Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, which discloses “… the at least one choke inductor is connected to each of the two output nodes with the transmission line transformer interposed therebetween”. Regarding the underline part of the claim, either the specification is not clear or the drawings fail to disclose the claimed subject matter. Clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by van der Heijden et al. (20110051842), hereafter called HEIJDEN.
Regarding claim 1, HEIJDEN (Fig. 3) discloses a circuit comprising: a Class E amplifier having two input nodes (V1 and V1*) and two output nodes (O1), and configured to amplify a differential signal; a power supply terminal configured to receive a power supply voltage (VDD); and at least one choke inductor (primary side of the transformer (331)) connecting the two output nodes to the power supply terminal, wherein the Class E amplifier comprises: two transistors formed by switches (S1 and S2), see para. [0068], each having a base or a gate connected to a corresponding one of the two input nodes, and a collector or a drain connected to a corresponding one of the two output nodes, two first capacitors (CDS) each connected between the collector or the drain and an emitter or a source of a corresponding one of the two transistors, and a first inductor (Lx) connected between the collector or the drain of one of the two transistors, and the collector or the drain of the other of the two transistors.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the at least one choke inductor comprises a first inductor (top 1/2 of the primary side transformer (331)) connecting one of the two output nodes to the power supply terminal and a second inductor (bottom 1/2 of the primary side transformer (331)) connecting the other of the two output nodes to the power supply terminal.
Regarding clam 16, further comprising: see Fig. 3, a magnetically coupled transformer (331) comprising a primary coil (two 1/2) and a secondary coil magnetically coupled to each other, wherein each end of the primary coil is connected one of the two output nodes, wherein a first end of the secondary coil is connected to a ground potential, wherein a center tap of the primary coil is connected to the power supply terminal (VDD), and wherein the at least one choke inductor comprises the primary coil of the magnetically coupled transformer.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kee et al. (20020101284), hereafter called KEE.
Regarding claim 1, KEE (Fig. 5) discloses a circuit comprising: a Class E amplifier having two input nodes (nodes controlling switches (122’ and 126’) and also Fig. 1, signal applied to switch (5), and two output nodes (top nodes coupled to respective switches (124 and 126)), and configured to amplify a differential signal; a power supply terminal configured to receive a power supply voltage (arrows pointing outward of choke inductors (142 and 144)); and at least one choke inductor (142/144) connecting the two output nodes to the power supply terminal, wherein the Class E amplifier comprises: two transistors formed by switches (124 and 126), each having a base or a gate connected to a corresponding one of the two input nodes, and a collector or a drain connected to a corresponding one of the two output nodes, two first capacitors (122, 128) each connected between the collector or the drain and an emitter or a source of a corresponding one of the two transistors, and a first inductor (134) connected between the collector or the drain of one of the two transistors, and the collector or the drain of the other of the two transistors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3-6, prior art(s) does not disclose a common mode choke comprising a primary line and a secondary line, wherein a first end of the primary line of the common mode choke and a first end of the secondary line of the common mode choke are each connected to different ones of the two output nodes, and a second end of the secondary line of the common mode choke is connected to a ground potential at least for alternating current.
Regarding claims 7-10, prior art(s) does not disclose a Guanella type transmission line transformer comprising two transmission lines, each comprising a primary line and a secondary line, wherein first ends of the two primary lines of the Guanella type transmission line transformer are each connected to different ones of the two output nodes, and wherein a second end of one of the two primary lines of the Guanella type transmission line transformer is connected to a ground potential at least for alternating current.
Regarding claims 11-14, prior art(s) does not disclose a first Ruthroff type transmission line transformer comprising a primary line and a secondary line, wherein a first end of the primary line of the first Ruthroff type transmission line transformer is connected to one of the two output nodes, wherein a second end of the primary line of the first Ruthroff type transmission line transformer is connected to a first end of the secondary line of the first Ruthroff type transmission line transformer, wherein a second end of the secondary line of the first Ruthroff type transmission line transformer is connected to the other of the two output nodes, and wherein the second end of the primary line of the first Ruthroff type transmission line transformer and the first end of the secondary line of the first Ruthroff type transmission line transformer are connected to a ground potential at least for alternating current.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aldhaher (20210083634), which is considered to be the closest prior art to the claimed invention. Aldhaher (Fig. 5) discloses a class-E amplifier having two transistors (512 and 520), each having a capacitor connected between the drain and the source, and an inductor (516) connected between drain of the transistors. However, Aldhaher does not disclose choke inductor as claimed.
/KHANH V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843