DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing of 7/26/2024. Claims 1-17 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
Claims 5,11,17 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 5 recites in lines 3-4, “wherein each of the plurality of PRS resources is each of a plurality of transmission beams, respectively”; consistent with the specification [see para 21,247 of PGpub] this should be changed to “wherein each of the plurality of PRS resources is related to each of a plurality of transmission beams, respectively”. Claims 11,17 recite similar language, and are object for the same reason as above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites in lines 3-4 “receiving, from a user equipment (UE), first positioning reference signal (PRS) information which is most preferred by the UE”. This subject matter was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention [this application is continuation of 17/431,027; the present claims are filed 7/26/24]. The examiner is unable to find support for any level of ‘preferred’ PRS. Thus this subject matter is not supported by the original specification, and fails to comply with the written description requirement. [for examination purpose, this is interpreted as “receiving, from a user equipment (UE), first positioning reference signal (PRS) information which indicate resources for the UE”]
Independent claims 7,13 recite similar language as above, and therefore are rejected for the same reasons as in claim 1 above.
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-12, 14-17 are rejected for their direct/indirect dependencies on claims 1,7,13.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the network node" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,691. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim 13 is broader than the above-mentioned patent claim 4. That is, present claim 13 is anticipated by claim 4 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,095,691.
US Patent 12,095,691 claims
Present Application claims
4. A user equipment (UE) configured to operate in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
a transceiver; a memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor connected to the memory and the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising:
transmitting first information including a best positioning reference signal (PRS) resource which is determined by the UE;
receiving, after the transmission of the first information, second information including configuration for a reference transmission point (TP);
receiving a plurality of PRSs from a plurality of TPs including the reference TP;
performing a reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement based on (i) the plurality of PRSs and (ii) a reference timing, wherein the reference timing is obtained based on the reference TP; and
reporting the RSTD measurement, wherein the configuration for the reference TP includes PRS resource information of the reference TP.
5. The UE of claim 4, wherein the PRS resource information of the reference comprises information indicating a PRS resource set of the reference TP.
13. A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions, and
a processor configured to perform operations, by executing the instructions, the operations comprising:
transmitting first positioning reference signal (PRS) information which indicate resources for the UE;
receiving, after the transmission of the first PRS information, configuration information for PRS receptions, which includes second PRS information of a reference transmission point (TP);
performing a reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement which is related to the PRS receptions and the reference TP, and
transmitting the RSTD measurement.
14. The UE of claim 13, wherein the second PRS information comprises information regarding a PRS resource set of the reference TP.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3,6-7,9,12-13,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edge et al. (US 2019/0037338).
Regarding claim 1:
Edge discloses a system and method performed by a network node in a wireless communication system (see figures; abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), first positioning reference signal (PRS) information which indicate resources for the UE (para 3-8; figures 2-3; para 62, partially reproduced herein with emphasis {message sent at actions 204 and 205 may indicate the positioning capabilities of the UE … determine a suitable position method… UE 105 indicates support for OTDOA and for requesting increased PRS resource}; fig 6);
transmitting, after the reception of the first PRS information, configuration information for PRS transmissions, which includes second PRS information of a reference transmission point (TP) (para 47 {PRS configuration for the reference and neighbor cells...} [reference cell is reference TP]; para 63 {send an NRPPa Information Request message at action 206 to AMF 115, which may be relayed to the serving node gNB 110-1 by the AMF 115 at action 207. The NRPPa Information Request may request location-related information for the gNB 110-1, such as the location of the gNB 110-1, PRS configuration parameters}[serving node is reference TP]; fig 2-6), and
receiving a reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement which is related to the PRS transmissions and the reference TP (; para 43,48; figs 2-3; para 65 {positioning measurements may for example include Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) measurements}; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 7:
Edge discloses all of the subject matter as described above and further discloses a network node in a wireless communication system (figs 1-3; network node in figure 8), comprising: a memory configured to store instructions (fig 8 [memory 840]; para 115-118,136), and a processor configured to perform operations (fig 8 [processor 830]; and throughout disclosure), by executing the instructions, as described in claim 1 above, thus claim 7 is rejected with similar rationale under teachings of the prior art as above.
Regarding claim 13:
Edge discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (abstract; figures), the UE comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions (figures 1-3; figure 9 [memory 940]), and
a processor configured to perform operations, by executing the instructions (fig 9 [processor 911]; para 119-126), the operations comprising:
transmitting first positioning reference signal (PRS) information which indicate resources by the UE (para 3-8; figs 2-3; para 62 {message sent at actions 204 and 205 may indicate the positioning capabilities of the UE … determine a suitable position method… UE 105 indicates support for OTDOA and for requesting increased PRS resource}; fig 6);
receiving, after the transmission of the first PRS information, configuration information for PRS receptions, which includes second PRS information of a reference transmission point (TP) (para 47 {PRS configuration for the reference and neighbor cells...} [reference cell is reference TP]; para 63 {send an NRPPa Information Request message at action 206 to AMF 115, which may be relayed to the serving node gNB 110-1 by the AMF 115 at action 207. The NRPPa Information Request may request location-related information for the gNB 110-1, such as the location of the gNB 110-1, PRS configuration parameters}[serving node is reference TP]; fig 2-6);
performing a reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement which is related to the PRS receptions and the reference TP (para 43,48; para 65 {positioning measurements may for example include Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) measurements}), and
transmitting the RSTD measurement (figs 2-3; para 65-67; para 76 {UE 105 may also be configured to then include the RSTD measurements obtained at the action 311 in an LPP/NPP Provide Location Information message which may be sent to LMF 120 via AMF 115 (e.g., similar to or the same as the transmission performed at action 215 }; figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claims 3,9,15:
Edge discloses all of the subject matter as described above and performing PRS transmissions based on the configuration information for the PRS transmissions (para 42 {configuration information for PRS transmission and location coordinates }; para 87,110; figs; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 6,12:
Edge discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the network node comprises a location management function (LMF) server (fig 1a,2 [LMF 120]; para 38; throughout the disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,4,5,8,10,1114,16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (US 2019/0037338) in view of Edge et al. (US 2022/0408220; Edge ‘220 hereinafter).
Regarding claims 2,8,14:
Edge discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that wherein the second PRS information comprises information regarding a PRS resource set of the reference TP.
However, Edge ‘220 in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein the second PRS information comprises information regarding a PRS resource set of the reference TP (para 47,63; figures ; para 37 {..transmit PRS using an increased quantity of resources..}; para 51,55; para 108 {PRS transmission over a whole network in a consistent manner such that the same set of additional REs are either used for increased PRS transmission…}; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Edge ‘220 in Edge in order to provide location service that enable PRS transmission to be responsive to whether or not PRS measurement by mobile devices is needed [2,3] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claims 4,10,16:
Edge discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that wherein the network node is related to one or more TPs for the PRS transmissions.
However, Edge ‘220 in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein the network node is related to one or more TPs for the PRS transmissions (para 59,65,84,114; figs; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Edge ‘220 in Edge in order to provide location service that enable PRS transmission to be responsive to whether or not PRS measurement by mobile devices is needed [2,3] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claims 5,11,17:
Edge discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that wherein each of the one or more TPs is allocated with a plurality of PRS resources, and wherein each of the plurality of PRS resources is related to each of a plurality of transmission beams, respectively.
However, Edge ‘220 in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein each of the one or more TPs is allocated with a plurality of PRS resources, and wherein each of the plurality of PRS resources is related to each of a plurality of transmission beams, respectively (para 59,65,84,114; para 70 {determine directional PRS beams for each gNB}; figs; para 88-91,110; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Edge ‘220 in Edge in order to provide location service that enable PRS transmission to be responsive to whether or not PRS measurement by mobile devices is needed [2,3] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Manolakos et al. (US 2021/0050978) discloses a system and method for interaction of DRX with PRS resources.
Lincoln et al. (US 2019/0158345) discloses a system and method for dormant mode measurement optimization.
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631