DETAILED ACTION
Miscellaneous
Claims pending: 1, 3-15,
Claims amended: 1, 11,
Claims cancelled: 2,
New claims: n/a
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to claim 8 overcomes the objection raised, therefore the objection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11, have been fully considered.
Regarding applicant’s remarks dated 02/02/2026, regarding current cited reference Ruffini fail to teach the amended claim(s) 1, 11.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in further view of Ruffini, see detailed action below for explanation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For claims 1, 11, the claimed preamble claims “the URL pointing to a list of content metadata of user selected content…”, however, there appears to be no direct written support within the cited portions of the disclosure, specifically Fig 7-8, and P. 102-119, Fig 7, item 20 is a list of content metadata consisting of content items A1-E1, but the URL (address info) only points to a specific content within that list, such as content B1 pointing to content A within user customized channel 10, thus no direct support for “…address information comprising URL associated with user customized channel and the URL pointing to a list of content metadata of user selected content…”
Further action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
For claims 1, 11, the claimed “from a channel server…generated by a channel server…the channel server”, it is unclear which channel server the latter is referring to.
Further action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-11, 13, 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1) as being anticipated by (US 20160080815) to (Ruffini).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 11, Ruffini teach an electronic device (viewing device 120) comprising: a display; memory configured to store one or more instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory collectively or individually, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions (Fig. 1, 3, 4, P. 37-39, 42, 44, viewing device 120) receive from a channel server(Fig. 1-2, P. 24-26, VCMS 210 (via catalog server 222) or using Application server 224 can both communication content address for user custom channel, with the Navigation device 110 or the viewing device 120, 270 ) address information for a user-customized channel, the user-customized channel being generated by a channel server based on an input by a user, the user device being a device distinct from the electronic device and the channel server, the address information comprising a uniform resource locator (URL) associated with the user-customized channel, the URL pointing to a list of content metadata of user-selected content to be displayed, (Fig. 6, P. 18, 64, navigation device 110 may obtain, from content distribution network 130, or private network 280 via network 290, links to content in the schedule of programming. For example, for the “weekday” channel, the personal channel manager application on navigation device 110 may obtain a separate link for each content item, a “link” may generally refer to any pointer or instruction to identify a location, such as a uniform resource locator (URL), an Internet Protocol (IP) address, or channel indicator, ...Application server 224 may receive channel plan 615 and may generate/assign content links 620 for the items in the personalized channel. The content links 620 may include a channel, IP address, URL, or another links (URL) to allow navigation device 110 or viewing device 120, 270 to obtain and present content for items in the personalized channel, the navigation device 110 which can input reads on (user device), the viewing device 120, 270, (Fig. 1-2) reads on (electronic device, distinct from user device), the VCMS 210 and data center with its app server 224 reads on (channel server)), obtain from the channel server, information about one or more contents provided in the user-customized channel based on a user input selecting the user-customized channel, and the URL associated with the user-customized channel, and display the one or more contents on the display of the electronic device (Fig.1, 7, 8A-8C, P. 14-20, 71-74, 77-78, 81, 83-94, user may use the personal channel manager application on navigation device 110 to configure one or more personalized channels, such as , user may select any available content, to fill available time slots the user would like, Live, VOD, streaming, local, any format, etc. etc. a user may select a particular viewing device 120 (STB, TV) on which to present content from a personalized channel, Navigation device 110 provide links (URL) for content in the personal channels to viewing device 120 and control the presentation of content on viewing device 120, navigation device 110 may cause viewing device 120 to access a particular links (URL) or “tune” to a particular broadcast channel at a particular time, according to the schedule of programming in the personalized channel. navigation device 110 may control viewing device 120 to present a personalized linear aggregation of programming (e.g., a personalized channel) that includes a variety of types of content from a variety of different sources, different broadcast channels (e.g., representing different television networks), and/or different network locations), and wherein the one or more contents provided in the user-customized channel comprise at least one of: a live broadcast content transmitted from a broadcasting station server, video on demand (VOD) content provided by a streaming server, and live streaming video content provided by the streaming server, and video content uploaded to a channel server by a user. (Fig. 1, P. 14-16, navigation interface 115, a user may use the personal channel manager application on navigation device 110 to configure one or more personalized channels, including LIVE, linear, and VOD content in different time slots, amongst others).
Regarding claim(s) 4, 13, Ruffini teach the electronic device, the operation method, the address information for the user-customized channel, the user-customized channel, the at least one processor.
Ruffini further teach a first user device and a second user device, user-customized channel is generated using the channel server and first user device, execute the one or more instructions to receive the address information for the user-customized channel from the channel server using the second user device. (Fig. 2, 7, P. 14-15, 17-22, user devices such as laptop, tablet STB, 110, 120, 270, etc.… user profile and selection information on combination with the servers (Fig 2, P. 20-33), for generating the user-customized channel, when the user uses another user devices amongst the different user devices within the home for access to the customized channel content generated using the home network 280, 290, P. 72, 94, reads on (execute the one or more instructions to receive the address information for the user-customized channel from the channel server using the second user device)).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Ruffini teach the electronic device, the operation method, the address information for the user-customized channel, the user-customized channel, the at least one processor, receive the address information for the user-customized channel from the channel server, the user input for selecting the user-customized channel.
Ruffini further teach receive the address information for the user-customized channel from the channel server, and obtain information about the one or more contents provided in the user-customized channel from the channel server based on the user input for selecting the user-customized channel. (Fig. 6, P. 18, 64, Application server 224 may receive channel plan 615 and may generate/assign content links 620 for the items in the personalized channel. The content links 620 may include a channel, IP address, URL, or another link to allow navigation device 110 or viewing device 120 to obtain and present content for items in the personalized channel, … may include a customized content listing based on a user's subscription package with a service provider (e.g., a basic, extended, or premium service option), ...(e.g., broadcast providers, such as NBC, CBS, ABC, and/or FOX) and for-pay television broadcast providers (e.g., TNT, ESPN, HBO, Cinemax, CNN, etc.), specifically P. 14, 35, 60 ).
Regarding claim(s) 7, 15, Ruffini teach the electronic device, the operation method, the address information for the user-customized channel, the user-customized channel, the at least one processor.
Ruffini further teach a first user device and a second user device, user-
customized channel is generated using the channel server and the first user device, the address information for the user-customized channel is shared between the channel server and the second user device using the first user device, and to receive the shared address information for the user-customized channel from the second user device. (Fig. 2, 7, P. 23, 26-27, 31, 88, DRM server 214 may communicate with user device 270 to authenticate a user of user device 270, the particular user device 270, and/or an application residing on user device 270. For example, DRM server 214 may request/receive login information associated with the user, and compare the login information with stored information to authenticate the user, … The personal channel manager application may permit a user of navigation device 110 to log into an account (e.g., via application server 224), ..authenticate a user and may update the user information can dynamically update the playlist for the personalized channel (the ability to login and obtain the most up to date information within the user customized channel reads on (synchronized using user device))).
Regarding claim(s) 9, Ruffini teach the electronic device, the operation method, the one or more contents provided in the user-customized channel.
Ruffini further teach are sequentially displayed. (Fig. 1, 7, P. 14-16, 71-74, 77-78, 81, 83-94, exemplary user interfaces for configuring a content item for a personalized channel according to an implementation, showing the contents in sequential order).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Ruffini teach the electronic device, the operation method, the one or more contents provided in the user-customized channel.
Ruffini further teach each of one or more contents provided in the user-customized channel is displayed at a respective preset designated time. (Fig. 1, 7, P. 14-16, 71-74, 77-78, 81, 83-94, a user may use the personal channel manager application on navigation device 110 to configure one or more personalized channels,...user may select any available content (e.g., from a catalog from the content distribution network or another program guide) to fill available time slots. In the example of FIG. 1, the “weekday” channel may include a schedule that includes local programming (e.g., “Pinkerton H.S. Local Feed”), traditional network content (e.g., “World News” on ABC), basic subscription content (e.g., “Jeopardy” on WGN), premium subscription content (e.g., “MLB” on NESN), and VOD content in different time slots. The schedule of programming may include live linear broadcast content (e.g., “World News” on ABC) that corresponds to a regularly-scheduled program time and/or delayed programs (e.g., “Jeopardy” on WGN), which may be presented via the personalized channel on a delayed basis (e.g., at some scheduled time after the regularly-scheduled program time)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 12, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20160080815) to (Ruffini) in view of (US 20060123455) to (Pai).
Regarding claim(s) 3, 12, Ruffini teach the electronic device, the operation method, the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions, the user-customized channel, obtain the one or more contents.
Ruffini further teach obtain a content schedule of the one or more contents provided through user-customized channel. (Fig. 1, 7, P. 44-45, 50-55, 57-58, 63, 67, 72, 74-75, Channel plan 615 may include all or a portion of items from the personalized channel, a presentation schedule, a selected viewing device (e.g., viewing device 120), and/or a user identifier).
Ruffini fail to specifically teach obtain one or more contents from one of: the channel server to which the video content is uploaded by the user, the broadcasting station server, or the streaming server.
Pai teach obtain one or more contents from one of: the channel server to which the video content is uploaded by the user, the broadcasting station server, or the streaming server. (P. 5, 15, 17, 19, 49 personal media channel server engine 118, .. server engine 118 authorizes a subscriber to upload personal media content, then stores the content, and actualizes creation and delivery of a personal media channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini by obtain one or more contents from one of: the channel server to which the video content is uploaded by the user, the broadcasting station server, or the streaming server as taught by Pai in order to provide a truly private personal media channel--that dynamically appears integrated into the channel lineup of selected recipients.
Regarding claim(s) 6, 14, Ruffini teach the electronic device, the operation method, the address information for the user-customized channel, the user-customized channel, the at least one processor.
Ruffini further teach a first user device and a second user device, user-customized channel is generated using the channel server and the first user device, the address information for the user-customized channel is shared between the channel server and the second user device using the first user device, and to receive the shared address information for the user-customized channel from the second user device. (Fig. 2, 7, P. 14-15, 17-22, user devices such as laptop, tablet STB, 110, 120, 270, etc.… user profile and user selection information in combination with the servers (Fig 2, P. 20-33), for generating the user-customized channel, when the user uses another user devices amongst the different user devices within the home for access to the customized channel content generated using the home network 280, 290, P. 72, 94, reads on (to receive the shared address information for the user-customized channel from the second user device)).
Ruffini fail to specifically teach shared between channel server and second user device using first user device.
Pai teach shared between channel server and second user device using first user device. (Fig. 1, P. 5, 15, 17, 19, 49 personal media channel server engine 118, .. server engine 118 authorizes a subscriber to upload personal media content, then stores the content, and actualizes creation and delivery of a personal media channel, …in the case where different user device are within a home such as home entertainment systems may include set top boxes (e.g., 104, 106, 108) as well as personal computing devices 110 used as clients or even as servers in a home entertainment system's local network., that would read on (shared between channel server and second user device using first user device ).
Claim(s) 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20160080815) to (Ruffini) in view of (US 20080139193) to (Hao).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Ruffini teach the electronic device, the operation method, requesting the user authentication from the authentication server.
Ruffini further teach requesting authentication. (Fig. 2, 7, P. 23, 26-27, 31, 88, DRM server 214 may communicate with user device 270 to authenticate a user of user device 270, the particular user device 270, and/or an application residing on user device 270. For example, DRM server 214 may request/receive login information associated with the user, and compare the login information with stored information to authenticate the user, … The personal channel manager application may permit a user of navigation device 110 to log into an account (e.g., via application server 224), ..authenticate a user and may update the user information can dynamically update the playlist for the personalized channel).
Ruffini fail to specifically teach a single sign on (SSO) server
Hao teach a single sign on (SSO) server. (P.29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruffini by a single sign on (SSO) server as taught by Hao in order to does not have to be near the television in order to see the display on the television and to send the commands or other entries to the set top box.
Conclusion
/RONG LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421