CTNF 18/785,751 CTNF 83633 DETAILED ACTION 1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/785751 following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 07/26/24 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 2. The present application, file on or after March 16, 2013, is being examiner under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 3. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Objections 4. Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 11 discloses , …. a first message including first information….a second message including second information….., These limitations are vague. It would seem obvious that messages include information. Further it has one of ordinary skill in the art questioning how the information is associated with a network slice replacement. Claim 6 and 16 states… a notification message including information…. For similar reasons as above the limitation is vague. Along with information being vague it has one questioning how it is associated a network slice replacement. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 5. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA 6. Claim(s) 1-5, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL- 3GPP TSG-S4 Meeting #123e S4-230680 Regarding claim 1 , 3GPP teaches a method performed by a network entity in a wireless communication system supporting network slices, the method comprising: receiving, from an application function (AF), a first message including first information associated with a network slice replacement; (3GPP section 6.3.2 Fig. 6.3.2.1-1 Procedure for configuration of Alternate S-NSSAI information for network slice replacement procedure and shows Nnef_AFessionWithQOS message) and transmitting, based on the first information, to one or more policy control functions (PCFs), a second message including second information associated with the network slice replacement. (3GPP 6.3.2.1-1shows Npf_Policy Authorization (with Alternative S-NSSAI) section 6.3.2 …. Alternatively , if the 5GMS AF is the external Daa Network, it may use the Nnet _AFsession with QOS service as defined in clause 5.2.6.9 of TS 23.502 to configure the Alternative S-NSSAI, which is then configured in the PCF by the NEF…..) Regarding claim 2 , 3GPP taught the method of claim 1, as described above. 3GPP further teaches wherein the first information includes at least one of: identification information of one or more user equipments (UEs) to which the network slice replacement is to be applied; identification information of a source network slice to be replaced; identification information of an alternative network slice with which the source network slice is replaced; or information on first required amount representing at least one of a number of one or more protocol data unit (PDU) sessions and a number of the one or more UEs to which the network slice replacement is to be applied. (see 3GPP fig 6.3.2.1-1 page 2-3 explains receiving alternative S-NSSAI from AF in procedure for configuration of alternative S-NSSAI information for network slice replacement procedure, may have minor variations) Regarding claim 3 , 3GPP taught the method of claim 1, as described above. 3GPP further teaches wherein the second information includes at least one of: identification information of one or more user equipments (UEs) to which the network slice replacement is to be applied; identification information of a source network slice to be replaced; identification information of an alternative network slice with which the source network slice is replaced; or information on second required amount representing at least one of a number of one or more protocol data unit (PDU) sessions and a number of the one or more UEs to which the network slice replacement is to be applied, wherein the information on the second required amount is determined within a range of information on first required amount received from the AF. (see 3GPP fig 6.3.2.1-1 page 2-3 explains transmitting alternative S-NSSAI from a NEF to PCF in procedure for configuration of alternative S-NSSAI information for network slice replacement procedure) Regarding claim 4 , 3GPP taught the method of claim 1, as described above. 3GPP further teaches wherein the network entity includes a network exposure function (NEF), and wherein the first information further includes information on first required amount representing at least one of a number of one or more protocol data unit (PDU) sessions and a number of the one or more user equipments (UEs) to which the network slice replacement is to be applied, wherein the second information includes information on second required amount representing at least one of a number of one or more PDU sessions and a number of the one or more UEs to which the network slice replacement is to be applied, and wherein the NEF determines the information on the second required amount to be provided to each of the one or more PCFs, based on the information on the first required amount. (see 3GPP fig 6.3.2.1-1 page 2-3 explains transmitting alternative S-NSSAI from a NEF to PCF in procedure for configuration of alternative S-NSSAI information for network slice replacement procedure) Regarding claim 5 , 3GPP taught the method of claim 4, as described above. 3GPP further teaches wherein the NEF determines the information on the second required amount to be provided to each of the one or more PCFs within a range of the information on the first required amount received from the AF, in case that the one or more PCFs exist plural. (see 3GPP fig 6.3.2.1-1 page 2-3 explains transmitting alternative S-NSSAI from a NEF to PCF in procedure for configuration of alternative S-NSSAI information for network slice replacement procedure) Regarding claim 11 , 3GPP teaches a network entity in a wireless communication system supporting network slices, the network entity comprising: a transceiver; and a processor configured to: receive, from an application function (AF), through the transceiver, a first message including first information associated with a network slice replacement, (3GPP section 6.3.2 Fig. 6.3.2.1-1 Procedure for configuration of Alternate S-NSSAI information for network slice replacement procedure and shows Nnef_AFessionWithQOS message) and transmit, based on the first information, to one or more policy control functions (PCFs) through the transceiver, a second message including second information associated with the network slice replacement. (3GPP 6.3.2.1-1shows Npf_Policy Authorization (with Alternative S-NSSAI) section 6.3.2 …. Alternatively , if the 5GMS AF is the external Daa Network, it may use the Nnet _AFsession with QOS service as defined in clause 5.2.6.9 of TS 23.502 to configure the Alternative S-NSSAI, which is then configured in the PCF by the NEF…..) Regarding claim 12 , 3GPP taught the network entity of claim 11, as described above. 3GPP further teaches wherein the first information includes at least one of: identification information of one or more user equipments (UEs) to which the network slice replacement is to be applied; identification information of a source network slice to be replaced; identification information of an alternative network slice with which the source network slice is replaced; or information on first required amount representing at least one of a number of one or more protocol data unit (PDU) sessions and a number of the one or more UEs to which the network slice replacement is to be applied. (see 3GPP fig 6.3.2.1-1 page 2-3 explains receiving alternative S-NSSAI from AF in procedure for configuration of alternative S-NSSAI information for network slice replacement procedure, may have minor variations) Regarding claim 13 , 3GPP taught the network entity of claim 11, as described above. 3GPP further teaches wherein the second information includes at least one of: identification information of one or more user equipments (UEs) to which the network slice replacement is to be applied; identification information of a source network slice to be replaced; identification information of an alternative network slice with which the source network slice is replaced; or information on second required amount representing at least one of a number of one or more protocol data unit (PDU) sessions and a number of the one or more UEs to which the network slice replacement is to be applied, and wherein the information on the second required amount is determined within a range of information on first required amount received from the AF. (see 3GPP fig 6.3.2.1-1 page 2-3 explains transmitting alternative S-NSSAI from a NEF to PCF in procedure for configuration of alternative S-NSSAI information for network slice replacement procedure) Regarding claim 14 , 3GPP taught the network entity of claim 11, as described above. 3GPP further teaches further comprising a network exposure function (NEF), wherein the first information includes information on first required amount representing at least one of a number of one or more protocol data unit (PDU) sessions and a number of the one or more UEs to which the network slice replacement is to be applied, wherein the second information includes information on second required amount representing at least one of a number of one or more PDU sessions and a number of the one or more UEs to which the network slice replacement is to be applied, and wherein the processor is configured to determine the information on the second required amount to be provided to each of the one or more PCFs, based on the information on the first required amount. (see 3GPP fig 6.3.2.1-1 page 2-3 explains transmitting alternative S-NSSAI from a NEF to PCF in procedure for configuration of alternative S-NSSAI information for network slice replacement procedure) Regarding claim 15 , 3GPP taught the network entity of claim 14, as described above. 3GPP further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the information on the second required amount to be provided to each of the one or more PCFs within a range of the information on the first required amount received from the AF, in case that the one or more PCFs exist plural. (see 3GPP fig 6.3.2.1-1 page 2-3 explains transmitting alternative S-NSSAI from a NEF to PCF in procedure for configuration of alternative S-NSSAI information for network slice replacement procedure) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 7. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA 8. Claim(s) 6-10, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DONGEUN (KR20240043042A) referred to as KR Regarding claim 6 , KR teaches a method performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system supporting network slices, the method comprising: receiving, from a policy control function (PCF), a notification message including information associated with a network slice replacement; (See KR20240043042A Fig.2-4 page 10 paragraph [0006] ….the AMF 120 indicates that for a specific S-NSSAI(s) (e.g., S-NSSAI1), a change to a different S-NSSAI is required for some or all of the PDU session(s) belonging to that S-NSSAI. You can judge. As in step 201 of FIG. 2, the AMF 120 changes to a different S- NSSAI (i.e., a new S-NSSAI) based on the information contained in the message received from NWDAF, NSACF, PCF, OAM, or NG-RAN. You can decide whether or not..) determining, based on the received information, the network slice replacement for at least one user equipment (UE) or at least one protocol data unit (PDU) session; (See KR Fig.2-4 page 10 ….the AMF 120 indicates that for a specific S-NSSAI(s) (e.g., S-NSSAI1), a change to a different S-NSSAI is required for some or all of the PDU session(s) belonging to that S-NSSAI. You can judge. As in step 201 of FIG. 2, the AMF 120 changes to a different S-NSSAI (i.e., a new S-NSSAI) based on the information contained in the message received from NWDAF, NSACF, PCF, OAM, or NG-RAN...) and transmitting, to the at least one UE via a radio access network (RAN), a UE configuration update message including information on at least one alternative network slice to be used in the at least one UE for the network slice replacement. (see KR page 13 [0006] Additionally, the AMF may include information indicating that the network slice mapped to the old S-NSSAI is the new S-NSSAI, along with the old S-NSSAI in the message transmitted to the terminal. The information may be expressed in the form of network slice information (Mapping of Allowed NSSAI) mapped to an allowed network slice. AMF 120 may include Allowed NSSAI and Mapping of Allowed NSSAI in the UE configuration update message transmitted to UE 100. The UE configuration update message may be transmitted to the terminal 100 through the RAN 110.) Regarding claim 7, KR taught the method of claim 6, as descried above. KR further teaches wherein the information on the at least one alternative network slice includes information representing that at least one source network slice for the at least one UE is mapped to at least one alternative network slice. (see KR page 13 [0006] Additionally, the AMF may include information indicating that the network slice mapped to the old S-NSSAI is the new S-NSSAI, along with the old S-NSSAI in the message transmitted to the terminal. The information may be expressed in the form of network slice information (Mapping of Allowed NSSAI) mapped to an allowed network slice. AMF 120 may include Allowed NSSAI and Mapping of Allowed NSSAI in the UE configuration update message transmitted to UE 100. The UE configuration update message may be transmitted to the terminal 100 through the RAN 110.) Regarding claim 8, KR taught the method of claim 6, as descried above. KR further teaches wherein the information associated with the network slice replacement includes at least one of: identification information of the at least one UE to which the network slice replacement is to be applied; identification information of a source network slice to be replaced; identification information of an alternative network slice with which the source network slice is replaced; or information on required amount representing at least one of a number of the at least one PDU session and a number of the at least one UE to which the network slice replacement is to be applied. (See KR20240043042A Fig.2-4 page 10 paragraph [0006] ….the AMF 120 indicates that for a specific S-NSSAI(s) (e.g., S-NSSAI1), a change to a different S-NSSAI is required for some or all of the PDU session(s) belonging to that S-NSSAI. You can judge. As in step 201 of FIG. 2, the AMF 120 changes to a different S-NSSAI (i.e., a new S-NSSAI) based on the information contained in the message received from NWDAF, NSACF, PCF, OAM, or NG-RAN. You can decide whether or not..) Regarding claim 9, KR taught the method of claim 8, , as descried above. KR further teaches wherein the AMF determines the network slice replacement for the at least one UE, based on the required amount representing the number of the at least one UE among UEs registered in at least one source network slice. (See KR20240043042A Fig.2-4 page 10 paragraph [0006] ….the AMF 120 indicates that for a specific S-NSSAI(s) (e.g., S-NSSAI1), a change to a different S-NSSAI is required for some or all of the PDU session(s) belonging to that S-NSSAI. You can judge. As in step 201 of FIG. 2, the AMF 120 changes to a different S-NSSAI (i.e., a new S-NSSAI) based on the information contained in the message received from NWDAF, NSACF, PCF, OAM, or NG-RAN. You can decide whether or not..) Regarding claim 10, KR taught the method of claim 8, as descried above. KR further teaches wherein the AMF determines the network slice replacement for the at least one UE, based on the required amount representing the number of the at least one PDU session among PDU sessions registered in at least one source network slice. (See KR20240043042A Fig.2-4 page 10 paragraph [0006] ….the AMF 120 indicates that for a specific S-NSSAI(s) (e.g., S-NSSAI1), a change to a different S-NSSAI is required for some or all of the PDU session(s) belonging to that S-NSSAI. You can judge. As in step 201 of FIG. 2, the AMF 120 changes to a different S-NSSAI (i.e., a new S-NSSAI) based on the information contained in the message received from NWDAF, NSACF, PCF, OAM, or NG-RAN. You can decide whether or not..) Regarding claim 16 . KR teaches an access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system supporting network slices, the AMF comprising: a transceiver; and a processor configured to: receive, through the transceiver from a policy control function (PCF), a notification message including information associated with a network slice replacement, (See KR20240043042A Fig.2-4 page 10 paragraph [0006] ….the AMF 120 indicates that for a specific S-NSSAI(s) (e.g., S-NSSAI1), a change to a different S-NSSAI is required for some or all of the PDU session(s) belonging to that S-NSSAI. You can judge. As in step 201 of FIG. 2, the AMF 120 changes to a different S-NSSAI (i.e., a new S-NSSAI) based on the information contained in the message received from NWDAF, NSACF, PCF, OAM, or NG-RAN. You can decide whether or not..) determine, based on the received information, the network slice replacement for at least one user equipment (UE) or at least one protocol data unit (PDU) session, (See KR Fig.2-4 page 10 ….the AMF 120 indicates that for a specific S-NSSAI(s) (e.g., S-NSSAI1), a change to a different S-NSSAI is required for some or all of the PDU session(s) belonging to that S-NSSAI. You can judge. As in step 201 of FIG. 2, the AMF 120 changes to a different S-NSSAI (i.e., a new S-NSSAI) based on the information contained in the message received from NWDAF, NSACF, PCF, OAM, or NG-RAN...) and transmit, to the at least one UE via a radio access network (RAN), through the transceiver, a UE configuration update message including information on at least one alternative network slice to be used in the at least one UE for the network slice replacement. (see KR page 13 [0006] Additionally, the AMF may include information indicating that the network slice mapped to the old S-NSSAI is the new S-NSSAI, along with the old S-NSSAI in the message transmitted to the terminal. The information may be expressed in the form of network slice information (Mapping of Allowed NSSAI) mapped to an allowed network slice. AMF 120 may include Allowed NSSAI and Mapping of Allowed NSSAI in the UE configuration update message transmitted to UE 100. The UE configuration update message may be transmitted to the terminal 100 through the RAN 110.) Regarding claim 17, KR taught the AMF of claim 16, as descried above. KR further teaches wherein the information on the at least one alternative network slice includes information representing that at least one source network slice for the at least one UE is mapped to at least one alternative network slice. (see KR page 13 [0006] Additionally, the AMF may include information indicating that the network slice mapped to the old S-NSSAI is the new S-NSSAI, along with the old S-NSSAI in the message transmitted to the terminal. The information may be expressed in the form of network slice information (Mapping of Allowed NSSAI) mapped to an allowed network slice. AMF 120 may include Allowed NSSAI and Mapping of Allowed NSSAI in the UE configuration update message transmitted to UE 100. The UE configuration update message may be transmitted to the terminal 100 through the RAN 110.) Regarding claim 18, KR taught the AMF of claim 16, as descried above. KR further teaches wherein the information associated with the network slice replacement includes at least one of: identification information of the at least one UE to which the network slice replacement is to be applied; identification information of a source network slice to be replaced; identification information of an alternative network slice with which the source network slice is replaced; or information on required amount representing at least one of a number of the at least one protocol data unit (PDU) session and a number of the at least one UE to which the network slice replacement is to be applied. (see KR page 13 [0006] Additionally, the AMF may include information indicating that the network slice mapped to the old S-NSSAI is the new S-NSSAI, along with the old S-NSSAI in the message transmitted to the terminal. The information may be expressed in the form of network slice information (Mapping of Allowed NSSAI) mapped to an allowed network slice. AMF 120 may include Allowed NSSAI and Mapping of Allowed NSSAI in the UE configuration update message transmitted to UE 100. The UE configuration update message may be transmitted to the terminal 100 through the RAN 110.) Regarding claim 19, KR taught the AMF of claim 18, as descried above. KR further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the network slice replacement for the at least one UE, based on the required amount representing the number of the at least one UE among UEs registered in at least one source network slice. (See KR20240043042A Fig.2-4 page 10 paragraph [0006] ….the AMF 120 indicates that for a specific S-NSSAI(s) (e.g., S-NSSAI1), a change to a different S-NSSAI is required for some or all of the PDU session(s) belonging to that S-NSSAI. You can judge. As in step 201 of FIG. 2, the AMF 120 changes to a different S-NSSAI (i.e., a new S-NSSAI) based on the information contained in the message received from NWDAF, NSACF, PCF, OAM, or NG-RAN. You can decide whether or not..) Regarding claim 20, KR taught the AMF of claim 18, as descried above. KR further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the network slice replacement for the at least one UE, based on the required amount representing the number of the at least one PDU session among PDU sessions registered in at least one source network slice. (See KR20240043042A Fig.2-4 page 10 paragraph [0006] ….the AMF 120 indicates that for a specific S-NSSAI(s) (e.g., S-NSSAI1), a change to a different S-NSSAI is required for some or all of the PDU session(s) belonging to that S-NSSAI. You can judge. As in step 201 of FIG. 2, the AMF 120 changes to a different S-NSSAI (i.e., a new S-NSSAI) based on the information contained in the message received from NWDAF, NSACF, PCF, OAM, or NG-RAN. You can decide whether or not..) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-7784. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 2 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 3 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 4 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 5 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 6 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 7 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 8 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 9 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 10 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 11 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 12 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 13 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/785,751 Page 14 Art Unit: 2478