DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US PAP 2015/0139394 A1).
With respect to claims 1 and 18, Kang et al. teaches a mobile radiographic imaging system, comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225):
a radiation generating apparatus (100) that emits radiation (see Figs. 14 and 15); and a hardware processor (160) capable of setting the radiation generating apparatus to one of a plurality of modes including a first mode and a second mode (see mode controller (163)), the first mode being a mode in which the radiation generating apparatus performs moving image imaging with an allowable radiation dose, the second mode being a mode in which the radiation generating apparatus performs the moving image imaging with an allowable radiation dose smaller than the allowable radiation dose in the first mode (see Fig. 14; paragraphs 0114-0120, 0132, 0137, 0162-0167, 0191, 0194, 0196, 0204, 0221-0225; where the first mode is a fluoroscopy mode, and the second mode is a dynamic imaging mode (see paragraphs 0221 and 0222).
In addition, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “capable of” perform a limitation is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. Therefore, the limitations following the recitation “capable of” have not been considered in any patentable sense.
With respect to claim 2, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein an allowable time for the radiation generating apparatus to emit the radiation is shorter in the second mode than in the first mode.
With respect to claim 3, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein in a case where the second mode is selected, the radiation generation apparatus is not allowed to emit the radiation for the predetermined time or longer (see paragraphs 0013-0017, 0052, 0094, 0096, 0123, 0126, 0137, 0163-0168, 0191-0194, 0202 and 0207).
With respect to claim 4, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 3 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein in a case where the first mode is selected, the radiation generation apparatus is allowed to emit the radiation for the predetermined time or longer (see paragraphs 0013-0017, 0052, 0094, 0096, 0123, 0126, 0137, 0163-0168, 0191-0194, 0202 and 0207).
With respect to claim 5, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein the radiation generating apparatus stops emitting the radiation based on one of the allowable radiation doses (see paragraphs 0013-0017, 0052, 0094, 0096, 0123, 0126, 0137, 0163-0168, 0191-0194, 0202 and 0207).
With respect to claim 6, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein a number of allowable frames to be imaged by the radiation generation apparatus is smaller in the second mode than in the first mode (see paragraphs 0013-0017, 0052, 0094, 0096, 0123, 0126, 0137, 0163-0168, 0191-0194, 0202 and 0207).
With respect to claim 7, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein a frame rate when the radiation generating apparatus performs the moving image imaging is lower in the second mode than in the first mode (see paragraphs 0013-0017, 0052, 0094, 0096, 0123, 0126, 0137, 0163-0168, 0191-0194, 0202 and 0207).
With respect to claim 8, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein: the radiation generating apparatus emits the radiation which is pulsed radiation, and the radiation emitted by the radiation generating apparatus has a lower pulse duty ratio in the second mode than in the first mode (see paragraphs 0013-0017, 0052, 0094, 0096, 0123, 0126, 0137, 0163-0168, 0191-0194, 0202 and 0207).
With respect to claim 9, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein: the radiation generating apparatus emits the radiation that is pulsed radiation, and the radiation emitted by the radiation generating apparatus has a shorter pulse width in the second mode than in the first mode (see paragraphs 0050-0052, 0094 and 0191).
With respect to claim 10, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein: the radiation generating apparatus emits the radiation that is pulsed radiation, and the radiation emitted by the radiation generating apparatus has a longer pulse interval in the second mode than in the first mode (see paragraphs 0050-0052, 0094 and 0191).
With respect to claim 11, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein the radiation emitted by the radiation generation apparatus has a lower intensity in the second mode than in the first mode (see paragraphs 0005, 0149 and 0162-0170).
With respect to claim 12, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein the radiation generating apparatus when the radiation generating apparatus emits the radiation has a smaller tube current-time product in the second mode than in the first mode (see paragraphs 0048, 0051, 0094, 0096 and 0097).
With respect to claim 13, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein the radiation generating apparatus when the radiation generating apparatus emits the radiation has a smaller tube current of a tube in the second mode than in the first mode (see paragraphs 0048, 0051, 0094, 0096 and 0097).
With respect to claim 14, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein the radiation generating apparatus when the radiation generating apparatus emits the radiation has a lower tube voltage of a tube in the second mode than in the first mode (see paragraphs 0047, 0048, 0094 and 0096).
With respect to claim 15, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein: the radiation generating apparatus includes a shield (see a filter (141) and a collimator (131)), and the shield shields the radiation emitted in the second mode (see paragraphs 0105, 0116, 0117 and 0186).
With respect to claim 16, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein: the radiation generating apparatus includes a shield (see a filter (141) and a collimator (131)), and the shield reduces intensity of the radiation emitted in the second mode (see paragraphs 0105, 0116, 0117 and 0186).
With respect to claim 17, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein: the radiation generating apparatus includes a shield (see a filter (141) and a collimator (131)), and the shield narrows an area to be irradiated with the radiation emitted in the second mode (see paragraphs 0105, 0116, 0117 and 0186).
With respect to claim 19, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein the allowable radiation doses are effective doses (see paragraph 0167).
With respect to claim 20, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein the hardware processor (160) performs control such that a radiation dose is limited to be equal to or less than the allowable radiation dose in a set imaging mode, the set imaging mode being one of the first mode and the second mode (see Fig. 14; see paragraphs 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225).
With respect to claim 21, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), further comprising a display that displays a moving image imaged by the moving image imaging based on a set imaging mode, the set imaging mode being one of the first mode and the second mode, wherein in a case where the second mode is set by the hardware processor, real-time display of the moving image by the display is limited (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225).
With respect to claim 22, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein the hardware processor has a function to limit at least a setting of the first mode.
With respect to claim 23, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), wherein in a case where the second mode is set, the hardware processor causes the radiation generating apparatus to stop emitting the radiation when an imaging time is equal to or longer than a predetermined time (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225).
With respect to claim 24, Kang et al. teaches the mobile radiographic imaging system according to claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225), further comprising an inputter that inputs a setting of the radiation generating apparatus to the hardware processor, wherein in a case where the second mode is set by the hardware processor, the inputter is prohibited from inputting a setting for an allowable radiation dose that exceeds an allowable radiation dose in the second mode (see abstract; Figs. 1-20; paragraphs 0008, 0014, 0015, 0017, 0020, 0048, 0051, 0052, 0057, 0097, 0105, 0114, 0119, 0120, 0137, 0143, 0163-0167, 0174-0189 and 0220-0225).
Conclusion
Irakli Kiknadze
/IRAKLI KIKNADZE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/I.K./ March 5, 2026