Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 26th, 2024, has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 09/29/2026 is acknowledged.
However, the examiner found a mistake in their initial understanding of the instant claims, specifically in how the examiner understood the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches. Examiner withdraws the election of species requirement (CTRS) mailed 08/06/2026. Respectfully, examiner herein provides examination on the merits of instant claims 1 – 11. See below.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3 and 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (US 20190109228 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Kobayashi (US 20190109228 A1) teaches a silicon carbide semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 7; semiconductor substrate 10) containing silicon carbide (at least [0038]) and having a first main surface (Fig. 7; surface on which source electrode 12 is disposed) and a second main surface (Fig. 7; surface on which drain electrode 13 is disposed) opposite to each other (Fig. 7);
a first semiconductor region (Fig. 7; drift region 2) of a first conductivity type (Fig. 7; n-type) provided in the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 7);
a second semiconductor region (Fig. 7; base region 4) of a second conductivity type (Fig. 7; p-type), provided in the semiconductor substrate between the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate and the first semiconductor region (Fig. 7);
a plurality of third semiconductor regions (Fig. 7; source region 5) of the first conductivity type (Fig. 7), selectively provided in the semiconductor substrate between the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate and the second semiconductor region (Fig. 7);
a plurality of first trenches (Fig. 7; first trench 7) penetrating through the plurality of third semiconductor regions (Fig. 7) and the second semiconductor region (Fig. 7) in a depth direction (Fig. 7) and terminating in the first semiconductor region (Fig. 7);
a plurality of gate electrodes (Fig. 7; gate electrode 9) provided in the plurality of first trenches (Fig. 7), via a plurality of gate insulating films (Fig. 7; gate insulating film 8);
a plurality of second trenches (Fig. 7; second trench 31) penetrating through the plurality of third semiconductor regions (Fig. 7) in the depth direction (Fig. 7) and terminating in the second semiconductor region (Kobayashi teaches in [0039] that current spreading region 3 may be omitted. In this case, the second trench 31 terminates in the second semiconductor region), at a depth at least equal to a depth of the plurality of first trenches (Kobayashi teaches the first trenches 7 being spaced apart from region 6a), each of the plurality of second trenches being provided apart from the plurality of first trenches (Fig. 7);
a first electrode (Fig. 7; source electrode 12 including conductive layer 32) provided at the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 7), the first electrode being embedded in the plurality of second trenches (Fig. 7), and in contact with the second semiconductor region (Fig. 7) and the plurality of third semiconductor regions at inner walls of the plurality of second trenches (Fig. 7); and
a second electrode (Fig. 7; drain electrode 13) provided at the second main surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 7), wherein
the plurality of second trenches is provided at a predetermined first pitch in a direction parallel to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (see [0073] – [0074] and Fig. 5), and
the plurality of first trenches is disposed at a predetermined second pitch in the direction, each between adjacent two of the plurality of second trenches (see [0073] – [0074] and Fig. 5).
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Kobayashi teaches the silicon carbide semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are so arranged that each of the plurality of second trenches has, respectively on two sides thereof, one of the plurality of first trenches (Fig. 5), provided separately from said each second trench (Fig. 5), and another one of the plurality of second trenches (Fig. 5), provided separately from said each second trench. (Fig. 5)
Regarding dependent Claim 3, Kobayashi teaches the silicon carbide semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
a total area of the plurality of first trenches is greater than a total area of the plurality of second trenches.
Kobayashi teaches the same width W11 and length for both the first and second trenches (E.g., Fig. 1), and further teaches in [0057] that a number of second trenches is less than a number of first trenches (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a common teaching in relationship to gate-on resistance and gate density), which directly implicates (teaches) that a total area of the plurality of first trenches is greater than a total area of the plurality of second trenches.
Regarding independent Claim 7, Kobayashi teaches a silicon carbide semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 7; semiconductor substrate 10) containing silicon carbide (at least [0038]) and having a first main surface (Fig. 7; surface on which source electrode 12 is disposed) and a second main surface (Fig. 7; surface on which drain electrode 13 is disposed) opposite to each other (Fig. 7);
a first semiconductor region (Fig. 7; drift region 2) of a first conductivity type (Fig. 7; n-type) provided in the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 7);
a second semiconductor region (Fig. 7; base region 4) of a second conductivity type (Fig. 7; p-type) provided in the semiconductor substrate between the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate and the first semiconductor region (Fig. 7);
a plurality of third semiconductor regions (Fig. 7; source region 5) of the first conductivity type (Fig. 7), selectively provided in the semiconductor substrate between the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate and the second semiconductor region (Fig. 7);
a plurality of first trenches (Fig. 7; first trench 7) penetrating through the plurality of third semiconductor regions (Fig. 7) and the second semiconductor region (Fig. 7) in a depth direction (Fig. 7) and terminating in the first semiconductor region (Fig. 7);
a plurality of gate electrodes (Fig. 7; gate electrode 9) provided in the plurality of first trenches (Fig. 7), via a plurality of gate insulating films (Fig. 7; gate insulating film 8);
a plurality of second trenches (Fig. 7; second trench 31) penetrating through the plurality of third semiconductor regions (Fig. 7) in a depth direction (Fig. 7) and terminating in the second semiconductor region (Kobayashi teaches in [0039] that current spreading region 3 may be omitted. In this case, the second trench 31 terminates in the second semiconductor region), at a depth at least equal to a depth of the plurality of first trenches (Kobayashi teaches the first trenches 7 being spaced apart from region 6a), each of the plurality of second trenches being provided apart from the plurality of first trenches (Fig. 7);
a first electrode (Fig. 7; source electrode 12 including conductive layer 32) provided at the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 7), the first electrode being embedded in the plurality of second trenches (Fig. 7), and in contact with the second semiconductor region (Fig. 7) and the plurality of third semiconductor regions at inner walls of the plurality of second trenches (Fig. 7); and
a second electrode (Fig. 7; drain electrode 13) provided at the second main surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 7), wherein
a total number of first trenches of the plurality of first trenches is greater than a total number of second trenches of the plurality of second trenches (Kobayashi teaches in [0057] that a number of second trenches is less than a number of first trenches).
Regarding dependent Claim 8, Kobayashi teaches the silicon carbide semiconductor device according to claim 7, wherein
a total area of the plurality of first trenches is greater than a total area of the plurality of second trenches.
Kobayashi teaches the same width W11 and length for both the first and second trenches (E.g., Fig. 1), and further teaches in [0057] that a number of second trenches is less than a number of first trenches (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a common teaching in relationship to gate-on resistance and gate density), which directly implicates (teaches) that a total area of the plurality of first trenches is greater than a total area of the plurality of second trenches.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 4 – 6 and 10 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US 20190109228 A1) and further in view of Nakano (US 20190378922 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 4, Kobayashi teaches the silicon carbide semiconductor device according to claim 1; however, Kobayashi remains silent wherein
a width of each of the plurality of first trenches is less than a width of each of the plurality of second trenches.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakano (US 20190378922 A1) teaches a similar MOSFET structure including a plurality of first trenches (Figs. 1B/11B; gate trenches 9) and a plurality of second trenches (Figs. 1 – 2A; source trenches 47) wherein a width of each of the plurality of first trenches is less than a width of each of the plurality of second trenches ([0076]). Examiner asserts that such a trench layout would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s trench layout wherein a width of each of the plurality of first trenches is less than a width of each of the plurality of second trenches, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s trench layout is expressly or implicitly provided by Nakano, stating that “The source trench 47 … has a width greater than that of the gate trench 9 ” ([0076]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s trench layout wherein a width of each of the plurality of first trenches is less than a width of each of the plurality of second trenches, with the motivation of forming openings in which the source electrode may be disposed to transmit a signal is a silicon carbide semiconductor device. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of appropriating sizing the gate trenches relative to the source trenches in an ongoing effort of increasing the packing efficiency of the active elements in the semiconductor device.
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Kobayashi teaches the silicon carbide semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising:
an active region (active region taught in [0035]) in which the first electrode is disposed ([0035] – [0036]), …
However, Kobayashi remains silent regarding … the active region including:
a first region facing the first electrode in the depth direction, and
a second region facing the gate pad in the depth direction; and
a gate pad provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, the gate pad being electrically insulated from the first electrode by an interlayer insulating film and being electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the first region and in the second region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches in the second region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakano (US 20190378922 A1) teaches a semiconductor device with an active region 3 (Fig. 1); including a first region facing the first electrode in the depth direction (Fig. 2D; see the stepped portion of the substrate (to the right of gate finger trench 10) facing source pad 5, i.e., the first electrode) and a second region facing the gate pad in the depth direction (Fig. 1A; portion of the active area wherein the source pad 5 is recessed to accommodate gate pad 7). Further, Nakano teaches a gate pad (Fig. 7; gate pad 7) provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (Figs. 1 and 2D), the gate pad being electrically insulated from the first electrode by an interlayer insulating film (Fig. 2D; interlayer film 29) and being electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes (Fig. 2D; see contact to gate electrode 22), wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the first region and in the second region (Nakano discloses the same device in Fig. 11B with the addition of a second gate finger trench 45, which teaches a same layout in the first region and in the second region. See [0112]), and an insulating layer (Fig. 2D; gate insulating film 23) is embedded in the plurality of second trenches in the second region (Fig. 2D). Examiner asserts that it would be obvious to include an active region, as disclosed by Nakano, to the silicon carbide semiconductor device of Kobayashi such that the active region includes a first region facing the first electrode in the depth direction, and a second region facing the gate pad in the depth direction; and a gate pad provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, the gate pad being electrically insulated from the first electrode by an interlayer insulating film and being electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the first region and in the second region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches in the second region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s active region structure wherein a first region facing the first electrode in the depth direction, and a second region facing the gate pad in the depth direction; and a gate pad provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, the gate pad being electrically insulated from the first electrode by an interlayer insulating film and being electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the first region and in the second region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches in the second region, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Nakano’s active region is comparable to Kobayashi’s active region because they include similar structures, layouts, and functions. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s active region structure wherein a first region facing the first electrode in the depth direction, and a second region facing the gate pad in the depth direction; and a gate pad provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, the gate pad being electrically insulated from the first electrode by an interlayer insulating film and being electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the first region and in the second region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches in the second region with the predictable result of dispersing a gate-on voltage to the active elements in the device since Nakano’s gate pad structure allows the current to be distributed about and throughout the active region of the device.
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Kobayashi teaches the silicon carbide semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising:
an active region (active region taught in [0035]) in which the first electrode is disposed ([0035] – [0036]);
a termination region (edge termination region taught in [0035] – [0036]) surrounding a periphery of the active region in a plan view of the silicon carbide semiconductor device ([0036] teaches the edge termination region is a region between the active region and a side surface of the semiconductor substrate 10); …
However, Kobayashi remains silent regarding:
… an intermediate region between the active region and the termination region; and
a gate runner provided, in the intermediate region, at the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate via an oxide film, the gate runner surrounding the periphery of the active region, the gate runner being connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, wherein
the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the active region and in the intermediate region, and
an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches, in the intermediate region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakano (US 20190378922 A1) teaches a semiconductor device with an active region 3 (Fig. 1). Further, Nakano teaches an intermediate region (gate finger portion 4) between the active region and the termination region (examiner understands Nakano’s lower step portion to be a terminal end portion) and wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the active region and in the intermediate region (Nakano discloses the same device in Fig. 11B with the addition of a second gate finger trench 45, which teaches a same layout in the first region and in the second region), and an insulating layer (Fig. 2D; gate insulating film 23 in the intermediate region) is embedded in the plurality of second trenches (Fig. 2D), in the intermediate region (Fig. 2D). Examiner asserts that such a substrate layout would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s semiconductor device structure including an intermediate region between the active region and the termination region and wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the active region and in the intermediate region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches, in the intermediate region, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Nakano’s semiconductor device is comparable to Kobayashi’s semiconductor device because they include similar structures, layouts, and functions. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s semiconductor device structure including an intermediate region between the active region and the termination region and wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the active region and in the intermediate region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches, in the intermediate region, with the predictable result of providing a substrate area over which gate and signal circuit components may be disposed out of the way of the active area in order to ensure proper signal routing and insulation for those signal routes.
Further, Nakano also teaches a gate runner (Figs. 1B/11B; gate finger 8) provided, in the intermediate region (Figs. 1B/11B; gate finger 8), at the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate via an oxide film (Fig. 2D; interlayer film 29. See [0080] for teaching of silicon oxide), the gate runner surrounding the periphery of the active region (Figs. 1A/11A), the gate runner being connected to the plurality of gate electrodes (Figs. 1B/11B; gate finger 8). Examiner asserts that modifying the silicon carbide semiconductor device of Kobayashi to include such a gate structure, as disclosed by Nakano, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention in order to provide the device with a gate-on voltage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s gate runner provided, in the intermediate region, at the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate via an oxide film, the gate runner surrounding the periphery of the active region, the gate runner being connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kobayashi’s semiconductor device as modified by Nakano’s gate runner can yield a predictable result of allowing the on current to be distributed about and throughout the active region of the device since that is the known function of the gate routing circuitry. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 9, Kobayashi teaches the silicon carbide semiconductor device according to claim 7; however, Kobayashi remains silent wherein
a width of each of the plurality of first trenches is less than a width of each of the plurality of second trenches.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakano (US 20190378922 A1) teaches a similar MOSFET structure including a plurality of first trenches (Figs. 1B/11B; gate trenches 9) and a plurality of second trenches (Figs. 1 – 2A; source trenches 47) wherein a width of each of the plurality of first trenches is less than a width of each of the plurality of second trenches ([0076]). Examiner asserts that such a trench layout would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s trench layout wherein a width of each of the plurality of first trenches is less than a width of each of the plurality of second trenches, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s trench layout is expressly or implicitly provided by Nakano, stating that “The source trench 47 … has a width greater than that of the gate trench 9 ” ([0076]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s trench layout wherein a width of each of the plurality of first trenches is less than a width of each of the plurality of second trenches, with the motivation of forming openings in which the source electrode may be disposed to transmit a signal is a silicon carbide semiconductor device. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of appropriating sizing the gate trenches relative to the source trenches in an ongoing effort of increasing the packing efficiency of the active elements in the semiconductor device.
Regarding dependent Claim 10, Kobayashi teaches the silicon carbide semiconductor device according to claim 7, further comprising:
an active region (active region taught in [0035]) in which the first electrode is disposed ([0035] – [0036]), …
However, Kobayashi remains silent regarding … the active region including:
a first region facing the first electrode in the depth direction, and
a second region facing the gate pad in the depth direction; and
a gate pad provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, the gate pad being electrically insulated from the first electrode by an interlayer insulating film and being electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the first region and in the second region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches in the second region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakano (US 20190378922 A1) teaches a semiconductor device with an active region 3 (Fig. 1); including a first region facing the first electrode in the depth direction (Fig. 2D; see the stepped portion of the substrate (to the right of gate finger trench 10) facing source pad 5, i.e., the first electrode) and a second region facing the gate pad in the depth direction (Fig. 1A; portion of the active area wherein the source pad 5 is recessed to accommodate gate pad 7). Further, Nakano teaches a gate pad (Fig. 7; gate pad 7) provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (Figs. 1 and 2D), the gate pad being electrically insulated from the first electrode by an interlayer insulating film (Fig. 2D; interlayer film 29) and being electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes (Fig. 2D; see contact to gate electrode 22), wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the first region and in the second region (Nakano discloses the same device in Fig. 11B with the addition of a second gate finger trench 45, which teaches a same layout in the first region and in the second region. See [0112]), and an insulating layer (Fig. 2D; gate insulating film 23) is embedded in the plurality of second trenches in the second region (Fig. 2D). Examiner asserts that it would be obvious to include an active region, as disclosed by Nakano, to the silicon carbide semiconductor device of Kobayashi such that the active region includes a first region facing the first electrode in the depth direction, and a second region facing the gate pad in the depth direction; and a gate pad provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, the gate pad being electrically insulated from the first electrode by an interlayer insulating film and being electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the first region and in the second region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches in the second region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s active region structure wherein a first region facing the first electrode in the depth direction, and a second region facing the gate pad in the depth direction; and a gate pad provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, the gate pad being electrically insulated from the first electrode by an interlayer insulating film and being electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the first region and in the second region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches in the second region, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Nakano’s active region is comparable to Kobayashi’s active region because they include similar structures, layouts, and functions. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s active region structure wherein a first region facing the first electrode in the depth direction, and a second region facing the gate pad in the depth direction; and a gate pad provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, the gate pad being electrically insulated from the first electrode by an interlayer insulating film and being electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the first region and in the second region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches in the second region with the predictable result of dispersing a gate-on voltage to the active elements in the device since Nakano’s gate pad structure allows the current to be distributed about and throughout the active region of the device.
Regarding dependent Claim 11, Kobayashi teaches the silicon carbide semiconductor device according to claim 7, further comprising:
an active region (active region taught in [0035]) in which the first electrode is disposed ([0035] – [0036]);
a termination region (edge termination region taught in [0035] – [0036]) surrounding a periphery of the active region in a plan view of the silicon carbide semiconductor device ([0036] teaches the edge termination region is a region between the active region and a side surface of the semiconductor substrate 10); …
However, Kobayashi remains silent regarding:
… an intermediate region between the active region and the termination region; and
a gate runner provided, in the intermediate region, at the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate via an oxide film, the gate runner surrounding the periphery of the active region, the gate runner being connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, wherein
the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the active region and in the intermediate region, and
an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches, in the intermediate region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakano (US 20190378922 A1) teaches a semiconductor device with an active region 3 (Fig. 1). Further, Nakano teaches an intermediate region (gate finger portion 4) between the active region and the termination region (examiner understands Nakano’s lower step portion to be a terminal end portion) and wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the active region and in the intermediate region (Nakano discloses the same device in Fig. 11B with the addition of a second gate finger trench 45, which teaches a same layout in the first region and in the second region), and an insulating layer (Fig. 2D; gate insulating film 23 in the intermediate region) is embedded in the plurality of second trenches (Fig. 2D), in the intermediate region (Fig. 2D). Examiner asserts that such a substrate layout would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s semiconductor device structure including an intermediate region between the active region and the termination region and wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the active region and in the intermediate region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches, in the intermediate region, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Nakano’s semiconductor device is comparable to Kobayashi’s semiconductor device because they include similar structures, layouts, and functions. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s semiconductor device structure including an intermediate region between the active region and the termination region and wherein the plurality of first trenches and the plurality of second trenches are disposed in a same layout in the active region and in the intermediate region, and an insulating layer is embedded in the plurality of second trenches, in the intermediate region, with the predictable result of providing a substrate area over which gate and signal circuit components may be disposed out of the way of the active area in order to ensure proper signal routing and insulation for those signal routes.
Further, Nakano also teaches a gate runner (Figs. 1B/11B; gate finger 8) provided, in the intermediate region (Figs. 1B/11B; gate finger 8), at the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate via an oxide film (Fig. 2D; interlayer film 29. See [0080] for teaching of silicon oxide), the gate runner surrounding the periphery of the active region (Figs. 1A/11A), the gate runner being connected to the plurality of gate electrodes (Figs. 1B/11B; gate finger 8). Examiner asserts that modifying the silicon carbide semiconductor device of Kobayashi to include such a gate structure, as disclosed by Nakano, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention in order to provide the device with a gate-on voltage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kobayashi’s semiconductor device to include Nakano’s gate runner provided, in the intermediate region, at the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate via an oxide film, the gate runner surrounding the periphery of the active region, the gate runner being connected to the plurality of gate electrodes, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kobayashi’s semiconductor device as modified by Nakano’s gate runner can yield a predictable result of allowing the on current to be distributed about and throughout the active region of the device since that is the known function of the gate routing circuitry. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210226041 A1 – considered for similar first through third semiconductor layers.
WO 2022107854 A1 – considered for similar trench layout.
US 20230178646 A1 – considered for similar trench layout.
US 20230017086 A1 – considered for Fig. 2C.
US 20200243641 A1– considered for Figs. 9 and 104.
US 20150129895 A1– considered for termination region.
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897