DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,7-15,17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vijayasarathy et al(US 2025/0199570).
Claim 1: Vijayasarathy disclose receiving, from a device lock system, an indication to activate a physical locking mechanism located on a computing device in (page 3[0029]: processor circuitry prevent, restrict or allow rotation of the first housing based on an example hinge lock mode provided by user input. The electronic device receives one or more user input signals from the hinge lock mode to activate the hinge lock mode). Vijayasarathy disclose initiating activation of the physical locking mechanism located on the computing device, wherein the physical locking mechanism, when activated, prevents a cover of the computing device from being opened in (page 11[0089-0090]; page 18[0150]:hinge lock threshold circuitry determines if the lid angle exceeds an angle threshold. The hinge lock threshold circuitry can determine, obtain or otherwise retrieve the angle threshold such as a minimum allowable angle, an angle value from a look-up table or memory. If the lid angle is less than the angle threshold then the actuator control circuitry activates the hinge lock apparatus to stop the lid/cover from opening).
Claim 2: Vijayasarathy disclose transmitting a confirmation of the activation of the physical locking mechanism to the device lock system in (page 11[0091]).
Claim 3: Vijayasarathy disclose receiving an indication comprises receiving a signal from a remote device to lock the device in (page 3[0029-0030]).
Claim 4: Vijayasarathy disclose identifying a match between a lock condition and a context of the device in (page 11[0089]).
Claim 5: Vijayasarathy disclose lock condition comprises a location and wherein the context of the device comprises the device being located at the location in (page 10[0081]).
Claim 7: Vijayasarathy disclose physical locking mechanism comprises an electromagnet and wherein the initiating comprises transmitting a signal to change a state of the electromagnet in (page 4[0040]).
Claim 8: Vijayasarathy disclose receiving an indication to physically unlock the device and initiating deactivation of the physical locking mechanism in (page 5[0047]).
Claim 9: Vijayasarathy disclose physical locking mechanism comprises a first part located on a first portion of the device and a second part located on a second complementary portion of the device in (page 3[0030],page 11[0090-0092]).
Claim 10: Vijayasarathy disclose receiving an input from a graphical user interface associated with the device lock system in (page 3[0029]; page 5[0043]).
Claim 11: Vijayasarathy disclose a physical locking mechanism located on a device in (page 5[0045]. Vijayasarathy disclose a processor; a memory device that stores instructions that, when executed by the processor in (page 10[0080]). Vijayasarathy disclose receiving, from a device lock system, an indication to activate a physical locking mechanism located on a computing device in (page 3[0029]: processor circuitry prevent, restrict or allow rotation of the first housing based on an example hinge lock mode provided by user input. The electronic device receives one or more user input signals from the hinge lock mode to activate the hinge lock mode). Vijayasarathy disclose initiating activation of the physical locking mechanism located on the computing device, wherein the physical locking mechanism, when activated, prevents a cover of the computing device from being opened in (page 11[0089-0090]; page 18[0150]:hinge lock threshold circuitry determines if the lid angle exceeds an angle threshold. The hinge lock threshold circuitry can determine, obtain or otherwise retrieve the angle threshold such as a minimum allowable angle, an angle value from a look-up table or memory. If the lid angle is less than the angle threshold then the actuator control circuitry activates the hinge lock apparatus to stop the lid/cover from opening).
Claim 12: Vijayasarathy disclose transmitting a confirmation of the activation of the physical locking mechanism to the device lock system in (page 11[0091]).
Claim 13: Vijayasarathy disclose receiving an indication comprises receiving a signal from a remote device to lock the device in (page 3[0029-0030]).
Claim 14: Vijayasarathy disclose identifying a match between a lock condition and a context of the device in (page 11[0089]).
Claim 15: Vijayasarathy disclose lock condition comprises a location and wherein the context of the device comprises the device being located at the location in (page 10[0081]).
Claim 17: Vijayasarathy disclose physical locking mechanism comprises an electromagnet and wherein the initiating comprises transmitting a signal to change a state of the electromagnet in (page 4[0040]).
Claim 18: Vijayasarathy disclose receiving an indication to physically unlock the device and initiating deactivation of the physical locking mechanism in (page 5[0047]).
Claim 19: Vijayasarathy disclose physical locking mechanism comprises a first part located on a first portion of the device and a second part located on a second complementary portion of the device in (page 3[0030],page 11[0090-0092]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6,16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
USPTO Contact Information
/HOSUK SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435