DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2016/0345151 A1, hereinafter Chen) in view of Venkataraman et al. (US 2021/0410030 A1, hereinafter Venkataraman).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors, cause the UE to perform operations ([0061] "FIG. 7 is a functional diagram illustrating a system. 700 which may be used in the user equipment and the eNB for carrying out the present method. The system 700 includes a processing component 710, random access memory (RAM) 730, read only memory (ROM) 740, a storage device 750," and [0062] describes "processing component 710 is configured to execute instructions, codes, computer programs, or scripts" to perform the below operations) comprising: receiving, by an access stratum (AS) layer of the UE and from a non-access stratum layer (NAS) layer of the UE, a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) search request ([0026] describes referring to FIG. 4, "one function of the AS layers includes supporting PLMN selection of the NAS layer 41 by searching for and reporting available PLMNs to the NAS layer 41," i.e. a PLMN search request initiated by NAS and AS layers of the UE); determining, by the AS layer, that a first connection instance is in- -connected mode ([0028] describes referring to FIG. 5, "Step 510: the user equipment selects a first PLMN as a primary PLMN and registers on the primary PLMN," i.e. a first PLMN connection has occurred and the device is currently in "normal mode of operation," see [0036], i.e. the device is determined to be in connected mode); responsively determining, by the AS layer, whether a second connection instance is available ([0031] referring to FIG. 5, step 540 determines if a second connection instance is available); and in response to determining that the second connection instance is available, triggering, by the AS layer, the PLMN search on the second connection instance ([0031] "if yes, execute step 550," i.e. the device begins using the second PLMN, and may be looped back to step 520 while using the second connection instance as shown in FIG. 5, wherein "Step 520: the user equipment performs a PLMN search using AS layers," see [0029] and [0032]), wherein the PLMN search comprises one or more frequency scans ([0049] describes "in step 520, the user equipment is configured to perform the PLMN search using AS layers. The AS layers may scan all the radio frequency (RF) channels within UE's supported RF bands and read system information (SI) to identify each PLMN," i.e. the PLMN search in step 520, described above, may include one or more frequency scans).
Chen is not relied on for the claim language -radio resource control (RRC)-. However, Venkataraman teaches [abstract] embodiments that are aimed at improving cell selection techniques, which may be in association with PLMN selection as described in [0052]. Venkataraman also teaches the method may be in association with specifically -radio resource control (RRC)- ([0017] describes "a UE may operate in an RRC connected state or an RRC idle state," i.e. the ability for RRC connection states/modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include the ability for a connection instance to be specifically a RRC connected mode, as taught by Venkataraman, in order to aid in [0018] facilitating UE mobility and easier transitions between RRC states, and [0044] in maintaining service by avoiding frequent RNA updates as part of cell selection, cell reselection, and PLMN selection procedures.
Regarding claim 2, Chen is not relied on for the claim language the one or more frequency scans comprise at least one of a short list search (SLS) scan, a derived band search (DBS) scan, or a remaining band search (RBS) scan. However, Venkataraman teaches as such ([0045] "When a UE is first powered on or the device is moved out of coverage, it tries to detect a new cell. The UE, for example, may attempt search procedures that entail a frequency scan for which there are at least two types: a Storage List Search (SLS) procedure and a Derived Band Search (DBS)," i.e. a frequency scan may be SLS or DBS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include the ability for a PLMN scan to be specifically SLS or DBS, as taught by Venkataraman, in order to aid in [0018] facilitating UE mobility and easier transitions between RRC states, and [0044] in maintaining service by avoiding frequent RNA updates as part of cell selection, cell reselection, and PLMN selection procedures.
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches performing, by the AS layer and using the second connection instance, the PLMN search on available frequency bands that are not currently being used by the first connection instance or that are not in band conflict with the first connection instance; and providing, by the AS layer and to the NAS layer, a first set of PLMN search results detected on the available frequency bands ([0029] referring to FIG. 5, in step 520 "the user equipment performs a PLMN search using AS layers," wherein the search is provided to the AS and NAS layers, wherein the search may be the first PLMN search. [0034] Additionally, in the case of step 570 " the user equipment detaches from the primary PLMN or the secondary PLMN" when one of the PLMNs is unable to serve the UE, i.e. in this scenario the current PLMNs would not be included in the search, therefore avoiding band conflict).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches responsively performing, by the AS layer and using the first or second connection instance, the PLMN search on a remaining set of frequency bands; and providing, by the AS layer and to the NAS layer, a second set of PLMN search results detected on the remaining set of frequency bands ([Figure 5, step 520] a PLMN search on roaming frequency bands, and described above in claim 1).
Chen is not relied on for the claim language determining, by the AS layer, that the first connection instance has transitioned to an RRC idle mode. However, Venkataraman teaches as such ([0017] describes "a UE may operate in an RRC connected state or an RRC idle state," i.e. at any operation described the UE may be operating in RRC connected mode or RRC idle mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include the use of an RRC idle mode, as taught by Venkataraman, in order to aid in [0018] facilitating UE mobility and easier transitions between RRC states, and [0044] in maintaining service by avoiding frequent RNA updates as part of cell selection, cell reselection, and PLMN selection procedures.
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches and responsively triggering, by the AS layer, at least one remaining frequency scan using the first connection instance ([Figure 5, step 520] a PLMN search may include a frequency scan, and described above in claim 1).
Chen is not relied on for the claim language determining, by the AS layer and during the PLMN search, that the first connection instance has transitioned to an RRC idle mode. However, Venkataraman teaches as such ([0017] describes "a UE may operate in an RRC connected state or an RRC idle state," i.e. at any operation described the UE may be operating in RRC connected mode or RRC idle mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include the use of an RRC idle mode, as taught by Venkataraman, in order to aid in [0018] facilitating UE mobility and easier transitions between RRC states, and [0044] in maintaining service by avoiding frequent RNA updates as part of cell selection, cell reselection, and PLMN selection procedures.
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the UE is a Multi-Subscriber Identity Module (MSIM) UE ([0053] describes " in another embodiment when the user equipment is a dual SIM. standby (DSS) terminal or a dual SIM dual standby (DSDS) terminal," i.e. a MSIM UE).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches the first connection instance is provided by a first SIM and the second connection instance is provided by a second SIM ([0053] describes " a first SIM card may be used to listen to a first cell in the primary PLMN and a second SIM card may be used to listen to a second cell in the secondary PLMN simultaneously," i.e. the UE may be MSIM, which may have two septate connections working simultaneously on different SIMs).
Regarding claim 12, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches the apparatus is a user equipment (UE) or a baseband processor (the apparatus may be a UE, as described in claim 1 and depicted in FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 20, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claims 6-9 and 16-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2016/0345151 A1, hereinafter Chen) and Venkataraman et al. (US 2021/0410030 A1, hereinafter Venkataraman) as applied in claims above, and further in view of Shi et al. (US 2015/0341846 A1, hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches detecting, by the AS layer, an activity on the second connection instance different from the PLMN search ([Figure 5, step 540] and [0031] "Step 540: the NAS layer determines if the available PLMNs include a second PLMN which is currently unable to provide connectivity to the first PLMN," i.e. determining/detecting if the connecting from either PLMN is possible, i.e. detecting a connection instance different/unavailable from a PLMN search would result in step 560 since connection has changed (the connection state from step 560 and step 550 are different, 560 is idle/unavailable/not-connected and 550 is connected state)).
The combination of Chen and Venkataraman is not relied on for the claim language and responsively aborting the PLMN search on the second connection instance. However, Shi teaches a method for allowing a UE to perform targeted PLMN searching. Targeting the PLMN search may include reducing the number of frequencies or frequency bands searched as part of the PLMN search. Shi also teaches and responsively aborting the PLMN search on the second connection instance ([0085] describes "if desired, the relevant frequency search step performed in step 708 may also provide the capability for early termination or abortion of the relevant frequency search." FIG. 8 and 9 illustrates a possible subprocess of a relevant frequency search with such early termination capability, i.e. aborting a PLMN search in response to detecting an activity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chen and Venkataraman to include the ability to abort a PLMN search, as taught by Shi, in order to aid in [0069] optimizing algorithms and preferences which may be used to generate or determine the preferred search order, and [0072] in facilitating targeted PLMN searches via the UE.
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches sending, by the AS layer to the NAS layer, a message comprising: (i) an indication of frequency bands searched- ([0026] describes "one function of the AS layers includes supporting PLMN selection of the NAS layer 41 by searching for and reporting available PLMNs to the NAS layer 41," wherein the PLMN search includes the ability for the "the AS layers may scan all the radio frequency (RF) channels within UE's supported RF bands" according to [0049], i.e. reporting the frequency bands searched), and (ii) a list of identified PLMNs on the searched frequency bands ([0026] describes "the NAS layer 41 is configured to maintain a list of allowed PLMN types and a list of PLMN-IDs," i.e. the report may include a list of the identified PLMNs on the searched frequency bands).
The combination of Chen and Venkataraman is not relied on for the claim language -prior to aborting the PLMN search. However, Shi teaches as such (described in claim 6 above, [0085] describes the PLMN search may be aborted, and FIGS. 8 and 9 illustrate examples).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chen and Venkataraman to include the ability to abort a PLMN search, as taught by Shi, in order to aid in [0069] optimizing algorithms and preferences which may be used to generate or determine the preferred search order, and [0072] in facilitating targeted PLMN searches via the UE.
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches resuming the PLMN search on the first connection instance ([Figure 5, step 520] a PLMN search, and described above in claim 1, i.e. a PLMN search is resumed in a circumstance where the state is changed).
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Chen and Venkataraman is not relied on for the claim language the first connection instance is for a first radio access technology (RAT) and the second connection instance is for a second RAT. However, Shi teaches as such ([0075] describes "note further that while the method of FIG. 6 describes steps for performing a targeted PLMN search on a single instance, the method may be expanded and/or repeated as desired. For example, if a UE enters a new region (e.g., country) and a PLMN search is initiated, the UE may repeat part or all of the method of FIG. 6 to perform a targeted PLMN search in the new region," wherein [0007] describes "the search may also encompass frequencies/bands/RATs," i.e. the different instances may be different RATs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chen and Venkataraman to include the ability for the connections to be specifically separate RAT instances, as taught by Shi, in order to aid in [0069] optimizing algorithms and preferences which may be used to generate or determine the preferred search order, and [0072] in facilitating targeted PLMN searches via the UE.
Regarding claim 16, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
References Cited
Chen, Pei-Jung (2016). Method of performing automatic plmn selection in iops-capable wireless communication system (US 2016/0345151 A1). Filed 2016-01-25.
Venkataraman, Vijay et al. (2021). Reducing rna update procedures and improving rach efficiency (US 2021/0410030 A1). Filed 2020-06-29.
Shi, Jianxiong et al. (2015). Targeted plmn search (US 2015/0341846 A1). Filed 2014-05-20.
Other Pertinent References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin, Seungri et al. (2021). Method and apparatus for transmitting network information in wireless communication system (US 2021/0329543 A1). Filed 2021-04-13. Discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), for accessing a cell. (abstract)
Bansal, Pankaj et al. (2015). Apparatus and methods for service recovery during manual plmn search (US 2015/0163726 A1). Filed 2014-04-23. Discloses aspects of apparatus and methods for wireless communication, which include starting to perform a manual public land mobile network (PLMN) search by a user equipment (UE). (abstract)
Wu, Chih-Hsiang (2007). Method for handling periodic plmn search in rrc connected mode in umts system (US 2007/0149191 A1). Filed 2005-12-26. Discloses a method of performing a periodic public land mobile network (PLMN) search for a mobile station in a CELL_PCH state of radio resource control (RRC) connected mode in a universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS). (abstract)
Kim, Taehun et al. (2018). Method whereby terminal selects plmn in wireless communication system, and device for same (US 2018/0007622 A1). Filed 2016-02-02. Discloses a method where a terminal performs an operation related to public land mobile network (PLMN) selection. (abstract)
Dash, Deepak et al. (2023). Reselection of a radio access technology (rat) for a multimode user equipment (ue) (US 2023/0085782 A1). Filed 2022-09-22. Discloses methods for the reselection of a Radio Access Technology (RAT) for a multi-mode user equipment (UE). (abstract)
Conclusion
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699