DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 25 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 25 November 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, lines 10 and 11, it appears these steps should also be indented.
In Claim 8, line 4, it appears that this step should also be indented.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites limitations on the first and second cryptographic processor emulators; however, these are not clearly elements of the claimed system, and therefore, it is not clear how these are intended to provide a further limit on Claim 1.
Claim 3 recites “the first buffer and the second buffer stores” in lines 5-6. The verb “stores” does not agree with the plural subject. The claim further recites “or encrypted response bytes…” in line 9. It is not grammatically clear what this phrase is intended to modify or be coordinated with.
Claim 5 recites “a key” in line 6. It is not clear whether this is intended to refer to the first endorsement key or a distinct key. The claim further recites “the key used to encrypt the sealed secrets” in lines 7-8. There is not clear antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims not explicitly referred to above are rejected due to their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Farley et al, US Patent Application Publication 2025/0077256.
In reference to Claim 1, Farley discloses a system that includes an orchestrator (see paragraph 0022, SCPM orchestrator 140) configured to perform operations that include receiving a request to migrate secret data from a first cryptographic processor emulator on a first platform root of trust to a second cryptographic processor emulator on a second platform root of trust (paragraph 0020, see also paragraph 0106 item xx, transferring keys); requesting first secret data stored in a first memory of the first emulator and receiving the first secret data (see paragraph 0106, item xx); instantiating the second emulator based on the first secret data and transferring the secret data to a second memory of the second emulator (see paragraph 0126, new system added; paragraph 0106, transferring data); instructing the first emulator to delete the first secret data (see paragraphs 0109 and 0112, deletion of expired keys); and sending a status (paragraphs 0112, 0144).
In reference to Claim 2, Farley further discloses that the emulators communicate with bare metal nodes (paragraphs 0062, 0106, and 0129, bare metal nodes/resources; paragraphs 0151-0152 and Figures 2.1-2.2, vTPMs communicating, system buses, memory 204 which provides a buffer; see also paragraph 0058).
In reference to Claims 3 and 4, Farley further discloses TPM emulators that store bytes corresponding to commands and responses (paragraph 0164, commands), where commands include encrypting or decrypting or extending a PCR (paragraph 0111, encryption and decryption).
In reference to Claims 5 and 6, Farley further discloses endorsement seeds and sealed secrets for generating endorsement keys (see paragraph 0109, generating keys).
In reference to Claim 7, Farley further discloses a motherboard or node management controllers (paragraph 0120-0121 and 0106, BMC; paragraph 0016, motherboard).
In reference to Claim 8, Farley further discloses serializing data and establishing the second root of trust on a second node based on the serialized data (see paragraph 0092).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Berger et al, US Patent 7444670, discloses a method for migrating a virtual TPM instance.
Movva et al, US Patent 8015408, discloses a method that includes TPM state migration.
Ellison, US Patent 8208637, discloses technique for migrating computer secrets using a virtual TPM.
Smith et al, US Patent 8259948, discloses key migrations between virtual TPMs.
Spiers et al, US Patent 8799997, discloses a system using migration keys for TPM transport, which uses a cloud orchestrator.
Ferguson et al, US Patent 9578017, discloses a system that orchestrates operations including key transfer in virtual TPMs.
Aigner et al, US Patent 12158980, discloses a system that uses transfer keys for virtual TPMs.
/Zachary A. Davis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492