DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In Claims 2 and 5, the feature, “projection” constitutes new matter which was not disclosed in the originally filed specification and cannot be added.
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In Claim 9, the limitation providing a second surface oriented at an angle relative to the first surface constitutes new matter which was not disclosed in the originally filed specification and cannot be added.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation providing that the mounting is configured to couple to one of a stock, a barrel, or a frame of the crossbow constitutes new matter which was not disclosed in the originally filed specification and cannot be added.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation providing that the length of rope comprises one of a cable, a chain, a strap, a ribbon, or a wire constitutes new matter which was not disclosed in the originally filed specification and cannot be added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-14, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pestrue, U.S. Patent Application No. 2009/0277435, in view of Chang, U.S. Patent Application No. 2006/0169258. As to Claim 1, Pestrue teaches a bow string positioning system (20) comprising a length of rope (50) connected between two separate points on an axle supported by a housing (24), paragraphs 0047, 0053. An axle is inherently present as indicated by crank handle operating take up spools. A bowstring connector (60) may be joined to the length of rope and connectable to a bowstring, paragraph 0054. A mounting may comprise an opening (hole) including an inner surface (inside of hole) and an outer surface (top of stock), paragraph 0049. Pestrue teaches a crank (48) operable to rotate take up spools to control an extent to which the length of rope is wound onto the spools and a position of the bowstring connector relative to the spools, paragraphs 0061-0064. Pestrue teaches that the crank on the outside of the housing operates the spools on each side of the housing to wind the rope on to the spools, suggesting that a rotating axle is present connecting the handle to the spools, see Figure 1A, suggesting the presence of an axle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide an axle as suggested. The housing may be assembled with the mounting, paragraph 0049, noting that a projection (27) may be inserted into the hole. A first contact is established between the housing and the mounting at an engagement length (length of contacting surfaces) along at least a portion of the inner surface of the opening and a second contact between the housing and the mounting at an outer surface of the opening, paragraph 0049, noting that the lower surface of the housing contacts an upper surface of the stock. Pestrue, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for providing an integral mounting instead of a mounting configured to couple to the crossbow. Chang teaches a crossbow bowstring positioning system (10, 20, 30) comprising a housing (20) and a mounting (10), paragraph 0030. The mounting may be configured to couple to a crossbow, paragraph 0031. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the mounting for coupling to a crossbow, as taught by Chang, to provide Pestrue, as modified, with a known substitute component of the bowstring positioning system. The examiner finds that the bowstring positioning system of prior art possesses the structural features of the inventive bowstring positioning system and is capable of performing in the same manner namely that first and second portions of force are applied and resisted as claimed. “The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977, MPEP 2112. As to Claim 2, Pestrue teaches that the housing may include a projection and the mounting may include the opening arranged to receive the projection over the engagement length, paragraph 0049. As to Claim 3, Pestrue teaches that the projection may taper toward the distal end, paragraph 0007, suggesting that portions of the projection inside the mounting may not be in contact with the inside surface of the mounting. It is inherent that the opening has a length and it follows that the engagement length may be less than the length of the opening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to set the engagement length less than the length of the opening, as suggested. As to Claim 4, Pestrue teaches that the projection may extend from a from a front facing surface of the housing and the opening may extend from a back facing surface of the mounting toward a front facing surface of the mounting (forward end of crossbow stock, see Figure 5. As to Claim 9, Pestrue, as modified by Chang, is applied as in Claim 1, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. Further, Pestrue teaches that the housing may comprise a first surface (lower surface of housing having a flat shape) and a second surface (upper surface of projection having shape configured as a cross), paragraphs 0048 and 0049 and see Figure 4E. It follows that the second surface may be oriented at an angle relative to the first surface. As to Claim 10, Chang teaches that the mounting may be configured to couple to the stock (butt), paragraph 0031. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Pestrue, as modified, with the mounting configured to couple to the stock, as taught by Chang, to provide Pestrue, as modified, with a known substitute coupling configuration for the mounting. As to Claim 11, Pestrue, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for specifying the material of the rope as one of the claimed alternatives. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the rope of a material as claimed since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). As to Claim 12, Pestrue teaches an axle lock (34) configured to permit rotation in a first direction and resist rotation in an opposite second direction, paragraph 0052, noting selective engagement of the lock with ratcheting mechanism. As to Claim 13, Pestrue teaches that the crank mechanism (handle) have be attached to one of the spools (38, 40), paragraph 0053, one of which is on the left and one is one the right, see Figure 1A. Figure 1A illustrates the crank on the right. Figure 1C illustrates the crank on the left. It follows that the crank mechanism is configured to be operated from either of two opposing end portions of the axle to permit left or right hand use. As to Claim 14, Pestrue teaches that a ratcheting mechanism may include a spring biased pawl selectively engaged with teeth of a ratchet wheel, paragraph 0052, suggesting that the pawl may be disengaged so as to rotate an axle to unwind the rope moving the bowstring connector toward and uncocked position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Pestrue, as modified, with operable capability for unwinding the rope toward an uncocked position, as suggested. As to Claim 19, Pestrue is applied as in Claim 2, with the post considered as a counterpart to the projection. As to Claim 20 Pestrue is applied as in Claims 1 and 3.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,447. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Claim 2 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 2, with the post being considered a counterpart to the projection. Claim 3 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 3. Claim 4 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 4, with the receiving area being considered a counterpart to the opening.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) submitted 17 July 2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
.
.
.
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 31 July 2026