Claim status
This action is in response to applicant filed on 05/20/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17 and 18 have been amended.
Claims 14 have been cancelled.
Claim 20 is new.
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-12, 15, 17 & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duo’ et al. (US 12,145,503).
Regarding claim 10: Duo’ disclose A system for controlling a virtual engine sound of an electric vehicle, the system comprising:
a processor (Fig. 1: Performance emulator); and a non-transitory storage medium containing program instructions (Fig. 2, item 8), wherein the processor is configured to, by executing the program instructions:
collect a driving state of the electric vehicle, the driving state including a vehicle speed and an opening amount of an accelerator pedal (Col. 3, Lines 58-67) ;
determine a virtual gear position (gear inserted) based on the vehicle speed and the opening amount of the accelerator pedal ;
determine a virtual engine speed of the electric (RPM final) vehicle based on the vehicle speed and the virtual gear position (Col. 3, Line 58, Col. 4, Line 13); and
output a virtual engine sound corresponding to the virtual engine speed through an output device (Col. 4, Lines 15-28) and
determine whether a power-on upshift occurs, wherein the power-on upshift is an upshift in a state where the accelerator pedal is applied; and based on determining that the power-on upshift occurs, determine the virtual engine sound to be outputted based on a shift progress rate and a virtual engine angular acceleration in the power-on upshift. (Col. 13, Lines 42-44, Col. 12, Line 64-Coil. 13, Line 2 and Col. 13, Lines 19-24)
Regarding claim 11: Duo’ disclose the system of claim 10, wherein the processors is configured to:
wherein in the outputting of the virtual engine sound through the output device, the processor is further configured to: determine a sound source and a sound volume corresponding to the virtual engine speed; and output the sound source at a determined sound volume. (Col. 13, Lines 42-44).
Regarding claim 12: Duo’ disclose the system of claim 10, wherein the processors is configured to:
based on an application of the accelerator pedal of the electric vehicle, output the virtual engine sound including a sound source and a sound volume determined based on the virtual engine speed and the opening amount of the accelerator pedal (Col. 13, Lines 42-44).
Regarding claim 15: Duo’ disclose the system of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether a power-off downshift occurs; and based on the determining that the power-off downshift occurs, determine the virtual engine sound to be outputted based on a shift progress rate and a virtual engine angular acceleration in the power-off downshift. (Col. 13, Lines 42-44, Col. 12, Line 64-Coil. 13, Line 2 and Col. 13, Lines 19-24)
Regarding claim 17: Duo’ disclose the system of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to: based on concluding that the driving state is in a neutral gear, determine a sound source and a sound volume corresponding to the virtual engine speed at the neutral gear; and adjust a volume of the sound source to a predetermined first volume at predetermined time intervals. (Col. 13, Lines 42-44 and Col. 12, Line 64-Coil. 13, Line 2: if vehicle is turn into neutral, the system will still pick up speed and acceleration information and will adjust the sound accordingly.)
Regarding claim 19: Duo’ disclose The electric vehicle comprising the system of claim 10. (title, Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 20: Claims 20 is rejected for the same reason of claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
Claims 13, 16, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 05/20/2026, with respect to rejection of claims 1-9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 in regards to claim 10-19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argue that the prior art does not teach determine whether a power-on upshift occurs, wherein the power-on upshift is an upshift in a state where the accelerator pedal is applied; and based on determining that the power-on upshift occurs, determine the virtual engine sound to be outputted based on a shift progress rate and a virtual engine angular acceleration in the power-on upshift because the prior art merely disclose reproducing sound based on acceleration signal and simulated engine revolution value and not on power on/off of shifts.
Examiner respectfully disagrees: the prior art also teaches taking into consideration the inserted gears (power on/off shift) for the sound reproduction (Col. 13, Lines 42-44, Col. 12, Line 64-Coil. 13, Line 2 and Col. 13, Lines 19-24).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR CASILLASHERNANDEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689