Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US PGPUB 2019/0267146.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 12, ‘146 discloses a remote control for a radiographic source comprising a drive cable (Drive Cable, [0025]), a drive gear (Crank Arm, [0022] including motor [0065]), a control conduit (112, Fig 1, Guide Tube), and a drive cable storage drum (108, [0022-27]). The crank arm rotating to acuate a source in a first direction to extend a source cable and a second direction to retract the source cable into storage.
Regarding claim 2, ‘146 shows a drive cable storage about crank 108 fixed in size and position to the crank 108 in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 3, ‘146 shows the cable is coiled as the crank arm is rotated to advance or retract the cable in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 7, ‘146 includes a conduit connector 212 securing a control conduit to a source housing (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, ‘146 discloses a handle on the crank arm to actuate the gear (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, ‘146 discloses a housing housing a drive gear (Item 108) where the conduit rotates with respect to the housing (Fig. 1, [0022-0027]).
Regarding claim 14, ‘146 discloses, as illustrated in Fig. 3 and described in the disclosure, the connecting a cable to a source via connectors 212 and 216, locking the source to the cable prior to articulation of the source.
Regarding claim 15, ‘146 discloses unlocking and disconnecting the source after cable retraction [0076, for example].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2019/0267146 in view of US PGPUB 2022/0132646.
Regarding claims 5-6, ‘146 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 noted above. ‘146 fails to disclose a drive gear housing having a grip. ‘646 discloses a similar radiographic apparatus including a drive gear housing comprising a grip coupling the storage drum to a housing (Fig. 5A-5B). ‘646 modifies ‘146 to provide a radiographic source control apparatus having a cable housed in a grip. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the ‘146 and ‘646 art to produce a portable source with a more ergonomic grip structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 11, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the remote control as defined in claim 1, wherein the drive cable storage drum comprises a window configured to enable viewing of at least a portion of the drive cable within the drive cable storage drum.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the remote control as defined in claim 1, further comprising a storage conduit positioned between the drive gear and the drive cable storage drum.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the method of claim 12 further comprising cleaning at least a portion of the source cable in the storage drum.
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to teach or suggest a method to clean a remote control for a radiographic source, the method comprising: retracting a portion of a source cable of a remote control for a radiographic source into a storage drum attached to the remote control; and adding a cleaning agent to the storage drum to clean the portion of the source cable within the storage drum as recited in claim 16. Claims 17-20 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Conclusion
DAVID A. VANORE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/DAVID A VANORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878