Response to Arguments & Amendment
Applicant’s Remarks filed 7/9/2026 have fully considered and are persuasive. The Section 101 rejection is withdrawn.
The remainder of Applicant’s Remarks filed 7/9/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Specifically, the amendment resulted in further search yielding a reference to Kmita et al. (U.S. 2022/0047947 A1), necessitating the new grounds of rejection. Applicant’s amendment is addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 13-16, 18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garvin et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2010/0009733 A1) in view of Kmita et al. (U.S. 2022/0047947 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 13 & 20: Garvin discloses an information processing apparatus, CRM and method, (Abstract, ¶¶ 24, 36), comprising: displaying a game scene of a first virtual character in a game application, (Fig. 3); displaying, by processing circuitry, a target marker based on an attack event between the first virtual character and a second virtual character being generated in the game application, (Fig. 3, 320, 330 and related descriptions), the target marker being configured to mark the second virtual character in the game scene when the attack event is generated; and moving the target marker in accordance with movement of the second virtual character, (Fig. 2, 240, Fig. 3, 320, 330 and related descriptions).
Regarding the amendment: Garvin discloses the invention substantially but does not make explicit, the game scene includes a second virtual character and, determining whether an attack event is generated between the first virtual character and the second virtual character in the game scene, the attack event indicating that the first virtual character attacks or is attacked by the second virtual character.
However, in a related invention, Kmita teaches these features in at least Figures 5-7, 18 and the related descriptions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to have provided Kmita’s interaction interface in Garvin’s system for the purpose of enabling players to accurately determine combatant status and gauge damage assessments This yields the predictable results of aiming at multiple enemies and suggesting when a retreat event may be desirable.
Regarding Claims 2, 6, 14, 18: Garvin discloses wherein the attack event is the first virtual character being attacked by the second virtual character, and the target marker is configured to indicate that the first virtual character is attacked by the second virtual character, or vice vera, (Fig. 3 and related descriptions.)
Regarding Claims 3, 15: Garvin discloses displaying at least one of a first prop marker or a first camp marker in the game scene, wherein the first prop marker is configured to mark, in the game scene, a virtual prop used by the second virtual character when the second virtual character attacks the first virtual character, and the first camp marker is configured to mark, in the game scene, a camp of the second virtual character when the second virtual character attacks the first virtual character, (Fig. 2, 240-270, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claims 4, 8, 16: Garvin discloses displaying the target marker according to at least one of a virtual hit point of the first virtual character or a number of times the first virtual character is attacked by the second virtual character, displaying the target marker comprises: displaying the target marker according to at least one of a virtual hit point of the second virtual character attacked by the first virtual character or a number of times the second virtual character is attacked by the first virtual character, (Fig. 2, 240, Fig. 3, 320, 330 and related descriptions).
Claims 5, 7, 9-12, 17 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garvin et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2010/0009733 A1) in view of Kmita et al. (U.S. 2022/0047947 A1) and Fan (U.S. Pub. No.: 2020/0338449 A).
Regarding Claims 5, 7, 17 & 19: Garvin discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not make explicit, displaying a plurality of target markers in a one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of second virtual characters when the first virtual character is attacked by the plurality of second virtual characters; and canceling the display of the target marker corresponding to one of the plurality of second virtual characters when the one of the plurality of second virtual characters moves outside a field of view of the first virtual character, displaying at least one of a second prop marker or a second camp marker in the game scene, the second prop marker being configured to mark, in the game scene, a virtual prop used by the second virtual character when the first virtual character attacks the second virtual character, and the second camp marker being configured to mark, in the game scene, a camp of the second virtual character attacked by the first virtual character.
However, in a related video game invention, Fan teaches these aspects in another video game aiming/marking system, (e.g. Fan, Fig. 4, e.g., 42a, 43a and related descriptions, Fig. 10, 1004, ¶122). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to have provided Fan’s marking teachings in Garvin’s system for the purpose of enabling a player to effectively track multiple objects within a predefined range. This yields the predictable results of aiming at multiple enemies and recalibrating the aiming based on proximity.
Regarding Claim 9: Garvin in view of Fan shows displaying, when the first virtual character attacks the second virtual character and the second virtual character is defeated, a target virtual object that is configured to display a virtual character in a different camp than the first virtual character; displaying a target location marker in a minimap when the virtual character in the different camp, the target location marker being configured to indicate, in the minimap, a location corresponding to the virtual character in the different camp; and moving, when the virtual character in the different camp moves within a preset range of the target virtual object, the target location marker in accordance with the movement of the virtual character. (e.g., Fan, Fig. 4 and related descriptions).
Regarding Claim 10: Garvin in view of Fan shows displaying a perspective marker corresponding to the second virtual character in the game scene when the attack event is the first virtual character being attacked by the second virtual character, and a virtual obstacle exists between the first virtual character and the second virtual character, the perspective marker being configured to display a representation of the second virtual character in the game scene; and displaying the perspective marker corresponding to the second virtual character in the game scene when the attack event is the first virtual character attacking the second virtual character, and the virtual obstacle exists between the first virtual character and the second virtual character, (e.g., Fan Fig 4 and related descriptions.)
Regarding Claim 11: Garvin in view of Fan shows wherein the displaying the target marker comprises: displaying, when the attack event is generated between the first virtual character and a plurality of second virtual characters, target markers with different display attributes, (e.g., Fan Fig 4 and related descriptions.)
Regarding Claim 12: Garvin in view of Fan shows displaying a visible target marker of a third virtual character when the attack event is generated, the third virtual character being in a same camp as the first virtual character; and displaying a perspective marker corresponding to the second virtual character when the attack event is generated, the perspective marker being configured to display a representation of the second virtual character in the game scene when a virtual obstacle exists between the first virtual character and the second virtual character, (e.g., Fan Fig 4 and related descriptions.)
Conclusion
Additional Relevant References: See 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMKAR A DEODHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715