DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed June 11, 2026. Claims 2-8, 10-13 are currently pending.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on June 11, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent 12,080,735 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, it is unclear how many semiconductor substrates are intended to be in the invention as a first and a second semiconductor substrate are already claimed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear how many substrates are in the invention as a first and second semiconductor substrate are already claimed in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 3, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Sakakibara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0272678).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 12, 13, Sakakibara et al. disclose (Figs. 18, 37) a solid-state imaging element comprising: a first pixel circuit including a first transistor (82), a second transistor (81) and a photoelectric converter (171) that performs photoelectric conversion on received light to generate a pixel signal, the first transistor being configured to amplify the pixel signal generated by the photoelectric converter, the second transistor (81) being configured to receive a reference signal (REF), and a third transistor (85) configured to respectively output bias current to the first transistor and the second transistor, wherein the first pixel circuit (51) is arranged on a first semiconductor substrate (upper substrate 11A) and a second pixel circuit (52) is arranged on a second semiconductor substrate (lower substrate 11C), the substrates being laminated in a stacked structure (Fig. 36). Sakakibara et al. also disclose (Fig. 18 and [0131]) the first, second and third transistors connected as claimed. Sakakibara et al. further disclose an optical system (601; Fig. 71) as claimed. The photoelectric converter is a solid-state imaging element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakakibara et al. in view of Lee (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0081180).
Regarding claims 5-7, Sakakibara et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Sakakibara et al. do not disclose the layout of the transistors are linearly arranged. Lee teaches (Figs. 1 and 2) a differential amplifier having three transistors (T4, T5, T6) that are linearly arranged as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such an arrangement in the apparatus of Sakakibara et al. in view of Lee to obtain a more compact device as taught, known and predictable. The source of the second transistor and a ground node with which a drain of the third transistor is connected are adjacent to each other (Fig. 2; [0035]). Since the first, second and third transistors share an active area, the diffusion area is shared as claimed.
Claim(s) 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakakibara et al. in view of Morita et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0280694).
Regarding claims 10, 11, Sakakibara et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Sakakibara et al. do not disclose a first substrate on which the pixel circuit is arranged and a second substrate on which the first, second and third transistors are arranged. Morita et al. teach (Figs. 1-4) a pixel circuit (11) on a first substrate (10) and first, second and third transistors on a second substrate (20) as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such an arrangement in the apparatus of Sakakibara et al. in view of Morita et al. to provide modularity for image sensors and amplifiers as taught, known and predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878