DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 1 of U.S. Patent No. USP (12,088,524). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims by not claiming certain claim elements. The application’s claims are nearly identical in every other aspect to the patented claims. It is the Examiner’s position that broadening the patented claims by not claiming certain claim elements of the patented claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the patented claims. It is important to note that the instant application 18/785,768 is a continuation of the application 16/848,016 which yielded patent (U.S. Patent No. 12,088,524) used herein as the basis for the obviousness-type double patenting rejection. The applicant is attempting to broaden the parent applications claims by eliminating some of the claim elements in the continuation at issue here. If allowed, the application would unjustly extend Applicant patent protection beyond the statutory period, at the same time, granting broader protection to the applicant.
Regarding Claims 2-10 and 12-20 the claims are further rejected as non-statutory obviousness type double patenting because the instant application is a continuation of U.S. Patent No. USP (12,088,524), hence the claimed limitations are disclosed in the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 11, lines 5-7 of the claim recite the limitation “the second pilot sequence information corresponds to a second set of configuration parameters used to generate the pilot sequence”. It is unclear how the second pilot sequence information generates “the pilot sequence” which is generated according to the first pilot sequence information in lines 3-5 of the claim. For example it is unclear how the second pilot sequence information generates the same pilot sequence that is generated by the first pilot sequence information since “the pilot sequence” in line 7 of the claim refers to the pilot sequence that is generated by the first pilot sequence information as recited in lines 4-5 of the claim. Clarification is required.
For purposes of examination the examiner interprets that the second pilot sequence information corresponds to a second set of configuration parameters used to generate a respective pilot sequence that is associated with the second pilot sequence information (i.e., similar to independent claim 1).
Dependent claims 12-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph based at least on their dependence to independent claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US (2011/0237267) in view of Khoshnevis et al. US (2013/0040578), and further in view of Kishiyama et al. US (2012/0106501).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Fig. 3 i.e., wireless device 304 & Para [0143]) comprising a processor (see Para’s [0014], [0193], & [0195]) configured to: receive a message indicating first pilot sequence information and second pilot sequence information, (see Para’s [0144] i.e., Access point 302 can include a UE-RS sequence defining component 306 that develops a plurality of reference signals (i.e., plurality of reference signals includes a first pilot sequence and second pilot sequence) that can be used by one or more UEs to decode data over shared resources, a UE-RS sequence initializing component 308 that creates a pseudo-random sequence of the reference signals for the one or more UEs…Wireless device 304 can include an RS information receiving component 314 that obtains one or more parameters (i.e., “message”) related to RS transmissions from an access point and an RS decoding component 314 that decodes one or more RSs (i.e., includes a first pilot sequence and second pilot sequence) based at least in part on the parameters, [0145] i.e., access point 302 can multiplex RSs according to pseudo-random sequences (i.e., first pilot sequence and second pilot sequence) selected for one or more wireless devices. In an example, UE-RS sequence defining component 306 can generate a plurality of UE-RSs that can be utilized to decode data sent over shared resources to one or more UEs, [0146] i.e., The UE-RS mapping component 310 can assign the pseudo-random sequences of UE-RS and shared resources to one or more wireless devices using a pre-determined mapping scheme that maintains the orthogonality, & [0147] i.e., In Fig. 3, RS information signaling component 312 can signal (i.e., “message”) pseudo-random sequences of RS (i.e., message indicating a first pilot sequence and second pilot sequence), related resources, and/or related parameters corresponding to the wireless device 304. At wireless device 304, RS information receiving component 314 can obtain the received pseudo-random sequences of RS, related shared resources, and/or parameters from the access point 302).
wherein the first pilot sequence information corresponds to a first set of configuration parameters used to generate a first pilot sequence and the second pilot sequence information corresponds to a second set of configuration parameters used to generate a second pilot sequence; (see Para’s [0144] i.e., Wireless device 304 can include an RS information receiving component 314 that obtains one or more parameters related to RS transmissions from an access point and an RS decoding component 314 that decodes one or more RSs based at least in part on the parameters, [0145-0146] i.e., The UE-RS mapping component 310 can assign the pseudo-random sequences of UE-RS (i.e., includes “first pilot sequence” and “second pilot sequence”) and shared resources to one or more wireless devices using a pre-determined mapping scheme that maintains the orthogonality, & [0147] i.e., In Fig. 3, RS information signaling component 312 can signal pseudo-random sequences of RS (i.e., “first pilot sequence information” and “second pilot sequence information”), related resources, and/or related parameters (i.e., related resources and/or related parameters configured for each of the pseudo-random sequences may refer to the “first set of configuration parameters” and “second set of configuration parameters” ) corresponding to the wireless device 304. At wireless device 304, RS information receiving component 314 can obtain the received pseudo-random sequences of RS, related shared resources, and/or parameters from the access point 302).
receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission (see Para’s [0050] i.e., DL PHY channels received by the wireless device comprise PDCCH, [0149] i.e., PDCCH, & [0151])
the first pilot sequence information or the second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission; (see Para [0144] i.e., Access point 302 can include a UE-RS sequence defining component 306 that develops a plurality of reference signals (i.e., “pilot signal”) that can be used by one or more UEs to decode data over shared resources (i.e., “PDSCH”), a UE-RS sequence initializing component 308 that creates a pseudo-random sequence of the reference signals for the one or more UEs, [0145-0146] i.e., In an example, UE-RS sequence defining component 306 can generate a plurality of UE-RSs (i.e., “pilot signal”) that can be utilized to decode data sent over shared resources (i.e., “PDSCH”) to one or more UEs, [0148] i.e., PDSCH, & [0168] i.e., data is received by the UE on a DL bandwidth resource (e.g., PDSCH)…data received on the downlink bandwidth resource is decoded by the UE using the UE-RS)
and receive the PDSCH transmission using at least the pilot signal associated with the pilot sequence generated using the first pilot sequence information or the second pilot sequence information, (see Para [0144] i.e., Access point 302 can include a UE-RS sequence defining component 306 that develops a plurality of reference signals (i.e., “pilot signal”) that can be used by one or more UEs to decode data over shared resources (i.e., “PDSCH”), a UE-RS sequence initializing component 308 that creates a pseudo-random sequence of the reference signals for the one or more UEs, [0145-0146] i.e., In an example, UE-RS sequence defining component 306 can generate a plurality of UE-RSs (i.e., “pilot signal”) that can be utilized to decode data sent over shared resources (i.e., “PDSCH”) to one or more UEs, [0148], & [0168] i.e., data is received by the UE on a DL bandwidth resource (e.g., PDSCH)…data received on the downlink bandwidth resource is decoded by the UE using the UE-RS)
While Chen discloses the WTRU receiving a message indicating the first pilot sequence information corresponding to the first set of configuration parameters and the second pilot sequence information corresponding to the second set of configuration parameters (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0144] & [0147]), Chen does not disclose the first pilot sequence information and the second pilot sequence information is received via a radio resource control (RRC) message. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Khoshnevis et al. US (2013/0040578).
Khoshnevis discloses a UE receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message (see Fig. 3 i.e., RRC signaling message 324) indicating first pilot sequence information and the second pilot sequence information (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0018], [0064], [0069-0070] i.e., The RRC signaling message 324 may include one or more reference signal configurations 348. Each reference signal configuration 348 may correspond to a different reference signal transmitted by a point 110 or antenna port to the UE 304. A reference signal configuration 348 may include a sequence 350 used, an antenna port 352 used, the time/frequency resource allocation 354, the periodicity 356 and the transmit power 346, & [0074])
(Khoshnevis suggests the reference signal configurations are sent to the UE via the RRC message for defining configuration parameters associated with a respective reference signal configuration in order for the UE to appropriately receive the reference signal for measuring the downlink channel state such as the RSRP and path-loss associated with an antenna port for determining an optimal uplink transmission power allocation, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0020], [0046-0049], & [0064-0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first pilot sequence information corresponding to the first set of configuration parameters and the second pilot sequence information corresponding to the second set of configuration parameters received via a message by the WTRU as disclosed in Chen to be received via a radio resource control (RRC) message based on the teachings of Khoshnevis who discloses a UE receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating first pilot sequence information and the second pilot sequence information each associated with a corresponding set of configuration parameters, because the motivation lies in Khoshnevis that the reference signal configurations are sent to the UE via the RRC message for defining configuration parameters associated with a respective reference signal configuration in order for the UE to appropriately receive the reference signal for measuring the downlink channel state such as the RSRP and path-loss associated with an antenna port for determining an optimal uplink transmission power allocation.
While the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis discloses the WTRU receiving a PDCCH transmission (Chen, see Para’s [0050], [0149], & [0151]), the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the PDCCH transmission comprises a value indicating whether the first pilot sequence information or the second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kishiyama et al. US (2012/0106501).
Kishiyama discloses receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission (see Para’s [0101] & [0112])
wherein the PDCCH transmission comprises a value indicating whether first pilot sequence information or second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (In regards to the claim feature of “for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission”, the claim feature is simply a statement of intended use and is therefore not considered limiting to the claim limitation (i.e., see Outdry Techs. Corp V. Geox Pg.’s 2-3 regarding statement of intended use)), (Kishiyama, see Fig. 2 i.e., processing steps 37-39 & Para’s [0101] i.e., On the PDCCH is notified DM-RS sequence information…In the DM-RS sequence information, more specifically, in the case where DM-RSs (i.e., includes a “first pilot sequence” and “second pilot sequence”) are defined by indexes (i.e., “value”) from stream 1 to stream 8, which index (i.e., “value indicating which pilot sequence is used”) is used is notified by the PDCCH [0112] i.e., The downlink control information generating section 12 mainly generates the downlink control information that is transmitted on the PDCCH. The downlink control information is capable of including scheduling information of the PDSCH…the above mentioned DM-RS sequence information (i.e., “value”), [0121-0122], [0138], & [0141-0142] i.e., The DM-RS channel estimation section 38 acquires the DM-RS of the corresponding stream using the DM-RS sequence information (i.e., “value”) obtained by decoding the PDCCH and performs channel estimation on the stream using the DM-RS. The downlink transmission data demodulating/decoding section 39 demodulates and decodes the downlink transmission data based on channel estimation).
receive the PDSCH transmission using at least the pilot signal associated with the pilot sequence indicated in the PDCCH transmission (see Fig. 2 i.e., processing steps 37-39 & Para’s [0101], [0112], [0121-0122], [0138], & [0141-0142] i.e., The DM-RS channel estimation section 38 acquires the DM-RS of the corresponding stream using the DM-RS sequence information (i.e., “value”) obtained by decoding the PDCCH and performs channel estimation on the stream using the DM-RS. The downlink transmission data demodulating/decoding section 39 demodulates and decodes the downlink transmission data based on channel estimation).
(Kishiyama suggests the PDCCH transmission comprises the value indicating whether a first pilot sequence information or second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with PDSCH transmission in order for the UE to determine and receive the DM-RS sequence indicated in the PDCCH for performing channel estimation using the DM-RS in order to appropriately demodulate and decode the downlink transmission data (i.e., PDSCH) based on the channel estimation for receiving the data (see Fig. 2 & Para’s [0101], [0112], [0121-0122], [0138], & [0141-0142])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the PDCCH transmission received by the WTRU as disclosed in Chen in view of Khoshnevis to comprises the value indicating whether the first pilot sequence information or the second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Kishiyama, because the motivation lies in Kishiyama that the PDCCH transmission comprises the value indicating whether a first pilot sequence information or second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with PDSCH transmission in order for the UE to determine and receive the DM-RS sequence indicated in the PDCCH for performing channel estimation using the DM-RS in order to appropriately demodulate and decode the downlink transmission data (i.e., PDSCH) based on the channel estimation for receiving the data.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama discloses the WTRU and method of claims 1 and 11, wherein the PDCCH transmission is associated with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the WTRU, (Chen, see Para’s [0050] & [0148] i.e., start of each subframe (i.e., “PDCCH”) where RNTI is defined, and can be a UE-specific ID)
Regarding Claim 11, Chen discloses a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Fig. 3 i.e., wireless device 304 & Para [0143]), the method comprising: receive a message indicating first pilot sequence information and second pilot sequence information, (see Para’s [0144] i.e., Access point 302 can include a UE-RS sequence defining component 306 that develops a plurality of reference signals (i.e., plurality of reference signals includes a first pilot sequence and second pilot sequence) that can be used by one or more UEs to decode data over shared resources, a UE-RS sequence initializing component 308 that creates a pseudo-random sequence of the reference signals for the one or more UEs…Wireless device 304 can include an RS information receiving component 314 that obtains one or more parameters (i.e., “message”) related to RS transmissions from an access point and an RS decoding component 314 that decodes one or more RSs (i.e., includes a first pilot sequence and second pilot sequence) based at least in part on the parameters, [0145] i.e., access point 302 can multiplex RSs according to pseudo-random sequences (i.e., first pilot sequence and second pilot sequence) selected for one or more wireless devices. In an example, UE-RS sequence defining component 306 can generate a plurality of UE-RSs that can be utilized to decode data sent over shared resources to one or more UEs, [0146] i.e., The UE-RS mapping component 310 can assign the pseudo-random sequences of UE-RS and shared resources to one or more wireless devices using a pre-determined mapping scheme that maintains the orthogonality, & [0147] i.e., In Fig. 3, RS information signaling component 312 can signal (i.e., “message”) pseudo-random sequences of RS (i.e., message indicating a first pilot sequence and second pilot sequence), related resources, and/or related parameters corresponding to the wireless device 304. At wireless device 304, RS information receiving component 314 can obtain the received pseudo-random sequences of RS, related shared resources, and/or parameters from the access point 302).
wherein the first pilot sequence information corresponds to a first set of configuration parameters used to generate a pilot sequence and the second pilot sequence information corresponds to a second set of configuration parameters used to generate the pilot sequence; (see Para’s [0144] i.e., Wireless device 304 can include an RS information receiving component 314 that obtains one or more parameters related to RS transmissions from an access point and an RS decoding component 314 that decodes one or more RSs based at least in part on the parameters, [0145-0146] i.e., The UE-RS mapping component 310 can assign the pseudo-random sequences of UE-RS (i.e., includes “first pilot sequence” and “second pilot sequence”) and shared resources to one or more wireless devices using a pre-determined mapping scheme that maintains the orthogonality, & [0147] i.e., In Fig. 3, RS information signaling component 312 can signal pseudo-random sequences of RS (i.e., “first pilot sequence information” and “second pilot sequence information”), related resources, and/or related parameters (i.e., related resources and/or related parameters configured for each of the pseudo-random sequences may refer to the “first set of configuration parameters” and “second set of configuration parameters” ) corresponding to the wireless device 304. At wireless device 304, RS information receiving component 314 can obtain the received pseudo-random sequences of RS, related shared resources, and/or parameters from the access point 302).
receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission (see Para’s [0050] i.e., DL PHY channels received by the wireless device comprise PDCCH, [0149] i.e., PDCCH, & [0151])
the first pilot sequence information or the second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission; (see Para [0144] i.e., Access point 302 can include a UE-RS sequence defining component 306 that develops a plurality of reference signals (i.e., “pilot signal”) that can be used by one or more UEs to decode data over shared resources (i.e., “PDSCH”), a UE-RS sequence initializing component 308 that creates a pseudo-random sequence of the reference signals for the one or more UEs, [0145-0146] i.e., In an example, UE-RS sequence defining component 306 can generate a plurality of UE-RSs (i.e., “pilot signal”) that can be utilized to decode data sent over shared resources (i.e., “PDSCH”) to one or more UEs, [0148] i.e., PDSCH, & [0168] i.e., data is received by the UE on a DL bandwidth resource (e.g., PDSCH)…data received on the downlink bandwidth resource is decoded by the UE using the UE-RS)
and receive the PDSCH transmission using at least the pilot signal associated with the pilot sequence generated using the first pilot sequence information or the second pilot sequence information, (see Para [0144] i.e., Access point 302 can include a UE-RS sequence defining component 306 that develops a plurality of reference signals (i.e., “pilot signal”) that can be used by one or more UEs to decode data over shared resources (i.e., “PDSCH”), a UE-RS sequence initializing component 308 that creates a pseudo-random sequence of the reference signals for the one or more UEs, [0145-0146] i.e., In an example, UE-RS sequence defining component 306 can generate a plurality of UE-RSs (i.e., “pilot signal”) that can be utilized to decode data sent over shared resources (i.e., “PDSCH”) to one or more UEs, [0148], & [0168] i.e., data is received by the UE on a DL bandwidth resource (e.g., PDSCH)…data received on the downlink bandwidth resource is decoded by the UE using the UE-RS)
While Chen discloses the WTRU receiving a message indicating the first pilot sequence information corresponding to the first set of configuration parameters and the second pilot sequence information corresponding to the second set of configuration parameters (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0144] & [0147]), Chen does not disclose the first pilot sequence information and the second pilot sequence information is received via a radio resource control (RRC) message. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Khoshnevis et al. US (2013/0040578).
Khoshnevis discloses a UE receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message (see Fig. 3 i.e., RRC signaling message 324) indicating first pilot sequence information and the second pilot sequence information (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0018], [0064], [0069-0070] i.e., The RRC signaling message 324 may include one or more reference signal configurations 348. Each reference signal configuration 348 may correspond to a different reference signal transmitted by a point 110 or antenna port to the UE 304. A reference signal configuration 348 may include a sequence 350 used, an antenna port 352 used, the time/frequency resource allocation 354, the periodicity 356 and the transmit power 346, & [0074])
(Khoshnevis suggests the reference signal configurations are sent to the UE via the RRC message for defining configuration parameters associated with a respective reference signal configuration in order for the UE to appropriately receive the reference signal for measuring the downlink channel state such as the RSRP and path-loss associated with an antenna port for determining an optimal uplink transmission power allocation, (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0020], [0046-0049], & [0064-0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first pilot sequence information corresponding to the first set of configuration parameters and the second pilot sequence information corresponding to the second set of configuration parameters received via a message by the WTRU as disclosed in Chen to be received via a radio resource control (RRC) message based on the teachings of Khoshnevis who discloses a UE receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating first pilot sequence information and the second pilot sequence information each associated with a corresponding set of configuration parameters, because the motivation lies in Khoshnevis that the reference signal configurations are sent to the UE via the RRC message for defining configuration parameters associated with a respective reference signal configuration in order for the UE to appropriately receive the reference signal for measuring the downlink channel state such as the RSRP and path-loss associated with an antenna port for determining an optimal uplink transmission power allocation.
While the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis discloses the WTRU receiving a PDCCH transmission (Chen, see Para’s [0050], [0149], & [0151]), the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the PDCCH transmission comprises a value indicating whether the first pilot sequence information or the second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kishiyama et al. US (2012/0106501).
Kishiyama discloses receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission (see Para’s [0101] & [0112])
wherein the PDCCH transmission comprises a value indicating whether first pilot sequence information or second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (In regards to the claim feature of “for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission”, the claim feature is simply a statement of intended use and is therefore not considered limiting to the claim limitation (i.e., see Outdry Techs. Corp V. Geox Pg.’s 2-3 regarding statement of intended use)), (Kishiyama, see Fig. 2 i.e., processing steps 37-39 & Para’s [0101] i.e., On the PDCCH is notified DM-RS sequence information…In the DM-RS sequence information, more specifically, in the case where DM-RSs (i.e., includes a “first pilot sequence” and “second pilot sequence”) are defined by indexes (i.e., “value”) from stream 1 to stream 8, which index (i.e., “value indicating which pilot sequence is used”) is used is notified by the PDCCH [0112] i.e., The downlink control information generating section 12 mainly generates the downlink control information that is transmitted on the PDCCH. The downlink control information is capable of including scheduling information of the PDSCH…the above mentioned DM-RS sequence information (i.e., “value”), [0121-0122], [0138], & [0141-0142] i.e., The DM-RS channel estimation section 38 acquires the DM-RS of the corresponding stream using the DM-RS sequence information (i.e., “value”) obtained by decoding the PDCCH and performs channel estimation on the stream using the DM-RS. The downlink transmission data demodulating/decoding section 39 demodulates and decodes the downlink transmission data based on channel estimation).
receive the PDSCH transmission using at least the pilot signal associated with the pilot sequence indicated in the PDCCH transmission (see Fig. 2 i.e., processing steps 37-39 & Para’s [0101], [0112], [0121-0122], [0138], & [0141-0142] i.e., The DM-RS channel estimation section 38 acquires the DM-RS of the corresponding stream using the DM-RS sequence information (i.e., “value”) obtained by decoding the PDCCH and performs channel estimation on the stream using the DM-RS. The downlink transmission data demodulating/decoding section 39 demodulates and decodes the downlink transmission data based on channel estimation).
(Kishiyama suggests the PDCCH transmission comprises the value indicating whether a first pilot sequence information or second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with PDSCH transmission in order for the UE to determine and receive the DM-RS sequence indicated in the PDCCH for performing channel estimation using the DM-RS in order to appropriately demodulate and decode the downlink transmission data (i.e., PDSCH) based on the channel estimation for receiving the data (see Fig. 2 & Para’s [0101], [0112], [0121-0122], [0138], & [0141-0142])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the PDCCH transmission received by the WTRU as disclosed in Chen in view of Khoshnevis to comprises the value indicating whether the first pilot sequence information or the second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Kishiyama, because the motivation lies in Kishiyama that the PDCCH transmission comprises the value indicating whether a first pilot sequence information or second pilot sequence information is used for generating a pilot sequence for a pilot signal associated with PDSCH transmission in order for the UE to determine and receive the DM-RS sequence indicated in the PDCCH for performing channel estimation using the DM-RS in order to appropriately demodulate and decode the downlink transmission data (i.e., PDSCH) based on the channel estimation for receiving the data.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US (2011/0237267) in view of Khoshnevis et al. US (2013/0040578), and further in view of Kishiyama et al. US (2012/0106501) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao et al. US (2012/0281554).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama discloses the WTRU and method of claims 1 and 11 including wherein the PDSCH transmission is beamformed (Chen, see Para’s [0035], [0041] i.e., TX MIMO processor 220 applies beamforming weights to the symbols of the data streams and to the antenna from which the symbol is being transmitted, & [0149]), but does not disclose and wherein the PDCCH transmission is beamformed. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Gao et al. US (2012/0281554).
Gao discloses wherein the PDCCH transmission is beamformed (see Para’s [0055] i.e., It also enables PDCCH transmission with more advances techniques such as beamforming & [0062] i.e., with the use of UE-PDCCH-DMRS, a beamforming type of precoded PDCCH transmission can be used, in which a PDCCH signal is weighted and transmitted…As a result, PDCCH detection performance improvement can be expected at the UE)
(Gao suggests beamforming is applied to the PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE-PDCCH-DMRS for receiving the PDCCH resulting in PDCCH detection performance improvement at the UE, (see Para’s [0055] & [0062])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the PDCCH in addition to the PDSCH transmission as disclosed in Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama to be beamformed based on the teachings of Gao who discloses the PDCCH transmission can be beamformed, because the motivation lies in Gao that beamforming is applied to the PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE-PDCCH-DMRS for receiving the PDCCH resulting in PDCCH detection performance improvement at the UE.
Claims 5, 9-10, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US (2011/0237267) in view of Khoshnevis et al. US (2013/0040578), and further in view of Kishiyama et al. US (2012/0106501) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Kotecha et al. US (2010/0115358).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama discloses the WTRU and method of claims 1 and 11 including determining a number of layers (Chen, see Para [0151] i.e., Dynamic rank adaptation is supported: that is, a UE may be indicated either rank 1 or rank 2 (i.e., “number of layers”) DL transmissions using layer 2 signaling (PDCCH)), but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a number of transport blocks in the PDSCH transmission; and determine a number of layers for each transport block. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kotecha et al. US (2010/0115358).
Kotecha determine a number of transport blocks in the PDSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0007-0008] i.e., a single transport block or codeword (CW)…eNB can transmit a PDCCH to signal the UE 15 that PDSCH transmission associated with DCI format 2 will be transmitted using spatial multiplexing which supports the transmission of two transmission blocks or codeworks (CW) in one sub frame of a MIMO transmission, [0019], & [0024])
and determine a number of layers for each transport block (see Para’s [0007-0008] i.e., a single transport block or codeword (CW)…eNB can transmit a PDCCH to signal the UE 15 that PDSCH transmission associated with DCI format 2 will be transmitted using spatial multiplexing which supports the transmission of two codeworks (CW) in one sub frame of a MIMO transmission, [0019] i.e., After conveying the control signal information with the PDCCH control signal 102, the transmitter/eNB sends a PDSCH transmission 106 which spatially multiplexes the two codewords (CW1, CW2) onto two layers (Layer 1, Layer 2) using DCI format 2, where both of the codewords CW1, CW2 have an associated 3-bit HARQ process ID (PID) in DCI format 2, & [0024]).
(Kotecha suggests the PDCCH control signal includes a DCI that signals to the UE that PDSCH transmission will be transmitted using two codewords (i.e., “two transport blocks”) for properly scheduling the PDSCH transmission to the UE and the UE can feed back a NACK signal to initiate a HARQ retransmission process for properly receiving the transmission blocks or codewords if there is a transmission failure of the codewords (see Para’s [0007], [0019], & [0024]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the PDCCH transmission received by the UE as disclosed in Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama to include determine a number of transport blocks in the PDSCH transmission; and determine a number of layers for each transport block based on the received PDCCH as disclosed in the teachings of Kotecha, because the motivation lies in Kotecha that the PDCCH control signal includes a DCI that signals to the UE that PDSCH transmission will be transmitted using two codewords (i.e., “two transport blocks”) for properly scheduling the PDSCH transmission to the UE and the UE can feed back a NACK signal to initiate a HARQ retransmission process for properly receiving the codewords if there is a transmission failure of the codewords.
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama discloses the WTRU and method of claims 1 and 11, wherein the PDCCH transmission comprises information indicating a number of layers associated with a PDSCH transmission, (Chen, see Para [0151] i.e., Dynamic rank adaptation is supported: that is, a UE may be indicated either rank 1 or rank 2 (i.e., “number of layers”) DL transmissions using layer 2 signaling (PDCCH)), but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the PDCCH transmission comprises information indicating a number of codewords. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kotecha et al. US (2010/0115358).
Kotecha discloses wherein the PDCCH transmission comprises information indicating a number of codewords, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., eNB can transmit a PDCCH to signal the UE 15 that PDSCH transmission associated with DCI format 2 will be transmitted using spatial multiplexing which supports the transmission of two transmission blocks or codeworks (CW) in one sub frame of a MIMO transmission, [0019] i.e., After conveying the control signal information with the PDCCH control signal 102, the transmitter/eNB sends a PDSCH transmission 106 which spatially multiplexes the two codewords (CW1, CW2) onto two layers (Layer 1, Layer 2) using DCI format 2, where both of the codewords CW1, CW2 have an associated 3-bit HARQ process ID (PID) in DCI format 2, & [0024]).
(Kotecha suggests the PDCCH control signal includes a DCI that signals to the UE that PDSCH transmission will be transmitted using two codewords for properly scheduling the PDSCH transmission to the UE and the UE can feed back a NACK signal to initiate a HARQ retransmission process for properly receiving the codewords if there is a transmission failure of the codewords (see Para’s [0007], [0019], & [0024]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the PDCCH transmission as disclosed in Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama to further comprises information indicating a number of codewords as included in the PDCCH disclosed in Kotecha, because the motivation lies in Kotecha that the PDCCH control signal includes a DCI that signals to the UE that PDSCH transmission will be transmitted using two codewords for properly scheduling the PDSCH transmission to the UE and the UE can feed back a NACK signal to initiate a HARQ retransmission process for properly receiving the codewords if there is a transmission failure of the codewords.
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama discloses the WTRU and method of claims 1 and 11, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the PDCCH transmission indicates that the PDSCH transmission is associated with two codewords. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kotecha et al. US (2010/0115358).
Kotecha discloses wherein the PDCCH transmission indicates that the PDSCH transmission is associated with two codewords (see Para’s [0007] i.e., eNB can transmit a PDCCH to signal the UE 15 that PDSCH transmission associated with DCI format 2 will be transmitted using spatial multiplexing which supports the transmission of two transmission blocks or codeworks (CW) in one sub frame of a MIMO transmission, [0019] i.e., After conveying the control signal information with the PDCCH control signal 102, the transmitter/eNB sends a PDSCH transmission 106 which spatially multiplexes the two codewords (CW1, CW2) onto two layers (Layer 1, Layer 2) using DCI format 2, where both of the codewords CW1, CW2 have an associated 3-bit HARQ process ID (PID) in DCI format 2, & [0024]).
(Kotecha suggests the PDCCH control signal includes a DCI that signals to the UE that PDSCH transmission will be transmitted using two codewords for properly scheduling the PDSCH transmission to the UE and the UE can feed back a NACK signal to initiate a HARQ retransmission process for properly receiving the codewords if there is a transmission failure of the codewords (see Para’s [0007], [0019], & [0024]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the PDCCH transmission as disclosed in Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama to further indicate that the PDSCH transmission is associated with two codewords as indicated in the PDCCH as disclosed in Kotecha, because the motivation lies in Kotecha that the PDCCH control signal includes a DCI that signals to the UE that PDSCH transmission will be transmitted using two codewords for properly scheduling the PDSCH transmission to the UE and the UE can feed back a NACK signal to initiate a HARQ retransmission process for properly receiving the codewords if there is a transmission failure of the codewords.
Claims 6-8 and 16-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US (2011/0237267) in view of Khoshnevis et al. US (2013/0040578), and further in view of Kishiyama et al. US (2012/0106501) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wiedeman et al. US (6,240,124).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama discloses the WTRU and method of claims 1 and 11 including wherein the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters each comprise a pilot signal index and associated parameters (Chen, see Para’s [0144] & [0147] i.e., In Fig. 3, RS information signaling component 312 can signal pseudo-random sequences of RS (i.e., includes pilot identification or index), related resources, and/or related parameters corresponding to the wireless device 304), but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the first set of configuration parameters comprises a first channelization code and a first pilot signal index and the second set of configuration parameters comprises a second channelization code and a second pilot signal index. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Wiedeman et al. US (6,240,124).
Wiedeman discloses a first set of configuration parameters comprise a first channelization code and a first pilot signal index (see Col. 8 lines 40-48 i.e., paging channels…Various CDMA pilot channels may also be used on the forward link, Col. 10 lines 28-34 i.e., each pilot channel that is transmitted by the gateway 18…A pilot channel enables a user terminal 13 to acquire the timing of the forward CDMA channel, provides a phase reference for coherent demodulation, & Col. 10 lines 57-67 i.e., the paging channel conveys several message types including a CDMA channel list…The CDMA channel list conveys, if used, an associated pilot identification (i.e., includes a first pilot signal identification or index) and Walsh code (i.e., “channelization code”) assignment)
and the second set of configuration parameters comprises a second channelization code and a second pilot signal index (see Col. 8 lines 40-48 i.e., paging channels…Various CDMA pilot channels may also be used on the forward link, Col. 10 lines 28-34 i.e., each pilot channel that is transmitted by the gateway 18…A pilot channel enables a user terminal 13 to acquire the timing of the forward CDMA channel, provides a phase reference for coherent demodulation, & Col. 10 lines 57-67 i.e., the paging channel conveys several message types including a CDMA channel list…The CDMA channel list conveys, if used, an associated pilot identification (i.e., includes a second pilot signal identification or index) and Walsh code (i.e., includes “second channelization code”) assignment)
(Wiedeman suggests the each satellite 12 relays information from the gateways 18 to the users on the forward link including paging channels which conveys a CDMA channel list conveying associated pilot identification and Walsh code assignment in order for the UE to identify a pilot signal for a pilot channel which enables the user terminal to acquire the timing of the forward CDMA channel and provides a phase reference for coherent demodulation for successfully receiving the data, (see Fig. 1 & Col. 8 lines 40-48, Col. 10 lines 28-34, & lines 57-57)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters which each comprise a pilot signal index and associated parameters as disclosed in Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama to each comprise parameters such as a respective channelization code and a pilot signal index according to the CDMA list communicated via the paging channel to the user terminal as disclosed in the teachings of Wiedeman, because the motivation lies in Wiedeman that each satellite 12 relays information from the gateways 18 to the users on the forward link including paging channels which conveys a CDMA channel list conveying associated pilot identification and Walsh code assignment in order for the UE to identify a pilot signal for a pilot channel which enables the user terminal to acquire the timing of the forward CDMA channel and provides a phase reference for coherent demodulation for successfully receiving the data.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama discloses the WTRU and method of claims 6 and 16 including the first pilot sequence information and second pilot sequence information (Chen, see Para [0147]) , but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the first channelization code and the first pilot signal index uniquely identify the first pilot sequence information and the second channelization code and the second pilot signal index uniquely identify the second pilot sequence information. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Wiedeman et al. US (6,240,124).
Wiedeman discloses wherein the first channelization code and the first pilot signal index uniquely identify the first pilot sequence information and the second channelization code and the second pilot signal index uniquely identify the second pilot sequence information (see Col. 8 lines 40-48 i.e., paging channels…Various CDMA pilot channels may also be used on the forward link, Col. 10 lines 28-34 i.e., each pilot channel that is transmitted by the gateway 18…A pilot channel enables a user terminal 13 to acquire the timing of the forward CDMA channel, provides a phase reference for coherent demodulation, & Col. 10 lines 57-67 i.e., the paging channel conveys several message types including a CDMA channel list…The CDMA channel list conveys, if used, an associated pilot identification and Walsh code assignment (i.e., includes first and second pilot sequence information for respective pilot signals and their associated Walsh code assignment))
(Wiedeman suggests the each satellite 12 relays information from the gateways 18 to the users on the forward link including paging channels which conveys a CDMA channel list conveying associated pilot identification and Walsh code assignment in order for the UE to identify a pilot signal for a pilot channel which enables the user terminal to acquire the timing of the forward CDMA channel and provides a phase reference for coherent demodulation for successfully receiving the data, (see Fig. 1 & Col. 8 lines 40-48, Col. 10 lines 28-34, & lines 57-57)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first pilot sequence information and second pilot sequence information each including the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters which each comprise a pilot signal index and associated parameters as disclosed in Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama to each comprise parameters such as a respective channelization code and a pilot signal index according to the CDMA list communicated via the paging channel to the user terminal as disclosed in the teachings of Wiedeman, because the motivation lies in Wiedeman that each satellite 12 relays information from the gateways 18 to the users on the forward link including paging channels which conveys a CDMA channel list conveying associated pilot identification and Walsh code assignment in order for the UE to identify a pilot signal for a pilot channel which enables the user terminal to acquire the timing of the forward CDMA channel and provides a phase reference for coherent demodulation for successfully receiving the data.
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama discloses the WTRU and method of claims 6 and 16, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the first set of configuration parameters is organized for indexing in order of a first channelization code list and the first pilot signal index for each channelization code, and the second set of configuration parameters is organized for indexing in order of a second channelization code list and the second pilot signal index for each channelization code. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Wiedeman et al. US (6,240,124).
Wiedeman discloses wherein the first set of configuration parameters is organized for indexing in order of a first channelization code list and the first pilot signal index for each channelization code, and the second set of configuration parameters is organized for indexing in order of a second channelization code list and the second pilot signal index for each channelization code (In regards to the claim feature of “for indexing” in lines 2-4 of the claim, the claim feature “for indexing” is simply a statement of intended use, and is therefore not considered limiting to the claim limitation (i.e., see Outdry Techs. Corp V. Geox Pg.’s 2-3 regarding statement of intended use)), (Wiedman, see Col. 8 lines 40-48 i.e., paging channels…Various CDMA pilot channels may also be used on the forward link, Col. 10 lines 28-34 i.e., each pilot channel that is transmitted by the gateway 18…A pilot channel enables a user terminal 13 to acquire the timing of the forward CDMA channel, provides a phase reference for coherent demodulation, & Col. 10 lines 57-67 i.e., the paging channel conveys several message types including a CDMA channel list…The CDMA channel list conveys, if used (i.e., may be used for “indexing”), an associated pilot identification and Walsh code assignment (i.e., includes a first channelization code list/pilot signal index and a second channelization code list/second pilot signal index for respective pilot signals and their associated Walsh code assignment))
(Wiedeman suggests the each satellite 12 relays information from the gateways 18 to the users on the forward link including paging channels which conveys a CDMA channel list conveying associated pilot identification and Walsh code assignment in order for the UE to identify a pilot signal for a pilot channel which enables the user terminal to acquire the timing of the forward CDMA channel and provides a phase reference for coherent demodulation for successfully receiving the data, (see Fig. 1 & Col. 8 lines 40-48, Col. 10 lines 28-34, & lines 57-57)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of configuration parameters and the second set of configuration parameters which each comprise a pilot signal index and associated parameters as disclosed in Chen in view of Khoshnevis, and further in view of Kishiyama to each comprise parameters such as a respective channelization code and a pilot signal index organized according to the CDMA list communicated via the paging channel to the user terminal as disclosed in the teachings of Wiedeman, because the motivation lies in Wiedeman that each satellite 12 relays information from the gateways 18 to the users on the forward link including paging channels which conveys a CDMA channel list conveying associated pilot identification and Walsh code assignment in order for the UE to identify a pilot signal for a pilot channel which enables the user terminal to acquire the timing of the forward CDMA channel and provides a phase reference for coherent demodulation for successfully receiving the data.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US (2011/0237267) in view of Khoshnevis et al. US (2013/0040578), and further in view of Kishiyama et al. US (2012/0106501), and further in view of Gao et al. US (2012/0281554) as applied to claims 3 and 13 above, and further in view of Ramachandran et. al. US (2011/0113137).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, the combination of Chen in view of Khoshnevis, further in view of Kishiyama, and further in view of Gao discloses the WTRU and method of claims 3 and 13, wherein the processor is configured to: receive the PDSCH transmission using receive side beamform reception techniques, (Chen, see Para’s [0035], [0041], [0043] i.e., the transmitted modulated signals (i.e., “beamformed”) are received by receiver/antennas of the UE 254a-254r which conditions (e.g., filters, amplified, and downconverts) a respective signal, digitizes the conditioned signal to provide samples to provide a received symbol stream (i.e., antennas/receivers 254 use “beamforming reception techniques”) & [0149]), and wherein the PDCCH transmission is beamformed (Gao, see Para’s [0055] & [0062]), but does not disclose the claim feature of receive the PDCCH transmission using receive side beamform reception techniques. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ramachandran et. al. US (2011/0113137).
Ramachandran discloses receiving a signal transmission using receive side beamform reception techniques (see Fig. 1 i.e., 152 & 154 of receiver 150 & Para’s [0032] i.e., the receiver system 150 can include an antenna array 152 that can receive the data signals transmitted by the transmitter system 110…The weighting module 154 can adjust the amplitude and/or phase of the individual elements of the antenna array 152 in accordance with commands provided by the processor 158 of the receiver system 150 to generate reception beams (i.e., “receive side beamform reception techniques”))
(Ramachandran suggests the weighting module 154 can adjust the amplitude and/or phase of the individual elements of the antenna array 152 in accordance with commands provided by the processor 158 of the receiver system 150 to generate reception beams (i.e., “receive side beamform reception techniques”)) in order to successfully demodulate and decode the reception signal, (see Fig. 1 & Para [0032])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the beamformed PDCCH signal transmission which received by the UE as disclosed in Chen in view of Khoshnevis, further in view of Kishiyama, and further in view of Gao to receive the PDCCH signal by the receiver according to the receive side beamform reception techniques as disclosed in Ramachandran who discloses receiving a signal transmission using receive side beamform reception techniques, because the motivation lies in Ramachandran that the weighting module of the receiver can adjust the amplitude and/or phase of the individual elements of the antenna array in accordance with commands provided by the processor of the receiver system to generate reception beams (i.e., “receive side beamform reception techniques”)) in order to successfully demodulate and decode the reception signal.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461