Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2017 210913 (Kuroe) (provided by the applicant).
In Re claim 1 Kuroe discloses a structure of an inflow portion of a tank (100), wherein a flow path area of the inflow portion on the one end side (93) is larger than a flow area on the other end side (55).
In Re claim 2 Kuroe discloses a flow path shape inside the inflow portion being tapered and gradually increasing (element 93 in Figure 7).
In Re claim 5 Kuroe discloses one the inflow portion being open on one side in a direction intersecting a sidewall of the tank and on the other side in a direction along an extension direction of the sidewall of the tank (shown in Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroe in view of JP 2011094505 (Otsubo)(provided by the applicant).
In Re claim 3 Kuroe discloses many limitations, but fails to disclose a vane that divides the flow path.
Otsubo discloses a fluid tank inflow portion having a vane which divides the fluid flow (34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Kuroe apparatus by adding a vane to the inflow fluid path, in order to provide the fluid characteristics desired by the user.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroe in view of JP 2022 149429 (Kojima) (provided by the applicant).
In Re claim 4 Kuroe discloses many limitations, but fails to disclose a pressure loss member in the inflow portion
Kojima discloses a fluid tank portion having a pressure loss member (18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Kuroe apparatus by adding a pressure loss member to the fluid path, in order to provide the fluid characteristics desired by the user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 7,244,293 discloses a tank inflow portion having flow management members.
/JASON K NIESZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753