DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 4, applicant recites “…on an instance said external height sensor…” where it appears applicant intended “…on an instance of said external height sensor…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said fleece filtering arrangement’s water level" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as applicant has not previously recited a “fleece filter arrangement.” For examination purposes the claim will be considered to recite “…sensing a water level of said filter chamber at a predetermined filter chamber water height….”
Claims 2-5 are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,089,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the patent claims may be construed broadly enough to encompass the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietzel (DE 4014038, passages cited refer to the machine-generated English translation provided with the instant office action) in view of Nguyen et al. (DE 102020100873, passages cited refer to the machine-generated English translation provided with the instant office action) taken together with Fischer (DE 202018005637, passages cited refer to the machine-generated English translation provided with the instant office action).
Per claim 1, Dietzel discloses a fleece filter for use in an aquatic installation (page 2, For this purpose, the invention provides that the filter as a filter fleece tape is withdrawn from a supply roll, essentially inclined to a transport roller and pulled by this in a dirty state in a collecting container is placed, with the pump inlet in the upper section of the inclined filter fleece band section.), the fleece filter for use with a fleece roll of fresh fleece with a free fleece end (Fig. 1), the fleece filter comprising:
(a) a feed reel (26) for holding the fleece roll for dispensing fresh fleece (Fig. 1; page 3, The second frame 7 has at the level of the bottom portion 12 two parallel, vertical slots 23, 24 into which the ends 25 a of a supply roller shaft 25 protrude, so that this shaft with its supply roller 26 can be inserted into the slots 23, 24 from above and is rotatably mounted in the side walls 8, 9.);
(b) a take-up roller (33) opposite said feed reel for taking up soiled fleece (Fig. 1; page 3, A drive or driver roller 33 is mounted above this transport roller 30 and driven by a motor 34 ( FIG. 8). The circumferential surface of this roller preferably leaves a small gap to the circumferential surface of the transport roller 30 and can be provided with driver claws or spikes through which the filter fleece belt 27 is transported in the direction of the arrow K in FIG. 1 without the belt being squeezed in an unfavorable manner or the surface of the roller 33 slips on the surface of the nonwoven web 37.);
(c) a filter chamber (defined by walls 2, 3, 4 and 5; Fig. 1) for filtering an inflow of polluted water through fleece (27) extending from said feed reel to said take-up roller to an outflow of filtered water (via openings 28; Fig. 1; page 3, As can be seen, part of the water penetrates into the filter belt at the level of the distributor pipe 41 a and passes through it, while another part flows along the arrows S 1 along the surface of the belt and from there along the arrows S 2 the slope of the belt accordingly this penetrates in order to finally get into the aquarium between the passages 28 of the section 11 of the second frame 7 (arrows T, FIG. 4).); and
(d) a fleece filter controller (34, 45) including:
a take-up reel motor (34) for driving said take-up roller for taking up soiled fleece
whereby fresh fleece is dispensed from the fleece roll (page 4, If the fleece band section 27 a is soiled and clogged over the bottom section 11 in such a way that it is no longer able to filter, a quantity of liquid F accumulates in the space 16 , and its mirror can reach the sensor 45 . In this case, the sensor sends a switching pulse to the motor 34 , which ensures that the roller 33, in cooperation with the transport roller 30, transports the nonwoven web in the direction of the arrow P.),
a filter chamber water height sensor (45; page 4, A level sensor 45 , which is connected to the motor 34 of the drive roller 33 via a line 46, projects into this space in the vicinity of the supply roller 26 , which tapers as the device is used.) for sensing said fleece filtering arrangement's water level at a predetermined filter chamber water height (F; page 4, If the fleece band section 27 a is soiled and clogged over the bottom section 11 in such a way that it is no longer able to filter, a quantity of liquid F accumulates in the space 16 , and its mirror can reach the sensor 45 . In this case, the sensor sends a switching pulse to the motor 34 , which ensures that the roller 33, in cooperation with the transport roller 30, transports the nonwoven web in the direction of the arrow P.). Dietzel does not disclose that the take up roller is a take up reel nor a feed reel encoder driven by said feed reel on operation of said take-up reel motor for enabling a predetermined length of fresh fleece to be dispensed from said feed reel on said filter chamber's water level reaching said predetermined filter chamber water height.
Nguyen et al., also directed to a fleece filter for use in an aquatic installation (Abstract, The present invention relates to an aquarium filter device (10) and a cleaning method for aquariums (12) with which cleaning for aquariums (12) is provided which can also be used for small aquariums (12).; page 8, The filter fleece 56 is a continuous filter material that comes from a supply reel 58 unwound and on a take-up roll 60 is wound up.), disclose providing a take up reel (60; page 8, The filter fleece 56 is a continuous filter material that comes from a supply reel 58 unwound and on a take-up roll 60 is wound up. The take-up roll 60 is driven by a motor (not shown).) in order to, for example, gather the soiled fleece roll on the reel to facilitate subsequent easy removal of the soiled fleece roll (page 9, The filter fleece 56 can by removing the take-up roll 60 and / or the supply reel 58 removed and replaced by a new filter fleece 56 or a different type of filter fleece 56 can be replaced, whereby an adaptation to the specific requirements of the aquarium 12th can be done.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the filter of Dietzel such that it comprises a take up reel in order to, for example, in order to, for example, gather the soiled fleece roll on the reel to facilitate subsequent easy removal of the soiled fleece roll.
Fischer, also directed to a fleece filter for use in an aquatic installation (page 1, In the field of aquaristic, garden pond, clear water is an essential prerequisite for photosynthetic processes in plants, algae and corals. There are various technical solutions to this problem 1 .0 shows a schematic, theoretical representation of compact fleece filters.), discloses a feed reel encoder (11) driven by a feed reel on operation of a take-up reel motor (8; page 3, The encoder cable is positioned in the device so that the fork is touched when reaching the full take-up circumference of the reel spool. The switch has a snap behavior that can be used here in an advantageous manner. This switch, used here as a normally closed contact, can ideally be connected in series with the level switch. The level switch, as described above, operates electrically as a closing device for the motor voltage. He can work in this arrangement only if the opener was not triggered by the encoder fork and thus the supply roll is not used up.Thus the reliable operation is guaranteed until the end of the supply roll.) for enabling a predetermined length of fresh fleece to be dispensed from said feed reel on a filter chamber's water level reaching a predetermined filter chamber water height (10; Page 2, The control of this process via a so-called float switch ( 9 ), which reaches a defined maximum point ( 10 ), which corresponds to the highest filling point inside the filter in front of the filter fleece, works as a contact closure = ON and starts the engine. Thus, a new fleece section is drawn into the filter chamber-the water level drops as this new fleece section is more permeable and the float switch switches back to OFF. This process is repeated continuously with renewed increasing particle loading of the web. This explains the concept of an automated fleece filter.) in order to, for example, ensure that effective and continued filtration of the water occurs.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the filter of Dietzel such that it comprises a feed reel encoder driven by said feed reel on operation of said take-up reel motor for enabling a predetermined length of fresh fleece to be dispensed from said feed reel on said filter chamber's water level reaching said predetermined filter chamber water height in order to, for example, ensure that effective and continued filtration of the water occurs.
Per claim 2, Dietzel, as modified by Nguyen and Fischer, does not explicitly disclose wherein, on operation of said take-up reel motor, said fleece filter controller interrupts said operation of said take-up reel motor on an instance of said feed reel encoder not detecting rotation of said feed reel.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to modify the filter of Dietzel, as modified by Nguyen and Fischer, such that it comprises wherein, on operation of said take-up reel motor, said fleece filter controller interrupts said operation of said take-up reel motor on an instance of said feed reel encoder not detecting rotation of said feed reel in order to, for example, ensure that a fleece roll of fresh fleece is placed on the feed reel. Clearly, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to replenish the feed reel with fresh fleece to ensure that efficient filtration of water continues.
Per claim 5, Dietzel, as modified by Nguyen and Fischer, does not disclose wherein said fleece filter controller is an loT device for providing mobile alerts.
It is submitted that it would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the filter of Dietzel, as modified by Nguyen and Fischer, such that it comprises wherein said fleece filter controller is an loT device for providing mobile alerts in order to, for example, modify control parameters and monitor and optimize results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While claim 1 is not patentable for the reasons provided above, in the examiner’s opinion, the prior art fails to teach or render obvious the filter further comprising elements having the recited positioning and function as recited in claims 3-4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 7001519 teaches linking an aquatic system controller to the internet to modify control parameters and monitor and optimize results.
/FRED PRINCE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779