DETAILED ACTION
Claims 4-9 have been cancelled.
Claims 10-26 have been newly added.
Claims 1-3 and 10-26 have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-3 from group I in the reply filed on 02/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/07/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. Claim 10 is directed to a system comprising a data protection service and a monitoring service. According to paragraph [0027] of the specification of the instant application: “Data protection service 110 is representative of a software service that provides data protection services…” and according to [0028]: “Monitoring service 120 is representative of a software service that is capable of monitoring dark web 130”. Therefore, claim 10 is directed software per se which is non-statutory. Claims 11-20 are also directed to software per se and are also non-statutory.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 10-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/785766 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant application
Copending Application No. 18/785766
1. (Original) A method of operating a data protection service, comprising: identifying one or more first hash values, each of the first hash values specifically identifying an enterprise data item of a plurality of enterprise data items in a data volume;
querying a monitoring service with the one or more first hash values;
receiving results from the monitoring service, wherein the results comprise an indication that at least one of the enterprise data items has been exfiltrated; and
initiating a mitigation action.
10. (New) A system comprising:
a data protection service configured to:
identify one or more first hash values, each of the first hash values specifically identifying an enterprise data item of a plurality of enterprise data items in a data volume,
query a monitoring service with the one or more first hash values,
receive results from the monitoring service, wherein the results comprise an indication that at least one of the enterprise data items has been exfiltrated, and initiate a mitigation action.
18. (New) The system of claim 17, wherein the data protection service is further configured to detect the potential breach by: generating a semantic description of the data volume,
querying the monitoring service with the semantic description, and receiving, from the monitoring service, an indication that exfiltrated data matches the semantic description.
1. A method of operating a data protection service, comprising:
Claim 3: generating the hash value associated with the data item;
Claim 7: querying an enterprise system for the semantic description of the data volume,
querying the monitoring service with a request to determine if the hash value matches a corresponding hash value of any of a plurality of exfiltrated data items; and receiving, from the monitoring service, an indication that one of the plurality of exfiltrated data items has a matching hash value.
Claim 1: initiating a mitigation action.
8. (Currently Amended) A system for operating a data protection service, the system comprising:
Claim 10: generating the hash value associated with the data item;
Claim 14: querying an enterprise system for the semantic description of the data volume,
querying the monitoring service with a request to determine if the hash value matches a corresponding hash value of any of a plurality of exfiltrated data items; and
receiving, from the monitoring service, an indication that one of the plurality of exfiltrated data items has a matching hash value;
claim 8: initiate a mitigation action.
Claim 8: generate a semantic description of a data volume, the semantic description comprising a natural-language description categorizing a set of data items in the data volume;
query the monitoring service with the semantic description, and determine whether the breach occurred based on results received from the monitoring service in response to the semantic description;
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 12, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10498748 to Fridman et al (hereinafter Fridman).
As per claims 1, 10, and 21, Fridman teaches:
A method of operating a data protection service, comprising:
identifying one or more first hash values, each of the first hash values specifically identifying an enterprise data item of a plurality of enterprise data items in a data volume (Fridman: column 6, lines 63-67: the enterprise, such as Enterprise A, prepares a database of data to be protected. Column 7, lines 1-20: Accordingly, the database 62 is forward hashed or encoded using a hasher 64 on the premises of the enterprise data network to generate a pre-index. The hasher 64 applies a forward hash function to the database 62. In this manner, the hasher 64 generates the pre-index of hashed data values from the clear text data in the database 62. Storing a database in a data volume was well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention);
querying a monitoring service with the one or more first hash values (Fridman: column 7, lines 26-27 and 66-67 and column 8, lines 1-4 and 20-50: With the pre-index thus generated, the hasher 64 uploads the pre-index to a multi-tenant cloud service 45. In cloud DLP system 50, the indexer cluster 52 is notified when the upload of the pre-index is complete. The indexer cluster 52 downloads the pre-index from the cloud service 45 and performs processing on the pre-index data to generate a search index of the pre-index which contains hash values of the database to be protected. The detection cluster 54 pulls or downloads the search index from cloud service 45. At the cloud DLP system 50, the detection cluster 54 receives data content or data files that belong to the enterprise for examination. The detection cluster 54, using the key 65, applies the same forward hash function to the data content to be examined. The detection cluster 54 then searches the data content in the hashed data files using the search index to detect for matched content);
receiving results from the monitoring service, wherein the results comprise an indication that at least one of the enterprise data items has been exfiltrated (Fridman: column 8, lines 52-67: in the event that matched data content in the hashed data files is found and the matched data content is deemed to be in violation of the enterprise's security policy, the detection cluster 54 may generates a warning flag or an alert in the detection result indicating potential violations. In the present example, the detection cluster 54 detects for data loss violations (data exfiltration) by using the search index to find matching data content from the hashed data content. Claim 1: determine that data that should not be outside the enterprise is outside the enterprise); and
initiating a mitigation action (Fridman: column 8, lines 52-60: the detection cluster 54 may be configured to apply remediation measures).
As per claims 12 and 23, Fridman teaches:
The system of claim 10, wherein: the identifying the one or more first hash values comprises identifying a plurality of hash values, each specifically identifying one of a plurality of enterprise data items in the data volume, the results further comprise an indication that a subset of the plurality of enterprise data items has been exfiltrated (Fridman: column 8, lines 29-67: At the cloud DLP system 50, the detection cluster 54 receives data content or data files that belong to the enterprise for examination. The detection cluster 54, using the key 65, applies the same forward hash function to the data content to be examined. The detection cluster 54 then searches the data content in the hashed data files using the search index to detect for matched content. In the event that matched data content in the hashed data files is found and the matched data content is deemed to be in violation of the enterprise's security policy, the detection cluster 54 may generates a warning flag or an alert in the detection result indicating potential violations. The detection cluster 54 may be configured to apply remediation measures, such as deleting or quarantining the data content containing the violation, i.e., a subset of data content is identified as exfiltrated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 11, 14-16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fridman and US 11201728 to Bouchard et al (hereinafter Bouchard).
As per claims 2, 11, and 22, Fridman teaches:
The method of claim 1 wherein: the identifying the one or more first hash values comprises generating the one or more first hash values using a hashing algorithm (Fridman: Column 7, lines 1-20: The hasher 64 applies a forward hash function to the database 62. In this manner, the hasher 64 generates the pre-index of hashed data values from the clear text data in the database 62), and the indication that at least one of the plurality of enterprise data items has been exfiltrated (Fridman: column 8, lines 29-67: At the cloud DLP system 50, the detection cluster 54 receives data content or data files that belong to the enterprise for examination. The detection cluster 54, using the key 65, applies the same forward hash function to the data content to be examined. The detection cluster 54 then searches the data content in the hashed data files using the search index to detect for matched content. In the event that matched data content in the hashed data files is found and the matched data content is deemed to be in violation of the enterprise's security policy, the detection cluster 54 may generates a warning flag or an alert in the detection result indicating potential violations).
Fridman teaches determining that enterprise data has been exfiltrated but does not teach: to a dark web. However, Bouchard teaches:
the indication that at least one of the plurality of enterprise data items has been exfiltrated to a dark web (Bouchard: column 4, lines 50-67: a centralized data leakage mitigation service can utilize the disclosed example data leakage mitigation solutions to search multiple data sources (e.g., public websites, public data services, the dark web, etc.) and compare the protected data fingerprints in the blockchain with fingerprints of data items found on those data sources to identify leaked data items corresponding to the protected data items represented by the protected data fingerprints in the blockchain. column 15, lines 53-66: For example, if the leaked data item is verified and also corresponds to a protected data item with a protected data fingerprint in the fingerprint database 410, the leaked data notifier 430 issues the data leakage notification to indicate that the leaked data item is associated with the protected data item and has been verified).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Bouchard in the invention of Fridman to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to perform data leakage mitigation with a blockchain (Bouchard: column 2, lines 46-47).
As per claim 14, Fridman teaches:
The system of claim 10, further comprising: the monitoring service configured to: (Fridman: column 8, lines 29-40: At the cloud DLP system 50, the detection cluster 54 receives data content or data files that belong to the enterprise for examination. For example, data files or network data traffic can be provided by the network intermediary 25 which intercepts network traffic to and from the enterprise. The data files can be files being uploaded or downloaded to or from the enterprise data network, i.e., the data files are not obtained from the data protection service. The detection cluster 54, using the key 65, applies the same forward hash function to the data content to be examined. The detection cluster 54 then search the data content in the hashed data files using the search index to detect for matched content.).
Fridman does not teach: scrape a dark web to obtain exfiltrated data items. However, Bouchard teaches:
scrape a dark web to obtain exfiltrated data items (Bouchard: column 4, lines 50-67: a centralized data leakage mitigation service can utilize the disclosed example data leakage mitigation solutions to search multiple data sources (e.g., public websites, public data services, the dark web, etc.) and compare the protected data fingerprints in the blockchain with fingerprints of data items found on those data sources to identify leaked data items corresponding to the protected data items represented by the protected data fingerprints in the blockchain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Bouchard in the invention of Fridman to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to perform data leakage mitigation with a blockchain (Bouchard: column 2, lines 46-47).
As per claim 15, Fridman in view of Bouchard teaches:
The system of claim 14, wherein the monitoring service is further configured to: obtain the one or more first hash values from the data protection service (Fridman: column 6, lines 63-67: the enterprise, such as Enterprise A, prepares a database of data to be protected. Column 7, lines 1-27: Because the database 62 contains sensitive data, the database 62 cannot leave the enterprise premises in clear text. Accordingly, the database 62 is forward hashed or encoded using a hasher 64 on the premises of the enterprise data network to generate a pre-index. The hasher 64 applies a forward hash function to the database 62. In this manner, the hasher 64 generates the pre-index of hashed data values from the clear text data in the database 62. With the pre-index thus generated, the hasher 64 uploads the pre-index to a multi-tenant cloud service 45.), compare the one or more first hash values with the associated hash values, generate the results based on at least one match between the one or more first hash values and the associated hash values, and provide the results to the data protection service (Fridman: column 8, lines 46-56: The detection cluster 54, using the key 65, applies the same forward hash function to the data content to be examined. The detection cluster 54 then searches the data content in the hashed data files using the search index to detect for matched content. I3n the event that matched data content in the hashed data files is found and the matched data content is deemed to be in violation of the enterprise's security policy, the detection cluster 54 may generates a warning flag or an alert in the detection result indicating potential violations).
As per claim 16, Fridman in view of Bouchard teaches:
The system of claim 15, wherein: the data protection service is further configured to generate each of the first hash values by processing the associated enterprise data item with a hashing algorithm (Fridman: Column 7, lines 1-27: Accordingly, the database 62 is forward hashed or encoded using a hasher 64 on the premises of the enterprise data network to generate a pre-index. The hasher 64 applies a forward hash function to the database 62. In this manner, the hasher 64 generates the pre-index of hashed data values from the clear text data in the database 62), and the monitoring service is further configured to generate the associated hash values using the same hashing algorithm, thereby facilitating the detection of exfiltrated data matching enterprise data (Fridman: column 8, lines 46-56: The cloud DLP system 50 is provided with the key 65 used by the enterprise to perform forward hashing of the database 62. The detection cluster 54, using the key 65, applies the same forward hash function to the data content to be examined. The detection cluster 54 then search the data content in the hashed data files using the search index to detect for matched content).
Claims 3, 13, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fridman and US 11750625 to Sharma et al (hereinafter Sharma).
As per claim 3, Fridman teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein: the identifying the one or more first hash values comprises identifying a plurality of hash values, each specifically identifying one of a plurality of enterprise data items in the data volume, the results further comprise an indication that a subset of the plurality of enterprise data items has been exfiltrated (Fridman: column 8, lines 29-67: At the cloud DLP system 50, the detection cluster 54 receives data content or data files that belong to the enterprise for examination. The detection cluster 54, using the key 65, applies the same forward hash function to the data content to be examined. The detection cluster 54 then searches the data content in the hashed data files using the search index to detect for matched content. In the event that matched data content in the hashed data files is found and the matched data content is deemed to be in violation of the enterprise's security policy, the detection cluster 54 may generates a warning flag or an alert in the detection result indicating potential violations. The detection cluster 54 may be configured to apply remediation measures, such as deleting or quarantining the data content containing the violation, i.e., a subset of data content is identified as exfiltrated), and
Fridman does not teach: the initiating the mitigation action comprises: estimating an extent of a data breach based at least on a number of enterprise data items in the subset, and generating a report indicating the extent of the data breach. However, Sharma teaches:
the initiating the mitigation action comprises: estimating an extent of a data breach based at least on a number of enterprise data items in the subset, and generating a report indicating the extent of the data breach (Sharma: column 6, lines 20-22 and 44-46: Returning to FIG. 2, the breach detection component 208 is configured to detect or otherwise identify a data breach. In response to a breach, the remediation component 210 may instruct the monitoring component 202 to determine the extent of the breach. The extent of the breach may be determined by the volume (number) of customer information that is compromised. Column 10, lines 13-16: Additionally, law enforcement may be notified (generating a report) of the extent of a breach along with the list of compromised customers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Sharma in the invention of Fridman to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to initiate remediation as a function of risk severity (Sharma: column 1, lines 38-39).
As per claims 13 and 24, Fridman does not teach the limitations of claim 13. However, Sharma teaches:
wherein the mitigation action comprises: estimating an extent of a data breach based at least on a number of enterprise data items in the subset, and generating a report indicating the extent of the data breach (Sharma: column 6, lines 20-22 and 44-46: Returning to FIG. 2, the breach detection component 208 is configured to detect or otherwise identify a data breach. In response to a breach, the remediation component 210 may instruct the monitoring component 202 to determine the extent of the breach. The extent of the breach may be determined by the volume (number) of customer information that is compromised. Column 10, lines 13-16: Additionally, law enforcement may be notified (generating a report) of the extent of a breach along with the list of compromised customers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Sharma in the invention of Fridman to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to initiate remediation as a function of risk severity (Sharma: column 1, lines 38-39).
Claims 17 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fridman and US 20210409435 to Gowda et al (hereinafter Gowda).
As per claim 17, Fridman teaches:
The system of claim 10, wherein: the system further comprises the data volume, the data protection service is further configured to detect a potential breach of the data volume, and the querying with the one or more first hash values is performed to verify the potential breach (Fridman: column 6, lines 63-67: the enterprise, such as Enterprise A, prepares a database of data to be protected. Storing a database in a data volume was well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Column 8, lines 46-67: The detection cluster 54 then search the data content in the hashed data files using the search index to detect for matched content. In the event that matched data content in the hashed data files is found and the matched data content is deemed to be in violation of the enterprise's security policy, the detection cluster 54 may generates a warning flag or an alert in the detection result indicating potential violations. In the present example, the detection cluster 54 detects for data loss violations (data exfiltration) by using the search index to find matching data content from the hashed data content).
Fridman teaches data breach of a database but does not explicitly teach: detect a potential breach of the data volume. However, Gowda teaches:
detect a potential breach of the data volume (Gowda: [0032]: One or more embodiments include applying such techniques at storage layers such as LUNs (data volume) and file systems to detect data breach patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Gowda in the invention of Fridman to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to detect security threats in storage systems using artificial intelligence (AI) techniques (Gowda: [0003]).
As per claim 25, Fridman teaches:
The computer-readable storage media device of claim 21, wherein the program instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: wherein the querying with the one or more first hash values is performed in response to detecting the potential breach (Fridman: Column 8, lines 46-67: The detection cluster 54 then search the data content in the hashed data files using the search index to detect for matched content. In the event that matched data content in the hashed data files is found and the matched data content is deemed to be in violation of the enterprise's security policy, the detection cluster 54 may generates a warning flag or an alert).
Fridman does not teach: detect a potential breach of the data volume. However, Gowda teaches:
detect a potential breach of the data volume (Gowda: [0032]: One or more embodiments include applying such techniques at storage layers such as LUNs and file systems to detect data breach patterns. [0035]-[0036]: Additionally, as depicted in FIG. 2, real-time performance and capacity data (derived from one or more storage objects of a storage system) are evaluated by the machine learning security threat detection model 214 to detect one or more data patterns therein. If at least one such detected pattern matches a security threat-related pattern (as determined via the machine learning security threat detection model 214), a security threat detection output 216 is generated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Gowda in the invention of Fridman to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to detect security threats in storage systems using artificial intelligence (AI) techniques (Gowda: [0003]).
Claims 18, 19, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fridman in view of Gowda as applied to claims 17 and 25 above, and further in view of WO 2025087520 A1 to Pogorelik et al (hereinafter Pogorelik).
As per claims 18 and 26, Fridman in view of Gowda does not teach the limitations of claim 18. However, Pogorelik teaches:
wherein the data protection service is further configured to detect the potential breach by: generating a semantic description of the data volume, querying the monitoring service with the semantic description, and receiving, from the monitoring service, an indication that exfiltrated data matches the semantic description (Pogorelik: page 6, lines 1-20: In operation, at step 102, the method 100 includes obtaining one or more semantic interpretations of an input text with a generative pre-trained transformer, GPT, configured for interpreting the input text with reference to a target context. In other words, the GPT is configured to analyze and generate one or more semantic interpretations of the input text. Furthermore, at step 104, the method 100 includes determining whether the input text includes a hidden data leakage by checking the semantic interpretations of the input text with a data leak prevention, DLP, system configured for detecting a data leakage based on a collection of words and phrases of interest. The DLP system utilizes the collection of words and phrases of interest that can be used to check the semantic interpretations of the input text with the data leak prevention. Moreover, the corresponding words and phrases of interest are indicative of sensitive information or data leakage. Therefore, if any of the words or phrases from the collection of the words and phrases of interest are detected within the semantic interpretations, then, in such a case, the data leakage is detected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Pogorelik in the invention of Fridman in view of Gowda to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to mitigate the risk of sensitive information being leaked through semantic manipulation (Pogorelik: page 5, lines 25-26).
As per claim 19, Fridman in view of Gowda and Pogorelik teaches:
The system of claim 18, wherein the semantic description comprises a natural- language description of at least a portion of data items in the data volume (Pogorelik: page 10, lines 6-15: Furthermore, the probing engine 206 is configured for obtaining one or more semantic interpretations of the input text 212 by loading the input text 212 to the GPT 210 configured for interpreting the input text 212 with reference to the target context. The GPT 210 refers to a specialized component or model that is used for natural language processing to analyze and generate human-like text based on the input text 212 and targeted context).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Fridman in view of Gowda and Pogorelik as in claim 18 above.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fridman in view of Gowda and Pogorelik as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Bouchard.
As per claim 20, Fridman in view of Gowda and Pogorelik teaches:
The system of claim 18, further comprising: the monitoring service configured to: (Pogorelik: page 6, lines 1-20: In operation, at step 102, the method 100 includes obtaining one or more semantic interpretations of an input text with a generative pre-trained transformer, GPT, configured for interpreting the input text with reference to a target context. In other words, the GPT is configured to analyze and generate one or more semantic interpretations of the input text. Furthermore, at step 104, the method 100 includes determining whether the input text includes a hidden data leakage by checking the semantic interpretations of the input text with a data leak prevention, DLP, system configured for detecting a data leakage based on a collection of words and phrases of interest. The DLP system utilizes the collection of words and phrases of interest that can be used to check the semantic interpretations of the input text with the data leak prevention. Moreover, the corresponding words and phrases of interest are indicative of sensitive information or data leakage. Therefore, if any of the words or phrases from the collection of the words and phrases of interest are detected within the semantic interpretations, then, in such a case, the data leakage is detected).
Fridman in view of Gowda and Pogorelik does not teach: scrape a dark web to obtain exfiltrated data items. However, Bouchard teaches:
scrape a dark web to obtain exfiltrated data items (Bouchard: column 4, lines 50-67: a centralized data leakage mitigation service can utilize the disclosed example data leakage mitigation solutions to search multiple data sources (e.g., public websites, public data services, the dark web, etc.) and compare the protected data fingerprints in the blockchain with fingerprints of data items found on those data sources to identify leaked data items corresponding to the protected data items represented by the protected data fingerprints in the blockchain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Bouchard in the invention of Fridman in view of Gowda and Pogorelik to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to perform data leakage mitigation with a blockchain (Bouchard: column 2, lines 46-47).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10412102 to Fridman et al: A system for providing data loss prevention services includes an indexer system configured to generate a search index based on structured data to be protected and a detection system configured to receive the search index and network data content and to detect in the network data content for matching data based on the search index. The detection system includes a first processor and multiple graphical processing units. The first processor provides words from the network data content in parallel to each of the graphical processing units, each graphical processing unit receiving a different word from the network data content. The graphical processing units perform detection of the words in parallel to detect for matched data content in at least a portion of the search index.
US 11582248 to El-Moussa: A computer implemented method to detect a data breach in a network-connected computing system including generating, at a trusted secure computing device, a copy of data distributed across a network; the computing device accessing sensitive information for the network-connected computer system and searching for at least part of the sensitive information in the copy of the data; in response to an identification of sensitive information in the copy of the data identifying the sensitive information as compromised sensitive information.
MADHURI R. HERZOG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2438
/MADHURI R HERZOG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438