Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In the specification, Table 1 (paragraph [0107]) includes a Ti/Al molar ratio column where the data appears to have been converted into a date (e.g. 2-May and 2-Nov) rather than a ratio.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-18, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al. (US 2020/0006011).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Ogawa discloses an electrode foil (and method for producing the electrode foil) for an electrolytic capacitor comprising: an anode body (fig. 2 (110)) that contains a valve action metal (paragraph [0045]); a first dielectric layer (fig. 2 (121)) that covers at least a part of the anode body (fig. 2); and a second dielectric layer (fig. 2 (122)) that covers at least a part of the first dielectric layer (fig. 2), wherein the second dielectric layer has a higher dielectric constant than the first dielectric layer (paragraph [0070]), a thickness T2 of the second dielectric layer is greater than a thickness T1 of the first dielectric layer (paragraph [0054]), and the first dielectric layer is a layer that suppresses oxygen diffusion from the second dielectric layer to the anode body (paragraph [0015] of the instant application states that “Since a first dielectric layer with a low dielectric constant that has excellent insulation is interposed between the anode body and the second dielectric layer, oxygen migration from the second dielectric layer to the anode body is suppressed”. Since the first dielectric layer of Ogawa has a lower dielectric constant than the second dielectric layer, the oxygen diffusion from the second dielectric layer to the anode body is similarly considered to be inherently suppressed).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Ogawa discloses the electrode foil for an electrolytic capacitor according to claims 1 and 12, wherein the first dielectric layer contains a first metal oxide (paragraphs [0022] and [0036]), and the second dielectric layer contains a second metal oxide with a higher dielectric constant than the first metal oxide (paragraphs [0023], [0036] and [0070]).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Ogawa discloses the electrode foil for an electrolytic capacitor according to claims 2 and 15, wherein the second metal oxide contains at least one second metal selected from the group consisting of tantalum, titanium, zirconium, niobium, and hafnium (paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Ogawa discloses the electrode foil for an electrolytic capacitor according to claims 3 and 16, wherein the second metal oxide contains the second metal and at least one selected from the group consisting of silicon and aluminum (paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Ogawa discloses the electrode foil for an electrolytic capacitor according to claims 2 and 15, wherein the first metal oxide contains at least one first metal selected from the group consisting of silicon and aluminum (paragraphs [0022] and [0036]).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Ogawa discloses the electrode foil for an electrolytic capacitor according to claims 5 and 18, wherein the first metal contains aluminum (paragraphs [0022] and [0036]), and a ratio T1/T2 of the thickness T1 of the first dielectric layer to the thickness T2 of the second dielectric layer is 0.6 or less (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Ogawa discloses the electrode foil for an electrolytic capacitor according to claims 1 and 12, wherein the thickness T1 of the first dielectric layer is 0.3 nm or more (paragraphs [0052] and [0054], note paragraph 0054 discloses the thickness ratio of T1/T2 may be 0.01, and paragraph 0052 discloses the thickness of T2 ranges from 0.5nm to 200nm, inclusive. Therefore, for a T2 thickness of 30nm-200nm, the thickness range of T1 would be 0.3nm or more).
Regarding claim 9, Ogawa discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising: the electrode foil for an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1; and a cathode portion (fig. 5 (8)) that covers at least a part of the second dielectric layer (fig. 5 (7) and paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Ogawa discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 9, wherein the cathode portion contains a solid electrolyte (fig. 5 (9)) and paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 13, Ogawa discloses the method for producing an electrode foil for an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 12, wherein in the second step, the first dielectric layer is formed through atomic layer deposition or chemical conversion treatment (paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 14, Ogawa discloses the method for producing an electrode foil for an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 12, wherein in the third step, the second dielectric layer is formed through atomic layer deposition (paragraph [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (US 2020/0006011) in view of Takatani et al. (US 2008/0047116).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Ogawa discloses the electrode foil for an electrolytic capacitor according to claims 5 and 18, wherein a ratio T1/T2 of the thickness T1 of the first dielectric layer to the thickness T2 of the second dielectric layer is 0.45 or less (paragraph [0054]).
Ogawa does not disclose wherein the first metal contains silicon.
Takatani discloses an anode body (fig. 3 (1)), a first dielectric layer (fig. 3 (21)) on the anode body and a second dielectric layer (fig. 3 (22)) on the first dielectric layer, wherein the first dielectric layer contains silicon (paragraph [0040] noting that the first dielectric layer contains “almost no silicon”, infers that some silicon is present).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate that the first dielectric layer includes silicon, as taught by Takatani, in the invention of Ogawa for the purpose of providing a capacitor with higher capacitance and lower leakage current (paragraph [0008], note also the suppression of oxygen diffusion by the first dielectric layer as shown in figure 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References cited.
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2848