DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the filing of the application on 07/26/2024. Since the initial filing, no claims have been amended, added, or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference numeral “24” (see specification paragraphs [0025] and [0036]) is not included in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “gear box” in claim 3 line 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
5. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract filed on 07/26/24 recites “the present disclosure discloses” in line 1. It is suggested to remove this language.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 4 recites “regulating part 9” in line 10, it is suggested to change this to –regulating part—for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
At present, no claim limitations are interpreted under 112f.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claims 7-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the vertical direction" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the bottom” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
13. Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 2024/0197561).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a massage gun with stepless amplitude regulation, comprising an eccentric wheel assembly, wherein the eccentric wheel assembly comprises an input part (fig. 1, drive shaft 911), a regulating part (figs. 1 and 4-5, movable seat 400 within external thread part 300) and an output part (fig. 1, slider 600), the input part is provided with a first connecting part fixedly connected with a motor rotating shaft (fig. 1, drive shaft 911 connects with eccentric wheel 500 to rotate, see [0035], and is shown surrounding driver 910), and the output part is provided with a second connecting part hinged with a connecting rod (fig. 1, sliding part 600 connects via bearing 801 to rotatable end 810 of connecting rod 800); the first connecting part and the second connecting part are arranged non-coaxially (fig. 1, drive shaft 911 is non coaxial with sliding part 600), the regulating part is movably connected with the input part and the output part (figs. 4 and 6 shows movable seat 400 moving up and down, thereby adjusting slider 600, see [0037], and surrounding the drive shaft 911, see fig. 1), and the input part is slidably connected with the output part (fig. 1, drive shaft 911 is slidably connected with sliding part 600 via inclined protrusion 410) so as to regulate the distance between a central axis of the first connecting part and a central axis of the second connecting part ([0035] states that the slider can move radially relative to the shaft hole of wheel 500, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses claim 1 and further discloses a control mechanism, wherein the control mechanism comprises a power component (fig. 1, rotatable knob 100 is partially exposed to allow a user to rotate it, see [0040], where the knob can be considered a power component), a transmission assembly (fig. 1, gear disc 200 transmits the rotation from knob 100, see [0040]) and a regulating sleeve (fig. 1, annular external thread part 300 moves linearly according to an internal thread part of 200, see [0038]), the power component is in transmission connection with the regulating sleeve through the transmission assembly so as to control the translation of the regulating part ([0040] states that knob 100 causes disc 200 to rotate and external thread part 300 is sleeved in disc 200 to rotate relative to each other. Also see figs. 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses claim 1 and further discloses wherein the regulating part moves in the vertical direction (figs. 4 and 6 show part 300 moving up and down) so as to control the output part to get away from an input end or get close to the input end in the horizontal direction (see figs. 12 and 13 which show part 300 moving vertically which causes end 810 of rod 800 to move relative to driving shaft 911 thereby changing massage amplitude, see [0048]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses claim 1 and further discloses wherein the regulating part sleeves the first connecting part (fig. 2, shows external thread part 300 surrounding drive shaft 911), the regulating part also extends downwards integrally to be provided with an ejector rod (fig. 1, movable seat 400 which is within part 300 includes inclined protrusion 410 which is defined as the ejector rod. 410 can be considered as extending downward in cases where the device in fig. 2 is held with lower housing 950 at the top), the ejector rod is inserted in the output part (fig. 3, shows protrusion 410 being inserted into slider 600), inclined slots are formed in both sides of an inner wall of the output part respectively (see figs. 1, 3, and 5 which depict the inclined slots on slider 600 where figs. 3 and 5 show it being inclined due to it sliding along protrusion 410), both side walls, close to the bottom, of the ejector rod on an inclined plane are provided with inclined blocks corresponding to the inclined slots (fig. 3, inclined protrusion 410 has inclined blocks along its top edge), and the inclined block is slidably buckled with the inclined slot (figs. 3 and 5 shows slider 600 accommodating the blocks on inclined protrusion 410).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses claim 7 and further discloses wherein the regulating part sleeves the first connecting part (fig. 2, shows external thread part 300 surrounding drive shaft 911), the regulating part also extends downwards integrally to be provided with an ejector rod (fig. 1, movable seat 400 which is within part 300 includes inclined protrusion 410 which is defined as the ejector rod. 410 can be considered as extending downward in cases where the device in fig. 2 is held with lower housing 950 at the top), the ejector rod is inserted in the output part (fig. 3, shows protrusion 410 being inserted into slider 600), inclined slots are formed in both sides of an inner wall of the output part respectively (see figs. 1, 3, and 5 which depict the inclined slots on slider 600 where figs. 3 and 5 show it being inclined due to it sliding along protrusion 410), both side walls, close to the bottom, of the ejector rod on an inclined plane are provided with inclined blocks corresponding to the inclined slots (fig. 3, inclined protrusion 410 has inclined blocks along its top edge), and the inclined block is slidably buckled with the inclined slot (figs. 3 and 5 shows slider 600 accommodating the blocks on inclined protrusion 410).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou discloses claim 1 and further discloses a main motor (fig. 1, driver 910), wherein the input part sleeves a rotating shaft of the main motor (figs. 1-2 shows drive shaft 911 surrounding a protruding portion of driver 910), and the rotating shaft of the main motor is in close-fitting connection with an inner wall of the first connecting part (fig. 2, shows drive shaft 911 having an inner cavity that is contacting driver 910 thereby reading on a close-fitting connection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Zhou (US 2022/0387252) hereinafter Zhou2.
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second connecting part is rotatably connected with a connecting rod through a second bearing (fig. 1, bearing 801 is provided between rotatable end 810 of connecting rod 800 and slider 600), and the other end of the connecting rod is hinged with a massage piston (fig. 1, connecting rod 800 connects to a piston 930 at pulling end 820 via another bearing 801), but does not expressly disclose that the second connecting part is connected with bolts through threads or the second connecting part is clamped with a second bearing through the bolts.
However, Zhou2 teaches of a massage gun with a connecting part (fig. 2, eccentric wheel 213 has a protrusion to accommodate screw 209) that connects with a connecting rod (fig. 2, connecting rod 212) via a screw (figs. 2-3, screws 209) within a bearing (fig. 2, large bearing 210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the massage gun of Zhou with the screw as taught by Zhou2 in order to better secure the connecting arm to the second connecting part which moves during use.
Allowable Subject Matter
16. Claims 3-6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
17. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 3, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the power component is a second motor, a thread sleeve and a screw where the regulating sleeve is fixedly connected with the thread sleeve in combination with the remaining claim limitations.
Regarding dependent claim 4, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the power component is a second motor and a large gear extends downwards to be provided with an internal thread sleeve, the internal thread sleeve is in threaded connection with the regulating sleeve in combination with the remaining claim limitations.
Regarding dependent claim 10, a movable cavity is formed in the interior of the input part, the movable cavity is internally and fixedly provided with a spring in combination with the remaining claim limitations.
The closest prior art of record is Zhou.
While Zhou discloses a power component (fig. 1, rotatable knob 100), it is not a second motor. While Zhou discloses a corresponding cavity between inclined protrusion 410 and slider 600, Zhou does not disclose that a movable cavity is internally and fixedly provided with a spring.
Conclusion
18. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mabuchi et al. (US 4,566,442) discloses a massager that uses a spring compression screw. Covey et al. (US 2023/0301867) discloses a percussive massage device that uses a ratchet and pin system to perform amplitude adjustment.
/THOMAS Z CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785