CTNF 18/786,058 CTNF 81077 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1-10 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the limitations “a first roller that is rotatably supported” in line 2. The limitations are narrative and do not specifically disclose and the claimed structure. It is suggested the limitations be amended to positively read --a first roller rotatably supported --. Appropriate correction is required. Similar issues exist in claim 1 lines 3,4,5,8 and 12. Similar issues exist in claim 4 lines 2 and 4. Similar issues exist in claim 5 line 4. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1,2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Imanaka (US 2009/0232544 A1) . Referring to claim 1 . Imanaka discloses a medium conveying device (Figure 2) comprising: a first roller (2d; Figure 2) that is rotatably supported (see Figure 2); a second roller (1d) that conveys a recording medium (sheet product) while nipping the recording medium between the first roller (2d) and the second roller (1d); a biasing member (31) that is disposed on a side opposite to the second roller (1d) with the first roller (2d) interposed between the second roller (1d) and the biasing member (31; see Figure 2) and biases the first roller (2d) toward the second roller (1d); a transmission member (43) that is disposed between the biasing member (31) and the first roller (2d), is restricted by the first roller (2d) from moving relative to the first roller (2d) in an intersecting direction intersecting a biasing direction (see Figure 2) of the biasing member (31) and an axial direction (through center of 2d) of the first roller (2d), and transmits a biasing force (by 31) of the biasing member (31) to the first roller (2d); and an adjustment member (32) that adjusts the biasing force (force from 31) applied by the biasing member (31) to the first roller (2d) by causing the transmission member (43) to approach (33; Figure 5) or be separated (33; Figure 2) from the first roller (2d) in the biasing direction (direction of biasing force of 31). Referring to claim 2 . Imanaka discloses a medium conveying device (Figure 2) comprising: wherein the transmission member (43) is formed with a pair of sandwiching surfaces (surfaces of left and right members 43) that sandwich the first roller (2d) from the intersecting direction (direction perpendicular to the biasing force of 31). Referring to claim 4 . Imanaka discloses a medium conveying device (Figure 2) comprising: wherein the transmission member (43) is formed with an inclined surface (surfaces of left and right members 43) that is inclined with respect to the axial direction (through center of 2d), and the adjustment member (32) is formed with a pressing portion (portion 32b; Figure 3) that presses the inclined surface (surfaces of left and right members 43) and causes the transmission member (43) to be separated from the first roller (2d) when the adjustment member (32) moves in the axial direction relative to the transmission member (see Figure 2 and 5). Referring to claim 5 . Imanaka discloses a medium conveying device (Figure 2) comprising: wherein the adjustment member (32) is formed with another inclined surface (surface of 32b) that is inclined with respect to the axial direction (through center of 2d), and the transmission member (43) is formed with another pressing portion that presses the another inclined surface and causes the transmission member (43) to be separated from the first roller when the adjustment member (32) moves (see Figure 2). Referring to claims 6-10 . Imanaka discloses an image forming apparatus (see claim 1), comprising: and an image forming section that forms an image on a recording medium conveyed by the medium conveying device (see title) . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 AIA Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RAKESH KUMAR whose telephone number is (571)272-8314. The examiner can normally be reached M-TH from 8AM-6:30PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gene Crawford can be reached at (571) 272-6911. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/786,058 Page 2 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/786,058 Page 3 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/786,058 Page 4 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/786,058 Page 5 Art Unit: 3651