DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Specifically, representative Claim 1 recites:
“A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving data corresponding to a plurality of metrics from a plurality of devices; inputting at least a first portion of the received data covering a first time period into a data model to train the data model; inputting at least a second portion of the received data covering a second time period into the trained data model, the second time period being less than the first time period; identifying from the trained data model one or more anomalies corresponding to one or more of the plurality of metrics of one or more of the plurality of devices; determining if a predefined filter exists for the one or more of the plurality of metrics corresponding to each of the one or more anomalies identified; and if it is determined that a predefined filter exists for one or more of the plurality of metrics corresponding to one or more anomalies identified, applying the predefined filter to the one or more of the plurality of metrics for which a predefined filter exists to determine if the corresponding identified anomaly will be recorded as a reportable anomaly.”
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional element”.
Under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (process).
Under the Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the groupings of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation that covers mathematical concepts - mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations and mental processes — concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
For example, steps of “inputting at least a first portion of the received data covering a first time period into a data model to train the data model; inputting at least a second portion of the received data covering a second time period into the trained data model, the second time period being less than the first time period” are treated as belonging to the mathematical and mental process grouping and steps of “identifying from the trained data model one or more anomalies corresponding to one or more of the plurality of metrics of one or more of the plurality of devices; determining if a predefined filter exists for the one or more of the plurality of metrics corresponding to each of the one or more anomalies identified; and if it is determined that a predefined filter exists for one or more of the plurality of metrics corresponding to one or more anomalies identified, applying the predefined filter to the one or more of the plurality of metrics for which a predefined filter exists to determine if the corresponding identified anomaly will be recorded as a reportable anomaly” are treated as belonging to the mental process grouping. This mental step represents a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. In the context of this claim, it encompasses the user manually making a determination regarding anomalies of the plurality of metrics ,applying the predefined filter to determine if the corresponding identified anomaly will be recorded as a reportable anomaly, and training a model as discussed in Recentive Analytics, Inc.
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of Claims 8 and 15.
Next, under the Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that
integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no improvement to another technology or technical field; improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; a particular machine; effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Examiner notes that since the claimed methods and system are not tied to a particular machine or apparatus, they do not represent an improvement to another technology or technical field. Similarly there are no other meaningful limitations linking the use to a particular technological environment. Finally, there is nothing in the claims that indicates an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself or transform a particular article to a new state.
Finally, under Step 2B, we consider whether the additional elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The above claims comprise the following additional elements:
Claim 1: A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving data corresponding to a plurality of metrics from a plurality of devices.
Claim 8: An apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory comprising program code, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory and the program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least: receive data corresponding to a plurality of metrics from a plurality of devices.
Claim 15: A computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program code portions stored therein, the computer-readable program code portions comprising an executable portion configured to: receive data corresponding to a plurality of metrics from a plurality of devices.
The above steps of “A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving data corresponding to a plurality of metrics from a plurality of devices:” is generically recited, not meaningful, does not represent a particular machine and/or eligible transformation. It does not indicate a practical application. “Receiving data corresponding to a plurality of metrics from a plurality of devices” is generically recited and represent mere data gathering steps (insignificant extra-solution activity) necessary to execute the abstract idea. The additional elements in Claims 8 and 15 such as “…at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory comprising program code, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory and the program code are configured to, with the at least one processor…” and “…at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium...” are examples of generic computer equipment (components) that are generally recited and, therefore, is not qualified as a particular machine.
The independent claims, therefore, are not patent eligible.
With regards to the dependent claims, claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 provide additional features/steps which further limit the abstract idea of the independent claims without adding additional elements/steps that integrate the abstract limitations into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juneja et al. (US20240079895), hereinafter referred to as ‘Juneja’ and in further view of Xu et al. (US20250004750), hereinafter referred to as ‘Xu’.
Regarding Claim 1, Juneja discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving data corresponding to a plurality of metrics from a plurality of devices (the anomaly detection engine 120 may obtain sensor data captured by a plurality of sensors 104 installed at the site [0032]); inputting at least a first portion of the received data covering a first time period into a data model to train the data model (In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may include a first machine learning model that may utilize the historical data and the sensor data to predict any anomalies in the performance of the battery. In an example, the first machine learning model is trained on a plurality of training examples. For instance, a training example may include a plurality of historical parameters, such as battery capacity, associated with the battery since installation [0035]); inputting at least a second portion of the received data covering a second time period into the trained data model (The anomaly detection engine 120 may further obtain historical data pertaining to the battery installed at the site. In an example, the historical data may be obtained from the database 110, since the time of installation of the battery [0034];In another implementation, the edge device 102 may obtain the sensor data from the plurality of sensors 104 deployed on the site. In an example, the edge device 102 may obtain the sensor data at pre-defined time intervals [0082]), the second time period being less than the first time period; identifying from the trained data model one or more anomalies corresponding to one or more of the plurality of metrics of one or more of the plurality of devices (Based on the historical data, the anomaly detection engine 120 may perform an analysis of the sensor data obtained from the plurality of sensors 104. In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may include a first machine learning model that may utilize the historical data and the sensor data to predict any anomalies in the performance of the battery [0035]); determining if a predefined filter exists for the one or more of the plurality of metrics corresponding to each of the one or more anomalies identified (In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may employ certain rule-based techniques to detect anomaly events at the site. Examples of the anomaly events may include, but are not limited to, anomaly events comprise battery voltage fluctuations, current pattern variations, and overheating. For example, based on a load pattern at the site and battery capacity or age, the rule-based techniques may determine if the battery at the site is undersized or oversized [0036]); and if it is determined that a predefined filter exists for one or more of the plurality of metrics corresponding to one or more anomalies identified, applying the predefined filter to the one or more of the plurality of metrics for which a predefined filter exists to determine if the corresponding identified anomaly will be recorded as a reportable anomaly ( Based on the determination, such batteries may be reused optimally at another site thereby improving operational costs. In some embodiments, based on the load pattern of a site and battery capacity for the site, the rule-based techniques determine if there is module shortage at the site which may cause improper battery charging cycles [0036]).
However, Juneja does not explicitly disclose inputting at least a second portion of the received data covering a second time period into the trained data model, the second time period being less than the first time period.
Nevertheless, Xu discloses inputting at least a second portion of the received data covering a second time period into the trained data model, the second time period being less than the first time period (In the embodiment of the present disclosure, the twin model is used to predict the operating data of the energy storage battery cluster in the second time period as predictive data based on the historical battery data in the first time period. Here, the first time period and the second time period are both time periods set according to actual application scenarios. For example, the first time period can be a week, and the second time period can be a day [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make predictions, evaluate performance, or update the model and improve accuracy of the model.
Regarding Claim 2, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Juneja discloses the plurality of devices comprises one or more mobile computing devices, one or more printers, and/or one or more scanners (The edge device 102 and the system 106 are communicatively coupled over a network 108 through one or more communication links. The communication links between the edge device 102 and the system 106 are enabled through a desired form of communication, for example, via dial-up modem connections, cable links, digital subscriber lines (DSL), wireless, or satellite links, or any other suitable form of communication [0024]).
Regarding Claim 3, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Juneja discloses at least some of the plurality of metrics correspond to battery temperature, battery discharge, and/or battery recharging cycles (In some embodiments, the sensor data may comprise data pertaining to a plurality of parameters associated with peripheral components in the network environment 100, such as power lines associated with the batteries. In the present example, the plurality of parameters may include battery charge voltage, battery discharge voltage, currents, a State of Charge (SOC) of the battery, load, time, charge/discharge currents, and temperature [0032]).
Regarding Claim 4, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Juneja discloses the data corresponding to the plurality of metrics from the plurality of devices is repeatedly received (Based on the historical data, the anomaly detection engine 120 may perform an analysis of the sensor data obtained from the plurality of sensors 104. In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may include a first machine learning model that may utilize the historical data and the sensor data to predict any anomalies in the performance of the battery. In an example, the first machine learning model is trained on a plurality of training examples. For instance, a training example may include a plurality of historical parameters, such as battery capacity, associated with the battery since installation [0035]).
Regarding Claim 5, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 4.
Juneja discloses received data back a predefined number of days (The network environment 100 further comprises a database 110 communicatively coupled to the edge device 102 and the sensors 104 via the network 108. The database 110 may store all data pertaining to the sensors 104. In an example, the database 110 may store historical data as well as time series data collected during usage of the sensor 104 [0026]).
However, Juneja does not explicitly disclose the first time period spans from a date of most recently received data back a predefined number of days.
Nevertheless, Xu discloses the first time period spans from a date of most recently received data back a predefined number of days (In the embodiment of the present disclosure, the twin model is used to predict the operating data of the energy storage battery cluster in the second time period as predictive data based on the historical battery data in the first time period. Here, the first time period and the second time period are both time periods set according to actual application scenarios. For example, the first time period can be a week, and the second time period can be a day [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make predictions, evaluate performance, or update the model and improve accuracy of the model.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Juneja with the teachings of Xu to plan the most effective path while minimizing drilling risks and control costs.
Regarding Claim 7, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Juneja discloses applying the predefined filter to the one or more of the plurality of metrics for which a predefined filter exists comprises comparing a data value of each of the one or more of the plurality of metrics for which a predefined filter exists to a corresponding predefined threshold value (In some embodiments, based on the results, the edge device 102 may, upon occurrence of critical events and non-availability of the system 106, may take certain pre-defined actions. In an example, the edge device 102 may compute a threshold value where battery discharge cycle should be stopped, if source is available, to ensure that the site does not go down. In another example, based on a grid pattern of the site, the edge device 102 may set thresholds for charging the battery to ensure the battery doesn't deteriorate due to overcharging [0077]).
Regarding Claim 8, Juneja discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory comprising program code, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory and the program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least: receive data corresponding to a plurality of metrics from a plurality of devices (the anomaly detection engine 120 may obtain sensor data captured by a plurality of sensors 104 installed at the site [0032]); input at least a first portion of the received data covering a first time period into a data model to train the data model (In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may include a first machine learning model that may utilize the historical data and the sensor data to predict any anomalies in the performance of the battery. In an example, the first machine learning model is trained on a plurality of training examples. For instance, a training example may include a plurality of historical parameters, such as battery capacity, associated with the battery since installation [0035]); input at least a second portion of the received data (The anomaly detection engine 120 may further obtain historical data pertaining to the battery installed at the site. In an example, the historical data may be obtained from the database 110, since the time of installation of the battery [0034];In another implementation, the edge device 102 may obtain the sensor data from the plurality of sensors 104 deployed on the site. In an example, the edge device 102 may obtain the sensor data at pre-defined time intervals [0082]), identify from the trained data model one or more anomalies corresponding to one or more of the plurality of metrics of one or more of the plurality of devices (Based on the historical data, the anomaly detection engine 120 may perform an analysis of the sensor data obtained from the plurality of sensors 104. In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may include a first machine learning model that may utilize the historical data and the sensor data to predict any anomalies in the performance of the battery [0035]); determine if a predefined filter exists for the one or more of the plurality of metrics corresponding to each of the one or more anomalies identified (In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may employ certain rule-based techniques to detect anomaly events at the site. Examples of the anomaly events may include, but are not limited to, anomaly events comprise battery voltage fluctuations, current pattern variations, and overheating. For example, based on a load pattern at the site and battery capacity or age, the rule-based techniques may determine if the battery at the site is undersized or oversized [0036]); and if it is determined that a predefined filter exists for one or more of the plurality of metrics corresponding to one or more anomalies identified, apply the predefined filter to the one or more of the plurality of metrics for which a predefined filter exists to determine if the corresponding identified anomaly will be recorded as a reportable anomaly ( Based on the determination, such batteries may be reused optimally at another site thereby improving operational costs. In some embodiments, based on the load pattern of a site and battery capacity for the site, the rule-based techniques determine if there is module shortage at the site which may cause improper battery charging cycles [0036]).
However, Juneja does not explicitly disclose input at least input at least a second portion of the received data covering a second time period into the trained data model, the second time period being less than the first time period.
Nevertheless, Xu discloses input at least a second portion of the received data covering a second time period into the trained data model, the second time period being less than the first time period (In the embodiment of the present disclosure, the twin model is used to predict the operating data of the energy storage battery cluster in the second time period as predictive data based on the historical battery data in the first time period. Here, the first time period and the second time period are both time periods set according to actual application scenarios. For example, the first time period can be a week, and the second time period can be a day [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make predictions, evaluate performance, or update the model and improve accuracy of the model.
Regarding Claim 9, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
Juneja discloses the plurality of devices comprises one or more mobile computing devices, one or more printers, and/or one or more scanners (The edge device 102 and the system 106 are communicatively coupled over a network 108 through one or more communication links. The communication links between the edge device 102 and the system 106 are enabled through a desired form of communication, for example, via dial-up modem connections, cable links, digital subscriber lines (DSL), wireless, or satellite links, or any other suitable form of communication [0024]).
Regarding Claim 10, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
Juneja discloses at least some of the plurality of metrics correspond to battery temperature, battery discharge, and/or battery recharging cycles (In some embodiments, the sensor data may comprise data pertaining to a plurality of parameters associated with peripheral components in the network environment 100, such as power lines associated with the batteries. In the present example, the plurality of parameters may include battery charge voltage, battery discharge voltage, currents, a State of Charge (SOC) of the battery, load, time, charge/discharge currents, and temperature [0032]).
Regarding Claim 11, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
Juneja discloses the data corresponding to the plurality of metrics from the plurality of devices is repeatedly received (Based on the historical data, the anomaly detection engine 120 may perform an analysis of the sensor data obtained from the plurality of sensors 104. In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may include a first machine learning model that may utilize the historical data and the sensor data to predict any anomalies in the performance of the battery. In an example, the first machine learning model is trained on a plurality of training examples. For instance, a training example may include a plurality of historical parameters, such as battery capacity, associated with the battery since installation [0035]).
Regarding Claim 12, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 11.
Juneja discloses received data back a predefined number of days (The network environment 100 further comprises a database 110 communicatively coupled to the edge device 102 and the sensors 104 via the network 108. The database 110 may store all data pertaining to the sensors 104. In an example, the database 110 may store historical data as well as time series data collected during usage of the sensor 104 [0026]).
However, Juneja does not explicitly disclose the first time period spans from a date of most recently received data back a predefined number of days.
Nevertheless, Xu discloses the first time period spans from a date of most recently received data back a predefined number of days (In the embodiment of the present disclosure, the twin model is used to predict the operating data of the energy storage battery cluster in the second time period as predictive data based on the historical battery data in the first time period. Here, the first time period and the second time period are both time periods set according to actual application scenarios. For example, the first time period can be a week, and the second time period can be a day [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make predictions, evaluate performance, or update the model and improve accuracy of the model.
Regarding Claim 14, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
Juneja discloses applying the predefined filter to the one or more of the plurality of metrics for which a predefined filter exists comprises comparing a data value of each of the one or more of the plurality of metrics for which a predefined filter exists to a corresponding predefined threshold value (In some embodiments, based on the results, the edge device 102 may, upon occurrence of critical events and non-availability of the system 106, may take certain pre-defined actions. In an example, the edge device 102 may compute a threshold value where battery discharge cycle should be stopped, if source is available, to ensure that the site does not go down. In another example, based on a grid pattern of the site, the edge device 102 may set thresholds for charging the battery to ensure the battery doesn't deteriorate due to overcharging [0077]).
Regarding Claim 15, Juneja discloses a computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program code portions stored therein, the computer-readable program code portions comprising an executable portion configured to: receive data corresponding to a plurality of metrics from a plurality of devices (the anomaly detection engine 120 may obtain sensor data captured by a plurality of sensors 104 installed at the site [0032]); input at least a first portion of the received data covering a first time period into a data model to train the data model (In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may include a first machine learning model that may utilize the historical data and the sensor data to predict any anomalies in the performance of the battery. In an example, the first machine learning model is trained on a plurality of training examples. For instance, a training example may include a plurality of historical parameters, such as battery capacity, associated with the battery since installation [0035]); input at least a second portion of the received data (The anomaly detection engine 120 may further obtain historical data pertaining to the battery installed at the site. In an example, the historical data may be obtained from the database 110, since the time of installation of the battery [0034];In another implementation, the edge device 102 may obtain the sensor data from the plurality of sensors 104 deployed on the site. In an example, the edge device 102 may obtain the sensor data at pre-defined time intervals [0082]), identify from the trained data model one or more anomalies corresponding to one or more of the plurality of metrics of one or more of the plurality of devices (Based on the historical data, the anomaly detection engine 120 may perform an analysis of the sensor data obtained from the plurality of sensors 104. In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may include a first machine learning model that may utilize the historical data and the sensor data to predict any anomalies in the performance of the battery [0035]); determine if a predefined filter exists for the one or more of the plurality of metrics corresponding to each of the one or more anomalies identified (In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may employ certain rule-based techniques to detect anomaly events at the site. Examples of the anomaly events may include, but are not limited to, anomaly events comprise battery voltage fluctuations, current pattern variations, and overheating. For example, based on a load pattern at the site and battery capacity or age, the rule-based techniques may determine if the battery at the site is undersized or oversized [0036]); and if it is determined that a predefined filter exists for one or more of the plurality of metrics corresponding to one or more anomalies identified, apply the predefined filter to the one or more of the plurality of metrics for which a predefined filter exists to determine if the corresponding identified anomaly will be recorded as a reportable anomaly ( Based on the determination, such batteries may be reused optimally at another site thereby improving operational costs. In some embodiments, based on the load pattern of a site and battery capacity for the site, the rule-based techniques determine if there is module shortage at the site which may cause improper battery charging cycles [0036]).
However, Juneja does not explicitly disclose input at least input at least a second portion of the received data covering a second time period into the trained data model, the second time period being less than the first time period.
Nevertheless, Xu discloses input at least a second portion of the received data covering a second time period into the trained data model, the second time period being less than the first time period (In the embodiment of the present disclosure, the twin model is used to predict the operating data of the energy storage battery cluster in the second time period as predictive data based on the historical battery data in the first time period. Here, the first time period and the second time period are both time periods set according to actual application scenarios. For example, the first time period can be a week, and the second time period can be a day [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make predictions, evaluate performance, or update the model and improve accuracy of the model.
Regarding Claim 16, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 15.
Juneja discloses the plurality of devices comprises one or more mobile computing devices, one or more printers, and/or one or more scanners (The edge device 102 and the system 106 are communicatively coupled over a network 108 through one or more communication links. The communication links between the edge device 102 and the system 106 are enabled through a desired form of communication, for example, via dial-up modem connections, cable links, digital subscriber lines (DSL), wireless, or satellite links, or any other suitable form of communication [0024]) and at least some of the plurality of metrics correspond to battery temperature, battery discharge, and/or battery recharging cycles (In some embodiments, the sensor data may comprise data pertaining to a plurality of parameters associated with peripheral components in the network environment 100, such as power lines associated with the batteries. In the present example, the plurality of parameters may include battery charge voltage, battery discharge voltage, currents, a State of Charge (SOC) of the battery, load, time, charge/discharge currents, and temperature [0032]).
Regarding Claim 17, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 15.
Juneja discloses the data corresponding to the plurality of metrics from the plurality of devices is repeatedly received (Based on the historical data, the anomaly detection engine 120 may perform an analysis of the sensor data obtained from the plurality of sensors 104. In an implementation, the anomaly detection engine 120 may include a first machine learning model that may utilize the historical data and the sensor data to predict any anomalies in the performance of the battery. In an example, the first machine learning model is trained on a plurality of training examples. For instance, a training example may include a plurality of historical parameters, such as battery capacity, associated with the battery since installation [0035]).
Regarding Claim 18, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 17.
Juneja discloses received data back a predefined number of days (The network environment 100 further comprises a database 110 communicatively coupled to the edge device 102 and the sensors 104 via the network 108. The database 110 may store all data pertaining to the sensors 104. In an example, the database 110 may store historical data as well as time series data collected during usage of the sensor 104 [0026]).
However, Juneja does not explicitly disclose the first time period spans from a date of most recently received data back a predefined number of days.
Nevertheless, Xu discloses the first time period spans from a date of most recently received data back a predefined number of days (In the embodiment of the present disclosure, the twin model is used to predict the operating data of the energy storage battery cluster in the second time period as predictive data based on the historical battery data in the first time period. Here, the first time period and the second time period are both time periods set according to actual application scenarios. For example, the first time period can be a week, and the second time period can be a day [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make predictions, evaluate performance, or update the model and improve accuracy of the model.
Regarding Claim 20, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 15.
Juneja discloses applying the predefined filter to the one or more of the plurality of metrics for which a predefined filter exists comprises comparing a data value of each of the one or more of the plurality of metrics for which a predefined filter exists to a corresponding predefined threshold value (In some embodiments, based on the results, the edge device 102 may, upon occurrence of critical events and non-availability of the system 106, may take certain pre-defined actions. In an example, the edge device 102 may compute a threshold value where battery discharge cycle should be stopped, if source is available, to ensure that the site does not go down. In another example, based on a grid pattern of the site, the edge device 102 may set thresholds for charging the battery to ensure the battery doesn't deteriorate due to overcharging [0077]).
Claims 6,13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juneja and Xu, and further in view of Pan et al. (US20230014216) hereinafter referred to as ‘Pan’.
Regarding Claim 6, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 4.
Juneja discloses for each of one or more of the plurality of metrics for which the received data (as discussed above).
However, Juneja does not explicitly disclose for each of one or more of the plurality of metrics for which the received data is cumulative, calculating a delta value between a most recently received data value and an immediately precedingly received data value.
Nevertheless, Pan discloses calculating a delta value between a most recently received data value and an immediately precedingly received data value (For instance, in some implementations, determining the charge time interval over which the state of charge metric of the battery has increased by the fixed state of charge interval can include subtracting the first time instance from the second time instance. For instance, the charge time interval can be the difference between the first time instance and the second time instance [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Juneja and Xu with the teachings of Pan to detect dangerous, rapid spikes in temperature or sudden drops in voltage to improve accuracy of fault detection.
Regarding Claim 13, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 11.
Juneja discloses wherein the at least one non-transitory memory and the program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least: for each of one or more of the plurality of metrics for which the received data is cumulative (as discussed above).
However, Juneja and Xu does not explicitly disclose for each of one or more of the plurality of metrics for which the received data is cumulative, calculating a delta value between a most recently received data value and an immediately precedingly received data value.
Nevertheless, Pan discloses for each of one or more of the plurality of metrics for which the received data is cumulative, calculating a delta value between a most recently received data value and an immediately precedingly received data value. (For instance, in some implementations, determining the charge time interval over which the state of charge metric of the battery has increased by the fixed state of charge interval can include subtracting the first time instance from the second time instance. For instance, the charge time interval can be the difference between the first time instance and the second time instance [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Juneja and Xu with the teachings of Pan to detect dangerous, rapid spikes in temperature or sudden drops in voltage to improve accuracy of fault detection.
Regarding Claim 19, Juneja and Xu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 17.
Juneja discloses the computer-readable program code portions further comprise an executable portion configured to: for each of one or more of the plurality of metrics for which the received data (as discussed above).
However, Juneja does not explicitly disclose the computer-readable program code portions further comprise an executable portion configured to: for each of one or more of the plurality of metrics for which the received data is cumulative, calculating a delta value between a most recently received data value and an immediately precedingly received data value.
Nevertheless, Pan discloses calculating a delta value between a most recently received data value and an immediately precedingly received data value (For instance, in some implementations, determining the charge time interval over which the state of charge metric of the battery has increased by the fixed state of charge interval can include subtracting the first time instance from the second time instance. For instance, the charge time interval can be the difference between the first time instance and the second time instance [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Juneja and Xu with the teachings of Pan to detect dangerous, rapid spikes in temperature or sudden drops in voltage to improve accuracy of fault detection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gregory Brink (US5929764) discloses an electronic device, such as a defibrillator/heart monitor, monitors a battery having a memory for an error condition while the battery is operating the device. If the electronic device finds an error condition with the battery, it transmits error data to a mailbox located in the battery's memory.
Vishnu Ravinuthula (US20200204191) discloses a battery-operated device comprises: a first battery cell having a voltage; a second battery cell having a voltage; a first anti-aliasing filter operable to be coupled to the first battery cell; a second anti-aliasing filter operable to be coupled to the second battery cell; an analog-to-digital converter operable to be coupled to the first anti-aliasing filter during a first period of time or the second anti-aliasing filter during a second period of time different than the first period of time; and wherein the second anti-aliasing filter is charged during the first period of time and the first anti-aliasing filter is charged during the second period of time.
Gregory Plett (US20070236182) discloses a system and a method for determining an estimated battery state vector and an estimated battery parameter vector are provided. The method includes determining an estimated battery parameter vector indicative of a parameter of the battery at the first predetermined time based on a plurality of predicted battery parameter vectors, a first plurality of predicted battery output vectors, and a battery output vector.
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857