DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pozdeev (US Patent 6636126) in view of Knopik et al. (US PGPub 20190245258), both references of record.
As per claim 1:
Pozdeev discloses in Figs. 1-2:
A coupler (four port hybrid 100A) comprising:
a first assembly having:
an input unit element (isolated transposition portion 40), an intermediate unit element (isolated transposition portion 50), and an output unit element (isolated transposition element 30), where each unit element includes:
a first coil and a second coil (electrical conductors 32/34 or 42/44 or 52/54) arranged to generally have a cross over shape (as seen in Fig. 1);
a first input terminal corresponding to an input node of the first coil;
a second input terminal corresponding to an output node of the second coil;
a first output terminal corresponding to an output node of the first coil; and
a second output terminal corresponding to an input node of the second coil (each isolated transposition portion comprises two input terminals and two output terminals, wherein the respective nodes may be labeled as desired);
wherein:
the first input terminal of the intermediate unit element is coupled to the first output terminal of the input unit element, the second input terminal of the intermediate unit element is coupled to the second output terminal of the input unit element, the first output terminal of the intermediate unit element is coupled to the first input terminal of the output unit element, and the second output terminal of the intermediate unit element is coupled to the second input terminal of the output unit element (each first input and output terminal may be designated to be connected along the path between either Port P2 to Port P1 or port P3 to port P4, with the second input and output terminals being connected along the path of the other set of ports), and
wherein the input unit element is spatially positioned between the intermediate unit element and the output unit element (as seen in Fig. 1).
Pozdeev does not disclose:
where each unit element includes:
a first coil and a second coil arranged to generally have an “H” shape, wherein the first coil and the second coil each include a plurality of arms and a bridge between the plurality of arms, and wherein the bridge is perpendicular to the plurality of arms.
Knopik et al. discloses in Figs. 4-5 & 7-8:
A cross-over coupling stage of a hybrid coupler comprising a first coil (metal track PM11) and a second coil (metal track PM12) arranged to generally have an “H” shape,
the first coil and the second coil each include:
a plurality of arms (the region from BM11 to BM12 & the region from BM21 to BM22); and
a bridge (area between arms in crossing region RC) between the plurality of arms, wherein the bridge is perpendicular to the plurality of arms (Fig. 4 discloses axis of symmetry ASE/M1 and ASE/M2, which are orthogonal, [0013] wherein the bridge is positioned along axis of symmetry ASM2, [0054], and the arms are formed parallel).
Knopik et al. further discloses that the length, width, and distance between neighboring inductive metal tracks is a design parameter for obtaining an overall desired capacitive and inductive value, [0014])
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the cross-over coupling stages of Knopik et al. for the isolated transposition elements as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent cross-over/transposition circuit that further provides the benefit of providing a desired level of capacitive and inductive values as taught by Knopik et al. ([0062])
As a consequence of the combination, where each unit element includes: a first coil and a second coil arranged to generally have an “H” shape, wherein the first coil and the second coil each include a plurality of arms and a bridge between the plurality of arms.
It would be further obvious for the arms to be formed in parallel as the distance between neighboring inductive metal tracks is a design parameter that provides the benefit of obtaining and overall desired capacitive and inductive value between the arms, as taught by Knopik et al.
As a consequence of the combination, the bridge is perpendicular to the plurality of arms, as the arms are symmetric about the axis of symmetry ASM/E1 (being an axis of symmetry), which is orthogonal to the axis of symmetry of ASM/E2, as taught by Knopik et al. [0013]).
As per claim 2:
Pozdeev discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the first input terminal of the input unit element is a first input of the first assembly, and the second input terminal of the input unit element is a second input of the first assembly (the first and second input terminals of the input unit element are part of the input terminals of the assembly by being connected to ports P2 & P3, wherein the hybrid of Pozdeev is a reciprocal element with terminals able to function as both input and output terminals).
As per claim 3:
Pozdeev discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the first output terminal of the output unit element is a first output of the first assembly, and the second output terminal of the output unit element is a second output of the first assembly (the first and second output terminals of the output unit element are part of the input terminals of the assembly by being connected to ports P1 & P4, wherein the hybrid of Pozdeev is a reciprocal element with terminals able to function as both input and output terminals).
As per claim 4:
Pozdeev discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the first input of the first assembly is configured to receive a first signal, and the second input of the first assembly is configured to receive a second signal that is a phase-shifted version of the first signal (being a four-port hybrid coupler, ports P2 & P3 are configured to be able to receive said first and second signals, as both ports are electrical ports for an electrical circuit; further, applying a phase shift to the second signal is an intended use, and is not a claimed difference in the structure of the circuit, such that a phase-shifted version of the first signal may be applied to the second input without conflicting with the limitations of the claims).
As per claim 5:
Pozdeev discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the second signal is the first signal as phase-shifted by ninety degrees (being a four-port hybrid coupler, ports P2 & P3 are configured to be able to receive said first and second signals, wherein the second signal is phase-shifted by ninety degrees, as both ports are electrical ports for an electrical circuit; further, applying a phase shift to the second signal is an intended use and does not further limit the claimed coupler).
As per claim 6:
Pozdeev discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the second signal is the first signal as phase-shifted by ninety degrees (being a four-port hybrid coupler, ports P2 & P3 are configured to be able to receive said first and second signals, wherein the second signal is phase-shifted by ninety degrees, as both ports are electrical ports for an electrical circuit; further, applying a phase shift to the second signal is an intended use and does not further limit the claimed coupler).
As per claim 7:
Pozdeev discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the first input terminal of the input unit element is a first input of the first assembly, and the second input terminal of the input unit element is a second input of the first assembly (the first and second input terminals of the input unit element are part of the input terminals of the assembly by being connected to ports P2 & P3, wherein the hybrid of Pozdeev is a reciprocal element with terminals able to function as both input and output terminals),
Pozdeev does not disclose:
the coupler includes at least one second assembly identical to the first assembly, the first output of the first assembly is coupled to a first input of the second assembly, and the second output of the first assembly is coupled to a second input of the second assembly
Knopik et al. discloses in Figs. 6 & 9-10, the coupling in series of multiple modules to obtain desired capacitive and inductive values ([0062]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the coupler to comprise at least one second assembly identical to the first assembly, the first output of the first assembly is coupled to a first input of the second assembly, and the second output of the first assembly is coupled to a second input of the second assembly to provide the benefit of obtaining desired capacitive and inductive values as taught by Knopik et al. ([0062])
As per claim 8:
Pozdeev does not disclose:
the unit elements all have the same dimensions.
Knopik et al. discloses in Figs. 4-5 & 7-8:
A cross-over coupling stage of a hybrid coupler comprising a first coil (metal track PM11) and a second coil (metal track PM12) arranged to generally have an “H” shape, wherein the size and shape of the coupling stage is controlled as a design parameter for determining the inductive and capacitive values of the coupling stage ([0025-0026]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the unit elements to all have the same dimensions as the dimensions are design parameters that provide the benefit of determining the inductive and capacitive values of the coupling stage as taught by Knopik et al. ([0025-0026]) and further as one of a limited number of options for the comparative dimensions of the cross-over coupling stages (same or different).
As per claim 9:
Pozdeev does not disclose:
the unit elements have different dimensions.
Knopik et al. discloses in Figs. 4-5 & 7-8:
A cross-over coupling stage of a hybrid coupler comprising a first coil (metal track PM11) and a second coil (metal track PM12) arranged to generally have an “H” shape, wherein the size and shape of the coupling stage is controlled as a design parameter for determining the inductive and capacitive values of the coupling stage ([0025-0026]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the unit elements to all have different dimensions as the dimensions are design parameters that provide the benefit of determining the inductive and capacitive values of the coupling stage as taught by Knopik et al. ([0025-0026]) and further as one of a limited number of options for the comparative dimensions of the cross-over coupling stages (same or different).
As per claim 10:
Pozdeev discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the unit elements are all placed in a same plane (as seen in related Fig. 5).
As per claim 11:
Pozdeev discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the unit elements are all placed in different planes (as seen in related Fig. 5, wherein the unit elements are placed in different planes oriented in the horizontal direction and the direction normal to the plane of the figure).
As per claim 12:
Pozdeev discloses in Figs. 6:
The respective transmission lines and cross-over units may be placed on separate layers vertically to form a step arrangement of the cross-over units (30 & 40).
Pozdeev does not disclose in Figs. 1-2:
the unit elements are placed in a stepped arrangement.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the coupler of the combination on separate layers vertically as a possible configuration as shown by Pozdeev to provide the benefit of alternative layouts able with different geometries.
As a consequence of the configuration, the unit elements are placed in a stepped arrangement.
As per claim 13:
Pozdeev does not disclose in Figs. 1-2:
the first and second coils of the unit elements are windings having a generally rectangular shape.
Knopik et al. discloses in Figs. 4-5 & 7-8:
the first and second coils of the unit elements are windings having a generally rectangular shape (as seen in Figs. 4-5).
As a consequence of the combination, the first and second coils of the unit elements are windings having a generally rectangular shape.
As per claim 14:
Pozdeev does not disclose in Figs. 1-2:
the first and second coils of the unit elements are windings having a generally zigzag shape.
Knopik et al. discloses in Figs. 4-5 & 7-8:
the first and second coils of the unit elements are windings having a generally zigzag shape.
As a consequence of the combination, the first and second coils of the unit elements are windings having a generally zigzag shape.
As per claim 15:
Pozdeev discloses in Figs. 1-2:
the coupler is a reversible coupler (only comprises passive, non-directional elements).
As per claim 17:
Pozdeev does not disclose in Figs. 1-2:
the bridge is perpendicular to the plurality of arms, and the bridge centered relative to the plurality of arms, and the plurality of arms each have a length that is greater than a width of the bridge.
Knopik et al. discloses in Figs. 4-5 & 7-8:
the bridge is perpendicular to the plurality of arms, and the bridge centered relative to the plurality of arms (centered on axis of symmetry ASM2), and the plurality of arms each have a length that is greater than a width of the bridge (each arm extends past the bridge).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the bridge is perpendicular to the plurality of arms, and the bridge centered relative to the plurality of arms, and the plurality of arms each have a length that is greater than a width of the bridge.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In pages 5-6 of the applicant’s remarks, the applicant argues:
Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Office Action's position. Neither Pozdeev nor Knopik, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests coils having "a plurality of arms and a bridge between the plurality of arms" with "the bridge perpendicular to the plurality of arms" as now required by claim 1 as amended.
Pozdeev's transposition portions 30, 40, and 50 are described as "four port lumped cross connectors." See Pozdeev, col. 5, lines 28-30. These transposition portions are simple electrical conductors that cross signal paths-they are not coils with arms and bridges as claimed. Pozdeev's electrical conductors 32, 34, 42, 44, 52, and 54 merely connect transmission lines to form spiral-shaped conductive paths; they do not constitute coils having a plurality of arms and a bridge between the arms with the bridge perpendicular to the arms.
Knopik discloses metal tracks PM11 and PM12 that form crossing regions within a
coupling stage. However, Knopik does not disclose coils having "a plurality of arms and a bridge between the plurality of arms" wherein "the bridge is perpendicular to the plurality of arms" as set forth in amended claim 1. Knopik's metal tracks are overlaid in a crossing region to form inductive and capacitive circuits, but this structure is distinct from the claimed coils with arms and a perpendicular bridge configuration within unit elements of a coupler assembly comprising input, intermediate, and output unit elements.
Accordingly, neither Pozdeev nor Knopik teaches or suggests the specific coil structure now recited in claim 1 as amended, wherein each unit element includes first and second coils that each have a plurality of arms and a bridge between the plurality of arms, with the bridge perpendicular to the plurality of arms. Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 as amended and its dependent claims 2-15 and 17 are allowable over the cited references.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Knopik et al. discloses in Figs. 4-5 & 7-8
A cross-over coupling stage of a hybrid coupler comprising a first coil (metal track PM11) and a second coil (metal track PM12) arranged to generally have an “H” shape,
the first coil and the second coil each include: a plurality of arms (the region from BM11 to BM12 & the region from BM21 to BM22); and a bridge (area between arms in crossing region RC) between the plurality of arms, wherein the bridge is perpendicular to the plurality of arms (Fig. 4 discloses axis of symmetry ASE/M1 and ASE/M2, which are orthogonal, [0013] wherein the bridge is positioned along axis of symmetry ASM2, [0054], and the arms are formed parallel). Knopik et al. further discloses that the length, width, and distance between neighboring inductive metal tracks is a design parameter for obtaining an overall desired capacitive and inductive value, [0014]). Knopik discloses in Fig. 4 that metal tracks PM11 and PM12 are disposed symmetric to an axis of symmetry ASM1/ASE1 with a singular distance between, while the bridge is formed along the axis of symmetry ASM2/ASE2, which is noted to be orthogonal to the first axis of symmetry [0013]. As such, Fig. 4 discloses that the “H” shape features a plurality of arms and a bridge between the plurality of arms, and wherein the bridge is perpendicular to the plurality of arms, as per the limitation of claim 1. To further support the rejection, the rejection further relies on Knopik’s disclosure of the distance between arms being a design parameter, such that a uniform distance is provided between the arms, wherein due to the axes of symmetry, the bridge is thus perpendicular to the arms. Applicant’s arguments are thus not persuasive, and the rejection of claims 1-15 & 17 under Pozdeev and Knopik is sustained.
Conclusion
/Samuel S Outten/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843