DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,466,297 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the trim cover assembly and method of attaching the assembly structural limitations are claimed in the issued patent as disclosed in the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dagmar Brockschnieder et al. U.S. Patent Publication 2006/0214485 A1 (Brockschnieder).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Brockschnieder discloses a trim cover assembly and method structured to be applied to a backrest of a vehicle seat ([0020-0022] Element 10), the trim cover assembly comprising a base trim cover including (Figure 1): a rear portion (Element 7); first side portion extending from a first side of the rear portion; and a second side portion extending from a second side of the rear portion opposite the first side portion (Element 4.1 Figure 1), each side portion being structured to be wrappable along a respective side of the backrest, each side portion having a side edge structured to be securable to the backrest along a front face of the backrest (as shown in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Brockschnieder discloses the trim cover assembly wherein each side portion has an outwardly-facing zipper portion extending therealong (Element 6 [0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Brockschnieder discloses the trim cover assembly further comprising a headrest cover portion extending from the base trim cover rear portion and structured to be wrappable over a headrest portion of the backrest, the headrest cover portion including: a headrest cover base portion extending from the base trim cover rear portion; a headrest cover first side portion extending from a first side of the headrest cover base portion; and a headrest cover second side portion extending from a second side of the headrest cover base portion opposite the headrest cover first side portion (Figure 1 top portion of Element 4.2 where the head of a user would rest).
Regarding claims 6 and 10, Brockschnieder discloses the trim cover assembly and method further comprising a removable trim cover structured to be securable to the base trim cover along the backrest, the removable trim cover including; a center portion; a first bolster cover portion extending from the removable trim cover center portion and having a first side edge with a zipper portion extending therealong; and a second bolster cover portion extending from the removable trim cover center portion opposite first bolster cover portion and having a second side edge with a zipper portion extending therealong (Figure 1-5 Element 7, 4.1, 4.2).
Regarding claim 8, Brockschnieder discloses the method wherein the base trim cover includes a headrest cover portion, and further comprising steps of: wrapping the headrest cover portion over the headrest portion toward the front face of the backrest so as to cover the backrest headrest portion; and securing the headrest cover portion to the backrest ([0023-0024]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHIN H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636