DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/26/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 6/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 & 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: lack of clarity.
Claim 8 does not clearly cite what the % range of the areas are referencing, whether the bonded area is a percentage of the unbonded area, or the total area of the elastic film; or if the bonded area range refers to a percentage of the total area between respective first/second nonwoven layer and the elastic film.
However, the claim does not lead to indefiniteness, as the instant specification [0038] clearly defines the bonded area for the first (second) nonwoven layer is about 5 to about 40% of the total area between the first (second) nonwoven layer and the elastic film. Claim 8 will be examined accordingly.
Claim 13 does not clearly define what ‘film coverage’ as a percentage is comparing, and the instant specification [0045] does not elaborate.
However, because claim 13 is dependent to claim 1 which only cites a first nonwoven layer and the elastic film, it is understood as obvious by the Examiner that the film coverage % is the (area of the first nonwoven layer covering the film) over (the total area of the film). Claim 13 will be examined accordingly.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by over Muslet (US20220111616A1). Claim elements are presented in italics.
1. A point bonded extrusion laminate (PEL), comprising: (a) a first nonwoven layer; (b) an elastic film; (c) a first plurality of discrete bond sites bonding the first nonwoven layer to a first side of the elastic film, wherein the first plurality of discrete bond sites define a first bonded area and a first bond pattern between the first nonwoven layer and the first side of the elastic film; and (d) first nonbonded portions of the first nonwoven layer located between the first plurality of discrete bond sites, wherein the first nonbonded portions of the first nonwoven layer are not bonded to the first side of the elastic film.
With respect to claim 1, the prior art of Muslet teaches a point bonded extrusion laminate (PEL) [0042], comprising: (a) a first nonwoven layer (Fig. 8, black curving item); (b) an elastic film (Fig. 8, gray flat base) [0029-0030]; (c) a first plurality of discrete bond sites bonding the first nonwoven layer to a first side of the elastic film, wherein the first plurality of discrete bond sites define a first bonded area and a first bond pattern between the first nonwoven layer and the first side of the elastic film (Figs. 7 & 8, black oval bond sites; [0046]); and (d) first nonbonded portions of the first nonwoven layer located between the first plurality of discrete bond sites, wherein the first nonbonded portions of the first nonwoven layer are not bonded to the first side of the elastic film (Fig. 8, black curving item between the bond sites; [0027]).
2. The PEL of claim 1, further comprising a second nonwoven layer, wherein the elastic film is located between the first nonwoven layer and a second nonwoven layer.
With respect to claim 2, Muslet teaches the laminate can comprise a second nonwoven layer, wherein the elastic film is located between the first nonwoven layer and a second nonwoven layer [0027, 0042].
3. The PEL of claim 2, further comprising a second plurality of discrete bond sites bonding the second nonwoven layer to a second side of the elastic film, wherein the plurality of second discrete bond sites define a second bonded area and a second bond pattern between the second nonwoven layer and the second side of the elastic film, and second nonbonded portions of the second nonwoven layer located between the second plurality of discrete bond sites, wherein the second nonbonded portions of the second nonwoven layer are not bonded to the second side of the elastic film.
With respect to claim 3, Muslet teaches a second plurality of discrete bond sites bonding the second nonwoven layer to a second side of the elastic film [0027, 0042], wherein the plurality of second discrete bond sites define a second bonded area and a second bond pattern between the second nonwoven layer and the second side of the elastic film, and second nonbonded portions of the second nonwoven layer located between the second plurality of discrete bond sites, wherein the second nonbonded portions of the second nonwoven layer are not bonded to the second side of the elastic film [0027, 0042-0043, 0046].
4. The PEL of claim 3, wherein the first nonwoven layer, the second nonwoven layer, or both comprise a spunbond nonwoven, a carded nonwoven, a meltblown nonwoven, a hydroentangled nonwoven, or any combination thereof.
With respect to claim 4, Muslet teaches the first and second nonwoven layers can comprise a spunbond nonwoven or a carded nonwoven [0044, Claim 4].
5. The PEL of claim 4, wherein the first nonwoven layer, the second nonwoven layer, or both comprise a basis weight from about 3 to about 50 gsm.
With respect to claim 5, Muslet teaches the nonwoven layer claimed range of about 3 to about 50 gsm, as Muslet teaches the carded or spunbond first and second nonwoven layers can each have a basis weight of 22 gsm [0057 – Example 1] or 20 gsm [0061 – Example 2].
6. The PEL of claim 3, wherein at least a portion of the first nonbonded portions, the second nonbonded portions, or both comprise deformed portions that project outwardly from an x-y plane.
With respect to claim 6, Muslet teaches at least a portion of the first nonbonded portions, the second nonbonded portions, or both comprise deformed portions that project outwardly from an x-y plane (Fig. 8, black curving item; [0027, 0058]).
7. The PEL of claim 6, wherein the deformed portions have an average height of about 1 to about 10 mm.
With respect to claim 7, Muslet teaches the deformed portions have an average height of “at least 2 mm+/−1 mm” [0027], which is fully within the claimed range of about 1 to about 10 mm.
12. The PEL of claim 1, wherein the PEL is devoid of an adhesive.
With respect to claim 12, Muslet teaches the PEL can be devoid of an adhesive. Muslet is silent on any adhesive used - with the exception of an ‘adhesively point bonding’ method - which is a possible alternative to the adhesive-free point bonding methods such as ultrasonic, extrusion lamination, calendaring, or patterned anvil roll also taught by Muslet [0043, 0048].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 & 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muslet (US20220111616A1). Claim elements are presented in italics.
8. The PEL of claim 3, wherein the first bonded area, the second bonded area, or both comprise from about 5 to about 40%.
With respect to claim 8, Muslet is understood to teach the first bonded area, the second bonded area, or both comprise from about 5 to about 40% of the total area between respective first/second nonwoven layer and the elastic film.
Muslet does not explicitly teach the bonding area as a percentage.
However, Muslet teaches the point bonding sites are ‘about 3 mm to about 10 mm from each adjacent bond site’ [0007, Claim 1].
Muslet illustrates two patterns of point bonding (Figs. 7a, 7b, plan view of nonwoven layer) wherein the distances between adjacent bonding sites appear to range from about 4 to 7.5 mm. From each figure, the bonded area in relation to the non-woven layer total area appears to be about 5%.
Using the minimum bond distances of 3mm taught by Muslet, it is estimated that the bonded area to non-woven layer total area would be about 10 to about 15%.
The maximum bond distances of 10mm taught by Muslet would prima facie obviously result in a less than 5% bonded area.
From these teachings, a prima facie case of obviousness exists that Muslet teaches the claim 8 bonding area %, as the estimated ranges of ‘less than 5’ to ‘about 15%’ would partially overlap the claimed range of about 5 to about 40%. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
9. The PEL of claim 1, wherein the elastic film comprises an average thickness from about 10 to about 300 microns.
With respect to claim 9, Muslet teaches the elastic ‘film’, which can comprise a multilayer stack of coextruded films [0030], wherein the two outer ‘skin’ layers can each have a thickness ranging “from about 1 to about 20 microns”. Muslet teaches the skin layers can each range “from about 1% to about 20%” of the total film thickness [0037].
These teachings from Muslet are calculated to provide a film thickness ranging from 5 to 2000 micron.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists that Muslet teaches the claim 9 film thickness range
elements, as the Muslet range of 5 to 2000 micron fully overlaps the claimed overall average film thickness range of about 10 to about 300 microns. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
10. The PEL of claim 9, wherein the elastic film comprises one or more elastomers such as an acrylate; a polyolefin, such as polyethylene, polypropylene, polybutylene, polyhexene, polyoctene; polystyrenes; polyurethanes; polyesters, such as polyethyleneterephthalate; polyamides such as nylon; natural or synthetic rubber resins such as styrenic block copolymers (e.g., styrene-isoprene-styrene, styrene-butadiene-styrene, styrene-ethylene-ethylene-propylene-styrene copolymers, styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene); epoxies; vinyl acetates, such as ethylene vinyl acetate; polydiorganosiloxane polyurea copolymers; copolymers thereof and mixtures thereof.
With respect to claim 10, Muslet teaches the elastic film comprises one or more elastomers such as a polyolefin, such as polypropylene [0036]; polystyrenes [0034]; polyurethanes [0035]; polyesters [0035]; polyamides [0035]; natural or synthetic rubber resins such as styrenic block copolymers (e.g., styrene-isoprene-styrene, styrene-butadiene-styrene, styrene-ethylene-ethylene-propylene-styrene copolymers, styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene) [0031]; copolymers thereof and mixtures thereof [0031, 0035].
11. The PEL of claim 9, wherein the elastic film comprises from 1 to about 8 individual layers.
With respect to claim 11, Muslet teaches an embodiment with only one film layer between two nonwoven layers [0042]. Muslet teaches an embodiment wherein the elastic film can comprise a core layer and two skin layers [0030]. Muslet does not explicitly teach an embodiment with greater than 3 film layers but suggests greater than 3 is a possible embodiment by teaching “the core layer (or layers in a film having more than three layers)” [0031].
From these teachings, Muslet anticipates the claimed layer range of from 1 to about 8 individual layers.
13. The PEL of claim 1, wherein PEL has a film coverage of at least about 80%.
With respect to claim 13, Muslet teaches PEL has a film coverage of at least about 80%.
Muslet is silent on the % film coverage by the first nonwoven layer and does not teach a reason for a minimum or maximum coverage value.
However, Muslet teaches these laminates can be useful for a wide variety of product applications including: diapers, face coverings, pants, gloves, swimwear, and as fasteners, waistbands and leg cuffs of absorbent articles [0052-0053].
The optimal laminate configurations, and therefore the application film coverage %, could be expected to vary greatly (based on the desired film area and overlapping nonwoven layer area) across this wide range of product applications.
While the film coverage area % is not explicitly taught by Muslet, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing that an optimal design for at least one of these applications could result in the claim 8 film coverage area range of at least about 80%.
14. The PEL of claim 1, wherein the PEL has an elongation at break from about 250 to about 500%.
With respect to claim 14, Muslet teaches the PEL may be stretched to at least twice its original length (at least 200% elongation) before breaking [0045]. Muslet is silent on a maximum elongation recorded before breaking.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists that Muslet teaches the claim 14 PEL elongation range before breaking, as Muslet teaches the laminate elongation range of ‘at least 200% elongation’ which is close and would be expected to overlap into the claimed range of from about 250 to about 500%. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
GREGORY C. GROSSO
Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/GREGORY C. GROSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748