Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 13 recite, “wherein the mechanical stretching device is sequentially switched from the sitting position to the lying position and then to the relaxing position by means of the electrically actuated unit” which is indefinite, because it is unclear from the specification what “sequentially switched” encompasses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2024/0032693 A1), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a mechanical stretching device for movable seat unit, comprising:
- a seat support, arranged to attach to a seat (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below);
- a leg stretching device, pivoted at a front part of the seat support (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below);
- a backrest support, pivoted at a rear part of the seat support (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below); and
- an electrically actuated unit, comprising a leg electrically actuated device (first linear actuator 108, fig. 2) for folding and unfolding of the leg stretching device (Para. [0034], “a second pair of control buttons 280,282 will respectively control the extension or retraction of the first linear actuator 108 whereby, as has been previously noted, when the control button 280 is depressed, the first linear actuator 108 will be retracted from its intermediate or HOME position, as a result of which the seat of the zero-gravity reclining chair will be tilted downwardly and rearwardly while the footrests 238,238,250,250 will be extended such that the zero-gravity reclining chair mechanism 108 and the zero-gravity reclining chair will be moved to its TV position as illustrated within FIG. 12”) and a backrest electrically actuated device (second linear actuator 110, fig. 2) for backward reclining or forward resetting of the backrest support (Para. [0034], “the second linear actuator 110 will be retracted, as a result of which the backrest support brackets 162,162 will be pivotally moved rearwardly and downwardly such that the zero-gravity reclining chair mechanism 108 will be moved to its reclined, zero-gravity position as illustrated within FIG. 13”), wherein the mechanical stretching device is directly switched at least between a sitting position (as shown in fig. 10, the chair is in its seat position, state, or mode) and a lying position (as shown in fig. 12, the reclining chair is moved from the seated position to the TV position), the leg stretching device is folded below the seat support in the sitting position (as shown in fig. 4), the leg stretching device is lifted forwards and upwards and the backrest support is reclining backwards in the lying position (as shown in fig. 12), stretching of the leg stretching device and backward reclining of the backrest support are performed simultaneously through the electrically actuated unit when the mechanical stretching device is switched from the sitting position to the lying position (Para. [0005], “[a] pair of linear actuators are operatively connected between the chair base, the chair frame, and the linkage systems or mechanisms so as to achieve the various movements of the seat, backrest, and footrest sections between the various extended, retracted, or tilted dispositions characteristic of the aforenoted seated, standing, TV, and reclined positions”; as shown in fig. 12), and unfolding of the leg stretching device and forward resetting of the backrest support are performed simultaneously when the mechanical stretching device is switched from the lying position to the sitting position (see Para. [0005] above, and fig. 10).
Annotated fig. 1: annotated image of Liu’s fig. 12
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the mechanical stretching device is directly switched between the sitting position (see seated position in fig. 10) and a relaxing position (Para. [0033], “the pair of oppositely disposed backrest brackets 162,162 are able to be moved from their TV positions as illustrated within FIG. 12 to their reclined positions as illustrated within FIG. 13”; as shown in fig. 13, the chair is in its reclined position [i.e., the relaxing position]), when in the relaxing position, the leg stretching device is lifted forwards and upwards, and a relative position between the backrest support and the seat support is kept to be the same in the sitting position (as shown in fig. 13).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood in light of the 112b rejection above, Liu discloses the invention in claim 2, and further discloses wherein the mechanical stretching device is sequentially switched from the sitting position to the lying position and then to the relaxing position by means of the electrically actuated unit (Para. [0005], “[a] pair of linear actuators are operatively connected between the chair base, the chair frame, and the linkage systems or mechanisms so as to achieve the various movements of the seat, backrest, and footrest sections between the various extended, retracted, or tilted dispositions characteristic of the aforenoted seated, standing, TV, and reclined positions”; as shown in figs. 10, 12, and 13, the mechanical stretching device is sequentially switched from the sitting position [see fig. 10] to the lying position [see fig. 12] and then to the relaxing position [see fig. 13]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the leg electrically actuated device acts between the leg stretching device and the seat support, and the backrest electrically actuated device acts between the backrest support and the seat support (as shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses the invention in claim 4, and further discloses wherein a leg crossbar (third transversely oriented cross-tube 156, fig. 1) is rigidly connected to the leg stretching device (fig. 1), a seat crossbar (transversely oriented base member 118, fig. 2) is rigidly connected to the seat support (fig. 3), an end of the leg electrically actuated device is pivoted to the leg crossbar (Para. [0030], “the telescopic rod 161 of the first linear actuator 108 is retracted so as to move the third cross tube 156 rearwardly”; as shown in fig. 3), an opposite end of the leg electrically actuated device is pivoted to the seat crossbar (Para. [0022], “[i]t is lastly noted that the first linear actuator 108 has its motor end operatively connected to the third transversely oriented cross-tube 156 by a suitable clevis-type mounting bracket 158, while its telescopic rod end is operatively connected to the second, transversely oriented base member 118 by a suitable clevis-type mounting bracket 160, the telescopic rod of the first linear actuator 108 being shown at 161 within FIG. 5”), and the leg electrically actuated device drives the leg crossbar to move away from or close to the seat crossbar, so that the leg stretching device is unfolded or folded (as shown in figs. 4 & 12).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the invention in claim 5, and further discloses wherein a backrest crossbar (fourth transversely oriented cross-tube 168, fig. 4) is rigidly connected to the backrest support (as shown in annotated fig. 1 and fig. 4), an end of the backrest electrically actuated device (second linear actuator 110, fig. 4) is pivoted to the backrest crossbar (Para. [0023], “the second linear actuator 110 has its telescopic rod end pivotally connected to a clevis-type mounting bracket 170 fixedly mounted upon the fourth, transversely oriented cross-tube 168”; as shown in fig. 4), an opposite end of the backrest electrically actuated device is pivoted to the seat crossbar (the opposite end of the second linear actuator 110 is pivoted to the transversely oriented crossbar 118 via intermediary elements; as shown in fig. 1), the backrest electrically actuated device drives the backrest crossbar to move away from or close to the seat crossbar, so that the backrest support is reclined backwards or reset forwards (as shown in figs. 10, 12, and 13).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein at least one of the leg electrically actuated device and the backrest electrically actuated device is a linear electric actuator (each first and second linear actuators 108,110 have a motor operatively coupled thereto; see Para. [0022-0023]. Where one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the motor as being an electrical motor).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses the invention in claim 3, and further discloses further comprising a base assembly (right side base members 112, 114; fig. 5) for supporting the mechanical stretching device on the ground (fig. 5), the seat support is connected to the base assembly by means of a link mechanism (as shown in fig. 5, the seat support is connected to the right side base members 112, 114 by means of first and second lift links 124, 124, 128, 128 via intermediary chair-framework mounting brackets 122, 122), so as to swing in a front-back direction of the seat unit with respect to the base assembly (as shown in figs. 4 & 5).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses the invention in claim 8, and further discloses further comprising a swing limit mechanism, wherein the swing limit mechanism allows the seat support to swing with respect to the base assembly in the sitting position of the mechanical stretching device, and the swing limit mechanism prevents the seat support from swinging with respect to the base assembly in the relaxing position or the lying position of the mechanical stretching device (Para. [0033], “the pins 218, 218 mounted upon the first footrest swing links 212,212, will again be disposed within the notches 220,220 defined upon the sixth links 204,204 such that the pins 218,218 effectively serve as limit pins or stops so as to ensure that the various linkage members comprising the pair of left and right-side linkage systems 106,106 regain their proper positions and orientations”; as shown in fig. 10. See also pins 154, 218 and 254 that move within slots to control the movements of the mounting brackets).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses a movable seat unit, comprising a seat, a backrest, a footrest member (as shown in annotated fig. 1 above), and a mechanical stretching device, wherein the mechanical stretching device comprises:
- a seat support, arranged to attach to the seat (as shown in annotated fig. 1 above);
- a leg stretching device, arranged to attach to the footrest member, pivoted to a front part of the seat support (as shown in annotated fig. 1 above);
- a backrest support, arranged to attach to the backrest, pivoted to a rear part of the seat support (as shown in annotated fig. 1 above); and
- an electrically actuated unit, comprising a leg electrically actuated device (first linear actuator 108, fig. 2) for folding and unfolding of the leg stretching device (Para. [0034], “a second pair of control buttons 280,282 will respectively control the extension or retraction of the first linear actuator 108 whereby, as has been previously noted, when the control button 280 is depressed, the first linear actuator 108 will be retracted from its intermediate or HOME position, as a result of which the seat of the zero-gravity reclining chair will be tilted downwardly and rearwardly while the footrests 238,238,250,250 will be extended such that the zero-gravity reclining chair mechanism 108 and the zero-gravity reclining chair will be moved to its TV position as illustrated within FIG. 12”) and a backrest electrically actuated device (second linear actuator 110, fig. 2) for backward reclining or forward resetting of the backrest support (Para. [0034], “the second linear actuator 110 will be retracted, as a result of which the backrest support brackets 162,162 will be pivotally moved rearwardly and downwardly such that the zero-gravity reclining chair mechanism 108 will be moved to its reclined, zero-gravity position as illustrated within FIG. 13”), wherein the seat unit is directly switched at least between a sitting position (as shown in fig. 10, the chair is in its seat position, state, or mode) and a lying position (as shown in fig. 12, the reclining chair is moved from the seated position to the TV position), the leg stretching device is folded below the seat support in the sitting position (as shown in fig. 4), the footrest member is lifted forwards and upwards and the backrest is reclining backwards in the lying position (as shown in fig. 12), lifting up of the footrest member and backward reclining of the backrest are performed simultaneously through the electrically actuated unit when the seat unit is switched from the sitting position to the lying position (Para. [0005], “[a] pair of linear actuators are operatively connected between the chair base, the chair frame, and the linkage systems or mechanisms so as to achieve the various movements of the seat, backrest, and footrest sections between the various extended, retracted, or tilted dispositions characteristic of the aforenoted seated, standing, TV, and reclined positions”; as shown in fig. 12), and recovery of the footrest member and forward resetting of the backrest are performed simultaneously by means of the electrically actuated unit when the seat unit is switched from the lying position to the sitting position (see Para. [0005] above, and fig. 10).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses the invention in claim 11, and further discloses wherein the seat unit is directly switched between the sitting position (see seated position in fig. 10) and a relaxing position (Para. [0033], “the pair of oppositely disposed backrest brackets 162,162 are able to be moved from their TV positions as illustrated within FIG. 12 to their reclined positions as illustrated within FIG. 13”; as shown in fig. 13, the chair is in its reclined position [i.e., the relaxing position]), when in the relaxing position, the footrest member is lifted forwards and upwards, and a relative position between the backrest and the seat is kept to be the same in the sitting position (as shown in fig. 13).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood in light of the 112b rejection above, Liu discloses the invention in claim 12, and further discloses wherein the seat unit is sequentially switched from the sitting position to the lying position and then to the relaxing position by means of the electrically actuated unit (Para. [0005], “[a] pair of linear actuators are operatively connected between the chair base, the chair frame, and the linkage systems or mechanisms so as to achieve the various movements of the seat, backrest, and footrest sections between the various extended, retracted, or tilted dispositions characteristic of the aforenoted seated, standing, TV, and reclined positions”; as shown in figs. 10, 12, and 13, the mechanical stretching device is sequentially switched from the sitting position [see fig. 10] to the lying position [see fig. 12] and then to the relaxing position [see fig. 13]).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses the invention in claim 11, and further discloses wherein the leg electrically actuated device acts between the leg stretching device and the seat support, and the backrest electrically actuated device acts between the backrest support and the seat support (as shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses the invention in claim 14, and further discloses wherein a leg crossbar (third transversely oriented cross-tube 156, fig. 1) is rigidly connected to the leg stretching device (fig. 1), a seat crossbar (transversely oriented base member 118, fig. 2) is rigidly connected to the seat support (fig. 3), an end of the leg electrically actuated device is pivoted to the leg crossbar (Para. [0030], “the telescopic rod 161 of the first linear actuator 108 is retracted so as to move the third cross tube 156 rearwardly”; as shown in fig. 3), an opposite end of the leg electrically actuated device is pivoted to the seat crossbar (Para. [0022], “[i]t is lastly noted that the first linear actuator 108 has its motor end operatively connected to the third transversely oriented cross-tube 156 by a suitable clevis-type mounting bracket 158, while its telescopic rod end is operatively connected to the second, transversely oriented base member 118 by a suitable clevis-type mounting bracket 160, the telescopic rod of the first linear actuator 108 being shown at 161 within FIG. 5”), and the leg electrically actuated device drives the leg crossbar to move away from or close to the seat crossbar, so that the leg stretching device is unfolded or folded (as shown in figs. 4 & 12).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses the invention in claim 15, and further discloses wherein a backrest crossbar (fourth transversely oriented cross-tube 168, fig. 4) is rigidly connected to the backrest support (as shown in annotated fig. 1 and fig. 4), an end of the backrest electrically actuated device is pivoted to the backrest crossbar (second linear actuator 110, fig. 4), an opposite end of the backrest electrically actuated device is pivoted to the seat crossbar (Para. [0023], “the second linear actuator 110 has its telescopic rod end pivotally connected to a clevis-type mounting bracket 170 fixedly mounted upon the fourth, transversely oriented cross-tube 168”; as shown in fig. 4), the backrest electrically actuated device drives the backrest crossbar to move away from or close to the seat crossbar, so that the backrest support is reclined backwards or reset forwards(as shown in figs. 10, 12, and 13).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses the invention in claim 11, and further discloses wherein at least one of the leg electrically actuated device and the backrest electrically actuated device is a linear electric actuator (each first and second linear actuators 108,110 have a motor operatively coupled thereto; see Para. [0022-0023]. Where one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the motor as being an electrical motor).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses the invention in claim 13, and further discloses wherein a base assembly (right side base members 112, 114; fig. 5) for supporting the mechanical stretching device on the ground (fig. 5), the seat support is connected to the base assembly by means of a link mechanism (as shown in fig. 5, the seat support is connected to the right side base members 112, 114 by means of first and second lift links 124, 124, 128, 128 via intermediary chair-framework mounting brackets 122, 122), so as to swing in a front-back direction of the seat unit with respect to the base assembly(as shown in figs. 4 & 5).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses the invention in claim 18, and further discloses wherein a swing limit mechanism, wherein the swing limit mechanism allows the seat support to swing with respect to the base assembly in the sitting position of the seat unit, and the swing limit mechanism prevents the seat support from swinging with respect to the base assembly in the relaxing position or the lying position of the seat unit (Para. [0033], “the pins 218, 218 mounted upon the first footrest swing links 212,212, will again be disposed within the notches 220,220 defined upon the sixth links 204,204 such that the pins 218,218 effectively serve as limit pins or stops so as to ensure that the various linkage members comprising the pair of left and right-side linkage systems 106,106 regain their proper positions and orientations”; as shown in fig. 10. See also pins 154, 218 and 254 that move within slots to control the movements of the mounting brackets).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: See PTO 892.
/N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3647 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642