, “When the refresh rate is lower than the fixed refresh rate F1, the timing controller 100 increases the first common voltage Acom outputted by the power module 200 according to the corresponding control instructions. When the refresh rate is lower, the first common voltage Acom is greater”); wherein the common voltage signal comprises at least one of an array common (ACOM) voltage signal (¶25; ¶29; ¶31, “a first common voltage Acom to the first common electrode layer”; ¶35), wherein the ACOM voltage signal is connected to lower plates of all subpixel storage capacitors on an array side (fig. 4, lower plate of Cst is connected to Acom; ¶30, “The first electrode plate of the storage capacitor Cst is connected to the first common electrode layer of the array substrate”; ¶31, “a first common voltage Acom to the first common electrode layer”), and wherein the adjusting the common voltage signal compensates for current leakage of the subpixel storage capacitors during the vertical blanking interval (¶4, “FreeSync adjusts the refresh rate of the display through changing the vertical blanking interval (Vblank). However, during the vertical blanking interval, the liquid crystal still has leakage currents”; ¶32; ¶35, “the first common voltage Acom could be adjusted to be increased to dynamically improve or eliminate the issues of low voltage of the pixel electrode. This improves or eliminates the issues of the luminance difference ΔLum in different refresh rates or flickers”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic apparatus of Choi, wherein the common voltage signal comprises at least one of an array common (ACOM) voltage signal, wherein the ACOM voltage signal is connected to lower plates of all subpixel storage capacitors on an array side, and wherein the adjusting the common voltage signal compensates for current leakage of the subpixel storage capacitors during the vertical blanking interval, as taught by Liao so as to improve or eliminate the issues of the luminance difference in different refresh rates or flickers (¶35).
Claims 2, 5, 7, 14, 19, 21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Koo et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0066215 A1) hereinafter referred to as Koo1 as cited on the IDS dated 1/2/2025.
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Choi does not teach wherein the method further comprises: determining, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches the second threshold time, a second value used to perform second compensation on the brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame, wherein the second compensation is later than the first compensation.
Koo1 teaches a method (fig. 13; ¶8, “provide a liquid crystal display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period”; ¶63; ¶178) for compensating for brightness of a display panel (fig. 1, item 1000; ¶49), wherein the method comprises: timing a vertical blanking interval in a current frame on the display panel (fig. 1, item 210; figs. 7A to 7F; fig. 13, item S110; ¶66-67; ¶179); and determining, in response to that a timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a first threshold time (figs. 7B to 7F, item CV1; fig. 13, item S150- yes; ¶117, “the first correction value a when the counting value of the vertical blank period is equal to or greater than the first reference counting value CV1 and is smaller than the second reference counting value CV2” = a first threshold time; ¶120; ¶123; ¶126; ¶129), a first value used to perform first compensation on brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 6; ¶105; fig. 13, item S130 and S140; ¶185; fig. 11, item CV1 in frame n+1); wherein the display panel comprises: a first subpixel of a first pixel unit (¶147, a display block comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit; fig. 11, B1: first lightning block), and the method further comprises: determining a target grayscale value of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame (figs. 7B to 7F show CV values; ¶129; fig. 11, frame n+2; ¶163), wherein the next frame is located after the current frame in a display order (fig. 7F; fig. 11, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame (fig. 11, please note that the method of fig. 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order (fig. 11, frame n+1, frame n+2), and the determining the target grayscale value comprises: in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = first candidate grayscale value for luminance block B1 corresponding to the third threshold time for CV3 within (n+1)_F); obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = second candidate grayscale value for luminance block B2 corresponding to the fourth threshold of time for CV4 within (n+1)_F); and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time (fig. 11, the method of 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 11, CV3 and CV4 occur within (n+1)_F, wherein the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”), and the fourth threshold time is equal to the second threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”); wherein the method further comprises: determining, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches the second threshold time (figs. 7C to 7F; ¶97-102; ¶120, “the second correction value b when the counting value of the vertical blank period is equal to or greater than the second reference counting value CV2 and is smaller than the third reference counting value CV3” = a second threshold time; ¶123; ¶126; ¶129), a second value used to perform second compensation on the brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 6; ¶103; ¶105; fig. 11, item CV1 in frame n+1), wherein the second compensation is later than the first compensation (fig. 11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Choi, to incorporate the idea of performing brightness compensation during a vertical active interval such that adjusting the common voltage replaces luminance correction values, resulting in wherein the method further comprises: determining, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches the second threshold time, a second value used to perform second compensation on the brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame, wherein the second compensation is later than the first compensation, as taught by Koo1 so as to provide a display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period (¶8).
With respect to Claim 5, claim 244 is incorporated, Choi does not teach wherein the obtaining the first candidate grayscale value comprises: determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value based on the third threshold time and the original grayscale value, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value when the duration is equal to the third threshold time.
Koo1 teaches a method (fig. 13; ¶8, “provide a liquid crystal display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period”; ¶63; ¶178) for compensating for brightness of a display panel (fig. 1, item 1000; ¶49), wherein the method comprises: timing a vertical blanking interval in a current frame on the display panel (fig. 1, item 210; figs. 7A to 7F; fig. 13, item S110; ¶66-67; ¶179); and determining, in response to that a timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a first threshold time (figs. 7B to 7F, item CV1; fig. 13, item S150- yes; ¶117, “the first correction value a when the counting value of the vertical blank period is equal to or greater than the first reference counting value CV1 and is smaller than the second reference counting value CV2” = a first threshold time; ¶120; ¶123; ¶126; ¶129), a first value used to perform first compensation on brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 6; ¶105; fig. 13, item S130 and S140; ¶185; fig. 11, item CV1 in frame n+1); wherein the display panel comprises: a first subpixel of a first pixel unit (¶147, a display block comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit; fig. 11, B1: first lightning block), and the method further comprises: determining a target grayscale value of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame (figs. 7B to 7F show CV values; ¶129; fig. 11, frame n+2; ¶163), wherein the next frame is located after the current frame in a display order (fig. 7F; fig. 11, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame (fig. 11, please note that the method of fig. 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order (fig. 11, frame n+1, frame n+2), and the determining the target grayscale value comprises: in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = first candidate grayscale value for luminance block B1 corresponding to the third threshold time for CV3 within (n+1)_F); obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = second candidate grayscale value for luminance block B2 corresponding to the fourth threshold of time for CV4 within (n+1)_F); and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time (fig. 11, the method of 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 11, CV3 and CV4 occur within (n+1)_F, wherein the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”), and the fourth threshold time is equal to the second threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”); wherein the obtaining the first candidate grayscale value comprises: determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value based on the third threshold time and the original grayscale value (¶167; ¶168), wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value when the duration is equal to the third threshold time (fig. 11, corresponding to the third threshold time for CV1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Choi, to incorporate the idea of performing brightness compensation during a vertical active interval such that adjusting the common voltage replaces luminance correction values, resulting in wherein the obtaining the first candidate grayscale value comprises: determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value based on the third threshold time and the original grayscale value, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value when the duration is equal to the third threshold time, as taught by Koo1 so as to provide a display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period (¶8).
With respect to Claim 7, claim 24 is incorporated, Choi does not teach wherein the determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value comprises: performing interpolation on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value, to obtain the target grayscale value corresponding to the duration.
Koo1 teaches a method (fig. 13; ¶8, “provide a liquid crystal display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period”; ¶63; ¶178) for compensating for brightness of a display panel (fig. 1, item 1000; ¶49), wherein the method comprises: timing a vertical blanking interval in a current frame on the display panel (fig. 1, item 210; figs. 7A to 7F; fig. 13, item S110; ¶66-67; ¶179); and determining, in response to that a timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a first threshold time (figs. 7B to 7F, item CV1; fig. 13, item S150- yes; ¶117, “the first correction value a when the counting value of the vertical blank period is equal to or greater than the first reference counting value CV1 and is smaller than the second reference counting value CV2” = a first threshold time; ¶120; ¶123; ¶126; ¶129), a first value used to perform first compensation on brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 6; ¶105; fig. 13, item S130 and S140; ¶185; fig. 11, item CV1 in frame n+1); wherein the display panel comprises: a first subpixel of a first pixel unit (¶147, a display block comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit; fig. 11, B1: first lightning block), and the method further comprises: determining a target grayscale value of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame (figs. 7B to 7F show CV values; ¶129; fig. 11, frame n+2; ¶163), wherein the next frame is located after the current frame in a display order (fig. 7F; fig. 11, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame (fig. 11, please note that the method of fig. 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order (fig. 11, frame n+1, frame n+2), and the determining the target grayscale value comprises: in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = first candidate grayscale value for luminance block B1 corresponding to the third threshold time for CV3 within (n+1)_F); obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = second candidate grayscale value for luminance block B2 corresponding to the fourth threshold of time for CV4 within (n+1)_F); and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time (fig. 11, the method of 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 11, CV3 and CV4 occur within (n+1)_F, wherein the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”), and the fourth threshold time is equal to the second threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”); wherein the determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value comprises: performing interpolation on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value, to obtain the target grayscale value corresponding to the duration (fig. 11, correction values for each frame and each threshold duration are performed, i.e. a11, b11, c11 which is linear is interpolation in view of Applicants specification paragraphs 75-76).
.Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Choi, to incorporate the idea of performing brightness compensation during a vertical active interval such that adjusting the common voltage replaces luminance correction values, resulting in wherein the determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value comprises: performing interpolation on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value, to obtain the target grayscale value corresponding to the duration, as taught by Koo1 so as to provide a display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period (¶8).
With respect to Claim 14, claim 23 is incorporated, Choi does not teach wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises: a second value determining module, configured to determine, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches the second threshold time, a second value used to perform second compensation on the brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame, wherein the second compensation is later than the first compensation.
Koo1 teaches an electronic apparatus (fig. 1; ¶48), wherein the electronic apparatus comprises: a timing module (fig. 1, item 200; ¶49), configured to time a vertical blanking interval in a current frame on a display panel (fig. 1, via item 210; ¶66-67), configured to determine, in response to that a timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a first threshold time (figs. 7B to 7F; ¶97-102; ¶117, “the first correction value a when the counting value of the vertical blank period is equal to or greater than the first reference counting value CV1 and is smaller than the second reference counting value CV2” = a first threshold time; ¶120; ¶123; ¶126; ¶129), a first value used to perform first compensation on brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 6; ¶103; ¶105; fig. 11, item CV1 in frame n+1); wherein the display panel comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit (¶147, a display block comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit; fig. 11, B1: first lightning block), and the electronic apparatus further comprises: a target grayscale value determining module, configured to determine a target grayscale value of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame (figs. 7B to 7F show CV values; ¶129; fig. 11, frame n+2; ¶163), wherein the next frame is located after the current frame in a display order (fig. 7F; fig. 11, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame (fig. 11, please note that the method of fig. 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order (fig. 11, frame n+1, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value determining module is further configured to, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time, perform operations comprising: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = first candidate grayscale value for luminance block B1 corresponding to the third threshold time for CV3 within (n+1)_F); obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = second candidate grayscale value for luminance block B2 corresponding to the fourth threshold of time for CV4 within (n+1)_F); and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time (fig. 11, the method of 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 11, CV3 and CV4 occur within (n+1)_F, wherein the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”), and the fourth threshold time is equal to the second threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”); wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises: a second value determining module (fig. 1 item 200), configured to determine, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches the second threshold time (figs. 7C to 7F; ¶97-102; ¶120, “the second correction value b when the counting value of the vertical blank period is equal to or greater than the second reference counting value CV2 and is smaller than the third reference counting value CV3” = a second threshold time; ¶123; ¶126; ¶129), a second value used to perform second compensation on the brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 6; ¶103; ¶105; fig. 11, item CV1 in frame n+1), wherein the second compensation is later than the first compensation (fig. 11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic apparatus of Choi, to incorporate the idea of performing brightness compensation during a vertical active interval such that adjusting the common voltage replaces luminance correction values, resulting in wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises: a second value determining module, configured to determine, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches the second threshold time, a second value used to perform second compensation on the brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame, wherein the second compensation is later than the first compensation, as taught by Koo1 so as to provide a display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period (¶8).
With respect to Claim 19, claim 23 is incorporated, Choi does not teach wherein the obtaining the first candidate grayscale value comprises: determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value based on the third threshold time and the original grayscale value, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value when the duration is equal to the third threshold time.
Koo1 teaches an electronic apparatus (fig. 1; ¶48), wherein the electronic apparatus comprises: a timing module (fig. 1, item 200; ¶49), configured to time a vertical blanking interval in a current frame on a display panel (fig. 1, via item 210; ¶66-67), configured to determine, in response to that a timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a first threshold time (figs. 7B to 7F; ¶97-102; ¶117, “the first correction value a when the counting value of the vertical blank period is equal to or greater than the first reference counting value CV1 and is smaller than the second reference counting value CV2” = a first threshold time; ¶120; ¶123; ¶126; ¶129), a first value used to perform first compensation on brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 6; ¶103; ¶105; fig. 11, item CV1 in frame n+1); wherein the display panel comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit (¶147, a display block comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit; fig. 11, B1: first lightning block), and the electronic apparatus further comprises: a target grayscale value determining module, configured to determine a target grayscale value of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame (figs. 7B to 7F show CV values; ¶129; fig. 11, frame n+2; ¶163), wherein the next frame is located after the current frame in a display order (fig. 7F; fig. 11, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame (fig. 11, please note that the method of fig. 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order (fig. 11, frame n+1, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value determining module is further configured to, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time, perform operations comprising: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = first candidate grayscale value for luminance block B1 corresponding to the third threshold time for CV3 within (n+1)_F); obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = second candidate grayscale value for luminance block B2 corresponding to the fourth threshold of time for CV4 within (n+1)_F); and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time (fig. 11, the method of 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 11, CV3 and CV4 occur within (n+1)_F, wherein the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”), and the fourth threshold time is equal to the second threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”); wherein the obtaining the first candidate grayscale value comprises: determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value based on the third threshold time and the original grayscale value (¶167; ¶168), wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value when the duration is equal to the third threshold time (fig. 11, CV1 and CV3 are evenly spaced between adjacent threshold times; the evenly spaces are preset -¶106).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic apparatus of Choi, to incorporate the idea of performing brightness compensation during a vertical active interval such that adjusting the common voltage replaces luminance correction values, resulting in wherein the obtaining the first candidate grayscale value comprises: determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value based on the third threshold time and the original grayscale value, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value when the duration is equal to the third threshold time, as taught by Koo1 so as to provide a display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period (¶8).
With respect to Claim 21, claim 23 is incorporated, Choi does not teach wherein the determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value comprises: performing interpolation on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value, to obtain the target grayscale value corresponding to the duration.
Koo1 teaches an electronic apparatus (fig. 1; ¶48), wherein the electronic apparatus comprises: a timing module (fig. 1, item 200; ¶49), configured to time a vertical blanking interval in a current frame on a display panel (fig. 1, via item 210; ¶66-67), configured to determine, in response to that a timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a first threshold time (figs. 7B to 7F; ¶97-102; ¶117, “the first correction value a when the counting value of the vertical blank period is equal to or greater than the first reference counting value CV1 and is smaller than the second reference counting value CV2” = a first threshold time; ¶120; ¶123; ¶126; ¶129), a first value used to perform first compensation on brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 6; ¶103; ¶105; fig. 11, item CV1 in frame n+1); wherein the display panel comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit (¶147, a display block comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit; fig. 11, B1: first lightning block), and the electronic apparatus further comprises: a target grayscale value determining module, configured to determine a target grayscale value of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame (figs. 7B to 7F show CV values; ¶129; fig. 11, frame n+2; ¶163), wherein the next frame is located after the current frame in a display order (fig. 7F; fig. 11, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame (fig. 11, please note that the method of fig. 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order (fig. 11, frame n+1, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value determining module is further configured to, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time, perform operations comprising: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = first candidate grayscale value for luminance block B1 corresponding to the third threshold time for CV3 within (n+1)_F); obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = second candidate grayscale value for luminance block B2 corresponding to the fourth threshold of time for CV4 within (n+1)_F); and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time (fig. 11, the method of 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 11, CV3 and CV4 occur within (n+1)_F, wherein the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”), and the fourth threshold time is equal to the second threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”); wherein the determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value comprises: performing interpolation on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value, to obtain the target grayscale value corresponding to the duration (fig. 11, correction values for each frame and each threshold duration are performed, i.e. a11, b11, c11 which is linear is interpolation in view of Applicants specification paragraphs 75-76).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic apparatus of Choi, to incorporate the idea of performing brightness compensation during a vertical active interval such that adjusting the common voltage replaces luminance correction values, resulting in wherein the determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value comprises: performing interpolation on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value, to obtain the target grayscale value corresponding to the duration, as taught by Koo1 so as to provide a display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period (¶8).
With respect to Claim 23, claim 13 is incorporated, Choi does not teach wherein the display panel comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit, and the electronic apparatus further comprises:
a target grayscale value determining module, configured to determine a target grayscale value
of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and
an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame, wherein the next frame is located
after the current frame in a display order, and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for
brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame, wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order, and the target grayscale value determining module is further configured to, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time, perform operations comprising: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time; obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time; and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time, wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame, the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time, and the fourth threshold time is equal to a second threshold time that is greater than the first
threshold time.
Koo1 teaches an electronic apparatus (fig. 1; ¶48), wherein the electronic apparatus comprises: a timing module (fig. 1, item 200; ¶49), configured to time a vertical blanking interval in a current frame on a display panel (fig. 1, via item 210; ¶66-67), configured to determine, in response to that a timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a first threshold time (figs. 7B to 7F; ¶97-102; ¶117, “the first correction value a when the counting value of the vertical blank period is equal to or greater than the first reference counting value CV1 and is smaller than the second reference counting value CV2” = a first threshold time; ¶120; ¶123; ¶126; ¶129), a first value used to perform first compensation on brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 6; ¶103; ¶105; fig. 11, item CV1 in frame n+1); wherein the display panel comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit (¶147, a display block comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit; fig. 11, B1: first lightning block), and the electronic apparatus further comprises: a target grayscale value determining module, configured to determine a target grayscale value of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame (figs. 7B to 7F show CV values; ¶129; fig. 11, frame n+2; ¶163), wherein the next frame is located after the current frame in a display order (fig. 7F; fig. 11, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame (fig. 11, please note that the method of fig. 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order (fig. 11, frame n+1, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value determining module is further configured to, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time, perform operations comprising: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = first candidate grayscale value for luminance block B1 corresponding to the third threshold time for CV3 within (n+1)_F); obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = second candidate grayscale value for luminance block B2 corresponding to the fourth threshold of time for CV4 within (n+1)_F); and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time (fig. 11, the method of 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 11, CV3 and CV4 occur within (n+1)_F, wherein the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”), and the fourth threshold time is equal to the second threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic apparatus of Choi, to incorporate the idea of performing brightness compensation during a vertical active interval such that adjusting the common voltage replaces luminance correction values, resulting in wherein the display panel comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit, and the electronic apparatus further comprises: a target grayscale value determining module, configured to determine a target grayscale value of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame, wherein the next frame is located after the current frame in a display order, and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame, wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order, and the target grayscale value determining module is further configured to, in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time, perform operations comprising: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time; obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time; and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time, wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame, the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time, and the fourth threshold time is equal to a second threshold time that is greater than the first threshold time, as taught by Koo1 so as to provide a display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period (¶8).
With respect to Claim 24, claim 1 is incorporated, Choi does not teach wherein the display panel comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit, and the method further comprises: determining a target grayscale value of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame, wherein the next frame is located after the current frame in a display order, and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame, wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order, and the determining the target grayscale value comprises: in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time; obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time; and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time, wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame, the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time, and the fourth threshold time is equal to a second threshold time that is greater than the first threshold time.
Koo1 teaches a method (fig. 13; ¶8, “provide a liquid crystal display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period”; ¶63; ¶178) for compensating for brightness of a display panel (fig. 1, item 1000; ¶49), wherein the method comprises: timing a vertical blanking interval in a current frame on the display panel (fig. 1, item 210; figs. 7A to 7F; fig. 13, item S110; ¶66-67; ¶179); and determining, in response to that a timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a first threshold time (figs. 7B to 7F, item CV1; fig. 13, item S150- yes; ¶117, “the first correction value a when the counting value of the vertical blank period is equal to or greater than the first reference counting value CV1 and is smaller than the second reference counting value CV2” = a first threshold time; ¶120; ¶123; ¶126; ¶129), a first value used to perform first compensation on brightness of the display panel during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 6; ¶105; fig. 13, item S130 and S140; ¶185; fig. 11, item CV1 in frame n+1); wherein the display panel comprises: a first subpixel of a first pixel unit (¶147, a display block comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit; fig. 11, B1: first lightning block), and the method further comprises: determining a target grayscale value of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame (figs. 7B to 7F show CV values; ¶129; fig. 11, frame n+2; ¶163), wherein the next frame is located after the current frame in a display order (fig. 7F; fig. 11, frame n+2), and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame (fig. 11, please note that the method of fig. 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order (fig. 11, frame n+1, frame n+2), and the determining the target grayscale value comprises: in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = first candidate grayscale value for luminance block B1 corresponding to the third threshold time for CV3 within (n+1)_F); obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time (fig. 11, 192G = second candidate grayscale value for luminance block B2 corresponding to the fourth threshold of time for CV4 within (n+1)_F); and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time (fig. 11, the method of 13 is performed and correction values are determined by item 230A); wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame (fig. 11, CV3 and CV4 occur within (n+1)_F, wherein the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”), and the fourth threshold time is equal to the second threshold time (fig. 11, CV1, CV2, CV3, and CV4 are evenly spaced and are preset, ¶106, “the plurality of reference counting values may be preset corresponding to vertical blank periods of the plurality of frame frequencies which have a frame rate smaller than a frame rate of 144 Hz”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Choi, to incorporate the idea of performing brightness compensation during a vertical active interval such that adjusting the common voltage replaces luminance correction values, resulting in wherein the display panel comprises a first subpixel of a first pixel unit, and the method further comprises: determining a target grayscale value of the first subpixel in a next frame based on the timing time of the vertical blanking interval and an original grayscale value of the first subpixel in the next frame, wherein the next frame is located after the current frame in a display order, and the target grayscale value is used to compensate for brightness of the first subpixel during a vertical active interval in the next frame, wherein the next frame closely follows the current frame in the display order, and the determining the target grayscale value comprises: in response to that the timing time of the vertical blanking interval reaches a third threshold time: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for the third threshold time; obtaining a second candidate grayscale value of the first subpixel for a fourth threshold time, wherein the fourth threshold time is greater than the third threshold time; and determining the target grayscale value based on the first candidate grayscale value and the second candidate grayscale value in response to that duration of the vertical blanking interval is between the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time, wherein the third threshold time and the fourth threshold time occur during the vertical blanking interval in the current frame, the third threshold time is equal to the first threshold time, and the fourth threshold time is equal to a second threshold time that is greater than the first threshold time, as taught by Koo1 so as to provide a display device capable of improving a luminance deviation according to a variation of the vertical blank period (¶8).
Claims 6, 9, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Koo1 as applied to claims 23 and 24 above, and further in view of Koo et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0175930 A1) hereinafter referred to as Koo2 as cited on the IDS dated 1/2/2025.
With respect to Claim 6, claim 24 is incorporated, Choi and Koo1 combined do not mention wherein the obtaining the first candidate grayscale value comprises: obtaining a polarity of the first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on the display panel; and determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value based on the third threshold time, the original grayscale value, and the polarity of the first subpixel, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value when the duration is equal to the third threshold time.
Koo2 teaches a method (fig. 1; ¶38) for compensating for brightness of a display panel, wherein the method comprises: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value comprises: obtaining a polarity of a first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on a display panel (fig. 2; ¶38-40); and determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value, the original grayscale value, and the polarity of the first subpixel, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value (¶43, “In example embodiments, when the method of FIG. 1 determines the luminance compensation value according to the data polarity dominance of the image frame IF(n), the method of FIG. 1 may apply a weighted value differently to the luminance compensation value according to the data polarity dominance of the image frame IF(n) for respective locations of a display panel included in the liquid crystal display device”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Choi and Koo1, by incorporating a method that comprises obtaining a polarity of a first subpixel and determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value, the original grayscale value, and the polarity of the first subpixel, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value, as taught by Koo2 resulting in wherein the obtaining the first candidate grayscale value comprises: obtaining a polarity of the first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on the display panel; and determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value based on the third threshold time, the original grayscale value, and the polarity of the first subpixel, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value when the duration is equal to the third threshold time so as to account for inversion driving and to reduce flicker (¶4).
With respect to Claim 9, claim 24 is incorporated, Choi and Koo1 combined do not teach wherein the determining the target grayscale value comprises: obtaining a scaling factor for the original grayscale value of the first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on the display panel; and scaling the original grayscale value based on the scaling factor, to determine the target grayscale value.
Koo2 teaches a method (fig. 1; ¶38) for compensating for brightness of a display panel, wherein the method comprises: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value comprises: obtaining a polarity of a first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on a display panel (fig. 2; ¶38-40); and determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value, the original grayscale value, and the polarity of the first subpixel, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value (¶43, “In example embodiments, when the method of FIG. 1 determines the luminance compensation value according to the data polarity dominance of the image frame IF(n), the method of FIG. 1 may apply a weighted value differently to the luminance compensation value according to the data polarity dominance of the image frame IF(n) for respective locations of a display panel included in the liquid crystal display device”); wherein the determining the target grayscale value comprises: obtaining a scaling factor for the original grayscale value of the first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on the display panel; and scaling the original grayscale value based on the scaling factor, to determine the target grayscale value (¶40, “In this case, the positive polarity histogram 30 may have a skewed shape toward a relatively low-gray level region and the negative polarity histogram 40 may have a skewed shape toward a relatively high-gray level region.” – deriving a histogram having a skewed shape corresponds to obtaining a scaling factor).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Choi and Koo1, by incorporating wherein the determining the target grayscale value comprises: obtaining a scaling factor for the original grayscale value of the first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on the display panel; and scaling the original grayscale value based on the scaling factor, to determine the target grayscale value, as taught by Koo2 so as to account for inversion driving and to reduce flicker (¶4).
With respect to Claim 20, claim 23 is incorporated, Choi and Koo1 combined do not mention wherein the obtaining the first candidate grayscale value comprises: obtaining a polarity of the first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on the display panel; and determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value based on the third threshold time, the original grayscale value, and the polarity of the first subpixel, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value when the duration is equal to the third threshold time.
Koo2 teaches an electronic apparatus (figs. 8-10; ¶56; ¶59), wherein the electronic apparatus comprises: one or more processors executing computer program instructions (¶69), the instructions comprising: a method (fig. 1; ¶38) for compensating for brightness of a display panel, wherein the method comprises: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value comprises: obtaining a polarity of a first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on a display panel (fig. 2; ¶38-40); and determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value, the original grayscale value, and the polarity of the first subpixel, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value (¶43, “In example embodiments, when the method of FIG. 1 determines the luminance compensation value according to the data polarity dominance of the image frame IF(n), the method of FIG. 1 may apply a weighted value differently to the luminance compensation value according to the data polarity dominance of the image frame IF(n) for respective locations of a display panel included in the liquid crystal display device”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined electronic apparatus of Choi and Koo1, by incorporating a method that comprises obtaining a polarity of a first subpixel and determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value, the original grayscale value, and the polarity of the first subpixel, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value, as taught by Koo2 resulting in wherein the obtaining the first candidate grayscale value comprises: obtaining a polarity of the first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on the display panel; and determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value based on the third threshold time, the original grayscale value, and the polarity of the first subpixel, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value when the duration is equal to the third threshold time so as to account for inversion driving and to reduce flicker (¶4).
With respect to Claim 22, claim 23 is incorporated, Choi and Koo1 combined do not teach wherein the determining the target grayscale value comprises: obtaining a scaling factor for the original grayscale value of the first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on the display panel; and scaling the original grayscale value based on the scaling factor, to determine the target grayscale value.
Koo2 teaches an electronic apparatus (figs. 8-10; ¶56; ¶59), wherein the electronic apparatus comprises: one or more processors executing computer program instructions (¶69), the instructions comprising: a method comprises: obtaining a first candidate grayscale value comprises: obtaining a polarity of a first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on a display panel (fig. 2; ¶38-40); and determining a compensation grayscale value as the first candidate grayscale value, the original grayscale value, and the polarity of the first subpixel, wherein the compensation grayscale value is used to compensate for the original grayscale value (¶43, “In example embodiments, when the method of FIG. 1 determines the luminance compensation value according to the data polarity dominance of the image frame IF(n), the method of FIG. 1 may apply a weighted value differently to the luminance compensation value according to the data polarity dominance of the image frame IF(n) for respective locations of a display panel included in the liquid crystal display device”); wherein the determining the target grayscale value comprises: obtaining a scaling factor for the original grayscale value of the first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on the display panel; and scaling the original grayscale value based on the scaling factor, to determine the target grayscale value (¶40, “In this case, the positive polarity histogram 30 may have a skewed shape toward a relatively low-gray level region and the negative polarity histogram 40 may have a skewed shape toward a relatively high-gray level region.” – deriving a histogram having a skewed shape corresponds to obtaining a scaling factor).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined electronic apparatus of Choi and Koo1, by incorporating wherein the determining the target grayscale value comprises: obtaining a scaling factor for the original grayscale value of the first subpixel based on a location of the first subpixel on the display panel; and scaling the original grayscale value based on the scaling factor, to determine the target grayscale value, as taught by Koo2 so as to account for inversion driving and to reduce flicker (¶4).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONNA V Bocar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621