Status of Claims
In the amendment filed on December 11th, 2025, claims 1, 19, 20, 22 and 23 have been amended, claim 18 has been cancelled and no new claim has been added. Therefore, claims 1-17, 19-23 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-10,12-17, 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohl et al. (US 11518510 B1) in view of Hoye (US 20210099664 A1)
In regards to claim 1, Gohl teaches a system, comprising an interface configured to receive location data of a vehicle event recorder (Column 1, line 63-Column 2, line 4; Column 3, lines 37-46)
The user input may be received from one or more client computing platform(s). The boundary component may be configured to automatically determine the location based upon a location of one or more client computing platform(s) via a GPS and/or other location tracking system associated with one or more client computing platform(s). [Col 1, ln 63-Col 2, ln 4]
The user-defined operation may include a capture operation for the sensor control subsystem of the UAV. The sensor control subsystem may be configured to control the sensor of the UAV to perform the capture operation through adjustments of one or more of an aperture timing, an exposure, a focal length, an angle of view, a depth of field, a focus, a light metering, a white balance, a resolution, a frame rate, an object of focus, a capture angle, a zoom parameter, a video format, a sound parameter, a compression parameter, and/or other aspects of operation of the sensor control subsystem.[Col 3, ln 37-46]
The vehicle event recorder being the sensory control subsystem configured to capture operation.
Gohl then teaches a processor configured to determine a geofence state based at least in part on the location data and geofence data associated with a geographic area in which the location data indicates the vehicle event recorder is located (Column 2, lines 4-13, Column 2, lines 54-65)
The boundary component may be configured to automatically determine the location based upon a location of the UAV via a GPS and/or other location tracking system associated with the UAV. The location may include a name of the location and/or coordinates of the location. The boundaries of the user-defined space may form a geo-fence. A geo-fence may include a virtual perimeter for a real-world geographic area. The coordinates defining the boundaries of the user-defined space may form the geo-fence.
Generating the alert information may include generating instructions to present a notification within one or more client computing platform(s). The notification may include one or more of a graphical notification, an audible notification, a sensory notification, and/or other types of notifications. For example, the notification may include an alert message presented within a display associated with the client computing platform(s). The notification, for example, may include an alert sound audible to the user. An example sensory notification may include a vibration and/or light notification. The notification may indicate to the user that the UAV may be close to entering a user-defined space
Here the geo-fence state, is determined by the geographic location of the UAV and in turn the location of its event recorder, such that a user-defined boundaries may form a geo-fence, establishing a geo-fence current state
Gohl then teaches determining a privacy configuration based at least in part on the geofence state; (Column 2, lines 49-52).
The feedback component may be configured to, responsive to a determination that the UAV is within a predefined distance of entering the user-defined space, generate alert information indicating the UAV is within the predefined distance of entering the user-defined space. The alert information may indicate the location and/or position of the UAV. The alert information may indicate the location and/or position of the boundaries of one or more nearby user-defined spaces. The alert information may indicate how much time may be left before the UAV enters the user-defined space. The predefined distance may be received by a user and/or predefined by the system. For example, the feedback component may be configured to generate alert information when the UAV is within 20 feet of entering a user-defined space.[Col 2, ln 49-52]
Here, the privacy configuration being the user defined set boundaries that comprise the geofence, wherein, modification of the functionality of the vehicle event recorder in this case would be determining how much time to go before the vehicle enters the geofence when within a given distance of the geofence, thereafter notifying/ generating alert information when the vehicle is within a given distance of the geofence.
However, Gohl is not specific to determining the privacy configuration is for the geographic area in which the location data indicates the vehicle event recorder is located
Hoye on the other hand teaches determining a privacy configuration based at least in part on the geofence state; and state, wherein the privacy configuration is for the geographic area in which the location data indicates the vehicle event recorder is located (Paragraphs 17, 18)
In some embodiments, the determination of a DVR storing state is based at least in part on a map region (e.g., a geofence region indicated on the map). For example, a map comprises a geofence region indicating that transfer of data from an inward facing camera to a DVR system and from an outward facing camera to a DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is within the geofence region, transfer of data from the inward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled and/or transfer of data from the outward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is not within the geofence region, DVR transfer rules are determined using a different enclosing region or using default rules. The DVR transfer rules can be extended to include time of day, day of the week or month, month or season of the year, or any other appropriate time based criterion in addition to the vehicle location. For example, the DVR system may be enabled during non-working hours within a geofence region but disabled during working hours within that region. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be enabled during the week outside of a geofence region but disabled during the weekend everywhere. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be disabled during the summer within a geofenced region but enabled during the fall, winter, and spring within the geofenced region. A user using the system for DVR privacy (e.g., using the vehicle event recorder system or using a server system in communication with the vehicle event recorder system) is able to input new geofence regions using a geofence user interface. For example, a new geofence region comprises a polygonal region, a region follows geographic boundaries, a region following political boundaries, or a region comprising a military location. In various embodiments, a region corresponds to or is specified by indicating a specification of a country, a state, a county, a municipality, a property line, or any other appropriate boundary or area. Note that the geofence can indicate a region where the DVR system is enabled or disabled. In some instances, DVR recording is only enabled when the vehicle is within that geofenced region. Whereas, in some instances, DVR recording is only disabled when the vehicle is with the geofenced region.[P-17]
In addition to geolocation based rules for indicating a DVR storage state, geolocation based rules additionally indicate an event detection state. For example, the vehicle event recorder stores a small duration of video data in a buffer and analyzes the stored video and other stored sensor data in order to identify an anomalous event. In response to identification of an anomalous event, the anomalous event is flagged and the data stored for future review. Storage of video data in the buffer and event detection are enabled and/or disabled according to a geolocation and geofence regions independently from the DVR storage state.[P-18]
Here, Hoye discloses the vehicle determining its location within a geofence, and modifying the functionality of the vehicle event recorder(i.e. restricting one or more of the following uses of the vehicle event recorder: recording of vehicle event recorder data, analysis of the vehicle event recorder data, storage of the vehicle event recorder data, or transmission of the vehicle event recorder data).
Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Hoye’s teaching with Gohl’s teaching such that the UAV in a situation where the UAV is within a geo-fence that overlaps a restricted geo-fence, the UAV my be configured or operate according to the rules of the appropriated geo-fence.
In regards to claim 7, Gohl modified via Hoye teaches receiving the location data further comprises approximating the location of the vehicle event recorder in the event of missing or anomalous data (Paragraphs 18, 24, Hoye)
In addition to geolocation based rules for indicating a DVR storage state, geolocation based rules additionally indicate an event detection state. For example, the vehicle event recorder stores a small duration of video data in a buffer and analyzes the stored video and other stored sensor data in order to identify an anomalous event. In response to identification of an anomalous event, the anomalous event is flagged and the data stored for future review. Storage of video data in the buffer and event detection are enabled and/or disabled according to a geolocation and geofence regions independently from the DVR storage state.[P-18]
FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an embodiment of a vehicle event recorder. In some embodiments, vehicle event recorder 300 comprises vehicle event recorder computing system 212 of FIG. 2. In the example shown, vehicle event recorder 300 comprises interface 302. Interface 302 comprises an interface for communicating with external systems using a network. Interface 302 also comprises an interface for communicating with other elements of a vehicle recorder system (e.g., for receiving location data from a geolocation device, for receiving video data from an outward facing vehicle camera, for receiving sensor data, for providing an indication to enable or disable DVR storage, for communicating with a user interface, etc.), a vehicle data server (e.g., for providing sensor data, for providing indications of anomalous events,), etc. Processor 304 comprises a processor for executing applications 306. Applications 306 comprises video marking application 308, event detection application 310, and digital video recorder storing application 312. Video marking application 308 comprises an application for determining and/or storing one or more marks associated with video data of interest (e.g., event data). Event detection application 310 comprises an application for analyzing data and determining an occurrence of an anomalous event. Event detection application 310 analyzes video data, audio data, sensor data, etc. In the event that event detection application 310 determines that an anomalous event has occurred, event data associated with the event is stored in event data 316. Digital video recorder storing application 312 comprises an application for determining whether to store video data in a digital video recorder. For example, digital video recorder storing application 312 comprises an application for determining a digital DVR state, in response to the DVR storing state being a prohibited state, disabling transfer of video data to the DVR, and in response to the DVR storing state being not the prohibited state, enabling transfer of the video data from the outward facing video camera to the DVR for storage. In some embodiments, processor 304 comprises other applications, including any other appropriate applications (e.g., a data collection application, a data viewing application, a driver health determination application, a data analysis application, etc.). Vehicle event recorder computing system 300 additionally comprises storage 314. Storage 314 comprises event data 316 and region data 318. Event data 316 comprises video data, sensor data, event data (e.g., an event time, an event location, sensor data indicating an event, an event magnitude, etc.), or any other appropriate data. Region data 318 comprises region data indicating region boundaries and recording rules associated with regions. Vehicle event recorder 300 additionally comprises memory 320. Memory 320 comprises executing application data 322 comprising data associated with applications 306.[P-24]
In regards to claim 8, Gohl modified via Hoye teaches the anomalous data are determined based at least in part on one a datapoint being determined to be recorded in an anomalous situation (Paragraphs 18, 24, Hoye)
In addition to geolocation based rules for indicating a DVR storage state, geolocation based rules additionally indicate an event detection state. For example, the vehicle event recorder stores a small duration of video data in a buffer and analyzes the stored video and other stored sensor data in order to identify an anomalous event. In response to identification of an anomalous event, the anomalous event is flagged and the data stored for future review. Storage of video data in the buffer and event detection are enabled and/or disabled according to a geolocation and geofence regions independently from the DVR storage state.[P-18]
FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an embodiment of a vehicle event recorder. In some embodiments, vehicle event recorder 300 comprises vehicle event recorder computing system 212 of FIG. 2. In the example shown, vehicle event recorder 300 comprises interface 302. Interface 302 comprises an interface for communicating with external systems using a network. Interface 302 also comprises an interface for communicating with other elements of a vehicle recorder system (e.g., for receiving location data from a geolocation device, for receiving video data from an outward facing vehicle camera, for receiving sensor data, for providing an indication to enable or disable DVR storage, for communicating with a user interface, etc.), a vehicle data server (e.g., for providing sensor data, for providing indications of anomalous events,), etc. Processor 304 comprises a processor for executing applications 306. Applications 306 comprises video marking application 308, event detection application 310, and digital video recorder storing application 312. Video marking application 308 comprises an application for determining and/or storing one or more marks associated with video data of interest (e.g., event data). Event detection application 310 comprises an application for analyzing data and determining an occurrence of an anomalous event. Event detection application 310 analyzes video data, audio data, sensor data, etc. In the event that event detection application 310 determines that an anomalous event has occurred, event data associated with the event is stored in event data 316. Digital video recorder storing application 312 comprises an application for determining whether to store video data in a digital video recorder. For example, digital video recorder storing application 312 comprises an application for determining a digital DVR state, in response to the DVR storing state being a prohibited state, disabling transfer of video data to the DVR, and in response to the DVR storing state being not the prohibited state, enabling transfer of the video data from the outward facing video camera to the DVR for storage. In some embodiments, processor 304 comprises other applications, including any other appropriate applications (e.g., a data collection application, a data viewing application, a driver health determination application, a data analysis application, etc.). Vehicle event recorder computing system 300 additionally comprises storage 314. Storage 314 comprises event data 316 and region data 318. Event data 316 comprises video data, sensor data, event data (e.g., an event time, an event location, sensor data indicating an event, an event magnitude, etc.), or any other appropriate data. Region data 318 comprises region data indicating region boundaries and recording rules associated with regions. Vehicle event recorder 300 additionally comprises memory 320. Memory 320 comprises executing application data 322 comprising data associated with applications 306.[P-24]
In regards to claim 9, Gohl modified via Hoye teaches receiving new geofence data from a server in response to the vehicle event recorder moving to a new geographic area (Paragraphs 17, 28, Hoye)
In some embodiments, the determination of a DVR storing state is based at least in part on a map region (e.g., a geofence region indicated on the map). For example, a map comprises a geofence region indicating that transfer of data from an inward facing camera to a DVR system and from an outward facing camera to a DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is within the geofence region, transfer of data from the inward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled and/or transfer of data from the outward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is not within the geofence region, DVR transfer rules are determined using a different enclosing region or using default rules. The DVR transfer rules can be extended to include time of day, day of the week or month, month or season of the year, or any other appropriate time based criterion in addition to the vehicle location. For example, the DVR system may be enabled during non-working hours within a geofence region but disabled during working hours within that region. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be enabled during the week outside of a geofence region but disabled during the weekend everywhere. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be disabled during the summer within a geofenced region but enabled during the fall, winter, and spring within the geofenced region. A user using the system for DVR privacy (e.g., using the vehicle event recorder system or using a server system in communication with the vehicle event recorder system) is able to input new geofence regions using a geofence user interface. For example, a new geofence region comprises a polygonal region, a region follows geographic boundaries, a region following political boundaries, or a region comprising a military location. In various embodiments, a region corresponds to or is specified by indicating a specification of a country, a state, a county, a municipality, a property line, or any other appropriate boundary or area. Note that the geofence can indicate a region where the DVR system is enabled or disabled. In some instances, DVR recording is only enabled when the vehicle is within that geofenced region. Whereas, in some instances, DVR recording is only disabled when the vehicle is with the geofenced region.[P-17]
In some embodiments, map 500 comprises a map user interface for user indication of a map region. For example, a user using the map user interface makes an indication to the map user interface to define a new map region, makes an indication of the digital video recorder storing states and other data associated with the new map region, and makes an indication that the map definition is complete. For example, the new map region comprises a polygon, the new map region follows geographic boundaries, the new map region follows political boundaries, or the new map region comprises a military location.[P-28]
In regards to claim 10, Gohl modified via Hoye teaches the new geofence data is associated with one or more geographic areas neighboring the new geographic area (Paragraphs 17, 28, Hoye)
In some embodiments, the determination of a DVR storing state is based at least in part on a map region (e.g., a geofence region indicated on the map). For example, a map comprises a geofence region indicating that transfer of data from an inward facing camera to a DVR system and from an outward facing camera to a DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is within the geofence region, transfer of data from the inward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled and/or transfer of data from the outward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is not within the geofence region, DVR transfer rules are determined using a different enclosing region or using default rules. The DVR transfer rules can be extended to include time of day, day of the week or month, month or season of the year, or any other appropriate time based criterion in addition to the vehicle location. For example, the DVR system may be enabled during non-working hours within a geofence region but disabled during working hours within that region. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be enabled during the week outside of a geofence region but disabled during the weekend everywhere. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be disabled during the summer within a geofenced region but enabled during the fall, winter, and spring within the geofenced region. A user using the system for DVR privacy (e.g., using the vehicle event recorder system or using a server system in communication with the vehicle event recorder system) is able to input new geofence regions using a geofence user interface. For example, a new geofence region comprises a polygonal region, a region follows geographic boundaries, a region following political boundaries, or a region comprising a military location. In various embodiments, a region corresponds to or is specified by indicating a specification of a country, a state, a county, a municipality, a property line, or any other appropriate boundary or area. Note that the geofence can indicate a region where the DVR system is enabled or disabled. In some instances, DVR recording is only enabled when the vehicle is within that geofenced region. Whereas, in some instances, DVR recording is only disabled when the vehicle is with the geofenced region.[P-17]
In some embodiments, map 500 comprises a map user interface for user indication of a map region. For example, a user using the map user interface makes an indication to the map user interface to define a new map region, makes an indication of the digital video recorder storing states and other data associated with the new map region, and makes an indication that the map definition is complete. For example, the new map region comprises a polygon, the new map region follows geographic boundaries, the new map region follows political boundaries, or the new map region comprises a military location.[P-28]
Here, we see by moving into a new area, thereby establishing a new geofence for said area, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the geofence is reflective of the new geographic area, furthermore the geographic, political and military boundaries are indicative of neighboring areas
In regards to claim 12, Gohl modified teaches the geofence data is expanded (Column 6, lines 9-19, Gohl).
Boundary component 106 may be configured to obtain customization of the boundaries once the one or more geometric shapes have been placed within the map. For example, the user may expand and/or otherwise manipulate the boundaries. The user may reposition the one or more geometric shapes from a first location to a second location within the map. Boundary component 106 may be configured to obtain more than one user-defined space. Other schemes for facilitating user-definition of boundaries are anticipated, and the specific implementations described herein are not intended to be limiting.[Col 6, ln 9-19]
In regards to claim 13, Gohl modified via Hoye teaches the geofence data is associated with a period of time (Paragraph 17, Hoye)
In some embodiments, the determination of a DVR storing state is based at least in part on a map region (e.g., a geofence region indicated on the map). For example, a map comprises a geofence region indicating that transfer of data from an inward facing camera to a DVR system and from an outward facing camera to a DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is within the geofence region, transfer of data from the inward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled and/or transfer of data from the outward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is not within the geofence region, DVR transfer rules are determined using a different enclosing region or using default rules. The DVR transfer rules can be extended to include time of day, day of the week or month, month or season of the year, or any other appropriate time based criterion in addition to the vehicle location. For example, the DVR system may be enabled during non-working hours within a geofence region but disabled during working hours within that region. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be enabled during the week outside of a geofence region but disabled during the weekend everywhere. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be disabled during the summer within a geofenced region but enabled during the fall, winter, and spring within the geofenced region. A user using the system for DVR privacy (e.g., using the vehicle event recorder system or using a server system in communication with the vehicle event recorder system) is able to input new geofence regions using a geofence user interface. For example, a new geofence region comprises a polygonal region, a region follows geographic boundaries, a region following political boundaries, or a region comprising a military location. In various embodiments, a region corresponds to or is specified by indicating a specification of a country, a state, a county, a municipality, a property line, or any other appropriate boundary or area. Note that the geofence can indicate a region where the DVR system is enabled or disabled. In some instances, DVR recording is only enabled when the vehicle is within that geofenced region. Whereas, in some instances, DVR recording is only disabled when the vehicle is with the geofenced region.[P-17]
In regards to claim 14, Gohl modified teaches a set of one or more privacy rules associated with the geofence data. Column 2, lines 49-52, Gohl).
The feedback component may be configured to, responsive to a determination that the UAV is within a predefined distance of entering the user-defined space, generate alert information indicating the UAV is within the predefined distance of entering the user-defined space. The alert information may indicate the location and/or position of the UAV. The alert information may indicate the location and/or position of the boundaries of one or more nearby user-defined spaces. The alert information may indicate how much time may be left before the UAV enters the user-defined space. The predefined distance may be received by a user and/or predefined by the system. For example, the feedback component may be configured to generate alert information when the UAV is within 20 feet of entering a user-defined space.[Col 2, ln 49-52]
Here, the privacy rules being after the user defined boundaries are set, that comprise the geofence, notifying/ generating alert information when the vehicle is within a given distance of the geofence.
In regards to claim 15, Gohl modified via Hoye teaches a privacy rule of the set of one or more privacy rules is associated with a period of time(Paragraph 17, Hoye)
In some embodiments, the determination of a DVR storing state is based at least in part on a map region (e.g., a geofence region indicated on the map). For example, a map comprises a geofence region indicating that transfer of data from an inward facing camera to a DVR system and from an outward facing camera to a DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is within the geofence region, transfer of data from the inward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled and/or transfer of data from the outward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is not within the geofence region, DVR transfer rules are determined using a different enclosing region or using default rules. The DVR transfer rules can be extended to include time of day, day of the week or month, month or season of the year, or any other appropriate time based criterion in addition to the vehicle location. For example, the DVR system may be enabled during non-working hours within a geofence region but disabled during working hours within that region. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be enabled during the week outside of a geofence region but disabled during the weekend everywhere. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be disabled during the summer within a geofenced region but enabled during the fall, winter, and spring within the geofenced region. A user using the system for DVR privacy (e.g., using the vehicle event recorder system or using a server system in communication with the vehicle event recorder system) is able to input new geofence regions using a geofence user interface. For example, a new geofence region comprises a polygonal region, a region follows geographic boundaries, a region following political boundaries, or a region comprising a military location. In various embodiments, a region corresponds to or is specified by indicating a specification of a country, a state, a county, a municipality, a property line, or any other appropriate boundary or area. Note that the geofence can indicate a region where the DVR system is enabled or disabled. In some instances, DVR recording is only enabled when the vehicle is within that geofenced region. Whereas, in some instances, DVR recording is only disabled when the vehicle is with the geofenced region.[P-17]
In regards to claim 16, Gohl modified teaches a privacy rule of the set of one or more privacy rules associates the geofence state with a modification to the functionality of the vehicle event recorder (Column 11, lines 42-67, Gohl)
Upon UAV entering user-defined space 402 may include skateboarding ramp 404. UAV 400 may be located in a first position (e.g., position A). UAV 400 may begin capturing a video of a skateboarder on skateboard ramp 404 while UAV 400 is in flight moving towards the boundary of user-defined space 402. The current flight control settings of UAV 400 may include the last set of flight control settings when UAV 400 was last in use, pre-configured flight control settings by UAV 400, manual configuration of the flight control settings by the user, and/or other current settings of UAV 400. Upon UAV 400 entering user-defined space 402 by crossing over the boundary of user-defined space 402, control component 114 may be configured to automatically control UAV 400 to perform a user-defined operation associated with user-defined space 402. For example, the user-defined operation may include an aerial maneuver by controlling UAV 300 to no longer travel forward, but rather to travel upwards (e.g., position B), therefore capturing the skateboarder from the top. The user-defined operation may further include that once UAV 300 reaches 15 feet above the ground, UAV 300 is to hover in that location while zoomed into the object (e.g., skateboard ramp 404) within user-defined space 402 for 2.5 seconds, and then pans out to a wide-angle after 2.5 seconds while still hovering at 15 feet. [Col 11, ln 42-67]
In regards to claim 17, Gohl modified via Hoye teaches determining the privacy configuration comprises applying one or more of the following: a most restrictive combination of applicable privacy rules or a least restrictive combination of applicable privacy rules (Paragraph 17, 18, Hoye)
In some embodiments, the determination of a DVR storing state is based at least in part on a map region (e.g., a geofence region indicated on the map). For example, a map comprises a geofence region indicating that transfer of data from an inward facing camera to a DVR system and from an outward facing camera to a DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is within the geofence region, transfer of data from the inward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled and/or transfer of data from the outward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is not within the geofence region, DVR transfer rules are determined using a different enclosing region or using default rules. The DVR transfer rules can be extended to include time of day, day of the week or month, month or season of the year, or any other appropriate time based criterion in addition to the vehicle location. For example, the DVR system may be enabled during non-working hours within a geofence region but disabled during working hours within that region. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be enabled during the week outside of a geofence region but disabled during the weekend everywhere. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be disabled during the summer within a geofenced region but enabled during the fall, winter, and spring within the geofenced region. A user using the system for DVR privacy (e.g., using the vehicle event recorder system or using a server system in communication with the vehicle event recorder system) is able to input new geofence regions using a geofence user interface. For example, a new geofence region comprises a polygonal region, a region follows geographic boundaries, a region following political boundaries, or a region comprising a military location. In various embodiments, a region corresponds to or is specified by indicating a specification of a country, a state, a county, a municipality, a property line, or any other appropriate boundary or area. Note that the geofence can indicate a region where the DVR system is enabled or disabled. In some instances, DVR recording is only enabled when the vehicle is within that geofenced region. Whereas, in some instances, DVR recording is only disabled when the vehicle is with the geofenced region.[P-17]
In addition to geolocation based rules for indicating a DVR storage state, geolocation based rules additionally indicate an event detection state. For example, the vehicle event recorder stores a small duration of video data in a buffer and analyzes the stored video and other stored sensor data in order to identify an anomalous event. In response to identification of an anomalous event, the anomalous event is flagged and the data stored for future review. Storage of video data in the buffer and event detection are enabled and/or disabled according to a geolocation and geofence regions independently from the DVR storage state.[P-18]
In regards to claim 19, Gohl modified via Hoye teaches restricting the analysis of vehicle event recorder data comprises restricting the application of one or more algorithms on the vehicle event recorder data(Paragraphs 18, 24, Hoye)
In addition to geolocation based rules for indicating a DVR storage state, geolocation based rules additionally indicate an event detection state. For example, the vehicle event recorder stores a small duration of video data in a buffer and analyzes the stored video and other stored sensor data in order to identify an anomalous event. In response to identification of an anomalous event, the anomalous event is flagged and the data stored for future review. Storage of video data in the buffer and event detection are enabled and/or disabled according to a geolocation and geofence regions independently from the DVR storage state.[P-18]
FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an embodiment of a vehicle event recorder. In some embodiments, vehicle event recorder 300 comprises vehicle event recorder computing system 212 of FIG. 2. In the example shown, vehicle event recorder 300 comprises interface 302. Interface 302 comprises an interface for communicating with external systems using a network. Interface 302 also comprises an interface for communicating with other elements of a vehicle recorder system (e.g., for receiving location data from a geolocation device, for receiving video data from an outward facing vehicle camera, for receiving sensor data, for providing an indication to enable or disable DVR storage, for communicating with a user interface, etc.), a vehicle data server (e.g., for providing sensor data, for providing indications of anomalous events,), etc. Processor 304 comprises a processor for executing applications 306. Applications 306 comprises video marking application 308, event detection application 310, and digital video recorder storing application 312. Video marking application 308 comprises an application for determining and/or storing one or more marks associated with video data of interest (e.g., event data). Event detection application 310 comprises an application for analyzing data and determining an occurrence of an anomalous event. Event detection application 310 analyzes video data, audio data, sensor data, etc. In the event that event detection application 310 determines that an anomalous event has occurred, event data associated with the event is stored in event data 316. Digital video recorder storing application 312 comprises an application for determining whether to store video data in a digital video recorder. For example, digital video recorder storing application 312 comprises an application for determining a digital DVR state, in response to the DVR storing state being a prohibited state, disabling transfer of video data to the DVR, and in response to the DVR storing state being not the prohibited state, enabling transfer of the video data from the outward facing video camera to the DVR for storage. In some embodiments, processor 304 comprises other applications, including any other appropriate applications (e.g., a data collection application, a data viewing application, a driver health determination application, a data analysis application, etc.). Vehicle event recorder computing system 300 additionally comprises storage 314. Storage 314 comprises event data 316 and region data 318. Event data 316 comprises video data, sensor data, event data (e.g., an event time, an event location, sensor data indicating an event, an event magnitude, etc.), or any other appropriate data. Region data 318 comprises region data indicating region boundaries and recording rules associated with regions. Vehicle event recorder 300 additionally comprises memory 320. Memory 320 comprises executing application data 322 comprising data associated with applications 306.[P-24]
Here, we see restricting the analysis of vehicle event recorder data comprises restricting the application of one or more algorithms on the vehicle event recorder, by prohibiting other applications, including any other appropriate applications (e.g., a data collection application, a data viewing application, a driver health determination application, a data analysis application, etc
In regards to claim 20, Gohl modified via Hoye teaches the vehicle event recorder data includes one or more of the following types of data: video data from inside a vehicle associated with the vehicle event recorder, audio data from inside the vehicle, video data from outside the vehicle, audio data from outside the vehicle, vehicle sensor data, vehicle event recorder sensor data, and/or location data(Paragraphs 18, 24, Hoye)
In addition to geolocation based rules for indicating a DVR storage state, geolocation based rules additionally indicate an event detection state. For example, the vehicle event recorder stores a small duration of video data in a buffer and analyzes the stored video and other stored sensor data in order to identify an anomalous event. In response to identification of an anomalous event, the anomalous event is flagged and the data stored for future review. Storage of video data in the buffer and event detection are enabled and/or disabled according to a geolocation and geofence regions independently from the DVR storage state.[P-18]
FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an embodiment of a vehicle event recorder. In some embodiments, vehicle event recorder 300 comprises vehicle event recorder computing system 212 of FIG. 2. In the example shown, vehicle event recorder 300 comprises interface 302. Interface 302 comprises an interface for communicating with external systems using a network. Interface 302 also comprises an interface for communicating with other elements of a vehicle recorder system (e.g., for receiving location data from a geolocation device, for receiving video data from an outward facing vehicle camera, for receiving sensor data, for providing an indication to enable or disable DVR storage, for communicating with a user interface, etc.), a vehicle data server (e.g., for providing sensor data, for providing indications of anomalous events,), etc. Processor 304 comprises a processor for executing applications 306. Applications 306 comprises video marking application 308, event detection application 310, and digital video recorder storing application 312. Video marking application 308 comprises an application for determining and/or storing one or more marks associated with video data of interest (e.g., event data). Event detection application 310 comprises an application for analyzing data and determining an occurrence of an anomalous event. Event detection application 310 analyzes video data, audio data, sensor data, etc. In the event that event detection application 310 determines that an anomalous event has occurred, event data associated with the event is stored in event data 316. Digital video recorder storing application 312 comprises an application for determining whether to store video data in a digital video recorder. For example, digital video recorder storing application 312 comprises an application for determining a digital DVR state, in response to the DVR storing state being a prohibited state, disabling transfer of video data to the DVR, and in response to the DVR storing state being not the prohibited state, enabling transfer of the video data from the outward facing video camera to the DVR for storage. In some embodiments, processor 304 comprises other applications, including any other appropriate applications (e.g., a data collection application, a data viewing application, a driver health determination application, a data analysis application, etc.). Vehicle event recorder computing system 300 additionally comprises storage 314. Storage 314 comprises event data 316 and region data 318. Event data 316 comprises video data, sensor data, event data (e.g., an event time, an event location, sensor data indicating an event, an event magnitude, etc.), or any other appropriate data. Region data 318 comprises region data indicating region boundaries and recording rules associated with regions. Vehicle event recorder 300 additionally comprises memory 320. Memory 320 comprises executing application data 322 comprising data associated with applications 306.[P-24]
In regards to claim 21, Gohl modified teaches logging one or more of: the geofence state, the location data, timestamps associated with the location data, the privacy configuration, or modifications to the functionality of the vehicle event recorder (Column 8, lines 7-28, Gohl).
Sensor control subsystem 310 may include one or more physical processors 314 and/or other components. While single sensor 308 is depicted in FIG. 3, this is not meant to be limiting in any way. UAV 300 may include any number of sensors. Sensor 308 may include an image sensor. Sensor 308 may be configured to generate an output signal conveying visual information (e.g., an image and/or video segment) within a field of view. The visual information may include video information, audio information, geolocation information, orientation and/or motion information, depth information, and/or other information. The visual information may be marked, timestamped, annotated, and/or otherwise processed such that information captured by sensor(s) 308 may be synchronized, aligned, annotated, and/or otherwise associated therewith. Sensor control subsystem 310 may be configured to control one or more sensor(s) 308 through adjustments of an aperture timing, an exposure, a focal length, an angle of view, a depth of field, a focus, a light metering, a white balance, a resolution, a frame rate, an object of focus, a capture angle, a zoom parameter, a video format, a sound parameter, a compression parameter, and/or other sensor controls.[Col8, ln 7-28]
In regards to claim 22, Gohl teaches a method, comprising receiving location data of a vehicle event recorder(Column 1, line 63-Column 2, line 4; Column 3, lines 37-46)
The user input may be received from one or more client computing platform(s). The boundary component may be configured to automatically determine the location based upon a location of one or more client computing platform(s) via a GPS and/or other location tracking system associated with one or more client computing platform(s). [Col 1, ln 63-Col 2, ln 4]
The user-defined operation may include a capture operation for the sensor control subsystem of the UAV. The sensor control subsystem may be configured to control the sensor of the UAV to perform the capture operation through adjustments of one or more of an aperture timing, an exposure, a focal length, an angle of view, a depth of field, a focus, a light metering, a white balance, a resolution, a frame rate, an object of focus, a capture angle, a zoom parameter, a video format, a sound parameter, a compression parameter, and/or other aspects of operation of the sensor control subsystem.[Col 3, ln 37-46]
The vehicle event recorder being the sensory control subsystem configured to capture operation.
Gohl then teaches determining, using a processor, a geofence state based at least in part on the location data and geofence data associated with a geographic area in which the location data indicates the vehicle event recorder is located(Column 2, lines 4-13, Column 2, lines 54-65)
The boundary component may be configured to automatically determine the location based upon a location of the UAV via a GPS and/or other location tracking system associated with the UAV. The location may include a name of the location and/or coordinates of the location. The boundaries of the user-defined space may form a geo-fence. A geo-fence may include a virtual perimeter for a real-world geographic area. The coordinates defining the boundaries of the user-defined space may form the geo-fence.
Generating the alert information may include generating instructions to present a notification within one or more client computing platform(s). The notification may include one or more of a graphical notification, an audible notification, a sensory notification, and/or other types of notifications. For example, the notification may include an alert message presented within a display associated with the client computing platform(s). The notification, for example, may include an alert sound audible to the user. An example sensory notification may include a vibration and/or light notification. The notification may indicate to the user that the UAV may be close to entering a user-defined space
Here the geo-fence state, is determined by the geographic location of the UAV and in turn the location of its event recorder, such that a user-defined boundaries mya form a geo-fence, establishing a geo-fence current state
Gohl then teaches determining a privacy configuration based at least in part on the geofence state; (Column 2, lines 49-52).
The feedback component may be configured to, responsive to a determination that the UAV is within a predefined distance of entering the user-defined space, generate alert information indicating the UAV is within the predefined distance of entering the user-defined space. The alert information may indicate the location and/or position of the UAV. The alert information may indicate the location and/or position of the boundaries of one or more nearby user-defined spaces. The alert information may indicate how much time may be left before the UAV enters the user-defined space. The predefined distance may be received by a user and/or predefined by the system. For example, the feedback component may be configured to generate alert information when the UAV is within 20 feet of entering a user-defined space.[Col 2, ln 49-52]
Here, the privacy configuration being the user defined set boundaries that comprise the geofence, wherein, modification of the functionality of the vehicle event recorder in this case would be determining how much time to go before the vehicle enters the geofence when within a given distance of the geofence, thereafter notifying/ generating alert information when the vehicle is within a given distance of the geofence.
However, Gohl is not specific to determining the privacy configuration is for the geographic area in which the location data indicates the vehicle event recorder is located
Hoye on the other hand teaches determining a privacy configuration based at least in part on the geofence state; and state, wherein the privacy configuration is for the geographic area in which the location data indicates the vehicle event recorder is located (Paragraphs 17, 18)
In some embodiments, the determination of a DVR storing state is based at least in part on a map region (e.g., a geofence region indicated on the map). For example, a map comprises a geofence region indicating that transfer of data from an inward facing camera to a DVR system and from an outward facing camera to a DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is within the geofence region, transfer of data from the inward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled and/or transfer of data from the outward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is not within the geofence region, DVR transfer rules are determined using a different enclosing region or using default rules. The DVR transfer rules can be extended to include time of day, day of the week or month, month or season of the year, or any other appropriate time based criterion in addition to the vehicle location. For example, the DVR system may be enabled during non-working hours within a geofence region but disabled during working hours within that region. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be enabled during the week outside of a geofence region but disabled during the weekend everywhere. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be disabled during the summer within a geofenced region but enabled during the fall, winter, and spring within the geofenced region. A user using the system for DVR privacy (e.g., using the vehicle event recorder system or using a server system in communication with the vehicle event recorder system) is able to input new geofence regions using a geofence user interface. For example, a new geofence region comprises a polygonal region, a region follows geographic boundaries, a region following political boundaries, or a region comprising a military location. In various embodiments, a region corresponds to or is specified by indicating a specification of a country, a state, a county, a municipality, a property line, or any other appropriate boundary or area. Note that the geofence can indicate a region where the DVR system is enabled or disabled. In some instances, DVR recording is only enabled when the vehicle is within that geofenced region. Whereas, in some instances, DVR recording is only disabled when the vehicle is with the geofenced region.[P-17]
In addition to geolocation based rules for indicating a DVR storage state, geolocation based rules additionally indicate an event detection state. For example, the vehicle event recorder stores a small duration of video data in a buffer and analyzes the stored video and other stored sensor data in order to identify an anomalous event. In response to identification of an anomalous event, the anomalous event is flagged and the data stored for future review. Storage of video data in the buffer and event detection are enabled and/or disabled according to a geolocation and geofence regions independently from the DVR storage state.[P-18]
Here, Hoye discloses the vehicle determining its location within a geofence, and modifying the functionality of the vehicle event recorder(i.e. restricting one or more of the following uses of the vehicle event recorder: recording of vehicle event recorder data, analysis of the vehicle event recorder data, storage of the vehicle event recorder data, or transmission of the vehicle event recorder data).
Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Hoye’s teaching with Gohl’s teaching such that the UAV in a situation where the UAV is within a geo-fence that overlaps a restricted geo-fence, the UAV may be configured or operate according to the rules of the appropriated geo-fence.
In regards to claim 23, Gohl teaches a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium and comprising computer instructions for receiving location data of a vehicle event recorder(Column 1, line 63-Column 2, line 4; Column 3, lines 37-46)
The user input may be received from one or more client computing platform(s). The boundary component may be configured to automatically determine the location based upon a location of one or more client computing platform(s) via a GPS and/or other location tracking system associated with one or more client computing platform(s). [Col 1, ln 63-Col 2, ln 4]
The user-defined operation may include a capture operation for the sensor control subsystem of the UAV. The sensor control subsystem may be configured to control the sensor of the UAV to perform the capture operation through adjustments of one or more of an aperture timing, an exposure, a focal length, an angle of view, a depth of field, a focus, a light metering, a white balance, a resolution, a frame rate, an object of focus, a capture angle, a zoom parameter, a video format, a sound parameter, a compression parameter, and/or other aspects of operation of the sensor control subsystem.[Col 3, ln 37-46]
The vehicle event recorder being the sensory control subsystem configured to capture operation
Gohl then teaches determining, using a processor, a geofence state based at least in part on the location data and geofence data associated with a geographic area in which the location data indicates the vehicle event recorder is located(Column 2, lines 4-13, Column 2, lines 54-65)
The boundary component may be configured to automatically determine the location based upon a location of the UAV via a GPS and/or other location tracking system associated with the UAV. The location may include a name of the location and/or coordinates of the location. The boundaries of the user-defined space may form a geo-fence. A geo-fence may include a virtual perimeter for a real-world geographic area. The coordinates defining the boundaries of the user-defined space may form the geo-fence.
Generating the alert information may include generating instructions to present a notification within one or more client computing platform(s). The notification may include one or more of a graphical notification, an audible notification, a sensory notification, and/or other types of notifications. For example, the notification may include an alert message presented within a display associated with the client computing platform(s). The notification, for example, may include an alert sound audible to the user. An example sensory notification may include a vibration and/or light notification. The notification may indicate to the user that the UAV may be close to entering a user-defined space
Here the geo-fence state, is determined by the geographic location of the UAV and in turn the location of its event recorder, such that a user-defined boundaries mya form a geo-fence, establishing a geo-fence current state
Gohl then teaches determining a privacy configuration based at least in part on the geofence state; (Column 2, lines 49-52).
The feedback component may be configured to, responsive to a determination that the UAV is within a predefined distance of entering the user-defined space, generate alert information indicating the UAV is within the predefined distance of entering the user-defined space. The alert information may indicate the location and/or position of the UAV. The alert information may indicate the location and/or position of the boundaries of one or more nearby user-defined spaces. The alert information may indicate how much time may be left before the UAV enters the user-defined space. The predefined distance may be received by a user and/or predefined by the system. For example, the feedback component may be configured to generate alert information when the UAV is within 20 feet of entering a user-defined space.[Col 2, ln 49-52]
Here, the privacy configuration being the user defined set boundaries that comprise the geofence, wherein, modification of the functionality of the vehicle event recorder in this case would be determining how much time to go before the vehicle enters the geofence when within a given distance of the geofence, thereafter notifying/ generating alert information when the vehicle is within a given distance of the geofence.
However, Gohl is not specific to determining the privacy configuration is for the geographic area in which the location data indicates the vehicle event recorder is located
Hoye on the other hand teaches determining a privacy configuration based at least in part on the geofence state; and state, wherein the privacy configuration is for the geographic area in which the location data indicates the vehicle event recorder is located (Paragraphs 17, 18)
In some embodiments, the determination of a DVR storing state is based at least in part on a map region (e.g., a geofence region indicated on the map). For example, a map comprises a geofence region indicating that transfer of data from an inward facing camera to a DVR system and from an outward facing camera to a DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is within the geofence region, transfer of data from the inward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled and/or transfer of data from the outward facing camera to the DVR system is enabled. In the event that the geolocation data indicates that the vehicle location is not within the geofence region, DVR transfer rules are determined using a different enclosing region or using default rules. The DVR transfer rules can be extended to include time of day, day of the week or month, month or season of the year, or any other appropriate time based criterion in addition to the vehicle location. For example, the DVR system may be enabled during non-working hours within a geofence region but disabled during working hours within that region. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be enabled during the week outside of a geofence region but disabled during the weekend everywhere. Or, for another example, the DVR system may be disabled during the summer within a geofenced region but enabled during the fall, winter, and spring within the geofenced region. A user using the system for DVR privacy (e.g., using the vehicle event recorder system or using a server system in communication with the vehicle event recorder system) is able to input new geofence regions using a geofence user interface. For example, a new geofence region comprises a polygonal region, a region follows geographic boundaries, a region following political boundaries, or a region comprising a military location. In various embodiments, a region corresponds to or is specified by indicating a specification of a country, a state, a county, a municipality, a property line, or any other appropriate boundary or area. Note that the geofence can indicate a region where the DVR system is enabled or disabled. In some instances, DVR recording is only enabled when the vehicle is within that geofenced region. Whereas, in some instances, DVR recording is only disabled when the vehicle is with the geofenced region.[P-17]
In addition to geolocation based rules for indicating a DVR storage state, geolocation based rules additionally indicate an event detection state. For example, the vehicle event recorder stores a small duration of video data in a buffer and analyzes the stored video and other stored sensor data in order to identify an anomalous event. In response to identification of an anomalous event, the anomalous event is flagged and the data stored for future review. Storage of video data in the buffer and event detection are enabled and/or disabled according to a geolocation and geofence regions independently from the DVR storage state.[P-18]
Here, Hoye discloses the vehicle determining its location within a geofence, and modifying the functionality of the vehicle event recorder(i.e. restricting one or more of the following uses of the vehicle event recorder: recording of vehicle event recorder data, analysis of the vehicle event recorder data, storage of the vehicle event recorder data, or transmission of the vehicle event recorder data).
Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Hoye’s teaching with Gohl’s teaching such that the UAV in a situation where the UAV is within a geo-fence that overlaps a restricted geo-fence, the UAV may be configured or operate according to the rules of the appropriated geo-fence.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohl et al. (US 11518510 B1) in view of Hoye (US 20210099664 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jones et al. (US 20190373405 A1).
In regards to claim 2, although Gohl teaches the vehicle location being tracked, Gohl fails to specifically teach the geographic area comprises a location tile.
Jones on the other hand teaches the geographic area comprising a location tile (Paragraphs 13, 167, 179)
The present invention is directed to methods and systems for enforcing at least one rule within a geofence. The rule is enforced by a fencing agent on a drone, unmanned aircraft systems (UAS), unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), unmanned aerial device (UAD), or unmanned vehicle systems (UVS). The geofence is defined by a plurality of geographic designators, with the plurality of geographic designators each being associated with an Internet Protocol (IP) address, preferably an IPv6 address.[P-13]
The present invention provides a massive and dense structure of IPv6 addresses associated with physical locations. The present invention implements tile-based image rectification at different zoom levels with a high accuracy of geo-location information. The geo-location information and additional meta data are expressed in anchor points to describe accurate 2D and 3D geometries based upon the different “zoom levels.”[P-167]
The present invention provides a registry of geo-referenced geometries for field activities such as the placement of seismic phones in the field, accurate survey for well location and wellsite geometries, pipeline geometries for mobile field devices, with a critical decoupling of the geo-referenced geometries for map placement based upon the “Map Tile” lat/long and resolution.[P-179]
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the said invention to combine Jones’ teaching with Gohl’s teaching in order to enable more effective location tracking of the vehicle.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohl et al. (US 11518510 B1) in view of Hoye (US 20210099664 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Reichel et al. (DE 202022118777 B4).
In regards to claim 3, Gohl modified fails to teach modifying the functionality of the vehicle event recorder comprises disabling a machine learning model.
Reichel on the other hand teaches modifying the functionality of the vehicle event recorder comprises disabling a machine learning model.(Page 8, Final Paragraph)
Depending on this training data, the artificial intelligence is trained, for example, to deactivate proximity detection, i.e., monitoring, outside of the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. on weekdays. This means that outside of these hours, Vehicle 101 will not respond if the user moves around the vehicle or stays near it with the otherwise monitored device.[Pg 8, Final Paragraph]
Here the disabling of the machine learning model would be disarming the ability to detect proximity activity within specific time slots.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Reichel’s teaching with Gohl modified’s teaching in order to enable better control of the tracking time frame of the design.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohl et al. (US 11518510 B1) in view of Hoye (US 20210099664 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 20200010093 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Gohl modified fails to teach the machine learning model comprises one or more of the following an algorithm for determining driver distractedness, an experimental algorithm undergoing testing, or an algorithm for processing data collected inside of a vehicle.
Li on the other hand teaches the machine learning model comprises one or more of the following an algorithm for determining driver distracted (Paragraph 73)
In some embodiments, locally processing the vehicle event data at the local computing device may include implementing the local portion 402 of the distributed model 400 to classify vehicle event data. The classification of vehicle event data performed by the local portion 402 of the distributed model 400 can be location specific, and can include classifying traffic events specific to a location (e.g., traffic operations such as lane changes and turns that are performed in a geographic or jurisdictional region where vehicles typically drive on the left side of the road or the right side of the road), classifying driver behaviors specific to a location (e.g., drivers in a specific location having a distraction threshold based on population level behaviors such as typically driving in a less distracted manner, and thus may have a lower threshold for distraction), and any other location-specific classification behaviors.. [P-73]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Li’s teaching with Gohl modified’s teaching, in order to enable the enhancement of safety within the vehicle by suppressing distraction occurrences.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohl et al. (US 11518510 B1) in view of Hoye (US 20210099664 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ghosh (US 20230056673 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Gohl modified fails to teach the geofence state is determined using a geofence daemon or microservice.
Ghosh on the other hand teaches the geofence state is determined using a geofence daemon or microservice. (Paragraphs 16, 22, 39)
By setting up a geofence, an application, a user, or any other entity can be notified when a computing device triggers the geofence (e.g., by entering a geofence, exiting a geofence, or dwelling in the geofence for a duration). Geofences can also be used for distributing or delivering content (e.g., advertisements, online content, content items, websites, online documents, articles, blogs, posts, images, video, audio, or multimedia content). Whether one is monitoring industrial assets, pumps, tanks, chemicals, vehicles, sensors, or anything else, geofences alert a user when anything is inside or outside of their custom geofence zones/perimeters of a geospatial region. [P-16]
there could be access to raw sensor data, querying APIs/Microservices, to a sharing of visualizations and a documenting of high-level decisions (e.g., one digital twin could have access to information or data it should not have)[P-22]
It is noted that digital twin computing represents a new computing paradigm that goes beyond physical reproduction of the real world by achieving interactive effects among digital twins including the inner state of objects in cyberspace (e.g., underlying components, predicted routes, etc.). With digital twin computing, the proposed solution can configure a virtual ecosystem composed of a variety of digital twins. The proposed solution can replicate, in cyberspace, digital twins of single entities in the real world, and/or exchange and/or fuse some of the elements constituting different digital twins to generate new digital twins that do not exist in the real world. With such an advancement disclosed herein it also means that so-called conventional digital twins can be seamlessly linked rather than having mutual compatibility. For example, if a truck is identified within a certain geofence and simulated and then a trailer is also identified within the certain geofence and simulated, the proposed solution could either simulate a generic representation of a vehicle to a user or combined the truck and trailer in a present that simulation to the user.[P-39]
It is therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Ghosh’s teaching with Gohl modified’s teaching in order to enable the implementation vehicle functions such as driving, breaking and directional movement.
In regards to claim 6, Gohl modified fails to teach the geofence state is determined using a geofence daemon or microservice.
Ghosh on the other hand teaches the geofence state is determined using a geofence daemon or microservice. (Paragraphs 16, 22, 39)
By setting up a geofence, an application, a user, or any other entity can be notified when a computing device triggers the geofence (e.g., by entering a geofence, exiting a geofence, or dwelling in the geofence for a duration). Geofences can also be used for distributing or delivering content (e.g., advertisements, online content, content items, websites, online documents, articles, blogs, posts, images, video, audio, or multimedia content). Whether one is monitoring industrial assets, pumps, tanks, chemicals, vehicles, sensors, or anything else, geofences alert a user when anything is inside or outside of their custom geofence zones/perimeters of a geospatial region. [P-16]
there could be access to raw sensor data, querying APIs/Microservices, to a sharing of visualizations and a documenting of high-level decisions (e.g., one digital twin could have access to information or data it should not have)[P-22]
It is noted that digital twin computing represents a new computing paradigm that goes beyond physical reproduction of the real world by achieving interactive effects among digital twins including the inner state of objects in cyberspace (e.g., underlying components, predicted routes, etc.). With digital twin computing, the proposed solution can configure a virtual ecosystem composed of a variety of digital twins. The proposed solution can replicate, in cyberspace, digital twins of single entities in the real world, and/or exchange and/or fuse some of the elements constituting different digital twins to generate new digital twins that do not exist in the real world. With such an advancement disclosed herein it also means that so-called conventional digital twins can be seamlessly linked rather than having mutual compatibility. For example, if a truck is identified within a certain geofence and simulated and then a trailer is also identified within the certain geofence and simulated, the proposed solution could either simulate a generic representation of a vehicle to a user or combined the truck and trailer in a present that simulation to the user.[P-39]
It is therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Ghosh’s teaching with Gohl modified’s teaching in order to enable the implementation vehicle functions such as driving, breaking and directional movement.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohl et al. (US 11518510 B1) in view of Hoye (US 20210099664 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Parshin et al. (US 10104605 B1).
In regards to claim 11, Gohl modified fails to teach removing a portion of geofence data associated with a geographic area that is not neighboring the new geographic area.
Parshin on the other hand teaches removing a portion of geofence data associated with a geographic area that is not neighboring the new geographic area (Column 19, lines 34-50)
After sending the provider notification 124 to the provider device 115, the time-window zone management system 112 ends. At box 815, the time-window zone management system 112 sends a notification to the client device 103 indicating that the location-based service zone 101 being monitored by the client device 103 is in a stale state. As such, the client device 103 may be configured to remove the geofence information associated with the location-based service zone 101 and to cease monitoring of the location-based service zone 101. [Col 19, lines 34-50]
Therefore, it obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Parshin’s teaching with Gohl modified’s teaching in order to optimize the efficiency of the tracking of the vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges the amendments to include limitations of previous claim 18, as well as further clarification of the privacy configuration, thereby narrowing the scope of the invention to now read as follows, “ A system, comprising: an interface configured to: receive location data of a vehicle event recorder; and a processor configured to: determine a geofence state based at least in part on the location data and geofence data associated with a geographic area in which the location data indicates the vehicle event recorder is located; determine a privacy configuration based at least in part on the geofence state wherein the privacy configuration is for the geographic area in which the location data indicates the vehicle event recorder is located and modify functionality of the vehicle event recorder based at least in part on the privacy configuration, wherein modifying the functionality of the vehicle event recorder comprises restricting one or more of the following uses of the vehicle event recorder: recording of vehicle event recorder data, analysis of the vehicle event recorder data, storage of the vehicle event recorder data, or transmission of the vehicle event recorder data.” The examiner has further addressed the limitations under new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686