DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cherian et al (US 2020/0260488, “Cherian”).
Re claims 1, 8 and 15, Cherian discloses determining to use Distributed Resource Units (DRUs) for a Transmit Opportunity (TXOP); requesting neighbor Access Point (AP) traffic information from a neighbor AP; receiving the neighbor AP traffic information from the neighbor AP (paragraph [0051]); determining a DRU assignment for the neighbor AP based on the neighbor AP traffic information; sending the DRU assignment to the neighbor AP ((paragraph [0034]; figure 3); and exchanging traffic with one or more Stations (STAs) using Coordinated Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiple Access (C-OFDMA) with DRUs during the TXOP, wherein the neighbor AP is operable to exchange neighbor AP traffic with one or more additional STAs during the TXOP using C-OFDMA with DRUs based on the DRU assignment (paragraphs [0048] and [0049]).
Re claims 3, 10 and 19, Cherian discloses determining to use DRUs comprises determining that the traffic for exchange during the TXOP is below a threshold of tone occupation (paragraph [0074], the mTXOP allocation… to limit which STAs may use the sub-TXOP 926 for opportunistic uplink access).
Re claims 4, 11 and 18, Cherian discloses selecting a portion of available DRUs during the TXOP, wherein exchanging the traffic with the one or more STAs using C-OFDMA with DRUs comprises using the portion of available DRUs (figure 6c; paragraph [0066]).
Re claims 5 and 12, Cherian discloses the traffic and the neighbor AP traffic is any one of (i) Downlink (DL) communications, (ii) triggered Uplink (UL) communications, or (iii) a combination of (i) and (ii) (paragraph [0074]).
Re claims 6 and 13, Cherian discloses the neighbor AP traffic information comprises a Buffer Status Report (BSR) (paragraph [0034]).
Re claims 7, 14 and 20, Cherian discloses determining to use DRUs, requesting neighbor AP traffic information from the neighbor AP, and receiving the neighbor AP traffic information from the neighbor AP are before the TXOP ((paragraph [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian in view of Park et al (US 2023/0103807, “Park”).
Re claims 2, 9, 16 and 17, Cherian discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose receiving/sending a C-OFDMA with DRU capability signal from/to the neighbor AP indicating the neighbor AP is capable of using C-OFDMA with DRUs. However, Park discloses exchanging C-OFDMA capability signal among APs (paragraph [0292]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cherian with Park for the benefit of providing channel switching only to AP participating in the C-OFDMA with DRU capability (paragraph [0060] of Cherian).
Conclusion
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467