DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 08/10/2026.
Claims 1-6 are pending. Claims 1, 3 and 5 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (U.S. Publication 2024/0296283; hereinafter “Wei”).
In regard to independent claims 1, 3 and 5, Wei teaches at least one computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed, cause a computing device to perform operations comprising: managing workloads (Paragraph 0004, lines 6-11; “Clarification: physical volumes of originals are reduced means workloads has been managed;”) using an Infrastructure Processing Unit (IPU) (Paragraph 0017; “Note: processing apparatus being IPU wherein Examiner gave plain meaning of infrastructure processing unit and interpreted as any unit (software or hardware) that manages ‘infrastructure’ side of entities so that processor can run application more efficiently”);
optimizing (Paragraph 0005, lines 5-7; “Clarification: improve is equivalent to optimize”) an artificial intelligence (Al) model for an accelerator managed by the IPU (Paragraph 0018; “Note: computer program being the accelerator wherein Examiner interpreted accelerator as any subsystem (software or hardware) that optimizes execution for operations improving speed, efficiency and scalability and the accelerator (i.e. computer program) is being managed and controlled by the IPU (i.e. processing apparatus)”), wherein optimizing includes converting a high precision model to a compact low-precision model (Paragraph 0004, lines 4-6);
deploying the optimized Al model to the accelerator for execution of an inference; and storing, at a local memory, data relating to the Al model optimization (Paragraph 0003, lines 11-12; paragraph 0018; “Clarification: implements in paragraph 0018 means deployment”).
In regard to dependent claims 2, 4 and 6, Wei teaches optimizing includes converting a 32-bit floating point model to a 16-bit floating point model or an 8-bit integer type model (Paragraph 0004, lines 4-6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/10/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Such teachings of Wei do not disclose an Infrastructure Processing Unit, an accelerator managed by the IPU, or deployment of the optimized AI model by that IPU-managed arrangement to the accelerator for inference as recited by claim 1. “
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the term “Infrastructure processing unit (IPU)” is broad and there is nothing in the claim that preclude examiner to give plain meaning and interpreted as any unit (software or hardware) that manages ‘infrastructure’ side of entities so that processor can run application more efficiently.
Second, the term “accelerator” is also broad and there is nothing in the claim that precludes examiners to give plain meaning and interpreted as any subsystem (software or hardware) that optimizes execution for operations improving speed, efficiency and scalability.
With said interpretation, the primary reference explicitly teaches accelerator is managed by IPU (see paragraph 0017-18 wherein processing apparatus being IPU and a computer program being accelerator which is managed and controlled by IPU).
Regarding deployment and storing issue in question, the primary reference explicitly teaches how optimized model is being deployed and stored (see Paragraph 0003, lines 11-12; paragraph 0018; “Clarification: implements in paragraph 0018 means deployment”)
For details, please see the rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sabat et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0261685 - Teaches optimizing model by means of converting high precision model (e.g. 16-bit floating point) to low precision model (e.g. 8-bit integer).
Lee et al. US Publication 2022/0283851 – Teaches managing workload wherein infrastructure processing unit manages and controls accelerators of heterogeneous types.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Reza Nabi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174