Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-8, 10-11, 13-14 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/7/25.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search of all the species can be conducted “without serious burden” (Remarks, page 3). This is not found persuasive because it is a conclusory statement that is not supported by reason or evidence. The factors establishing burden are set forth on page 3 of the restriction requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 12 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Kolze (US 5,299,775), which discloses:
An oscillating valve, comprising:
a housing (30) including a supply orifice (31) that receives fluid and a consumption orifice (32) that expels fluid;
a diaphragm (58) defining a first volume (below the diaphragm) and a second volume (above the diaphragm) within the housing, wherein the supply orifice is configured to supply fluid into the first volume (via 63) and the consumption orifice is configured to expel the fluid from the first volume (when the valve opens), and wherein the diaphragm includes a restricted flow path (63) to permit fluid flow between the first volume and the second volume;
a pilot channel (64) connecting the second volume to the consumption orifice;
a main valve (34) connected to the diaphragm,
wherein the diaphragm is configured to move between a closed position (FIG 2) in which the main valve prevents fluid flow through the first volume and an open position (FIG 3) in which the main valve permits fluid flow through the first volume,
wherein, when the diaphragm is in the closed position, first fluid pressure in the first volume forces the diaphragm toward the open position (when the main valve is closed and pilot valve begins to open, the main valve begins to open; e.g., col. 8 lines 28-64), and
wherein, when the diaphragm is in the open position, second fluid pressure in the second volume forces the diaphragm toward the closed position (as the pilot valve closes, fluid pressure in chamber 51 closes the main valve; col. 7 lines 49-65); and
an actuator (40) configured to selectively prevent movement of the diaphragm away from the closed position and prevent movement of the diaphragm away from the open position (coil assembly 40 controls the pilot valve, which operates to maintain the main valve opened or closed).
2. The oscillating valve of claim 1, wherein the actuator is configured to prevent movement of the diaphragm away from the closed position or prevent movement of the diaphragm away from the open position without operating against the first or second fluid pressures (e.g., actuator 40 can keep the pilot valve open, thus maintaining the main valve open, without acting against fluid pressure).
3. The oscillating valve of claim 1, wherein the restricted flow path comprises one or more bleed holes (63) that permit fluid through the diaphragm.
4. The oscillating valve of claim 3, further comprising:
a pilot valve (48) connected to the diaphragm,
wherein the pilot valve prevents fluid through the pilot channel when the diaphragm is in the closed position (when the pilot valve is closed as in FIG 2, it causes pressure to remain in chamber 51, keeping the main valve closed; e.g., col. 7 lines 49-56), and
wherein the pilot valve permits fluid through the pilot channel when the diaphragm is in the open position (as the pilot valve opens, it relieves pressure in chamber 51, thereby allowing the main valve to open; e.g., col. 8 lines 28-64).
5. The oscillating valve of claim 4, wherein the actuator is configured to engage a feature (68) on the pilot valve to prevent movement of the diaphragm (68 operates the pilot valve to maintain the main valve open or closed).
6. The oscillating valve of claim 4, wherein the actuator is further configured to selectively: permit oscillation of the diaphragm between the closed position and the open position (the actuator itself is capable of permitting oscillation, such as during normal operational cycling in which the valve opens and closes).
12. The oscillating valve of claim 1, further comprising: a return spring (71) biased (downward) against expansion of the diaphragm into the second volume.
15. The oscillating valve of claim 1, wherein the housing defines a substantially cylindrical internal space (in which 50 is located), and wherein the diaphragm is axially aligned (e.g., see FIGS 2, 3) with a valve seat (53) for the main valve.
16. The oscillating valve of claim 1, wherein the actuator include a solenoid (e.g., col. 10 line 19).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolze in view of Wilson (US 5,244,179).
Regarding claims 18, Kolze does not disclose the actuator to be battery-powered. However Wilson teaches that it was known in the art before the effective filing date to use an actuator that is battery-powered (e.g., see Title, claim 1, throughout specification). To power Olson’s actuator in without the need for power lines, it would have been obvious to use a battery, as taught by Wilson.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 2,968,464) in view of Wilson (US 5,244,179).
Regarding claim 18, Olson discloses a valve system, comprising:
a housing (10) including a supply orifice (13) and a consumption orifice (14);
a piston (32) defining a first volume (below 32) and a second volume (above 32) within the housing, the piston including a restricted flow path (40) to permit fluid flow through or around the piston between the first volume and the second volume;
a pilot channel (16) connecting the second volume to the consumption orifice;
a main valve (24) connected to the piston,
wherein the piston is configured to move between a closed position in which the main valve prevents fluid flow through the first volume (24 seats against 26) and an open position in which the main valve permits fluid flow through the first volume (24 lifts away from 26),
wherein, when the piston is in the closed position, first fluid pressure in the first volume forces the piston toward the open position (fluid pressure below the piston from the inlet acts upward on the piston), and
wherein, when the piston is in the open position, second fluid pressure in the second volume forces the piston toward the closed position (fluid pressure from fluid above the piston acts downward on the piston); and
a
Olson does not disclose the actuator to be battery-powered. However Wilson teaches that it was known in the art before the effective filing date to use an actuator that is battery-powered (e.g., see Title, claim 1, throughout specification). To power Olson’s actuator in without the need for power lines, it would have been obvious to use a battery, as taught by Wilson.
Regarding claim 19, Olson also discloses a pilot valve (42) connected to the piston,
wherein the pilot valve prevents fluid through the pilot channel when the piston is in the closed position (the pilot valve can be closed when the main valve is closed), and
wherein the pilot valve permits fluid through the pilot channel when the piston is in the open position (the pilot valve can be open when the main valve is open).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Olson.
During the normal and usual operation of Olson’s system, the claimed method would necessarily be performed. These method steps are clearly analogous to operation of the corresponding structure set forth in the analysis of Olson immediately above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 9 and 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,256. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences amount to stylistic changes and the patented claims reciting more than the pending claims. The pending: patented claim correspondence is as follows 1: 1, 2, 4; 2:5; 3:2; 4:3; 5:4; 9:8; and 12:18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 11,079,037 discloses a similar pilot-operated piston valve, the pilot valve of which is manually-operated.
/WILLIAM M MCCALISTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 11/18/25