DETAILED ACTION
Claims 19-38 are pending in this application and claims 1-18 are cancelled.
Oath/Declaration
The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications filed on 01/28/2022 (CHINA 202210107162.X) and 07/21/2022 (CHINA 202210869803.5).
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated 11/19/2024 and 05/08/2025 are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed.
Title of Invention
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23, 30, 33-34 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 23 line 3 recites “obtaining a second historical information…, and the second historical information comprise …, or third historical information” is vague and indefinite whether the limitation is “and” or “or” statement. Similar issue exists in claims 30 and 37.
Claim 33 line 2 recites “indication indicates at least one of the following:” is vague and indefinite whether there is multiple indications step instead of only one indication step. Similar issue exists in claim 34 line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-22, 24-29, 31-33, 35-36 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abtin et al. (US 2023/0164659 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Abtin teaches a method, applied to a second target access network device, the method comprising:
obtaining a cell change cause indication (at action 401, first node receive the first indication where first indication indicate mobility procedure includes intersystem handover (corresponding cell change) while roaming into the first communication network see Abtin: ¶[0065]; Fig.4 steps 401-402; ¶[0076]), wherein the cell change cause indication indicates that a first cell change of a terminal device from a source cell to a first target cell, or a second cell change of the terminal device from the first target cell to a second target cell of the second target access network device, is associated with a communication service of the terminal device (the indication indicate mobility procedure includes from first network 101 to second network 102 see Abtin: Fig.3; ¶[0056]; ¶[0073-0076]), the first target cell uses a first radio access technology, and the source cell and the second target cell use a second radio access technology different from the first radio access technology (inters system handover method and first and second communication network is different network see Abtin: ¶[0065]; ¶[0013]; ¶[0048]; ¶[0053]); and
sending the cell change cause indication to a source access network device to which the source cell belongs (first node 111 initiates providing an indication of the determined mobility procedure to the second node 112 operating in the first communications network 101 see Abtin: Fig.4; step 403; ¶[0083]).
Regarding claim 20, Abtin taught the method according to claim 19 as described hereinabove. Abtin further teaches wherein the cell change cause indication indicates at least one of the following: the first cell change is associated with a voice fallback procedure of the terminal device from the source cell to the first target cell (trigger for EPS fallback for IMS voice at step 3 and redirection or Handover to EPS at step 5 see Abtin: ¶[0014]; Fig.2; ¶0067]); or the second cell change is associated with a fast return procedure of the terminal device from the first target cell to the second target cell.
Regarding claim 21, Abtin taught the method according to claim 19 as described hereinabove. Abtin further comprising: obtaining at least one of the following: an indication of a type of a voice fallback procedure, wherein the indication of the type of the voice fallback procedure indicates that the voice fallback procedure is an evolved packet system fallback for voice procedure or an inter-radio access technology fallback for voice procedure (trigger for EPS fallback for IMS voice at step 3 and redirection or Handover to EPS at step 5 see Abtin: ¶[0014]; Fig.2; ¶0067]); or an indication of a cell change execution mode, wherein the cell change execution mode comprises handover or redirection (Redirection or Handover step at Fig.2 step 5 see Abtin: ¶[0014]; ¶0089]).
Regarding claim 22, Abtin taught the method according to claim 19 as described hereinabove. Abtin further teaches wherein obtaining the cell change cause indication comprises: obtaining the cell change cause indication from a first target access network device to which the first target cell belongs (at action 401, first node receive the first indication where first indication indicate mobility procedure includes intersystem handover (corresponding cell change) while roaming into the first communication network see Abtin: ¶[0065]; Fig.4 steps 401-402; ¶[0076]).
Regarding claim 24, Abtin taught the method according to claim 22 as described hereinabove. Abtin further teaches wherein obtaining the cell change cause indication from a first target access network device comprises: receiving a cell change request for the second cell change from the first target access network device (at action 401, first node receive the first indication where first indication indicate mobility procedure includes intersystem handover (corresponding cell change) while roaming into the first communication network see Abtin: ¶[0065]; Fig.4 steps 401-402; ¶[0076]), wherein the cell change request comprises the cell change cause indication (the indication indicate mobility procedure includes from first network 101 to second network 102 see Abtin: Fig.3; ¶[0056]; ¶[0073-0076]).
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 19 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 25 recites an apparatus that perform the same functionalities as the method of claim 19 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 20 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 21 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 21 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 22 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 24 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 19 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 32 recites an non-transitory computer readable medium that perform the same functionalities as the method of claim 19 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 20 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 21 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 22 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 38, claim 38 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 24 as set forth hereinabove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 30, 34 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abtin et al. (US 2023/0164659 A1) in view of Yao et al. (CN 1126723981 A1).
Note: Yao et al. (CN112672391A) cited in the IDS filed on 11/19/2024 and English translation (see CN112672391 filed on 11/19/2024).
Regarding claim 23, Abtin taught the method according to claim 22 as described hereinabove. Abtin does not explicitly teaches wherein obtaining the cell change cause indication from the first target access network device comprises: obtaining second historical information of the terminal device from the first target access network device, wherein the second historical information comprises the cell change cause indication, and the second historical information comprises first historical information of the terminal device that is obtained by the first target access network device from the source access network device to which the source cell belongs, or third historical information of the terminal device that is recorded by the first target access network device.
However, Yao teaches the wherein obtaining the cell change cause indication from the first target access network device comprises: obtaining second historical information of the terminal device from the first target access network device, wherein the second historical information comprises the cell change cause indication (the terminal is switch from the first network system to second network system in history is judged base don’t he access service information see Yao: Abstract), and the second historical information comprises first historical information of the terminal device that is obtained by the first target access network device from the source access network device to which the source cell belongs (based on the access service information, whether to switch the terminal from the first network system to the second network system to which the terminal has access history may include: if the access information meets the preset access condition, the interoperation information meets the preset switching requirement see Yao: Page 6 last 2 paragraphs), or third historical information of the terminal device that is recorded by the first target access network device in order to improve success rate of network switching (see Yao: abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Abtin to include (or to use, etc.) the wherein obtaining the cell change cause indication from the first target access network device comprises: obtaining second historical information of the terminal device from the first target access network device, wherein the second historical information comprises the cell change cause indication, and the second historical information comprises first historical information of the terminal device that is obtained by the first target access network device from the source access network device to which the source cell belongs, or third historical information of the terminal device that is recorded by the first target access network device as taught by Yao in order to improve success rate of network switching (see Yao: abstract).
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 23 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 34, Abtin taught the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 32 as described hereinabove. Abtin does not explicitly teaches wherein the cell change cause indication indicates at least one of the following: the second cell change is associated with a fast return procedure of the terminal device from the first target cell to the second target cell.
However, Yao teaches wherein the cell change cause indication indicates at least one of the following: the second cell change is associated with a fast return procedure of the terminal device from the first target cell to the second target cell (The fast return interoperation see Yao: Page 12 3rd to 4th paragraphs; Fig.7) in order to improve success rate of network switching (see Yao: abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Abtin to include (or to use, etc.) the wherein the cell change cause indication indicates at least one of the following: the second cell change is associated with a fast return procedure of the terminal device from the first target cell to the second target cell as taught by Yao in order to improve success rate of network switching (see Yao: abstract).
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 23 as set forth hereinabove.
Conclusion
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
August 21, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478