DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 & 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashishita et al (Pub Num 2016/0035459, herein referred to as Hayashishita) in view of Buck et al (Pat Num 5,750,930, herein referred to as Buck). Hayashishita discloses a multi-core cable (Figs 1-3) which has improved mechanical reliability of bendability and twistability (Paragraph 6). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Hayashishita discloses a multi-core cable (11, Figs 1-3) comprising a plurality of cable units (21, Paragraph 38), a shield layer (23) that covers the plurality of cable units (21, Paragraph 40) and a first sheath (24, Paragraph 41), wherein the plurality of cable units (21) are bundled (Paragraph 39), wherein an outer diameter of the first sheath (24) is 10 mm or less (i.e. 8.3 mm, Paragraph 41), wherein each the plurality of cable unit (21) includes a plurality of core electric wires (12), wherein the core electric wire (12) includes a coaxial wire (Paragraph 38), wherein the coaxial wire (12) includes a center conductor, an insulating layer that covers the center conductor, an outer conductor that covers the insulating layer, and a second sheath that covers the outer conductor (Paragraph 38), wherein the center conductor has a diameter of 0.09 mm or less (i.e. 40AWG =0.081 mm, Paragraph 38), and wherein the shield layer (23) is formed of a metallic braid where metal wires are braided (Paragraph 40) and is formed of a non plated tin copper alloy wire (i.e. silver plated copper alloy wire, Paragraph 40). With respect to claim 2, Hayashishita discloses that the braid density of the metallic braid (23) is 97% or higher (i.e. greater than 95%, Paragraph 50). With respect to claim 4, Xiu-Yu discloses that a diameter of a wire used in the metallic braid (23) may be 0.04-0.10mm (i.e. 0.05 mm or less, Paragraph 40). With respect to claim 6, Hayashishita discloses that a tape layer (22) is provided between the plurality of cable units (21) and the shield layer (23), wherein the plurality of cable units (21) are bundled by the tape layer (22), and wherein a void is formed between the plurality of cable units (Fig 1).
However, Hayashishita doesn’t necessarily disclose a braid angle of the metallic braid being 60 degrees or more and 64 degrees or less (claim 1), nor the plurality of cable units being bundled by a filament (claim 7).
Buck teaches a multi-core cable (Figs 1-3) having increased flexibility (Col 1, lines 42-44), while also having protections from undesired RF and EMI electrical energy (Col 2, line 30). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Buck teaches a multi-core cable (Figs 1-3) comprising a plurality of cable units (one or more 2’s, one or more 4’s, Col 2, lines 15-19), a shield layer (11) that covers the plurality of cable units (one or more 2’s, one or more 4’s, Col 2, lines 15-19) and a first sheath (14), wherein the plurality of cable units (one or more 2’s, one or more 4’s, Col 2, lines 15-19) are bundled (per sheath 6, Col 4, lines 15-17), wherein the plurality of cable unit (one or more 4’s, Col 2, lines 15-19) includes a core electric wire (4), wherein the core electric wire (4) includes a coaxial wire (Fig 1), wherein the coaxial wire (Fig 1) includes a center conductor (not numbered), an insulating layer (not numbered) that covers the center conductor (not numbered), an outer conductor (not numbered) that covers the insulating layer (not numbered), and a second sheath (located at 4) that covers the outer conductor (not numbered), wherein the center conductor (not numbered) may be a 42 AWG wire (Col 2, lines 14-19) which has a diameter of less than 0.09 (i.e. 42 AWG=0.0799 mm), and wherein the shield layer (11) is formed of a metallic braid where metal wires are braided (Col 2, lines 65-68), wherein the braid angle of the metallic braid (11) is 60 degrees or more and 64 degrees or less (i.e. 60 degrees, Col 4, lines 45-46). With respect to claim 7, Buck teaches that the plurality of cables (one or more 2’s, one or more 4’s) may be bundled with a filament (10, Col 2, lines 44-49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the multi-core cable of Hayashishita to comprise the conductor and metallic braid configuration as taught by Buck because Buck teaches that such a configuration provides a multi-core cable (Figs 1-3) having increased flexibility (Col 1, lines 42-44), while also having protections from undesired RF and EMI electrical energy (Col 2, line 30).
Hayashishita also doesn’t necessarily disclose the inner diameter of the shield layer being between 7.2-7.8 mm (claim 5).
With respect to claim 5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the multi-core cable of Hayashishita to comprise the inner diameter of the shield layer being between 7.2-7.8 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 6, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the applicant argues the following
A) Xiu-Yu differs from the recited independent claim 1 because Xiu-Yu discloses that the braided shield is made of tin plated copper alloy wire and therefore fails to teach the braided shield being made of non tin plated copper alloy wire.
B) Buck does not cure the deficiencies of Xiu-Yu cited above and therefore the combination of Xiu-Yu fails to teach the braided shield being made of non tin plated copper alloy wire.
With respect to arguments A & B, the examiner respectfully traverses. Firstly, it must be stated that the examiner admits in the Non Final Rejection presented on April 6, 2026, that the combination of Xiu-Yu and Buck fail to disclose the braided shield being made of non tin plated copper alloy wire (See Pages 6-7 of Non-Final Rejection) but that it would have been obvious to plate the copper alloy wire with other materials such as iron since it is known that iron is commonly utilized as a plating material because of its resistance to corrosion. However, based on the arguments of Non Obviousness by the applicant, the relies on the teachings of Hayashishita to shown that braids made of materials other than tin are known in the art of cables, such as silver.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various multi-core cables having braided shields made of materials other than tin plated copper alloy wires.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
September 16, 2026