DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a first office action on the merits in response to the application filed on July 26, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable storage medium typically covers form of non-transitory tangible medial and transitory propagating signal per se in when specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijted, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed cir 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C 101, Aug 24, 2009; p. 2. 7. Applicant advised to amend the claim reciting "non-transitory computer readable media” to overcome rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shanghai CN110502928, publication date 26 November 2029 (referring English translation copy provided by applicant).
With respect to claims 1, 18 and 20:
Shanghai teaches the electronic device being configured to run a first operating system and a second operating system, the method comprising: (18: An electronic device, comprising: a memory storing executable program codes, and a processor coupled to the memory; wherein the processor is configured to invoke the executable program codes stored in the memory to perform operations of:..)(20: A computer readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when being executed by a processor, is configured to perform operations of:)
in a case that the first operating system and/or the second operating system is in a sleeping state, controlling, by the electronic device, a target operating system corresponding to a target wake-up module to switch from the sleeping state to a running state based on a wake-up signal, wherein the wake-up signal is generated by the target wake-up module. (By disclosing, If it is determined that both the first operating system and the second operating system are in a dormant state, and the switching state of the operating system switching device is the first operating system, wake up the first operating system, and set the second operating system to The status of the operating system is updated to the wake-up status; If it is determined that both the first operating system and the second operating system are in a dormant state, and the switching state of the operating system switching device is the second operating system, sequentially waking up the first operating system and the second operating system Two operating systems, and updating the states of the first operating system and the second operating system to wake-up states; See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy)
(Examiner’s interpretation: The phrase “in a case that … is in a sleeping state, controlling…” is interpreted as a conditional (contingent) limitation. Under this interpretation the recited control action (controlling the target operating system to switch to a running state) is required only when the specified condition is satisfied (i.e., when the first operating system, the second operating system, or both are in a sleeping state). If the condition is not met, the controlling step is not required by the claim language. A contingent or conditional limitation makes the claimed action or element required only if a stated condition occurs (e.g., “If X, then do Y,” “when X occurs,” or “in a case that X is true”). It is not an absolute, always-required element of the claim; its presence makes the claim narrower only in the circumstance that the condition is met. Hence this limitation (i.e. controlling..) is given limited patentable weight. MPEP 2111.04. )
With respect to claim 2:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 1. Shanghai further teaches after controlling, by the electronic device, the target operating system corresponding to the target wake-up module to switch from the sleeping state to the running state based on the wake-up signal, the method further comprises: processing, by the target operating system, a target event corresponding to the wake-up signal. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (Examiner’s interpretation: The clause begins with “after controlling … the target operating system … to switch …,” so the processing step is framed as a subsequent action that happens only following the prior control action. In claim construction this reads as a temporal/causal condition: the processing step is required when the wake‑up/control step occurs. Hence this limitation is given limited patentable weight. MPEP 2111.04. ) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 3:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 1-2. Shanghai further teaches wherein processing, by the target operating system, the target event corresponding to the wake-up signal, comprises: determining, by the target operating system, a sub-module and/or a non-target operating system required to process the target event corresponding to the wake-up signal; wherein, the non-target operating system is one of the first operating system and the second operating system, other than the target operating system; and sending, by the target operating system, the target event to the sub-module and/or the non-target operating system to cause the sub-module and/or the non-target operating system to process the target event. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 4:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 1-3. Shanghai further teaches wherein after determining, by the target operating system, the sub-module and/or the non-target operating system required to process the target event corresponding to the wake-up signal, the method further comprises: sending, by the target operating system, a running instruction to the non-target operating system to cause the non-target operating system to switch from the sleeping state to the running state, in response to the target event needing to be processed by the non-target operating system and the non-target operating system being in the sleeping state. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 5:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 1-3. Shanghai further teaches after sending, by the target operating system, the target event to the sub-module and/or the non-target operating system to cause the sub-module and/or the non-target operating system to process the target event, the method further comprises: in response to determining that the non-target operating system is satisfied with the switching to the sleeping state, determining, by the non-target operating system, at least one shared module from all shared modules comprised in the electronic device to be configured as a wake-up module corresponding to the non-target operating system; and controlling the non-target operating system to switch to the sleeping state; wherein, the shared module is a module capable of being configured as the wake-up module for the first operating system or the second operating system. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 6:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 1-2. Shanghai further teaches wherein, after processing, by the target operating system, the target event corresponding to the wake-up signal, the method further comprises: in response to a non-target operating system being in the running state and having a control authority for a peripheral apparatus, sending, by the target operating system, a peripheral control instruction to the non-target operating system to cause the non-target operating system to control the peripheral apparatus to perform a corresponding operation based on the peripheral control instruction; wherein, the peripheral control instruction is obtained by the target operating system processing the target event, and the non-target operating system is one of the first operating system and the second operating system, other than the target operating system. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 7:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 1-2. Shanghai further teaches, wherein processing, by the target operating system, the target event corresponding to the wake-up signal, comprises: configuring a control authority of a peripheral apparatus of the electronic device to the target operating system to cause the target operating system to take the peripheral apparatus to process the target event. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 8:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 7. Shanghai further teaches, wherein, after configuring the control authority of the peripheral apparatus of the electronic device to the target operating system, the method comprises: receiving, through the peripheral apparatus, an input target operation and processing, by the target operating system, the target operation; or controlling, by the target operating system based on a processing result, the peripheral apparatus to perform a corresponding operation; wherein the processing result is a result obtained by the target operating system processing the target event; and/or receiving, by the target operating system, a second processing result and controlling the peripheral apparatus to perform a corresponding operation according to the second processing result; wherein the second processing result is a result obtained by a non-target operating system processing the target event; and the non-target operating system is one of the first operating system and the second operating system, other than the target operating system. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 9:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 1. Shanghai further teaches, wherein, the target operating system is determined, by the electronic device, from the first operating system and the second operating system according to a matching rule, wherein the matching rule comprises an operating system corresponding to each wake-up module; and/or the target operating system is determined based on a system selection instruction input from a user, the system selection instruction comprises the first operating system or the second operating system. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 10:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 1. Shanghai further teaches, wherein, an operating power consumption of the second operating system is less than an operating power consumption of the first operating system; the method comprises: configuring, by the target operating system, all shared modules or all hardware modules comprised in the electronic device to be wake-up modules corresponding to the target operating system, when the electronic device is operating in a low-power-consumption mode and the target operating system is the second operating system; and/or an operating performance of the first operating system is higher than an operating performance of the second operating system; the method comprises: configuring all hardware modules comprised in the electronic device to be wake-up modules corresponding to the target operating system, when the electronic device is operating in a high-performance mode and the target operating system is the first operating system. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 11:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 1. Shanghai further teaches, wherein, after controlling, by the electronic device, the target operating system corresponding to the target wake-up module to switch from the sleeping state to the running state based on the wake-up signal, the method comprises: in response to determining that the target operating system is satisfied with switching to the sleeping state, determining, by the target operating system, at least one shared module configured from all shared modules comprised in the electronic device to be configured as the wake-up module corresponding to the target operating system; and controlling the target operating system to switch to the sleeping state; wherein, the shared module is a module capable of being configured as the wake-up module for the first operating system or for the second operating system. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 12:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 11. Shanghai further teaches, wherein, before determining, by the target operating system, at least one shared module configured from all shared modules comprised in the electronic device to be configured as the wake-up module corresponding to the target operating system, in response to determining that the target operating system is satisfied with switching to the sleeping state, the method further comprises: determining that the target operating system is satisfied with switching to the sleeping state in response to the target operating system being determined as being in an idle state for a second time length; wherein, the idle state is a state in which the target operating system is not processing a target event. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 13:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 11. Shanghai further teaches,, wherein, before determining, by the target operating system, at least one shared module configured from all shared modules comprised in the electronic device to be configured as the wake-up module corresponding to the target operating system, in response to determining that the target operating system is satisfied with switching to the sleeping state, the method further comprises: in response to determining that any second associated module associated with the target operating system is in a non-operating state, determining that the target operating system is satisfied with switching to the sleeping state; wherein the second associated module is a module needing to be controlled by the target operating system, and the non-operating state comprises the sleeping state and a shutdown state. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 14:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 11. Shanghai further teaches, wherein, determining, by the target operating system, at least one shared module configured from all shared modules comprised in the electronic device to be configured as a to-be-effected wake-up module for the target operating system, comprises: determining at least one shared module, from all shared modules comprised in the electronic device, to be configured as a to-be-effected wake-up module for the target operating system; and determining the to-be-effected wake-up module to be effective in response to the to-be-effected wake-up module being determined as in an idle state, wherein the effective wake-up module is configured to generate the wake-up signal to cause the target operating system to switch from the sleeping state to the running state based on the wake-up signal. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 15:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 14. Shanghai further teaches, wherein, after determining at least one shared module, from all shared modules comprised in the electronic device, to be configured as a to-be-effected wake-up module for the target operating system, the method comprises: in response to determining that both the target operating system and the non-target operating system are in the sleeping state, determining the to-be-effected wake-up module to be effective. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 16:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 11. Shanghai further teaches, wherein, the operating power consumption of the second operating system is less than the operating power consumption of the first operating system; and the determining, by the target operating system, at least one shared module configured from all shared modules comprised in the electronic device to be configured as the wake-up module corresponding to the target operating system, comprises: in response to the electronic device being currently in a first operating mode and the target operating system being the second operating system, configuring, by the target operating system, all shared modules comprised in the electronic device to be wake-up modules corresponding to the target operating system. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 17:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 16. Shanghai further teaches, in response to the electronic device being currently in a second operating mode and the target operating system being the first operating system, configuring, by the target operating system, the shared modules comprised in the electronic device as the wake-up modules corresponding to the target operating system; wherein, an operating power consumption of the electronic device when operating in the first operating mode is less than an power consumption of the electronic device when operating in the second operating mode. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
With respect to claim 19:
Shanghai teaches limitations claim 18. Shanghai further teaches, wherein, the processor is further configured to invoke the executable program codes stored in the memory to perform operations of: determining at least one shared module, from all shared modules comprised in the electronic device, to be configured as a to-be-effected wake-up module for the target operating system; and determining the to-be-effected wake-up module to be effective in response to the to-be-effected wake-up module being determined as in an idle state, wherein the effective wake-up module is configured to generate the wake-up signal to cause the target operating system to switch from the sleeping state to the running state based on the wake-up signal. (See least page 5-9 & paragraphs [0172]-[0198] of English translation copy) (This limitation is conditional on the independent claim’s trigger and therefore carries only the independent claim’s limited patentable weight—it need not occur if the independent claim’s condition is not met. )
Conclusion
/NEHA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3699