DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "a spool mechanism" both in the first and second lines of the claim. It is unclear whether the applicant is attempting to introduce a new element or if they are referring to “a spool mechanism” introduced in the first line. If it is the latter, then the second iteration of the element should read “the spool mechanism”, otherwise proper correction is advised. Claim 16 is also rejected as it depends on the rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoermann (EP 0488419 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 17 and 20, Hoermann discloses a system and method for operating including and accessing a spool mechanism (Fig. 3; Pg. 10, ¶10, torsion spring device 1) comprising: a plurality of spring columns, wherein each spring column includes a set of a plurality of circumferentially-spaced springs (Fig. 1, 3; Pg. 11, ¶11, plurality of individual torsion springs 3); a plurality of circumferentially-spaced planetary gears, wherein each planetary gear is rotationally coupled to an associated spring (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶¶11-12, planet gears 10); a sun gear positioned inside of and gearingly coupled the plurality of the planetary gears (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶12, center gear 9); and a ring gear positioned outside of and gearingly coupled the plurality of the planetary gears (Fig. 1-6; Pg. 12, ¶13, internally toothed central gear 17); and wherein the set of springs, the plurality of planetary gears, the sun gear and the ring gear are configured such that when the ring gear is rotated in a first direction the set of springs exert a force on the ring gear to bias the ring gear in a second direction opposite to the first direction (Fig. 1-6; Pg. 13-14, ¶¶16-17).
Regarding claim 3, Hoermann discloses wherein the set of springs are generally aligned in a first radial plane (best depicted in Fig. 4-5), and wherein the system further includes a supplemental set of a plurality of circumferentially-spaced springs generally aligned in a second radial plane that is axially spaced away from the first radial plane, wherein each spring in the supplemental set of springs is rotationally coupled to an associated spring of the set of springs (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶¶11-12, the set of springs 3 are disposed mirrored to each other corresponding to a supplemental set).
Regarding claim 4, Hoermann discloses wherein each spring of the set of springs is aligned, in the axial direction, with an associated spring of the supplemental set of springs to thereby form a plurality of columns of springs (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11, ¶11, springs 3 being configured in a column).
Regarding claim 5, Hoermann discloses wherein each spring is a power spring having or being coupled to a central arbor, and wherein each arbor is rotationally coupled to the arbor of an axially-adjacent spring to thereby rotationally couple the axially adjacent springs (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11, ¶11, spring retaining axis 27).
Regarding claim 6, Hoermann discloses further comprising a plate, wherein each spring of the set of springs is coupled to the plate, and wherein the plate is generally aligned in a radial plane (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 12-13, ¶11, support disc 15).
Regarding claim 7, Hoermann discloses further comprising a plurality of spring retainers coupled to the plate, wherein each spring extends about and captures an associated spring therein (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11, ¶11, retaining cone 14, 13).
Regarding claim 8, Hoermann discloses wherein the planetary gears and configured to rotate about the sun gear and within the ring gear, and wherein the sun gear is positioned at a center of the spool mechanism (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶12, center gear 9).
Regarding claim 9, Hoermann discloses further comprising an axially-oriented post non-rotationally coupled relative to the sun gear (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶¶11-12, shaft 2).
Regarding claim 15, Hoermann discloses a method for operating a spool mechanism (Fig. 3; Pg. 10, ¶10, torsion spring device 1) comprising: accessing a spool mechanism including a set of a plurality of circumferentially-spaced springs and a plurality of circumferentially-spaced planetary gears (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶¶11-12, planet gears 10), wherein each planetary gear is rotationally coupled to an associated spring (Fig. 1, 3; Pg. 11, ¶11, plurality of individual torsion springs 3), the spool mechanism further including a sun gear positioned inside of and gearingly coupled the plurality of the planetary gears (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶12, center gear 9), and a ring gear positioned outside of and gearingly coupled the plurality of the planetary gears (Fig. 1-6; Pg. 12, ¶13, internally toothed central gear 17); and causing the ring gear to rotate in a first direction such that the springs exert a force on the ring gear biasing the ring gear in a second direction opposite to the first direction (Fig. 1-6; Pg. 13-14, ¶¶16-17).
Regarding claim 16, Hoermann discloses wherein the spool mechanism further includes an outer casing rotationally coupled to the ring gear and generally encapsulating the set of springs therein, wherein a net is coupled to the outer casing and configured to spool about, and unspool from, the spool mechanism based upon rotation of the outer casing (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶¶11-12, retainers 4, 5), and wherein the ring gear is caused to rotate by applying a force to the net (Pg. 10, ¶10, the device storing the gate leaf which corresponds to a net).
Regarding claim 18, Hoermann discloses wherein the spring columns are circumferentially spaced apart, wherein the plurality of planetary gears are circumferentially spaced apart, wherein the sun gear is positioned inside the plurality of planetary gears, and wherein the plurality of planetary gears are positioned inside the ring gear (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶¶11-12).
Regarding claim 19, Hoermann discloses wherein the plurality of planetary gears, the sun gear and the ring gear are all generally aligned in a radial plane, and wherein the plurality of spring columns are oriented in an axial direction (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶¶11-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoermann (EP 0488419 A1).
Regarding claims 10, 11 and 14, Hoermann discloses wherein the spool mechanism further includes an outer casing rotationally coupled to the ring gear and generally encapsulating the set of springs therein (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶¶11-12, retainers 4, 5), wherein the plurality of planetary gears, the sun gear and the ring gear are all located at or adjacent to one axial end of the outer casing (Fig. 1-3; Pg. 11-12, ¶¶11-12). While a supplemental spool mechanism and net are not necessarily disclosed It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a supplemental spool mechanism coupled with its gearing, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and MPEP 2144.04 (VI) B. Doing so would prove advantageous as it would provide an enhanced robustness and adaptability, allowing for higher torque transmission and more efficient speed reduction to the winding and unwinding of the net.
Regarding claim 12, Hoermann discloses further comprising a net coupled to the outer casing and configured to spool about, and unspool from, the spool mechanism based upon rotation of the outer casing (Pg. 10, ¶10, the device storing the gate leaf which corresponds to a net).
Regarding claim 13, Hoermann discloses wherein the spool mechanism is coupled to a first end of the net (Pg. 10, ¶10, the device storing the gate leaf which corresponds to a net). While a supplemental spool mechanism and net are not necessarily disclosed It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a supplemental spool mechanism coupled to a second, opposite end of the net, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and MPEP 2144.04 (VI) B. Doing so merely requires an additional mechanism which would provide additional material to cover a wider range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references refer to similar embodiments which comprise a planetary gear assembly with a ring and sun gear. Furthermore, the cited references rely on the force enacted by springs.
ERMIA E. MELIKA
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654