DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (Publication: US 2020/0302656 A1) in view of Beri (Patent: US 11,182,955 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Kumar discloses a method to format graphical objects, the method comprising ([0044], [0045] – image editing system including memory with stored instructions proceed by the processor to perform the following method:
[0003] Techniques and systems are described to adjust color parameters of objects, such as hue, saturation and light, “format graphical objects” of a digital image so that objects in the digital image do not appear unnatural when the image is color adjusted., ):
receiving input to create a style template to automatically format graphical objects on a graphical user interface ([0140] the object and the additional object, objects, are selected for updating automatically and without user intervention “automatically”.
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “receiving input to create a style template”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image “automatically format graphical objects” based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter.
[0019], [0027] As shown in the Fig. 1 – the adjuster interface is created with Hue, Sat and Light templates, and each template have predefine values and user and slide the predefined values to the desired position.),
including receiving first input to designate a condition and receiving second input to designate a style to apply to any graphical object that satisfies the condition (
[0084] Color adjust module 252 may also receive a value of a color parameter from user interface module 244. For instance, a user may select a value of a color parameter (e.g., a number indicating a hue value) by sliding an adjuster for the color parameter “condition” in a user interface of user interface module 244 “receiving first input” .
[0084] - If an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that includes the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface, plurality of values then color adjust module 252 receives the value of a color parameter “second input ” from the color parameter in a user interface. Color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by adjusting the color parameter for the object according to the selection, “satisfies the condition”. If however, an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that does not include the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface (e.g., the value of the color parameter is outside the range of the color parameter for the object), then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by maintaining without adjustment the color parameter for the object responsive to the selection, the above describes “condition”.);
automatically applying the style template to automatically format graphical objects that satisfy the condition, including automatically formatting a first graphical object of the plurality of graphical objects that satisfies the condition to have the style ([0140] the object and the additional object, objects, are selected for updating automatically and without user intervention “automatically”.
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “receiving input to create a style”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image “automatically applying the style template to automatically format graphical objects” based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter “automatically applying the style template to automatically format graphical objects that satisfy the condition”.
[0084] - If an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that includes the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface, plurality of values then color adjust module 252 receives the value of a color parameter from the adjuster color parameter in a user interface. Color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by adjusting the color parameter for the object according to the selection, “including automatically formatting a first graphical object of the plurality of graphical objects that satisfies the condition to have the style”. If however, an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that does not include the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface (e.g., the value of the color parameter is outside the range of the color parameter for the object), then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by maintaining without adjustment the color parameter for the object responsive to the selection, the above describes “condition”.
); and
displaying with each graphical object that satisfies the condition, including the first graphical object, formatted with the style ([0150] user interface module 244 is configured to display selections for each of the objects. Color adjust module 252 can be configured to update the color parameters, hue, saturation, or light “style” of the one or more of the objects further based on a selection of one or more of the selections corresponding to the one or more of the objects.
[0140] The object and the additional object may be updated or maintained based on ranges of the color parameter for the objects, and whether or not the ranges of the color parameter include a selected value of the color parameter from the adjuster “object, formatted with the style”.
).
Kumar does not however Beri discloses
receiving input to create a graphical diagram comprising a plurality of graphical objects on the graphical user interface (
Column 8 line 60 – the user interacts with the client via a user interface to provide user input “receiving input” modify a control point displayed on a digital canvas.
column 10 line 50 – Fig. 3 , A digital canvas can also include the digital design space (e.g., the user interface) utilized to create and display the vector objects within the software application.);
displaying the graphical diagram to the user on the graphical user interface (column 10 line 50 – Fig. 3 , A digital canvas can also include the digital design space (e.g., the user interface) utilized to create and display the vector objects within the software application. Fig. 3 shows a display).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kumar with receiving input to create a graphical diagram comprising a plurality of graphical objects on the graphical user interface; displaying the graphical diagram to the user on the graphical user interface as taught by Beri. The motivation for doing is to increase user interface accessibility.
Regarding claim 2, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Kurmar discloses wherein the condition is unrelated to text content of the graphical objects (
[0140] the object and the additional object, objects, are selected for updating automatically and without user intervention.
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter, “unrelated to text content”.).
Regarding claim 3, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Krumar discloses comprises at least one of selection of a data source from among a plurality of data sources (
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter thus “data source from among a plurality of data sources” can be read on .
[0084] - Color adjust module 252 updates the color parameter for objects in the digital image based on whether the objects have ranges of the color parameter that include the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface.),
selection of the condition from among one or more conditions corresponding to a selected data source (
[0084] - If an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that includes the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface, then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by adjusting the color parameter for the object according to the selection. If, however, an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that does not include the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface (e.g., the value of the color parameter is outside the range of the color parameter for the object), then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by maintaining without adjustment the color parameter for the object responsive to the selection, the above describes “condition”.) , and
an input value associated with a selected condition (
[0084] - If an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that does not include the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface (e.g., the value of the color parameter is outside the range of the color parameter for the object), “selected condition” ,then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by maintaining without adjustment the color parameter for the object responsive to the selection, the above describes.).
Regarding claim 4, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 3.
Krumar discloses wherein the plurality of data sources include at least two of text of the plurality of graphical objects, shape type of the plurality of graphical objects, shape data of the plurality of graphical objects, shape location of the plurality of graphical objects, or a formula (
[0084] - If an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that includes the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface, plurality of values, “plurality of data sources”, then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by adjusting the color parameter for the object according to the selection, “a formula as described above” can be read on. If, however, an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that does not include the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface (e.g., the value of the color parameter is outside the range of the color parameter for the object), then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by maintaining without adjustment the color parameter for the object responsive to the selection, the above describes “condition”.) .
Regarding claim 5, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 3.
Krumar discloses wherein the one or more conditions include at least one of “is empty”, “is not empty”, “contains”, “does not contain”, “is”, “is not”, “starts with”, “ends with”, “is greater than”, “is less than”, “is equal to”, “is not equal to”, “is between”, “is not between”, “is inside of”, “is not inside of” (
[0084] - If an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that includes the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface, then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by adjusting the color parameter for the object according to the selection. If, however, an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that does not include “does not contain” the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface (e.g., the value of the color parameter is outside the range of the color parameter for the object), then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by maintaining without adjustment the color parameter for the object responsive to the selection, the above describes “condition does not contain” ) .
Regarding claim 6, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Krumar discloses wherein receiving second input to designate a style to apply to any graphical object that satisfies the condition includes receiving input to select a first predefined style from among a plurality of predefined styles or receiving input to create a custom predefined style ([0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter , such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “receiving input to select”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter, “a first fill color”
[0084] Color adjust module 252 may also receive a value of a color parameter from user interface module 244. For instance, a user may select a value of a color parameter (e.g., a number indicating a hue value) by sliding an adjuster for the color parameter in a user interface of user interface module 244 ““receiving input to select” . Color adjust module 252 updates the color parameter for objects in the digital image, “Color adjust module 252 has to receive the second input to designated a style to apply for objects”. ).
Regarding claim 7, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 6.
Krumar discloses wherein each of the predefined styles specifies at least one of a fill color, a border style, a border weight, or a text color to be applied to any graphical object that satisfies the condition ([0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “color”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter, “a first fill color”.).
Regarding claim 8, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Kumar discloses receiving input to edit the style template ( [0028] an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment. ),
including changing the style of the style template from a first style to a second style ([0028] an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment, sliding is changing the predefined value to different predefined value.); and
in response to receiving the input to edit the style template, automatically updating the style of each graphical object that satisfies the condition, including the first graphical object, from the first style to the second style ([0140] the object and the additional object, objects, are selected for updating automatically and without user intervention “automatically updating”.
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “in response to receiving the input to edit”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter, “after moving a slider, then updating the style of the first graphical object from the first predefined style to the second predefined style”.
).
Regarding claim 9, see rejection on claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Kumar discloses a method to format graphical objects, the method comprising ([0044], [0045] – image editing system including memory with stored instructions proceed by the processor to perform the following method:
[0003] Techniques and systems are described to adjust color parameters of objects, such as hue, saturation and light, of a digital image so that objects in the digital image do not appear unnatural when the image is color adjusted., “format graphical objects” ):
displaying a plurality of style templates that may be applied to the plurality of graphical objects, each of the style templates having a different predefined style (
[0019], [0027] As shown in the Fig. 1 – the adjuster displays Hue, Sat and Light templates, and each template have predefine values and user and slide the predefined values to the desired position, “different predefined style”.
The image editing system includes a user interface displayed with adjusters for color parameters that have ranges of adjustment based on the ranges of color parameters determined by the image editing system. The user interface may include a global hue adjuster having a range of hue adjustment selected to include the ranges of hues for the pixels of the digital image determined by the image editing system. In one example, the user interface exposes representations of the objects segmented by the image editing system, such as names of the objects. A user may select one of the objects, and the user interface includes an adjuster for a color parameter for the object. The adjuster of the color parameter for an object has a range of adjustment based on the range of the color parameter determined by the image editing system for the object “applied to the plurality of graphical objects”.
);
receiving input to select a first style template of the plurality of style templates (
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “receiving input”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image. Hue is the first style template of Hue, the other style templates are Sat and Light, plurality of style templates.
);
in response to receiving the input to select the first style template, automatically updating a style of a first graphical object of the plurality of graphical objects to match a predefined style of the first style template ([0140] the object and the additional object, objects, are selected for updating automatically and without user intervention “automatically updating”.
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “predefined style of the first style template”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter, “in response to receiving the input to edit”.
[0084] - If an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that includes the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface, plurality of values then color adjust module 252 receives the value of a color parameter from the adjuster color parameter in a user interface. If however, an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that does not include the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface (e.g., the value of the color parameter is outside the range of the color parameter for the object), then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by maintaining without adjustment the color parameter for the object responsive to the selection, the above describes “to match, updating a style of a first graphical object of the plurality of graphical objects to match a predefined style of the first style template”.).
Kumar does not however Beri discloses
displaying a plurality of graphical objects on a graphical drawing canvas (column 10 line 50 – Fig. 3 , A digital canvas can also include the digital design space (e.g., the user interface) utilized to create and display the vector objects within the software application. Fig. 3 shows a display).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kumar with displaying a plurality of graphical objects on a graphical drawing canvas as taught by Beri. The motivation for doing is to increase user interface accessibility.
Regarding claim 11, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 10.
Krumar discloses wherein the predefined style of the first style template includes at least one of a first fill color, a first border style, a first border weight, and a first text color ([0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “color”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter, “a first fill color”.).
Regarding claim 12, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Krumar discloses wherein automatically updating the style of the first graphical object comprises automatically updating at least one of a fill color of the first graphical object to the first fill color, a border style of the first graphical object to the first border style, a border weight of the first graphical object to the first border weight, or a text color of the first graphical object to the first text color ( [0140] the object and the additional object, objects, are selected for updating automatically and without user intervention “automatically updating”.
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “color”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter, “a fill color of the first graphical object to the first fill color”.).
Regarding claim 13, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 10.
Kumar discloses receiving input to edit the first style template ( [0028] an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment. ),
including changing the predefined style of the first style template from a first predefined style to a second predefined style ([0028] an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment, sliding is changing the predefined value to different predefined value.); and in response to receiving the input to edit the first style template, automatically updating the style of the first graphical object from the first predefined style to the second predefined style ([0140] the object and the additional object, objects, are selected for updating automatically and without user intervention “automatically updating”.
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “in response to receiving the input to edit”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter, “after moving a slider, then updating the style of the first graphical object from the first predefined style to the second predefined style”.
).
Regarding claim 14, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 10.
Kumar discloses wherein the first style template is applied to at least two of the plurality of graphical objects independent of text content of the at least two of the plurality of graphical objects ([0140] the object and the additional object, objects, are selected for updating automatically and without user intervention.
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter, “independent of text content”.
).
Regarding claim 15, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 10.
Kurmar discloses prior to receiving the input to select the first style template of the plurality of style templates, receiving input to select the first graphical object and at least one other graphical object of the plurality of graphical objects ([0086] color adjust module 252 receives an indication of an object selected in a user interface. For instance, a user may select an object in a user interface, such as by drawing on the object, circling the object, selecting an option in a list of segmented objects (e.g., a drop-down menu). Color adjust module 252 may update the color of the digital image responsive to a selection of a color parameter by adjusting the color parameter only for the selected object.
That is receiving the selected objects before a selection of a color parameter, sliders.); and
further in response to receiving the input to select the first style template, automatically updating a style of the at least one other graphical object to match the predefined style of the first style template without updating a style of any of one or more non-selected graphical objects(
[0086] - color adjust module 252 may update the color parameter of the selected object while maintaining without update the color parameter for other objects that are not selected in the user interface, “response to receiving the input to select the first style template”. an indication of an object selected in a user interface can include an indication of multiple objects, so that color adjust module 252 may update the color of the digital image responsive to a selection of a color parameter by adjusting the color parameter for multiple selected objects, “without updating a style of any of one or more non-selected graphical objects”.
[0140] the object and the additional object are selected for updating automatically and without user intervention, “automatically updating”.)
.
Regarding claim 16, see rejection on claim 10.
Regarding claim 17, Kumar disclose a method to automatically format objects of a graphical diagram, the method comprising ([0044], [0045] – image editing system including memory with stored instructions proceed by the processor to perform the following method:
[0140] the object and the additional object, objects, are selected for updating automatically and without user intervention “automatically”. ) :
creating one or more templates to format a plurality of graphical objects, wherein ([0019], [0027] As shown in the Fig. 1 – the adjuster interface is created with Hue, Sat and Light templates, and each template have predefine values and user and slide the predefined values to the desired position.
[0003]’ [0019] – Use the adjuster 106 to adjust color parameters of objects, such as hue, saturation and light, of a digital image so that objects in the digital image do not appear unnatural when the image is color adjusted., “format graphical objects”
):
each of the one or more templates comprises one or more conditions ([0019], [0027] As shown in the Fig. 1 – the adjuster interface has Hue, Sat and Light templates, and each template have predefine values and user and slide the predefined values to the desired conditions.
); and
each of the one or more conditions corresponds with one or more styles ([0019], [0027] As shown in the Fig. 1 – the adjuster interface has Hue, Sat and Light templates, and each template have predefine values and user and slide the predefined values to the desired conditions. Hue, Sat, and Light correspond with different color styles.);
presenting the one or more templates to a user on a graphical user interface ( [0019], [0027] As shown in the Fig. 1 – the adjuster interface has Hue, Sat and Light templates are displayed to a user.);
receiving input to select a template from the one or more templates (
[0019], [0027] As shown in the Fig. 1 – the adjuster interface has Hue, Sat and Light templates are displayed “templates” .
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “select a hue template out of Sat and Light templates”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image.);
wherein the template causes each of the plurality of graphical objects of the graphical diagram to have a style in accordance with the one or more conditions of the template (
[0084] a user may select a value of a color parameter (e.g., a number indicating a hue value “style”) by sliding an adjuster for the color parameter in a user interface of user interface module 244 “template” .
[0084] - If an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter, hue, that includes the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface, plurality of values then color adjust module 252 receives the value of a color parameter from the adjuster color parameter. Color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by adjusting the color parameter for the object according to the selection, “satisfies the condition”. If however, an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that does not include the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface (e.g., the value of the color parameter is outside the range of the color parameter for the object), then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by maintaining without adjustment the color parameter for the object responsive to the selection, the above describes “template causes each of the plurality of graphical objects of the graphical diagram to have a style”.); and
display with each of the plurality of graphical objects formatted with a corresponding style ([0150] user interface module 244 is configured to display selections for each of the objects. Color adjust module 252 can be configured to update the color parameters, hue, saturation, or light “style” of the one or more of the objects further based on a selection of one or more of the selections corresponding to the one or more of the objects.
[0140] The object and the additional object may be updated or maintained based on ranges of the color parameter for the objects, and whether or not the ranges of the color parameter include a selected value of the color parameter from the adjuster “objects formatted with a corresponding style”.
).
Kumar does not however Beri discloses
receiving input to create a graphical diagram comprising a plurality of graphical objects on the graphical user interface (
Column 8 line 60 – the user interacts with the client via a user interface to provide user input modify a control point displayed on a digital canvas, “receiving input”.
column 10 line 50 – Fig. 3 , A digital canvas can also include the digital design space (e.g., the user interface) utilized to create and display the vector objects within the software application. );
displaying the graphical diagram to the user on the graphical user interface (column 10 line 50 – Fig. 3 , A digital canvas can also include the digital design space (e.g., the user interface) utilized to create and display the vector objects within the software application. Fig. 3 shows a display).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kumar with receiving input to create a graphical diagram comprising a plurality of graphical objects on the graphical user interface; displaying the graphical diagram to the user on the graphical user interface as taught by Beri. The motivation for doing is to increase user interface accessibility.
Regarding claim 18, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 17.
Kurmar discloses comprising receiving input to modify at least one of the one or more templates to comprise one or more modified conditions ( [0084] Color adjust module 252 may also receive a value of a color parameter from user interface module 244. For instance, a user may select a value of a color parameter (e.g., a number indicating a hue value) by sliding an adjuster for the color parameter in a user interface of user interface module 244 “receiving input to modify at least one of the one or more templates” . Color adjust module 252 updates the color parameter for objects in the digital image.).
Regarding claim 19, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 17.
Kurmar discloses receiving input to modify one or more of the plurality of graphical objects to override the one or more conditions of the template (
[0084] Color adjust module 252 may also receive a value of a color parameter from user interface module 244. For instance, a user may select a value of a color parameter (e.g., a number indicating a hue value) by sliding an adjuster for the color parameter in a user interface of user interface module 244, sliding is to override on or more conditions . Color adjust module 252 updates the color parameter for objects in the digital image “receiving input to modify at least one of the one or more objects”. ).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (Publication: US 2020/0302656 A1) in view of Beri (Patent: US 11,182,955 B1) and Robin-Jan (Patent: US 7,941,336 B1).
Regarding claim 20, Kumar in view of Beri disclose all the limitations of claim 17.
Kumar discloses wherein each of the one or more templates corresponds with a graphical diagram type selected from diagram ([0150] user interface module 244 is configured to display selections for each of the objects. Color adjust module 252 can be configured to update the color parameters, hue, saturation, or light “templates corresponds with a graphical diagram type” of the one or more of the objects further based on a selection of one or more of the selections corresponding to the one or more of the objects.
[0140] The object and the additional object may be updated or maintained based on ranges of the color parameter for the objects, and whether or not the ranges of the color parameter include a selected value of the color parameter from the adjuster . )
Kumar in view of Beri do not however Robin-Jan discloses
selected from Venn diagram or Sankey diagram (column 2 line 44 - FIGS. 7-8 are graphical representations of drill-down pop-up screens presented by selecting selectable Venn diagram regions.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kumar in view of Beri with selected from Venn diagram or Sankey diagram as taught by Robin-Jan. The motivation for doing is to provide a user-friendly methodology.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103
The Applicant asserts “The Specification further explains that a user may create or select customizable templates for graphical diagrams, where conditional stylistic formatting is applied to graphical objects representing nodes that meet the set conditions, as described at paragraph [0059]. The detailed rule-creation interface reinforces this construction: a user may create or modify templates/rules and save them for future sessions, as described at paragraph [0068], and the conditional formatting window allows the user to set an "if' condition and a "then" formatting, as described at paragraph [0069]. The Specification also identifies selectable condition data sources and operators, including Text, Shape Type, Shape Data, Shape Location, and Formula, as described at paragraph [0070]. Thus, the claimed "style template" is not merely any user interface control that changes color; it is a reusable conditional-formatting rule or template that maps a user-designated condition to a style for graphical objects in a diagram. ...Kumar therefore does not teach "receiving first input to designate a condition and [] second input designating a style to apply to any graphical object satisfying the condition", as required by claim 1, nor does it teach the template/condition/style structure recited in independent claim 17 or the plurality of reusable style templates recited in claim 10.”
Examiner disagrees.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. Further, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See also MPEP § 2145(VI).
The reference does teach receiving input to create a style template to automatically format graphical objects on a graphical user interface and including receiving first input to designate a condition and receiving second input to designate a style to apply to any graphical object that satisfies the condition and
Kumar discloses
[0028] When an input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment “receiving input to create a style template”, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image “automatically format graphical objects” based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter.
[0019], [0027] As shown in the Fig. 1 – the adjuster interface is created with Hue, Sat and Light templates, and each template have predefine values and user and slide the predefined values to the desired position.
[0084] Color adjust module 252 may also receive a value of a color parameter from user interface module 244. For instance, a user may select a value of a color parameter (e.g., a number indicating a hue value) by sliding an adjuster for the color parameter “condition” in a user interface of user interface module 244 “receiving first input” .
[0084] - If an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that includes the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface, plurality of values then color adjust module 252 receives the value of a color parameter “second input ” from the color parameter in a user interface. Color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by adjusting the color parameter for the object according to the selection, “satisfies the condition”. If however, an object of the digital image has a range of the color parameter that does not include the value of the color parameter selected in the user interface (e.g., the value of the color parameter is outside the range of the color parameter for the object), then color adjust module 252 updates the digital image to form an updated image by maintaining without adjustment the color parameter for the object responsive to the selection, the above describes “condition”.
The Applicant asserts “The rejection also lacks a proper reason to combine the references. Beri is not analogous art for the purpose for which it is relied upon. Under the analogous-art framework reflected in MPEP § 2141.0l(a) and In re Clay, a reference must be from the same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the particular problem addressed by the applicant. Beri' s field is managing visibility of vector-object control points using obscurity metrics; Applicant's field and problem concern automatic, reusable, conditional styling of graphical diagram objects so that diagram nodes are formatted uniformly based on user-defined rules. Beri's control-point filtration is neither in the same field of endeavor nor reasonably pertinent to the problem of template-based diagram object styling. The Office Action's stated motivation-"to increase user interface accessibility "does not bridge that technical gap and does not explain why a person of ordinary skill would have looked to obscurity-based control-point filtering to modify Kumar's raster-image color-adjustment system into a diagram conditional-formatting system.”
Examiner disagrees. Kumar and Beri are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely image edition field.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kumar with receiving input to create a graphical diagram comprising a plurality of graphical objects on the graphical user interface; displaying the graphical diagram to the user on the graphical user interface as taught by Beri. The motivation for doing is to increase user interface accessibility.
Applicant asserts “Moreover, even if Beri were considered, the proposed combination depends on hindsight. The Office Action identifies Kumar's adjusters and range checks as the claimed template, condition, and style, then imports Beri's canvas interaction for diagram creation and display. But the references themselves provide no articulated reason with rational underpinning, as required by MPEP § 2143 and In re Kahn, to redefine a selected hue/saturation value and image-object color range in Kumar as a reusable style template created by first and second user inputs, or to combine that image-editing mechanism with Beri's control-point display filtering to arrive at conditional formatting of graphical diagram objects. The asserted combination therefore does not teach or suggest the core limitation of a user-created, reusable style template mapping a condition to a style for diagram objects.”
Examiner disagrees.
“In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, Kumar and Beri are directed to the same field of endeavor, namely image edition field.
To advance the Office goal of compact prosecution, the examiner can be reached at 571-270-0724 Monday-Thursday and alternate Fridays (9:30am - 6:00pm) PST for further discussion on the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ming Wu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618