DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the election filed September 7, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 21-36 in the reply filed on September 7, 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 1115b. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: PACKAGED ELECTRONIC DEVICE INCLUDING LEAD INWARD AND OUTWARD SIDES.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyung et al. (KR 101647587 B1) in view of Choi et al. (WO 2007005263 A2).
In regard to claim 21, Kyung et al. teach a packaged electronic device 100, comprising: a molded substrate 110/131 comprising: a conductive structure 110/131 comprising: a first lead 111 comprising a first lead outward side and a first lead inward side opposite to the first lead outward side; and a second lead 112 comprising a second lead outward side and a second lead inward side opposite to the second lead outward side; and a first encapsulant 131 covering a lower portion of the first lead inward side and a lower portion of the second lead inward side; an electronic component 120 coupled to the first lead 111 and the second lead 112; and a second encapsulant 132 (Figures 1a-2b and 3b, pages 4-11).
However, Kyung et al. fail to teach an upper portion of the first lead outward side and an upper portion of the second lead outward side exposed from the first encapsulant; and a second encapsulant covering an upper portion of the first lead inward side, the upper portion of the second lead outward side, and an upper portion of the second lead inward side, wherein the second encapsulant comprises a second encapsulant top side and second encapsulant sides.
In regard to claim 21, Choi et al. teach an upper portion of the first lead outward side (of 702(a)) and an upper portion of the second lead outward side (of 702(b)) exposed from the first encapsulant 721; and a second encapsulant 703 covering an upper portion of the first lead inward side (of 702(a)), the upper portion of the second lead outward side (of 702(b)), and an upper portion of the second lead inward side, (of 702(b)) wherein the second encapsulant 703 comprises a second encapsulant top side and second encapsulant sides (Figure 2B, pages 13-21, paragraphs [0112]-[0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packaged electronic device structure as taught by Kyung et al. with the packaged electronic device structure having an upper portion of the first lead outward side and an upper portion of the second lead outward side exposed from the first encapsulant; and a second encapsulant covering an upper portion of the first lead inward side, the upper portion of the second lead outward side, and an upper portion of the second lead inward side, wherein the second encapsulant comprises a second encapsulant top side and second encapsulant sides as taught by Choi et al. to improve functionality of semiconductor die packages (paragraph [0004]).
In regard to claim 22, Kyung et al. teach the first encapsulant 131 covering a lower portion of the second lead outward side (at 112) (Figures 1a-2b and 3b, pages 4-11).
In regard to claim 23, Choi et al. teach the first encapsulant 721 covering a lower portion of the first lead outward side (of 702(a)) (Figure 2B, pages 13-21, paragraphs [0112]-[0147]).
In regard to claim 26, Kyung et al. teach a lower portion of the first lead outward side (of 111) is inset with respect to the upper portion of the first lead outward side (of 111) (Figures 1a-2b and 3b, pages 4-11).
In regard to claim 27, Kyung et al. teach the lower portion of the first lead outward side (of 111) covered by the first encapsulant 131 (Figures 1a-2b and 3b, pages 4-11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-25 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 29-36 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regard to claim 29, The prior art of record (Kyung et al. (KR 101647587 B1) in view of Choi et al. (WO 2007005263 A2)) does not disclose, make obvious, or otherwise suggest the structure of the applicant's claimed invention together with the other limitations of the dependent claims, such as the configuration of the pre-molded substrate, conductive structure, edge lead, edge lead outward side, edge lead inward side, edge lead top side, edge lead bottom side, inner lead, inner lead outward side, inner lead inward side, inner lead top side, inner lead bottom side, first & second encapsulants, upper portion of the edge lead outward side, upper portion of the inner lead outward side, lower portion of the edge lead inward side, lower portion of the inner lead inward side, electronic component, second encapsulant top, second encapsulant sides and conductive cover.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to packaged electronic devices:
Han et al. (US 2018/0294235 A1) Kim et al. (US 2016/0225687 A1).
IMS
October 5, 2026
/IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898