DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are pending. Claims 1-20 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024 and 05/12/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ninglekhu et al. (US 20240365272, Ninglekhu hereinafter).
As to claim 21: Ninglekhu discloses a method applied to a first access network device, the method comprising: receiving information about a target network slice for a terminal device from a first access and mobility management function network element (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], the Target NSSAI may only include S-NSSAIs that may be provided in an Allowed NSSAI for the UE.), wherein the target network slice comprises a network slice that is in a requested network slice for the terminal device and that is not supported by a current tracking area of the terminal device, but is supported by another tracking area (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], if a Network Slice is configured to be available only in TAs covering specific dedicated frequency band(s), then there may be a need to redirect the UE to the dedicated frequency band(s) when such S-NSSAI is requested. If the Requested NSSAI contains S-NSSAI(s) that are not available in the UE's current TA, the AMF itself or by interacting with the NSSF may determine a Target NSSAI to be used by the NG-RAN); and
initiating a handover for the terminal device with an active session to a cell of a tracking area that supports the network slice, wherein the active session is associated with the network slice (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], the NG-RAN may attempt to find cells of TAs that may support all the S-NSSAIs in the Target S-NSSAIs, and if no such cell of a TA is available, the RAN may attempt to select cells of TAs that best match the Target S-NSSAI. Once the target cells are determined, the NG-RAN may initiate RRC redirection procedure (interpreted as initiate a handover) towards the target cells. The NG-RAN may attempt to ensure continuity of the PDU Sessions with activated User Plane associated with the S-NSSAJs in the Allowed NSSAI which are in the Target NSSAI. ).
As to claim 22: Ninglekhu discloses the method according to claim 21. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein initiating the handover for the terminal device with the active session to the cell of the tracking area that supports the network slice (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], once the target cells are determined, the NG-RAN may initiate RRC redirection procedure (interpreted as initiate a handover) towards the target cells.), wherein the active session is associated with the network slice comprises: receiving, from the first access and mobility management function network element, indication information for handing over the terminal device with the active session to the cell of the tracking area that supports the network slice (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], NG-RAN to attempt to redirect (interpreted as indication information for handover) the UE to a cell and TA in another frequency band and TA that supports the S-NSSAIs in the Target NSSAI.); and initiating, based on the indication information, the handover for the terminal device with the active session (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], once the target cells are determined, the NG-RAN may initiate RRC redirection procedure (interpreted as initiate a handover) towards the target cells. The NG-RAN may attempt to ensure continuity of the PDU Sessions with activated User Plane associated with the S-NSSAJs in the Allowed NSSAI which are in the Target NSSAI.).
As to claim 23: Ninglekhu discloses the method according to claim 22. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein the indication information is the information about the target network slice (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], NG-RAN to attempt to redirect (interpreted as indication information for handover) the UE to a cell and TA in another frequency band and TA that supports the S-NSSAIs in the Target NSSAI.).
As to claim 24: Ninglekhu discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the active session is a session with an activated user plane (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], the NG-RAN may attempt to ensure continuity of the PDU Sessions with activated User Plane associated with the S-NSSAJs in the Allowed NSSAI which are in the Target NSSAI. ).
As to claim 25: Ninglekhu discloses the method according to claim 21. Ninglekhu further discloses further comprising: receiving, from the first access and mobility management function network element, radio access technology/frequency selection priority information corresponding to the target network slice (see at least paragraph [0094], priority-based reselection mechanism us used for a specific S-NSSAI.).
As to claim 26: Ninglekhu discloses a method applied to a first access and mobility management function network element, the method comprising: obtaining information about a target network slice for a terminal device (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], the Target NSSAI may only include S-NSSAIs that may be provided in an Allowed NSSAI for the UE.), wherein the target network slice comprises a network slice that is in a requested network slice for the terminal device and that is not supported by a current tracking area of the terminal device, but is supported by another tracking area (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], if a Network Slice is configured to be available only in TAs covering specific dedicated frequency band(s), then there may be a need to redirect the UE to the dedicated frequency band(s) when such S-NSSAI is requested. If the Requested NSSAI contains S-NSSAI(s) that are not available in the UE's current TA, the AMF itself or by interacting with the NSSF may determine a Target NSSAI to be used by the NG-RAN);
determining that at least one network slice in the target network slice corresponds to the terminal device with an active session (see at least paragraphs [0142], [0171], [0227], a network slice corresponds to an ongoing PDU session.); and
sending, to a first access network device, indication information for handing over the terminal device with the active session to a cell of a tracking area that supports the network slice (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], NG-RAN to attempt to redirect (interpreted as indication information for handover) the UE to a cell and TA in another frequency band and TA that supports the S-NSSAIs in the Target NSSAI. The NG-RAN may attempt to ensure continuity of the PDU Sessions with activated User Plane associated with the S-NSSAJs in the Allowed NSSAI which are in the Target NSSAI.).
As to claim 27: Ninglekhu discloses the method according to claim 26. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein the indication information is the information about the target network slice (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], NG-RAN to attempt to redirect (interpreted as indication information for handover) the UE to a cell and TA in another frequency band and TA that supports the S-NSSAIs in the Target NSSAI.).
As to claim 28: Ninglekhu discloses the method according to claim 26. Ninglekhu further discloses further comprising: sending the information about the target network slice to the first access network device (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], the Target NSSAI may only include S-NSSAIs that may be provided in an Allowed NSSAI for the UE.).
As to claim 29: Ninglekhu discloses the method according to claim 26. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein the active session is a session with an activated user plane (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], the NG-RAN may attempt to ensure continuity of the PDU Sessions with activated User Plane associated with the S-NSSAJs in the Allowed NSSAI which are in the Target NSSAI. ).
As to claim 30: Ninglekhu discloses the method according to claim 26. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein obtaining, the information about the target network slice for the terminal device comprises: obtaining the target network slice based on a used network slice in a first allowed network slice for the terminal device (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], the Target NSSAI may only include S-NSSAIs that may be provided in an Allowed NSSAI for the UE.).
As to claim 31: Ninglekhu discloses the method according to claim 30. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein obtaining the target network slice based on the used network slice in the first allowed network slice comprises: determining the target network slice based on the used network slice in the first allowed network slice and a to-be-used network slice for the terminal device (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], the Target NSSAI may only include S-NSSAIs that may be provided in an Allowed NSSAI for the UE.).
As to claim 32: Ninglekhu discloses the method according to claim 26. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein obtaining the information about the target network slice for the terminal device comprises: receiving the information about the target network slice from a network slice selection function network element (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], the Target NSSAI may only include S-NSSAIs that may be provided in an Allowed NSSAI for the UE.).
As to claim 33: Ninglekhu discloses the method according to claim 26. Ninglekhu further discloses further comprising: sending, to the first access network device, radio access technology/frequency selection priority information corresponding to the target network slice (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], the Target NSSAI may only include S-NSSAIs that may be provided in an Allowed NSSAI for the UE.), wherein the radio access technology/frequency selection priority information is used to determine a radio measurement instruction (see at least paragraph [0094], priority-based reselection mechanism us used for a specific S-NSSAI.), and the radio measurement instruction is used by the terminal device to discover, before the terminal device with the active session is handed over, the cell of the tracking area that supports the network slice (see at least paragraph [0095], if a Network Slice is configured to be available only in TAs covering specific dedicated frequency band(s), then there may be a need to redirect the UE to the dedicated frequency band(s) when such S-NSSAI is requested.).
As to claim 34: Ninglekhu discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (see at least paragraph [0267], a processor); and
at least one memory (see at least paragraph [0267], a memory) storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
receive information about a target network slice for a terminal device from a first access and mobility management function network element (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], the Target NSSAI may only include S-NSSAIs that may be provided in an Allowed NSSAI for the UE.), wherein the target network slice comprises a network slice that is in a requested network slice for the terminal device and that is not supported by a current tracking area of the terminal device, but is supported by another tracking area (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], if a Network Slice is configured to be available only in TAs covering specific dedicated frequency band(s), then there may be a need to redirect the UE to the dedicated frequency band(s) when such S-NSSAI is requested. If the Requested NSSAI contains S-NSSAI(s) that are not available in the UE's current TA, the AMF itself or by interacting with the NSSF may determine a Target NSSAI to be used by the NG-RAN);
determine to hand over the terminal device in an active state, wherein the terminal device corresponds to at least one network slice in the target network slice (see at least paragraphs [0142], [0171], [0227], a network slice corresponds to an ongoing PDU session.); and
initiate handover for the terminal device with an active session to a cell of a tracking area that supports the network slice, wherein the active session is associated with the network slice (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], the NG-RAN may attempt to find cells of TAs that may support all the S-NSSAIs in the Target S-NSSAIs, and if no such cell of a TA is available, the RAN may attempt to select cells of TAs that best match the Target S-NSSAI. Once the target cells are determined, the NG-RAN may initiate RRC redirection procedure (interpreted as initiate a handover) towards the target cells. The NG-RAN may attempt to ensure continuity of the PDU Sessions with activated User Plane associated with the S-NSSAJs in the Allowed NSSAI which are in the Target NSSAI. ).
As to claim 35: Ninglekhu discloses the apparatus according to claim 34. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to: receive indication information for handing over the terminal device with the active session to the cell of the tracking area that supports the network slice (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], NG-RAN to attempt to redirect (interpreted as indication information for handover) the UE to a cell and TA in another frequency band and TA that supports the S-NSSAIs in the Target NSSAI.); and initiate, based on the indication information, handover for the terminal device with the active session (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], once the target cells are determined, the NG-RAN may initiate RRC redirection procedure (interpreted as initiate a handover) towards the target cells. The NG-RAN may attempt to ensure continuity of the PDU Sessions with activated User Plane associated with the S-NSSAJs in the Allowed NSSAI which are in the Target NSSAI.).
As to claim 36: Ninglekhu discloses the apparatus according to claim 35. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein the indication information is the information about the target network slice (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], NG-RAN to attempt to redirect (interpreted as indication information for handover) the UE to a cell and TA in another frequency band and TA that supports the S-NSSAIs in the Target NSSAI.).
As to claim 37: Ninglekhu discloses the apparatus according to claim 34. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein the active session is a session with an activated user plane (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], the NG-RAN may attempt to ensure continuity of the PDU Sessions with activated User Plane associated with the S-NSSAJs in the Allowed NSSAI which are in the Target NSSAI. ).
As to claim 38: Ninglekhu discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (see at least paragraph [0267], a processor); and
at least one memory (see at least paragraph [0267], a memory) storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: obtain information about a target network slice for a terminal device (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], the Target NSSAI may only include S-NSSAIs that may be provided in an Allowed NSSAI for the UE.), wherein the target network slice comprises a network slice that is in a requested network slice for the terminal device and that is not supported by a current tracking area of the terminal device, but is supported by another tracking area (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], if a Network Slice is configured to be available only in TAs covering specific dedicated frequency band(s), then there may be a need to redirect the UE to the dedicated frequency band(s) when such S-NSSAI is requested. If the Requested NSSAI contains S-NSSAI(s) that are not available in the UE's current TA, the AMF itself or by interacting with the NSSF may determine a Target NSSAI to be used by the NG-RAN),
determine at least one network slice in the target network slice corresponds to the terminal device with an active session (see at least paragraphs [0142], [0171], [0227], a network slice corresponds to an ongoing PDU session.), and
send indication information for handing over the terminal device with an active session to a cell of a tracking area that supports the network slice see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], NG-RAN to attempt to redirect (interpreted as indication information for handover) the UE to a cell and TA in another frequency band and TA that supports the S-NSSAIs in the Target NSSAI. The NG-RAN may attempt to ensure continuity of the PDU Sessions with activated User Plane associated with the S-NSSAJs in the Allowed NSSAI which are in the Target NSSAI.).
As to claim 39: Ninglekhu discloses the apparatus according to claim 38. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein the indication information is the information about the target network slice (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], NG-RAN to attempt to redirect (interpreted as indication information for handover) the UE to a cell and TA in another frequency band and TA that supports the S-NSSAIs in the Target NSSAI.).
As to claim 40: Ninglekhu discloses the apparatus according to claim 38. Ninglekhu further discloses wherein the active session is a session with an activated user plane (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0098], the NG-RAN may attempt to ensure continuity of the PDU Sessions with activated User Plane associated with the S-NSSAJs in the Allowed NSSAI which are in the Target NSSAI. ).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tiwari et al. (US 20250039820) discloses Method For User Equipment (UE), UE, Method For Access And Mobility Management Function (AMF) And AMF.
Keller et al. (US 20240080787) discloses Redirection And Retry Of Registration.
Wei et al. (US 20200022033) discloses Devices And Methods For Slice-Compliant Handover Control.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464