DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0095694 A1 (the ‘694 reference).
The reference discloses in Fig. 12 and related text a semiconductor device as claimed.
Referring to claim 1, the ‘694 reference discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a first semiconductor structure including a first substrate (2SB, para [91] (paragraph(s) [0091])), circuit devices (“peripheral circuit”, para [91]) disposed on the first substrate, and first metal bonding layers (BPDp, para [91]) disposed on the circuit devices; and
a second semiconductor structure (CSTK, para [90]) including gate electrodes (gate lines GL, para [46]) spaced apart from each other and stacked in a first direction (Z direction), perpendicular to upper surfaces of the first metal bonding layers (BPDp), channel structures (plug PL, PLc, para [46, 92], see also Fig. 3) passing through the gate electrodes (GL), extending in the first direction (the Z direction), and respectively including a channel layer (CHL, para [50], see also Fig. 3), second metal bonding layers (BPDc, para [92]) disposed below the channel structures (PLc) and the gate electrodes (GL) and connected to the first metal bonding layers (BPDp), bit lines (BL, para [38]) disposed below the channel structures (PL), extending in a second direction (Y direction), perpendicular to the first direction (the Z direction), and spaced apart from each other, and source lines (SL, one depicted in Fig. 12, para [8, 38], para [8]:, claim 14: “gate lines alternately stacked on each other between bit lines and source lines”, see also Fig. 2) disposed on the channel structures (PLc), extending in a third direction (X direction), perpendicular to the second direction, and spaced apart from each other,
wherein the channel structures (PLc) are respectively disposed in intersection regions in which the bit lines (BL) and the source lines (SL) intersect each other.
Referring to claim 2, Fig. 4L depicts that the bit lines (BL) are respectively disposed below columns in the second direction (the Y direction) of the channel structures (including channel CHL).
Referring to claim 3, Fig. 12 depicts that the bit lines (BL) extend through central axes in the second direction (the Y direction) of the channel structures (PLc).
Referring to claim 4, the reference further discloses that the second semiconductor structure (CSTK) further includes channel contact plugs (BLC, para [67], see Fig. 4I) connecting the bit lines (BL) and the channel structures (PL, PLc) to each other.
Referring to claim 5, the reference further discloses that the second semiconductor structure (CSTK) further includes source contact plugs (SLC, one depicted in Fig. 4I, para [66]) connecting the source lines and the circuit devices to each other (see also Figs. 1 and 2).
Referring to claim 10, the reference further discloses that the channel structures (PLc) arranged in a line with respect to the third direction among the channel structures form row groups, respectively, and each of the source lines (one source line SL is depicted in Fig. 12, but a plurality of source lines is depicted in Fig. 2 and para [8], claim 14: “gate lines alternately stacked on each other between bit lines and source lines”) is connected to one row group among the row groups.
Referring to claim 11, Fig. 7 depicts that the channel structures (PL) arranged in a line with respect to the third direction (the X direction) among the channel structures (PL) form row groups, respectively, and each of the source lines (SL) is connected to a plurality of row groups (PL) among the row groups (in the X direction, best seen in combination of Figs. 7 and 12).
Referring to claim 12, the reference further discloses that:
each of the channel structures (PL) further includes dielectric BCL (Fig. 3, para [50]), which may be termed a gate dielectric layer as claimed, disposed between the gate electrodes (GL) and the channel layer (CHL), and an upper end of the gate dielectric layer (BCL) is positioned at a level that is substantially the same as that of an upper end of the channel layer (CHL).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kim U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0095694 A1 (the ‘694 reference) in view of Chiang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20210408293.
Referring to claim 8, the reference discloses the source lines as detailed above for claim 1, but does not disclose that the source lines include a metal material.
Chiang, in disclosing a semiconductor device comprising a source line, discloses that the source line is made of a metal (para [124]), thereby teaching that metal is a material suitable for a source line. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have form the reference’s source lines utilizing metal. One would have been motivated to make such a modification in view of the teachings in Chiang that metal is a material suitable for a source line.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 16-20 are allowable over the prior art of record.
Claims 6-7, 9 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to teach or render obvious a semiconductor device and an electronic system with all exclusive limitations as recited in claims 6, 7, 9, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 19, which may be characterized (claim 6) in that the source lines have an upper width greater than a lower width, and in that lower portions of the source lines are recessed into upper portions of the channel structures, (claim 7) the source lines have a lower width greater than an upper width, (claim 9) in that the second semiconductor structure further includes a via contact plug connecting each of the source lines and the channel layer to each other, (claim 13) the channel layer includes a contact doped region, and the contact doped region is in contact with each of the source lines, (claim 14) in that the source lines include block shared source lines overlapping the isolation regions and extending in the second direction, (claim 15) the gate electrodes include memory gate electrodes forming memory cells and at least one upper gate electrode positioned below the memory gate electrodes, and (claims 16 and 19) a second selection channel structure is selected from among the plurality of first selection channel structures by an electrical signal applied to the channel layer through the source lines.
Conclusion
09-09-2026
/TU-TU V HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818